Harley Benton HB-20R

1619 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great at this price point.
Dom Nicky, 22.12.2020
I got this to use in my home only, while I practice and learn, and just generally mess around.

Another reviewer, also a beginner, said that this surprised them with how loud this is. I absolutely agree, it has an impressive oomph to it.

I thought the overdrive and reverb are both excellent, and both responded well when increasing and decreasing on the amp itself.

Clean sounds lovely, just what I'd hoped for.

I had initially thought I'd probably need or want to upgrade this amp as soon as money allowed, but having now used it I won't be in any rush, and I'd rather spend that money on a multi-effects pedal.

The only con I can think of is it would be nice to have an arm at the back to be able to tilt the amp upwards when it's on the floor.

To sum up I would say this is great at this price, for a practice amp to use at home. If you want better, or a more 'gig' suitable amp, then you'll need to pay much more than what this costs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Overall very good for money
Bogdan Guitarist, 14.07.2020
pros:
-very low price: it costs like going once to local restaurant with your girlfriend
-pretty good quality
-very loud: I usually play at 30% loudness. I guess you can take it to local pub concert, etc.
-The eq is nice

cons:
-Mine came a little bit scratched
-The spring reverb is very strange. If you play at a big volume, and turn the reverb bigger than 60% percent, it starts to make a very loud noise which go louder and louder, until you turn off the effect at all. First time it happened I thought I destroyed the combo. You don't imagine how loud that was
-Strange sound quality when playing in headphones. That is because the combo doesn't have a cabinet simulator. So playing in headphones doesn't make any sense.
-Also the aux cable quality is very very bad. The sound is very bad, it doesn't have any bass and middle freqs. Also when nothing is playing it makes a very loud noise. So connecting an aux cable for practicing or just listening to music also doesn't make any sense.

In conclusion I can say that if you are a beginner totally buy it! But if you want something serious, buy a combo like Fender, that has digital effects. They are called Modelling combos. Buy something like Fender Mustang LT50.
But from my opinion, the best option is buying a sound card. I bought Behringer Umc204HD. But if you want a sound card, you will have to know at least the basics of a DAW (reaper, cubase, reaper), or you can download different soft(Bias fx2, Guitar Rig 5). Also you need to have a good pc, and some speakers or studio monitors
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
lovely solid state
cliff james, 03.01.2018
I am happy with this little amp I got it for playing at home, and I never was happy before without valves. i get a great claen sound with a little spring reverb, not only that it has it s own very convincing character of sound.I used other solid state amps from big names or modelling amps this one has the blues.I am not commenting on the distorted channel right now I haven t tried it enough. Only one thing is funny sometimes if you leave it on for a while and you re not playing it makes loud bang, I dont know what that is but its ok. It has a standby feature, and only starts when you tuen up the volume and start playing the guitar which is kind of cute. Definitele I am happy with that amp. And there is a line out for connecting it to another amp. Great. Just might have got the bigger version and use it for small gigs I can still do that. Thank You
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for the price
Danycaster, 03.05.2019
I can't believe how bloody loud this thing is, wholly overkill for me on so many levels. Highly recommend as a beginner amp 11/10

I've been told to always set volume on max for tuning purposes, I accidentally hit the G string and my heart almost jumped out of my rib-cage. I've been told this is normal and that 20W isn't even that much

I've also been told I *need* to buy a combo for practice and I have to say I agree (even though initially I agreed only reluctantly), but I can see this thing could work at a small club concert, you can probably juice out that much out of this. I can even see this being a good backup solution in case your main amp is MIA

Aside from the loudness the What-Brand Chinesium speaker this ships with isn't exactly an audophile's dream. I should clarify, the sound is great, for 60 euros it's, I mean, I couldn't imagine this level of quality 10, 20 years ago at this price level. Still you should know, anything through the aux input is going to sound dulled? ie. not bad, but not great either

Guitar sounds great of course, I mean great as in unexpectedly good for transistor. I actually greatly prefer the *actual sound* through headphones/an external speaker over aux cable. The difference is noticeable even for an amateur like me

I keep the volume knob at 1-2-4 at most, and strangely I prefer the clean sound. I intuitively believed that if you're gonna have a cheap speaker then distorted sound would sound better since you know... it's distorted and the nuances of the sound are lost. But this didn't turn out to be true in the real world and clean sound has much more "body", it feels more plentiful and vibrant. Remember kids, keep your gain low. Signed: someone who is not an expert

EQ works differently than I expected, but I've been told this is exactly how these things ought to work so yeah

Let's quickly address points made by other reviewers:
- build quality is... I just can't give it all of the stars without feeling like lying. It's amazing for the price. The logo is very well machined. It will probably last I don't know, let's say 10 years. But just... 5% more effort would make this combo look and feel so much better, dare I say premium even. There was one bolt that wasn't fully tightened. This might've happened during travel, but then I'm afraid what kind of travel conditions this was in. Also on the back there's a strange black paint applied? I don't know if this is normal, you'll see if you buy it, I'm neutral towards it
- the two buttons and all knobs are good quality, the lines below are slightly misaligned though and it's triggering the perfectionist nerves in me. Just very *slightly* so, just barely [screaming inside]. I think these are the same knobs from the higher-end models
- the jack seems to be good enough to last a lot of connecting in/out
- handle feels goood, I approve
- reverb sounds amazing except for positions 5 through 9.5-ish. Still you probably should stick to 1-3-4 anyway. 9.5-10 sounds good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
the guy, 19.11.2020
i use it at home and it is more than enough for playing at home.
pros:
sound loudness and quality
3,5 mm jack for earphones/headphones
cons:
no accumulator for playing on the street
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amagazin
MatthPl, 08.03.2020
The versability of this amp is so amagazin, i was able to switch a lot of settings and get everytime the sound that i wanted to hear. So cheap as a price but actually can prove to you that this little baby can please you without any problem. yes, actually this is my first amp and im not an expert, and because i am a beginner who likes so much the sound that this amp produce, you should trust my super beginners feels and buy this amp You will not regret anything you can even check around the web and others reviews that will agreed with my point of view. It's so easy to use, just plug in, set your amp to the romantic guy trying to impress a girl, or set your amp to, i want to scare my neighbours with an extreme metal sound. And that's it, simply dont worry about the quality of the amp, because it will not betray you, untill you will not leave him alone in a dark lonely corner of your house.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Simple amp
Smat, 05.08.2020
For someone starting out,
I wanted a modest amp when it comes to price and knobs.

The amp is pretty good.
I think the reverb could do with some improvement.
Overdrive channel is nice.

I couldnt figure out how to control the volume of backing track if I plug one in. (but it could be my fault).
I haven't tried line out.

My idea before buying this was to have a good amp for a beginner, to be able to play around in my room/house.
And it has served me well for that.

One thing I did notice was that amp would switch off sometimes in the middle (which I assume is power savings?)
And putting the jack in contact with a metal surface of the guitar connector to turns it back on.

Often times this happens in middle of when you are playing. Which can be annoying.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice Combo
disasterZz, 04.01.2021
Nice combo for this price, but so weight
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for homeplaying.
Kowcio, 20.12.2017
This is great for a beginner for home / solo outside playing.
No need buying the 40 watt version but it depends on You, for starters this is awesome start, don;t get the 10 watt cause You wount know if it is Your strings You hear or the amp. Here You will definetly know that the sound You making is coming from the AMP.

20 watts is perfect for home practice or a garage
I am playing at home with 2nd / 4rd level on knobs
On the guitar i have volume around 7 and this is a perfect setup.
Do not need to go louder.

Reverb is not as good as i would think but it is there non the less.
Clean / Overdrive definetly work.The sound quality is ok, but of course the tone and tune depends on Your preference.

Bas, mid , trebles knobs work as they should.
There is a AUX in which is nice.
Playing with headphones works nicely.

ProTip:
Want less bass ? Put it higher , on some table, or similar, and keep it away of corners of the room.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB20-R amp bought for SC-450Plus
Oreo, 14.08.2020
Decided to get a new amp with my new guitar, though there was no point in upgrading the guitar and still having the old cheap amp. Sounds good with my new SC-450. plugged in my old guitar to see if I could tell the difference. Absolutely, makes it sound like a much better guitar so I was very happy that it was right to upgrade the amp too.

3.5mm headphone and line in sockets so I can use other headphones etc without adaptor as i only have the one.

Power saving mode which is nice and didn't expect.

Feels nice and seems good quality finish.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap and Good
Follir116, 15.12.2020
There's everything I wanted but I wish there would be more specific settings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Small, but
03.02.2017
Lovely little amp!

Two channels with separate volumes, easy tone controls, built in reverb, plenty loud enough, and nice features like MP3 input and headphone outputs.

Only thing missing is ability to use footswitch for channel selection.

Just what a little man needs for their first amp!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Absolute Bargain, Great sound
Scrambler, 06.05.2019
Brilliant amp, great price, Features are brilliant with inputs.
Size is perfect for me as I use it at home, not too loud and volume adjustment is easy to get just right.
Headphone option and Aux port and line out a nice extra.
I'm not in a band or gigging so I don't need all the bells and whistles.
This fits just perfect to be honest, nice and compact and light, but not too small or big.
Pros and cons
From reading above - that's the pros
Cons, genuinely, i have none.
Its a sturdy well build amp , crisp and clear.
For the price, you cant go wrong,
I was going to buy by a "bigger" brand name, I'm glad i didn't.
I have similar her and the difference is nada.
More options on this to be honest.
Id love to be more direct for more buyers on the cons,
But i don't have any.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
i am satisfied
ghostM9so, 28.07.2020
Great amplifier. I like the sound more than others in this price category
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cbaiu, 08.12.2019
Great amp for juniors &beginners
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton HB-20R
Dave Country Boy, 14.05.2020
I wanted a very compact combo for home practice and stage guitar monitor. This amp is surprisingly loud, pretty good tonally (I only want clean sound, I have FX to do other stuff). My only gripe is that I would like to be able to play tracks without connecting a guitar to the amp (for signal). Very good amp at good price overall.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Quality item
16.06.2016
Thanks to Thomann for a great product at a fantastic price, would highly recommend this item. Excellent service and speedy delivery.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very happy with the purchase!
Makharbek, 31.05.2020
Very happy with the purchase! Excellent and quality products! I Be sure to make a purchase again only in this store!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB-20R impressiona!
MDFreitas, 25.09.2019
Tem um som impressionante, alto o suficiente, bons acabamentos e estéticamente agradável. O som limpo é muito bom, a distorção também não deixa a desejar e tem o necessário no que diz respeito às equalizações.
É surpreendente a alta qualidade e performance por um preço tão baixo.
Recomendo este pequeno mas poderoso amplificador.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent for its value
reytto, 05.01.2021
this is my first combo amp and it fully justifies itself
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent
DCa98, 05.08.2020
I've had this amp for over two years now and it's been working pretty well. It features so many things according to your taste of sound, and the good thing is that you can carry it everywhere. The sound is loud and pretty clear, so it suitable works if you're playing for an audience in a big music saloon/closed stage. Pretty happy with this product! Great Job!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
DISTORTION IS ON!
Mosi27, 27.01.2019
One hell of guitar amp! this thing rocks my room! especially the distortion on a les paul guitar! love it !

No cons to it yet. except the smell of the rubber of this amp is quite undying..or never ending smell of it. idk but yeah put this in your list.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Built like a tank
DanRed, 29.07.2019
This packs a punch. Really good for practice. The range of tone achievable is pretty good for the price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton HB-20R
HB-20R, 14.07.2020
A very good combo for begginers
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bisquit, 04.06.2018
for the low price u cant expect much. but for my suprise it sounds well. no issues with it and no problems the cosmetics are something alse if u look really clouse you will notice the flaws. but from like 1 or 2 m away u will just enjoi the wiev of it. all in one wuld recomend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton HB-20R

71 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Friday, 7.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Harley Benton HB-20R
0:50
Harley Benton HB-20R
Rank #1 in Solid-State Guitar Combos
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
MOTU UltraLite mk5

USB 2.0 Audio Interface With USB C connector, ESS Sabre32 Ultra DAC technology, 24 Bit / 44.1 - 192 kHz, Precise level meters for all analogue inputs/outputs with high-resolution OLED display, 2 Microphone / line / Hi-Z inputs via…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer S&H / Random Voltage 1036

Behringer S&H / Random Voltage 1036; Eurorack module; dual Sample & Hold /Random Voltage; internal clock adjustable from 0.03 - 300Hz; manual sample button; clock FM input with attenuator; signal input with attenuator; internal random generator with attenuator; channel A…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine, transmitter(battery) can be charged via the usb-port of the amp, great…

Recently Viewed
Fender FA-15 3/4 Acoustic Steelguitar

Fender FA-15 3/4 Acoustic Steel Guitar; Acoustic Steel Guitar, 3/4 Size; Laminated Agathis Top; X-Bracing; Sapele Back and Sides; Neck Nato; C-Shape; Fretboard and Bridge Walnut; 18 Frets; nut width 1.69" (43 mm); Finish Natural; incl. Gig Bag

4
(4)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Pro 5.8Ghz Instrument

Harley Benton AirBorne 5.8Ghz Pro Instrument, 5,8GHz digital wireless instrument system; suitable for all instruments with 6,35mm audio jack; plug-n-play transmitter & receiver; 5,8GHz band (5.729~5.820GHz); 24 bit/48KHz; 4 channels; transmission range up to 35 meter; latency 5,6ms; battery…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Doepfer A-138n VE

Doepfer A-138n VE; Eurorack module; Vintage Edition with black front panel; compact 4-channel mixer; works for CV and audio signals; level control per channel; 4x signal input; 2x mix output; power consumption: 10mA (+12V) / 10mA (-12V); width: 4 HP;…

Recently Viewed
Solid Gold FX Imperial MKII Fuzz

Solid Gold FX Imperial MKII Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Gated-Fuzz pedal, based on the vintage JEN Jumbo Fuzz; retro-themed design with sliders; preamp built around a modern J-FET circuit, for enhanced clarity and response; Controls: Vol, Tone, Contour,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.