Harley Benton HB-20R

1619 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's allright
Someone who likes it old-fashioned, 31.03.2020
Let's start with the most important thing: For the money, it's great. It is a powerful amplifier that can be used at living-room volumes, it has a headphone jack and even built-in spring reverb, a looked-after feature. It's a good option for a first amplifier as I've found it to take pedals in front quite nicely (mind it doesn't have an effects loop so any pedals will need to be put in front) and its own overdrive is all right for a beginner to get you in the ballpark of rock.
However, there are a few less likeable features about it.
First off, The on-board overdrive is not by a long shot as good as I would like it to be, it lacks dynamics, sounds very harsh and artificial and when the knob goes above halfway it doesn't get dirtier, instead it only ads noise without distorting the guitar. My recommendation is to get an overdrive pedal to go along with it, a cheap one will undoubtedly be better than what's on board.
Secondly, the MP3 input lacks a serious function: Remaining quiet. Whenever it doesn't have a signal from another device, it hums like crazy. Also, it doesn't like to be quiet: It wants to be loud.
And thirdly, although this is just me nit-picking, the reverb gets noisy rather quickly. The amplifier doesn't have the best shock-resistance ever so me walking around creates a little noise from the springs wobbling. Do keep in mind that I have quite a heavy step and this might not be an issue for you, but it is a downside in my opinion.
To conclude: If you want to sit in a chair and plug pedals into it, go for it. If you want a cheap solid-state amplifier that will last you, go for it. If you expect it to get crunchy metal tones, it won't, though it does do cleans quite nicely.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good enouth if it works
Krz , 23.09.2020
Pros:
Good for smaller rooms.
Everything works as it was expected.
Cheap.

Cons:
Overdrive not very sensitive, more effect comes from 50% and more.
It broke after 1 month and 4 days of not intensive use.

P.S. I don't know if it's normal, but 3,5mm input do not "wakes up" AMP from standby mode, only a 6,35mm does that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Als Einsteiger-AMP nicht verkehrt
Shoemeister, 06.02.2021
Also die Tatsache, dass man zwei Channel zur Verfügung hat und Standard 3,5mm Kopfhörer anschließen kann machen diesen AMP zu dem Preis zu einem hervorragenden Erstverstärker.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My practice amp
Tambet, 29.12.2020
Ordered it with my guitar, to be used as a practice amp. It's decent quality product. Nothing overwhelmingly stellar tho.

Pros:
it gets the job done, is loud enough and has the features you might want as a beginner. Headphone jack, AUX and spring reverb are useful for a new guitar enthusiast.
It is also compact and light, so you can transport it easily.
Seems sturdy.

Cons:
Does not sound the best.
Using phone via AUX cable is somewhat underwhelming - if you play music via your phone, you cant control its volume on the amp - only on the phone itself. And sometimes it gives you heart attack by making a loud bang sound. For no real reason I could find.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB-20R
Cveto, 19.02.2021
Suitable for a beginner, loud enough even for a small concert for a selected company. Very good buy for that money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good practice amp
Fusion lover, 01.04.2021
I am using HB-20R in my bedroom,mostly with
headphones and playing my Harley Benton ST-62CC RW (fantastic value for money).

I would like to give the amp full blast,but my neighbors are senior citizens, so headphones are criterion for my feedbeck.

In few words-you cant go wrong with combo i have.Next step is upgrading my headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A good beginner's amp - with a few small issues
Mr D, 16.05.2017
The 20 watts of the HB20R are more than enough to fill a room with sound; at 1/4 of the way to max, it's already too loud for bedroom jamming.

The HB20R has a good clean channel with customizable EQ settings shared with the overdriven channel; but I'd avoid the overdrive. It crunches and crumples the sound into an unintelligible mess at any noticeable gain level.

Otherwise, a nasty glitch/issue is shared between this model and it's bigger brother, the HB-40R ; plugging your phone into the dedicated backing-track aux-in port on the front panel results in terrible, terrible clicking/buzzing until you start playing a song through the connection on your device; as well as this, the sound from the aux-in is *NOT* affected by your amps' EQ, or even volume settings; I was nearly deafened when I accidentally connected it with my phone set to maximum audio on the aux cable output!

Apart from these issues, the amp does serve well on the clean channel for general practice and playing, and the EQ knobs provide clear, noticeable tonal changes to the sound emitted. Would recommend most for a beginner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent starter app
MartinWB , 02.03.2019
Got this amp in a starterkit and must say or beginners it is excellent, build quality is fine. The gain/crunch is no the greatest but the clean channel is very nice
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
One of the better choices for beginners
Jyro, 06.08.2018
I use the amp for basic practice in my bedroom. It's sounds a little bit bassy but that's probably my fault by not putting the amp on a table or something like that.

It's has the features you would expect a 50$ amp to have, such as a switch between a clean and an overdrive channel, equalization, reverb, etc..., but nothing like a chorus-, flanger- or delayeffect.

In my opinion, the overdrive is quite low even when the gain is turned at it's highest value. I would recommend a pedal for better distortions, i myself am already considering buying one.

I can't find any messy finishes on the amp, i really like the looks of it.
Overall i'm more than happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really NICE
Creedy, 03.03.2021
Some Great Sound and i love the reverb
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Surprisingly good amplifier!
Lekalyd, 23.06.2016
This little amp looks small and week, but wow! I was really surprised by the quality of sound for the price, and it is actually quite loud as well! More than enough for practice at home or at a small rehearsal. It think I?d even try it with a microphone at a small gig or in studio! :)
Very nice sounding clean channel and the overdrive channel is very responsive to the amount of overdrive you give it. Just a little bit overdrive for cool blues and wham it on for killer metal riffs! Nice treble, mid and bass adjustments. The reverb adjustment is also very responsive and is sounds sweet! I bought the amp for a student to practice at home. I think I?ll advice him to move it around with caution so the reverb spring doesn`t come loose.
And then I?m getting one for myself as well! :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent!
Eggshaped, 15.02.2019
I wasn't expecting much from this amp to be honest but we're blown away by how good it sounds! All the basic controls are there, gain, feedback, clarity etc but also it has reverb which makes a huge difference to the overall sound.

It's not too big or heavy, just about right for a practice amp. Also very sturdy and well made, it looks/feels/sounds like a really nice quality amp. Considering this is included in the basic guitar starter package it's a pretty good deal.

Overall we're extremely impressed with this amp and would highly recommend it. It can easily fill a large living room or even a small community centre hall for a party, though obviously not a large concert hall. It's more than enough for kids in their bedrooms, even on low volume it's enough to upset the neighbours!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Soundings
Kensky, 21.05.2018
Nice sound especially when only use bass & trible.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good budget option
24.07.2016
I got this amp because was the most powerful for the budget I had when I started playing guitar 8 month ago, It sounds good, the clean sound is nice and defined when played up to 3/4 of the volume range. I can't comment on the dirty sound because I don't play that often (not my type of music). I think it?s a good buy for someone who is starting to play and want to have some fun playing with friends (believe me it can be loud) but you are limited in the range of sounds you can play because it?s not an emulated amp.
It has an external audio input that becomes handy when practicing my lessons I can plug my phone a play along the backing track. Also the headphone Jack keeps the wife happy when playing late in the night.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Practice amp
30.10.2015
I moved to another country and had to buy a new amp. My friend had owned HB-20 amp. So I decided to buy same model amp too. Friend had older one, so design and some features were lacking that I really wanted-like, reverb, 3.5mm aux,headphones. But in this amp. It has it all. 2 channels, SPRING reverb(you can test in while it is on, shake the amp and you will hear the spring inside). Built quality, as always for Harley Benton products, are stunning for the price. Design as well is very well made. Makes it look more expensive that it really is. Amp really accepts pedals in front of it. Clean channel on this amp is really good, just crank up reverb and enjoy full blast of clean sound. Sorry to say that it isn't that great on dirty channel. If you crank up gain more than 7 you would normally start to feel distortion, but it kinda doesn't get into that distortion field and gets you to like, really saturated overdrive, but not distortion still. It has great rock tones, but as far as metal tones go, you need to look for a pedal that will carry that. Overall, I'm very satisfied with it, for the price it's very good and will probably use as my practice amp for a long time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
en bra förstärkare
Jack O., 29.05.2015
otrolig förstärkare man kan få vad man vill ifrån den funk metal rock jazz blues ALLT. och vid det priset borde alla köpa en sån väldigt simpel att använda har vart så att jag har sett nybörjare som försöker använda en komplicerad förstärkare med många knappar och så och har inte vart nöjda ljudet eller tonen men med denna så är det enkelt att ställa in vilket ljud man vill ha men efter ungefär 3-4 månader så gick min sönder vet inte varför bara från ingen stans den brukade bli grön sen röd men nu så stannar den på grön och vill inte byta till den röda färgen men fortfarande nöjd ska faktist köpa en till men glömde en sak man måste ha den ganska högt om man vill ha den absolut bästa tonen jag tror att man kan köra ett gig med den utan problem
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A solid beginner?s amp
SingleMalt, 14.07.2019
Perhaps in the right, experienced hands, this little guy can do wonders. (I?m not talking about adding pedals, etc. but on its own) Still, overall, for those new to the world of guitar amps, this will get knock your socks off and get you on the road to learning all about the sound you can get from your instrument. It comes bundled with many HB products, so it is pretty ubiquitous.

Expect LOTS of volume, some "muffledness," ease of use, a good variety of options for a starter amp, and above all a rock solid construction.

Put together, this is way more than my child who is learning needs. So I have no doubt he will grow into it. He has already started discovering interesting sounds one wouldn?t expect from a straight forward learning entry level amp.

Only prob I can see is the loud noise generated each time you try to connect an external device (say your phone- i or android, both work - to play alongside a track, or just hear a song boosted over the amp. The noise is enough to say : That can?t be right. But once the jack is in and the music playing, the noise goes away. Apparently it?s a know bug. Why it hasn?t been sorted out is a bit strange, since they advertise it as one of its selling features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good product
Ajw2, 27.11.2017
This is an excellent product in this price range.
I bought this for the clean channel and reverb.
The clean channel is very good but unfortunately the reverb didn't work but Thomann gave me a credit to compensate.
The build quality is very good and the only complaint is when you plug into the aux channel with a mobile phone the noise is bad until you start playing a backing track and then it's fine.So be wary of this if you buy this amp take this in consideration.
In conclusion this is a good product for the price point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great Beginner Amp
zmalta, 21.01.2019
A really great starting amp for beginners, especially when comparing the price. It is small but packs a great sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
economico ma onesto
09.08.2014
Non aspettatevi chissà che potenza o che timbrica, ma per lo studio va più che bene, spesso se confrontato con altri più ben noti combo di marchi blasonati (della stessa categoria) non sfigura. Rimane comunque un amplificatore da principianti, ma ben fatto e curato, molto onesto per quello che costa
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
perfect for beginners at that price
pesh, 19.06.2020
use it now for over a month and it's great. As beginner myself I had doubts in the beginning but it's all good. Quick warming, have good variety of equalizers options and the I've always manage to find the sound I wanted. Price is also good so don't be shy, get that guitar(amp) ready and play.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
For home and practice
Mislav, 15.03.2019
I've used this amp for a while now on 2 of my main guitars and for the home play and practice I've been extremely satisfied.

The amp has overdrive with gain and volume, as well as reverb and headphones out, it even has phone input!

I'm satisfied with the overall quality and handling of the amp.

Pros:
- Has a good sound for practice
- Very cheap
- Headphone out for late night practicing

Cons:
- It's noisy after a certain volume level
- Overdrive is too powerful even on lowest settings

All in one, I'm satisfied with the quality of the amp for the price it costs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great amp for beginner
ManguitoKlam, 08.01.2019
I am beginner guitarist and bought this amp to practice at home. The clean channel sounds pretty good, the overdrive channel is okay, it can be a little bit muddy sometimes. The aux and headphone jacks are a nice touch. I think overall for a beginner this amp is great for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great value
Billy Boot, 04.12.2018
Plenty of volume for practising, and learning the joys of clean vs overdriven tones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good Product
FCARIA, 29.01.2021
It has a nice sound and range, but I think it lacks on a good distortion.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton HB-20R

71 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Friday, 7.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Harley Benton HB-20R
0:50
Harley Benton HB-20R
Rank #1 in Solid-State Guitar Combos
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
MOTU UltraLite mk5

USB 2.0 Audio Interface With USB C connector, ESS Sabre32 Ultra DAC technology, 24 Bit / 44.1 - 192 kHz, Precise level meters for all analogue inputs/outputs with high-resolution OLED display, 2 Microphone / line / Hi-Z inputs via…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer S&H / Random Voltage 1036

Behringer S&H / Random Voltage 1036; Eurorack module; dual Sample & Hold /Random Voltage; internal clock adjustable from 0.03 - 300Hz; manual sample button; clock FM input with attenuator; signal input with attenuator; internal random generator with attenuator; channel A…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine, transmitter(battery) can be charged via the usb-port of the amp, great…

Recently Viewed
Fender FA-15 3/4 Acoustic Steelguitar

Fender FA-15 3/4 Acoustic Steel Guitar; Acoustic Steel Guitar, 3/4 Size; Laminated Agathis Top; X-Bracing; Sapele Back and Sides; Neck Nato; C-Shape; Fretboard and Bridge Walnut; 18 Frets; nut width 1.69" (43 mm); Finish Natural; incl. Gig Bag

4
(4)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Pro 5.8Ghz Instrument

Harley Benton AirBorne 5.8Ghz Pro Instrument, 5,8GHz digital wireless instrument system; suitable for all instruments with 6,35mm audio jack; plug-n-play transmitter & receiver; 5,8GHz band (5.729~5.820GHz); 24 bit/48KHz; 4 channels; transmission range up to 35 meter; latency 5,6ms; battery…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Doepfer A-138n VE

Doepfer A-138n VE; Eurorack module; Vintage Edition with black front panel; compact 4-channel mixer; works for CV and audio signals; level control per channel; 4x signal input; 2x mix output; power consumption: 10mA (+12V) / 10mA (-12V); width: 4 HP;…

Recently Viewed
Solid Gold FX Imperial MKII Fuzz

Solid Gold FX Imperial MKII Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Gated-Fuzz pedal, based on the vintage JEN Jumbo Fuzz; retro-themed design with sliders; preamp built around a modern J-FET circuit, for enhanced clarity and response; Controls: Vol, Tone, Contour,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.