tc electronic Sentry

216 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Blown away...
Radomir Sanovski, 03.05.2020
I am a bassist, who loves his overdrives, but I must admit that besides getting awesome tones from "cascading" them into each other, on the downside I had some nasty hiss. So much so that with one of my basses, I could not play for more than 30 minutes on headphones, as I was receiving a headache from all the noise.

So far, I restrained myself from purchasing a noisegate pedal, as I read a ton of reviews where people complain about the gate "stealing" their tone and sustain. (including reviews here) However, I decided to experiment with the relatively inexpensive Sentry and what I can say... I am completely blown away!

I was imagining how I'm about to spend hours tinkering with settings until I find the optimal compromise between tone, sustain and noise. No such thing happened! This is the first time I get something, which I pull out of the box and it functions exactly as I want it, without touching anything.

I connected all my overdrives in the Sentry's FX loop, switched it to "hiss" mode, left all knobs at 12 o'clock and voila! No noise, no tone loss, zero sustain reduction, zero compromise!

I have tried the Sentry with all 4 basses of mine, in whatever settings on the overdives and the result is always a stellar job done by the Sentry. This noisegate even goes as far as almost muting the screeching noise that I sometimes get from my bad technique, when my palm slides on the G string!

I have the pedal for a few days now, but so far, I am amazed and cannot recommend it enough, especially for the price! I only hope it's durable in time. We'll see...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
One of the best on the market
shail3n, 21.06.2019
ISP decimator and the Boss NS-2 have been dominating the market for years now and then came the Sentry. Have been watching lots of reviews and comparisons between these pedals online and made up my mind to get this pedal. I have absolutely no regrets for doing so. I play mostly metal with lots of gain from my amp and from my pedals which cases a lot of hiss and humms. Once the pedal is switched on, at first I had all the knobs dialed to noon and it was complete silence while retaining the sound quality with absolutely no loss.

I also find the toneprint feature interesting. I tried it and uploaded the Scott Iann ''The wall'' patch into it. I absolutely love this pedal and does what it is supposed to do. It is a must if you play with a lot of gain and metal type of music.

The tone print feature is so interesting and fun that it has also made up my mind in getting the other TC electronic pedals that has this (Flashback and Corona pedals).

The Sentry pedal itself is easy to use. You just have to set the knobs, especially the threshold knob to noon and dial it from there until all unwanted noise is removed. You then dial the Threshold and the decay knobs accordingly to get your sweet spot while making sure that there is no sound loss.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Noise’s dreadnought enemy…
Emile Michel Hobo, 19.08.2020
I’ve had it for a while now, but the results were instantaneous. I had major problems with noise and my fly-rig as soon as I entered an overdrive pedal to the equation. The Sentry perfectly guards my castle, letting no noise through.

The great thing about it is also that for microphones, you can come up with your own tone print that will specifically eliminate feedback. This means that this noise gate isn’t just good for the usual noise-elimination with your guitar or bass, but it’s also your goto-choice for the mouth harp.

When it comes to feedback, noise doesn’t have to be heard to get to be noise. This is probably the best a noise gate can ever be.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Does what it's supposed to
Joffen, 11.08.2020
It's a noise gate, it kills noise.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome but not always neutral
P-AxXx, 30.03.2020
Got this pedal so that I could play with my Big Muff without destroying my ears with the hum and feedback cause by the GAIN you got with that pedal.
Do ALWAYS use this pedal with the effect loop (just putting it at the end of the chain like a Decimator will not work well for example). But when using the effect loop and when dialed right (that can take some time but one can achieve really accurate settings), that pedal does the job extremely well ! One thing really cool is that, thanks that effect loop that isolate your gain pedal, you can have it always on, without loosing sustain or changing your clean tone.
BUT (yes there is a but), the pedal is NOT neutral with certain pedals. When using it with my Muff, the pedal almost works like a mid-boost. I like it and it makes it even better considering the loss of mids that characterize Muff pedal in general but it's something you would want to know if you want to buy it. Tested it with my super badass distortion and there, the sound is very well preserved, without alteration. In overall, an amazing pedal, even more given the price !

(Didn't test the toneprint feature, maybe I can tweak some settings here and there to make it work better with my muff ? I should try it)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best gate ever!
15.04.2016
I had an ISP Decimator, but the problem was when using higain settings, I had to turn it off when play clean stuff.

That's why I needed Sentry which can be set before preamp and in FX Loop of an amp. Sentry does an amazing job, so it's "set and forget" type of tool. Now I can play higain and clean stuff without bothering myself about turning on and off gate.

3 knobs are easy to set and believe me or not, I don't hear any noise, signal is not affected al all. Even my bassist noticed it's dead silence.

High recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
tc electronic Sentry
Flotzen, 22.04.2020
Surprizingly good. Both in series and by using dirt pedals in its effects loop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Essential for high gain
Synic42, 08.08.2019
I was looking for a noise gate pedal with a send/return loop or an additional trigger input, similar to the Fortin Zuul, and was surprised to find that TC Electronic makes exactly what I need. I'm already a fan of TC Electronic pedals, they offer so many features and a very good build quality for such a competitive price. And the Sentry isn't any different. Using the send/return feature makes even the highest gain signals quiet when they need to be, and the multiband functionality makes sure the signal goes down very naturally. It even has a switchable buffer, which makes it almost the perfect pedal. This is a must-buy for anyone playing with high gain distortion.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent gate
taddeomaiden, 01.11.2016
This pedal is solid quality. Sturdy construction and 3 intuitive but effective and responsive knobs: damp, release and threshold. The toggle switch controls how the pedal works: multiband noise gate, noise suppressor or the toneprint customizable setting, which you can download from the homonymous app. Once you switch the pedal on (it's true bypass, by the way), the LED light is red when the gate is active and turns green when it's not gating.
The pedal works just flawlessly, suppressing the hiss from a hi-gain amp and effect chain without altering the tone, I'd strongly recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great!
Garfild, 05.01.2020
Great options of noise cancelling. Not only classic but some custom smart ones, that work really well.
It indicates with a led when it cancelling the noise.
Also options to use FX loop, to mute separate pedals. Nice, but didn't use yer. I'm already quite happy.
Can only recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing Noise Gate
Tsvetan Tsvetkov, 20.03.2020
I play a Hughes & Kettner Deluxe 40 amp with the gain turned to max. I have high output Dimarzio pickups so you can imagine what kind of noise this generates. I got the Sentry and in the beginning I wasn't very happy with the result. I couldn't find the combination between the settings that will give me no noise but sustain and feel like there isn't a noise gate in the chain. I gave the toneprint function a try and added a 3 band setting. It was amazing! Now all the noise is gone but the guitar sounds natural. It doesn't affect the sustain nor the sound your hands make when mooving on the strings (it was blocking that before). So I love the thing and all the sound guys at the venues I play love it :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The sound of silence...
Shortythegreat, 08.04.2019
Noise begone! .... and Poof.... :-)
no more words needed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
One of the best
Miguel J, 25.07.2019
tc electronic Sentry has a robust build quality and gets the job done.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome noisegate by TC Electronics!
il-mewt, 01.08.2019
A really awesome product by TC Electronics. I spent a lot of time reading reviews all over the internet before buying, and it was given a lot of praise - which it truly deserves.

It also has a great design.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing Sound Gate
niallgmac, 21.02.2017
I got this to reduce hum and background noise whislt recording guitar, particularly overdriven and distorted guitar.

It does exactly what it says on the tin. Set the threshold correctly, and the other parameters to taste, and you have flawless background noise elimination. The send and return loop on here mean that you can add noise induding pedals such as distortion and overdrive to the loop, where they will be gated as required, but delays and modulation pedals are allowed through, making sure that tails are not chopped.

Superb product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The best noise gate
Jimbo M, 03.06.2018
I've used this with high gain distortion pedals in the Sentry's loop and in the "X" pattern that gates the preamp of a high gain head. It works amazingly well in both applications. Analog dry through, soft switch and user programmable tone prints that allow you to customize the gate exactly to your rig. Really makes your delay repeats sound great as they aren't muffled by any hiss. Damp and Decay knobs work well to allow long sustain and natural decay.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Tweaker's noise gate
Nowyn, 16.04.2017
Works great using standard modes out of the box while also allowing user to tweak a whole load parameters to tailor it your rig, where you can set low, mid and high to have their separate dampening and threshold values.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great noise gate for the money
Runar, 08.06.2016
I haven't tried many noisegates out but for the price it performs really well. with customization online for more tweakability and all, but i just plugged in and it did what i expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
good choice for high gainers
24.10.2016
I got one of these. It doesn't cut out a hum of the amp itself but will cut the noise of the dist pedal and pickups. Good choice. TC rulez!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
26.01.2016
Lots more control than I am used to on a gate and I haven't even had a chance to get into the TonePrint side of things yet. Perhaps some might prefer the simpler approach of other products, but I'm glad I went for this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

tc electronic Sentry

91 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Wednesday, 2.12. and Thursday, 3.12.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(1)
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recently Viewed
Roland TD-07KV V-Drum Set

Electric Drum Set TD-07 sound module, 25 Preset kits, 25 user kits and 143 instrument sounds, V-Edit, EQ, ambience and 30 multi-effects, Bluetooth, Internal metronome, Coaching function, USB for audio and MIDI, Includes cabling and power supply Set configuration:...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Modamp Module 1005

Behringer Modamp Module 1005; Eurorack module; Ringmodulator and VCA; 2 ignal inputs with level controls; MOD and UNMOD modes for selecting Ringmodulator or Amplifier operation; 2 adjustable CV outputs for controlling external Oscillators; Gate inputs to switch modulation modes; build-in...

Recently Viewed
Sadowsky Onboard Bass Preamp

Sadowsky Onboard Bass Preamp (4-Knob System), prewired onboard bass preamp for J-style basses with metal control plate, active preamp for passive pickups, 4-knob layout with controls for Master Volume / Balance / Vintage Tone Control (P/P) / Treble and Bass...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Mainframe Bit Crusher

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Bit Crusher, Produces 80s-style lo-fi sounds reminiscent of early arcade games, home consoles and home computers, Reduces the sample rate from 48 kHz to 110 Hz, which leads to reduced audio quality...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
the t.bone SC 420 USB Silver Desktop-Set

Microphone Set USB studio large diaphragm microphone with USB connection for direct operation on the computer, No additional drivers required, Directional characteristic: cardioid, Frequency response: 30 - 18000 Hz, Sensitivity: 25 mV / Pa, Max. sound pressure level: 140...

Recently Viewed
Decksaver Denon SC6000M Prime

Decksaver Denon SC6000M Prime - cover for Denon DJ Prime SC6000 and SC6000M; Protects against dust, dirt, liquids and impacts; Milky transparent surface; High quality; polycarbonate; Dimensions (LxWxH): 47,0 x 32,2 x 7,0 cm; Weight: 0,6 kg

Recently Viewed
Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED Bi

Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED BiLight with integrated rechargeable battery; perfect video and photo ring light with adjustable color temperature and countless mounting possibilities for tripods, mobile devices and cameras. Integrated rechargeable battery with USB power output to charge...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.