tc electronic Sentry
103 €
Including VAT; Excluding 19,90 € shipping
Available in several months
Available in several months

This item has sold out and has been re-ordered. Unfortunately, our supplier cannot guarantee delivery within the next three months. We recommend that you choose a suitable alternative from our store.

Standard Delivery Times
1
s
One of the best on the market
shail3n 21.06.2019
ISP decimator and the Boss NS-2 have been dominating the market for years now and then came the Sentry. Have been watching lots of reviews and comparisons between these pedals online and made up my mind to get this pedal. I have absolutely no regrets for doing so. I play mostly metal with lots of gain from my amp and from my pedals which cases a lot of hiss and humms. Once the pedal is switched on, at first I had all the knobs dialed to noon and it was complete silence while retaining the sound quality with absolutely no loss.

I also find the toneprint feature interesting. I tried it and uploaded the Scott Iann ''The wall'' patch into it. I absolutely love this pedal and does what it is supposed to do. It is a must if you play with a lot of gain and metal type of music.

The tone print feature is so interesting and fun that it has also made up my mind in getting the other TC electronic pedals that has this (Flashback and Corona pedals).

The Sentry pedal itself is easy to use. You just have to set the knobs, especially the threshold knob to noon and dial it from there until all unwanted noise is removed. You then dial the Threshold and the decay knobs accordingly to get your sweet spot while making sure that there is no sound loss.
handling
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

RS
Blown away...
Radomir Sanovski 03.05.2020
I am a bassist, who loves his overdrives, but I must admit that besides getting awesome tones from "cascading" them into each other, on the downside I had some nasty hiss. So much so that with one of my basses, I could not play for more than 30 minutes on headphones, as I was receiving a headache from all the noise.

So far, I restrained myself from purchasing a noisegate pedal, as I read a ton of reviews where people complain about the gate "stealing" their tone and sustain. (including reviews here) However, I decided to experiment with the relatively inexpensive Sentry and what I can say... I am completely blown away!

I was imagining how I'm about to spend hours tinkering with settings until I find the optimal compromise between tone, sustain and noise. No such thing happened! This is the first time I get something, which I pull out of the box and it functions exactly as I want it, without touching anything.

I connected all my overdrives in the Sentry's FX loop, switched it to "hiss" mode, left all knobs at 12 o'clock and voila! No noise, no tone loss, zero sustain reduction, zero compromise!

I have tried the Sentry with all 4 basses of mine, in whatever settings on the overdives and the result is always a stellar job done by the Sentry. This noisegate even goes as far as almost muting the screeching noise that I sometimes get from my bad technique, when my palm slides on the G string!

I have the pedal for a few days now, but so far, I am amazed and cannot recommend it enough, especially for the price! I only hope it's durable in time. We'll see...
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

EM
Noise’s dreadnought enemy…
Emile Michel Hobo 19.08.2020
I’ve had it for a while now, but the results were instantaneous. I had major problems with noise and my fly-rig as soon as I entered an overdrive pedal to the equation. The Sentry perfectly guards my castle, letting no noise through.

The great thing about it is also that for microphones, you can come up with your own tone print that will specifically eliminate feedback. This means that this noise gate isn’t just good for the usual noise-elimination with your guitar or bass, but it’s also your goto-choice for the mouth harp.

When it comes to feedback, noise doesn’t have to be heard to get to be noise. This is probably the best a noise gate can ever be.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

JB
Destroys tone at high volume.
Juozapas B. 29.05.2020
I thought this was the ultimate noise gate when I noticed two things:
1) If I use it in the 4 cable method as it is often marketed, this creates unbearable ground loop noise, which renders the pedal unusable. Their support said this was the amps fault, but both of my amps (Orange Rocker Terror 15 and a Valveking 100 head) had the exact same problem. This noise also occurs when simply shorting the input and FX loop signal grounds, so the pedal is not faulty, but is still unusable and nowhere did they say that this may occur...
2) Changes tone. Noticeable at low volumes, but not a huge problem, but when I turn it up to rehearsal levels, it sounds bad. Annoying mid's and loss of high/low end.
Why would I use a gate to clean my signal if I lose tone and get noise? I'm returning it this week. Other than that the pedal works as described, it's great, but those two problems simply defeat the purpose.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

t
Excellent gate
taddeomaiden 01.11.2016
This pedal is solid quality. Sturdy construction and 3 intuitive but effective and responsive knobs: damp, release and threshold. The toggle switch controls how the pedal works: multiband noise gate, noise suppressor or the toneprint customizable setting, which you can download from the homonymous app. Once you switch the pedal on (it's true bypass, by the way), the LED light is red when the gate is active and turns green when it's not gating.
The pedal works just flawlessly, suppressing the hiss from a hi-gain amp and effect chain without altering the tone, I'd strongly recommend it.
handling
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

T
Solid but not perfect
TiltShifted 16.02.2020
The Sentry noise gate works really well as part of the pedal board. Gating is tight and the configurability via software is just unbelievably flexible. But when plugged to my Boss Katana Mk2 100W effects loop the pedal has weird issue of emitting a high pitched sound just before the gate closes. It sounds almost like feedback and adds an annoying "zing" at the start of the gating. I've gone through this with Thomann support and even exchanged the unit once, but it seems this is some weird issue with the gate and amp not quite working together as expected. So works well as part of pedal board, but might have issues if plugged to effects loop of an amp (depending on the amp as I've seen YouTube videos where it works just fine in effects loop of some amps).
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

FK
Absolutely amazing
Fanis K. 22.06.2021
I have a pedalboard w 10-12 effects and an isolated ps, so i was ok w that.
I decided to look for a noise gate when i was having hiss and noise issues between songs in my bands practice.
The internal loop of the sentry made me buy it, and for sure i can say its what i was looking for.
I have in its loop a compressor, a ts, a drive and a distortion.
With the sentry i don't have to worry anymore between songs for noise or hiss as it eliminates both.
Once you set up the threshold to your desired level, you are good to go.
Built quality is typical TC - great !
Sound wise i haven't noticed a tone suck from the sentry.
If you r having issues w noise and hiss, check your power and then go for tc sentry!
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

D
superdeal
Dragon666 30.12.2021
Super materiaal, werkt perfect zonder verlies aan geluid.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

T
Totally awesome!
Thathu 14.02.2022
I have tried several noise pedals and this is, by far, the best one
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

J
Does what it's supposed to
Joffen 11.08.2020
It's a noise gate, it kills noise.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

tc electronic Sentry