Customer center login

Millenium MS 2005

12207 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
3.7 /5
  • handling
  • stability
  • quality
Total
handling
stability
quality
Worst product I've ever bought. Period.
21.02.2016
I've bought MANY great stuff from Thomann over the years, including a lot of budget stuff (that included some Millenium stuff which turned out to be great) but this stand is probably the worst thing I've ever bought. Sorry folks.

The most important bits that bear most of the pressure (the boom) that should be made out of alloy or metal are made of plastic. I originally bought somewhere between 20 and 30 of these stands some time ago, some of which I still have packed like new somewhere. I took out 8 of these stands for a job and ALL the booms broke on first use. Tighten them a bit too far and the plastic snaps and breaks. Never got around to use the rest of them as they aren't trustworthy.

While live sound isn't the kindest of situations on any kind of equipment, I have used stands from other manufacturers that have lived up for the job for years. These stands sadly did not live up to the job and I've basically given some away to anyone who needed an emergency stand, along with a warning that it's a disposable stand.

Terrible product overall, even for the money. Sorry Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Great idea but poorly executed = Poor product
Stefan S. 733, 10.08.2013
I bought a few of these MS-2005 stands for use in our band studio since we were on a very tight budget and discovered that the hinge part where the boom meets the vertical part of the stand is made out of extremely cheap and brittle plastic (!!?) which cracked and pretty much fell to peices within a couple of months while being set up permanently on our drumkit (without really even moving it and also being very careful knowing that it was plastic).

I made a reclamation on a couple of them so far and got a couple of the same as replacement, but i havent really bothered with the other stands although they all have broken in the same way.

I really liked the idea of these stands though since you can mount two mics on the same stand and also if you have more than one of these stands you could borrow a boom and mount more than one boom on the same stand to save space, but this idea was poorly executed unfortunately and i even spoke to Thomann about it and suggested that they change the hinge part to metal instead.

I have now replaced the boom parts with high quality booms from K&M (K&M 211/1) instead which can be bought here at Thomann since the vertical part including the cast metal base seems to hold up very well (we have had these stands for a few years now). I have been very satisfied with this solution, but the MS-2005 as delivered is an extremely poor example of a boom stand and not recommended by me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
The worst item to penny-pinch on.
T Molloy, 01.06.2021
Don't buy a cheap stand.
A quality K&M stand isn't that expensive and when can you ever say in music that you can get something cheap AND have it forever.
This stand, on the other hand, is not fit for use. Because of the plastic locking screw, it WILL break no matter what setting you use it in. Also, it will not reliably hold any worthwhile microphone that has a metal chassis while it's 'working'.
Buying this will not save you money, it will bring you grief.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Daemon, 02.06.2019
Microphone stand broke in the middle after the third use. No moving around too much, no playing with it, it just broke when screwing the microphone on.
Also, the legs of the stand were unbalanced, it was always very wobbly and unstable, they didn't seem to even have enough strenght to hold properly for long periods of time.
Would not recommend...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Get something else
Oresbius, 24.07.2019
Get something else. I know is cheap and that's why I have it, but when you set up a mic you need it there and when you do that you need to do it easy. Nothing is easy and steady with that even for a studio job
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Millenium MS-2005 Microphone Stand
Esla, 03.05.2016
Edited at 2021/07/01

Tldr: Do not buy this.

Now on to the detailed review:

The stands look fine and I love the height of them. They're surprisingly well finished and weighty for the price and feels reasonably sturdy.

Where these stands completely break down is the clamping mechanism for the boom arm itself. Not only does it not clamp hard enough to carry heavy microphones or even light microphones when extended horizontally, it requires you to tighten it to such a degree that the very flimsy plastic on the inside of it completely shatters and crumbles.

I have had this happen to every single one of these stands that I've bought, and can attest that is an issue with this particular product, as I've bought other types of microphone stands and used them for the same microphones and at the same angles, and have had no trouble with those.

What saddens me most is that the other 95% of this microphone stand is actually very well made and sturdy, but this one single part of it makes it entirely unusable unless you take extensive effort to make the job it has to do easier. Which is not what you want to be thinking about when you're in the middle of working and helping artists.

If ever they make a version of this product that has a different tightening mechanism I'd be very much interested, but until then, just the one star.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Poor quality
Koniako82, 08.12.2020
Brakes very easy! Not good quality!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
utter waste of money
dekmantel, 09.11.2017
beware: spend the extra euro and buy something decent. i had used the stand four times, then the boom just broke off. no rough use or anything, just while adjusting it. during its swansong to the ground it pulled along an audio technica vocal mic, causing the latter to get a nice dent in both the grill and its pick up pattern.

so yeah, don't do it - it's not worth the trouble. thomann has a good assortment of stands that might be slightly more expensive, but also a lot more reliable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Poorly made
Geoff Turner, 13.09.2015
This was a replacement for my original that was poorly made. The Yoke/Hinge on which you adjust the angle of the mic stand is made of plastic and quite flimsy when being adjusted as if you don't adjust it correctly it weakens the joint and snaps the plastic.

As this is being used in a recording studio it does get used quite a bit in rehearsals as well as for recording, the theory of the design is quite good but put into practice and with the fact plastic has been used, it failed the field test when being used by musicians.

Pretty poor design really, waiting to see how long this one lasts before requiring a new one again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
The worst Mikrofonstativ.
Mr Kiki, 10.11.2018
It is by far the worst Mikrostativ I ever used until now.
Quality is not there, very difficult to use it is not a Mikrostativ.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Not recommended! Broke after 3 months.
19.01.2016
I was using this stand with a normal dynamic microphone and it was working for around 3 months. The problem started when I connected a bigger, condenser microphone (Rhode NT1A). It was too heavy for the stand and the arm was going down. After first try of fixing the screw in the stand tighter the whole part broke and I need to buy a new stand.

If you are need a cheap stand for a dynamic microphone and you wont change the position of the arm too often it might be a product for you, otherwise, buy a proper stand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Boom arms will need to be quickly replaced
22.01.2016
The boom arms on these mic stands are of extremely low quality and will break after only adjusting them for a few times.
The upside is, the stand itself can be reused with spare boom arms. I've now gotten rid of all the original boom arms for these stands, and replaced them with K&Ms.
I will definitely not be buying anymore of these stands, for any purpose, unless I'm really, really desparate. The boom arms should be considered one time use only!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Weak, broke in less than 2 weeks
Hadrien Enlart, 11.01.2021
You get what you pay for, I guess?
It is cheaply priced and it is therefore cheaply built...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
A piece of CRAP!
12.11.2015
This piece of crap is made out of plastic that breaks after a few times of usage. I already got spare parts twice because Thomann won't give me my money back. Needless to say the crappy plastic spare parts broke just as easily. Twice I have been at a show and had to tape it together because the plastic just crumbles. Don't buy this crappy stand, you will regret it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Carlos XKL, 02.12.2017
good,but one of the feets got broke in 6 month :(
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Buy cheap, buy twice
03.09.2015
Like so many others, my stand failed at the boom joint. Mainly because the joint is made from cheap, brittle plastic (terrible design), which broke in half during a live set. That it could could be used to hold two microphones was a nice feature, but is ultimately useless when it breaks so easily. Spend more and get a better quality product that will last.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Very Weak Product
20.01.2017
As other reviews have noted, the part that tends to take the majority of the weight/stress is the weakest of all.

I set this stand up to hold a SM57 microphone over my snare drum in a studio setting, i.e. once placed correctly not to be moved as my drums are there permanently.

I came to record one day and noticed that the microphone was sitting on my snare drum skin and assumed that the nut must have loosened on the boom arm. When i went to adjust the boom arm i noticed that the plastic housing that keeps the swivel joint of the boom arm in position had cracked.

The SM57 is not a heavy microphone, the stand has never been moved once placed in position so there has not been any undue stress placed on this.

I can only say that this part of the stand is substandard quality and not fit for purpose.

I cannot comment on the sturdiness of the height adjustment as I have not increased the height of the vertical stand.

The legs of the stand are sturdy and provided the stand with a stable base.

I will certainly not be purchasing another.of these boom stands with this cheap plastic part holding the boom arm in place again!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Cheap but too cheaply made
inu , 06.11.2019
Avoid these stands because:
1- they are too fragile for normal use: if you tighten them, they break (plastic stuff) and 2- the handling is hawkward as you have only one (fragile) grip to adjust the height of the boom and its inclination. So, it make sit difficult to adjust with precision and 3- they are too light, so they can move too easely if you touch them.
All in all, they are very cheap but they are nonetheless a waste of money as they are too cheaply made. You better spend a little more and get a MS2002 or 2003.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Bad one.
Matias M., 05.01.2015
Right out of the box it was flimsy, the pivot piece broke apart from the nut that secured it after a few weeks.

If you want a good stand look for one entirely made out of metal or something better than just plastic for the pivot.

The rest is fine, no problem, quite robust in all other areas, but that critical piece breaking so early constituted a big downside and I was forced to glue the piece fixed on one position.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Get a better mic stand
Overdrive Studios, 28.04.2018
I bought several of these for my studio, and they didn?t last very long! The stand itself is fine, its the boom arm mechanism which wears out and breaks very easily. Not a single one has survived, so now I have the mic stands but had to throw the arms away, not exactly ideal. I could technically have contacte Thomann and probably made a fuss and got replacement ones or my money back, but to be honest it was my own fault for buying cheap. No one should sell or even make a product that is so easily broken. I bought a K&M one and its so much better! Much more stable. Do not buy this mic stand! I'm not a picky guy and use millenium guitar stands, drum stools, mic stand for kick drum and other stuff, but this mic stand just does not cut it. Avoid! The delivery was of course fine :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Finger weg!
TTVT55, 14.01.2013
Dieses Mikrofonstativ ist Günstig aber auch nicht von Guter Qualität!!! Als das Packet bei Mir ankam habe ich gedacht, dass es ein Super Stativ ist... ABER: Die Freude an dem Produkt verging schnell weil die Mutter, die Für die Befestigung des Galgens Dient, Herausgerissen wurde!!! Seit dem habe ich den Galgen weggemacht, sodass ich es als Gerades Mikrofonstativ verwenden kann.
Dieses steht aber nicht Gerade... Mitlerweile wurde das Stativ ausrangiert...

Mein Tipp: Lieber 10? mehr auf den Tisch legen und damit ein Stativ kaufen an dem die Freude nicht nach 5 Tagen vergeht!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Stay away
Trailertrash, 29.07.2017
Cheap stands bought 2 both broke first day ?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
DOES NOT ROTATES THE ARM?
pedromau, 23.12.2017
I bought 7 of these.
I knew the construction was cheap, but I opened 3 of them, and none of them rotates the arm. I'm feeling a bit stupid because I can't rotate the arm, and I don't know if it's my fault or if the products are damaged. Either way, it's the 1st stand I can't rotate, so there's something really wrong with this.

Will return all of them for sure.

DO NOT buy this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Do not buy!
02.10.2014
Don't buy this stand. Pay a little more for one with a different hinge/joint design. The boom arm joint is hopeless and will last only a couple of weeks. I have 6 broken ones of these in the attic for parts.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Absolute garbage.
09.04.2015
I ordered 3 of these. All three were broken in under 1 month. Yes, it's easy to handle, I give it to it. But the first died when a singer set it without unscrewing the screw and it immediately destroyed the holding mechanism (a.k.a the plastic ridges that hold a rubber sheet together) and it no longer held. So I really looked after the other two but they both broke at the screw and fell into two pieces. Positive side: They can hold a relatively heavy microphone with the boom extended, even sideways. Negative side: They are absoulte garbage and your favourite microphone is going to end up falling onto the ground no matter what.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium MS 2005

13,40 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Wednesday, 29.09. and Thursday, 30.09.

Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Microphone accessories
Microphone accessories
The right accessories bring out the best in your microphones. Find out what’s available and what you can do with it!
Online Guides
Drum Mics
Drum Mics
Miking up and recording a drum kit is a fairly complicated procedure, and this can apply equally to choosing the right mics for the job.
 
 
 
 
 
test results: