Harley Benton ST-20 BK Standard Series

556 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Hard to find fault given the price
røde2nowhere, 30.04.2020
Summary: For €79, the quality of this guitar seems impossible. For a first guitar, it seems like the obvious choice.

So, first, background: This is bought for my teenage son who has been learning guitar for about 4 months. It is his first electric guitar, and the first in our home. We have no previous experience and this is my first time reviewing a guitar. Also, I myself cannot play guitar, so I cannot really comment on playability etc, for that reason, other than to comment on what my son has experienced.

With that said, out of the box this guitar feels substantially better than I was expecting for €79. I can't remember the last time I have bought something and immediately thought that it should have cost a lot more.

The finish looks great, and the knobs and switches all feel good. I don't think I'm going too far to say that this guitar looks great. Even if you don't think about the price at all.

It took my son a few minutes to tune, but that was it, and he started playing clear chords with a very pleasant sound. It did take him a few hours to get accustomed to the narrow neck, having started out on an acoustic guitar, but it was all smiles all the way, and for us listening to him practice, the sounds coming from this guitar (through the Harley Benton TableAmp) are very nice.

If you are looking for comparisons to other guitars, and that kind of thing, I can't help you. But if this is your first experience with an electric guitar, or for a starter guitar for a young beginner, it seems like a no brainer.

Pros:
- Price, obviously
- Looks great
- Sounds nice
- Plays nicely out of the box (after tuning)

Cons
- The frets are sharp along the edges of the neck, with a few of them protruding quite a bit more than others. (But I understand this is something to expect at this end of the price range, and can be addressed with some work.)
- No instructions (maybe this is normal, but it means we don't know exactly what the nice feeling 5-way switch is doing, for example. And not sure how to make use of the supplied adjuster tools, for example.)
- Some minor damage marks on the white "pick guard" on our model, but hardly noticeable and could be due to shipping.

Overall this is a bargain. There are TOY electric guitars that cost this much, and this is the real deal. The fact that it looks good, sounds good, and is easy to play (according to my son), what's not to like?

Also, there is a audio lead included in the box. I wasn't aware so ordered a sssnake IPP1030 to go with this. The included lead will probably do the job though. However, we are glad we got the sssnake one at the time, as it is much higher quality.

If you don't have an electric guitar, and you would like to have one, and you have €79 to spend, then you should probably get this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing.
Andy A, 21.10.2020
I have brought a couple of budget guitars in the past and really wasn't expecting much for less than 100 euros. I took it out of the box and my first impression was that it looked like a far more expensive guitar, I was sure that my initial surprize would disappear when I plugged it in. Straight from the off I was blown away by the sound and the ease of play, I couldn't put it down. The finish and workmanship was as good as any guitar I have owned in the past, OK I've never owned a top class strat. I love playing this guitar and would not have the slightest concern about gigging with it. I'm not going to look for fault or any negativity on this guitar just for the sake of a review because honestly, less than a hundred bucks?? Don't bother looking, I doubt very much if there is a better guitar than this out there in this price range. Amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Golfsan, 16.10.2020
I bought a guitar for my son, he liked it very much because it is very easy to play, has nice hands and everything is fun with this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best customer service
Cloggybrew, 24.09.2020
Initially ordered a B stock , arrived quickly but the bridge pick up was faulty. Spoke to Thomann customer service and they sent a replacement immediately even before the guitar I returned had arrived back at Thomann, no questions asked. The guitar arrived and they had replaced the B stock with a brand new guitar. The B stock guitar was excellent apart from the pick up but the replacement is flawless.

The fit and finish , sound and playability of this guitar is better than some of the more expensive well known models I have played. I wish I had known about Thomann earlier. 10/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Positively surprised
Ioakeim, 04.11.2014
Having owned quite a few low-priced guitars more expensive than this one, I was expecting something terrible given the price. Imagine my surprise when I got the instrument and I could not detect any bad craftsmanship!

No sharp or uneven frets, clean and polished surface, sturdy soldering and it even includes a cable and all the keys you may need to set it up yourself! The guitar stays perfectly in tune after allowing the strings to stretch for a day.

The action was a bit high for my tastes, but that's something purely individual. All I had to do to make this guitar playable to my taste was lower the action (which it handled pretty well, no buzzing) and set the intonation. Nothing I wouldn't do at any instrument regardless of price range.

The sound is nice, I got it because I like the sound of single coils and it hasn't disappointed me. If you find that you'd like less hum try switching to positions 4 and 2 on the pickup selector which uses the neck and middle (or middle and bridge respectively) pickups to cancel the hum.

This is a real instrument, not a toy. If you are looking for a first guitar, a guitar to practice on the go without the fear of having it stolen or just a guitar to mod and learn this then is for you. You'll love it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
So cool
disasterZz, 04.01.2021
This guitar is a good for beginners. I love that
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
my first guitar...
Anton Belyaev (^^), 13.08.2020
guys, to be honest, I love this guitar, it's cheap, I'm a beginner, I wanted something as cheap as possible, of the highest quality, and I got it ... I'll tell you briefly about the guitar, perhaps ...
The neck is a maple, a good one, a light piece of maple, and well polished, and I know this is a rarity in budget models. The fingerboard is polysander, yes, it may be inexpensive, but the fingerboard is thick and looks cool, switches, knobs and all that work great. The tuners are cheap, but quite solid, I don't think that something will go wrong. The strings are excellent from the factory, so for the first time I will leave them, then I will buy similar ones. So, now the cons, I did not like milling in some places, it is rough, somewhere there is So, now the cons, I did not like the milling in some places, it is rough, there are burrs somewhere, I had to carefully clean it up, but that's all. By sound ... an ordinary sound, my guitarist friend, said that it sounds good, he would have estimated it at 15 thousand rubles (about 190 euros) If you are such a novice guitarist, or you need a guitar for your home, then take it boldly it's really worth it!
PS: guys, those who live in Europe ... it's not money at all for you, I'm now a schoolboy from Russia, everyone is in trouble, for me it can be a large amount, but for you it's not money at all ...so? why not to buy?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good budget music tool!
DFang, 19.10.2020
This guitar was bought for my son, a beginning guitarist, as a gift. The tool is good for learning! The guitar came from the store with a normally tuned strings height and an adjusted coils height. String quality is standard for this price range. The body and neck of the guitar are well finished and varnished. Nice view of guitar! The tuners are standard with a soft ride. 5-position switch with confident fixation in each position. The tremolo keeps the tuning well, but you have to tune the guitar from time to time, like for any other music instrument. Sound quality is good for an guitar at this price point, pickups with good exhaust.
For transportation, the guitar was wrapped in a soft film with soft spacers and packed in 2 boxes. At customs, the guitar was unpacked and apparently dropped there, because of this, a dent in varnish remained on the back of the body. No claims against Thomann, this is the fault of the customs, – they have holes in their hands.
As a result, I want to say that this is a great stratocaster for its price! Best for beginning guitarist! The quality of materials and workmanship is excellent. Respect to Thomann store! You make good music tools!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
PERFECT FOR HOME RECORDING
Андре&#108, 07.09.2020
Прекрасный инструмент! Its very "pick up and play"-friendly without further adjustments, and has a very pleasant sound for a variety of genres. A beautiful guitar, a very comfortable neck, wonderful frets.
Thanks Thomman!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent value
Simon I, 10.08.2020
As a total guitar beginner, this product proved perfect for me. Its very "pick up and play"-friendly without further adjustments, and has a very pleasant sound for a variety of genres. Absolutely bargain for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best option for beginners.
AtZack, 05.05.2017
I was looking for a beginner's guitar. After researching for about a week, I found Harley Benton ST-20 BK. This is my first time to buy anything from Thomann, but I've watched quite many videos supporting its good quality and service on YouTube. I'm also quite satisfied from this experience.

The guitar arrived within two days after the order(I'm living in Heidelberg). Double boxes wrap, which is good. The outer box is a huge one. They put quite a lot of "air bags" to protect the inner box, which makes me feel good about the condition of the guitar. And the guitar looks amazing. From the body to the head, from the bridge to the tuning pegs, everything is fine. And the action of the guitar is quite low, I don't need to adjust it before playing. I tried to tune it and played for a bit. It's very easy to tune and stays in tune. The sound is also nice.

If I have to say something I don't like about it, that would be the volume and the tune knobs. Don't take it the wrong way, they work well, but the letters and the numbers on it are a bit rough. Of course, that doesn't affect the playing experience, and it's more about personal taste.

Overall, I'm satisfied with this guitar. For this price, I don't think you can find a better option. Not to mention, Thomann offers 30 Day Money Back Guarantee and 3-Year Warranty. That's crazy.

For those who wants to know what comes in the box, I made a simple unbox video, hope it would help: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XH2U2hFv11w
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Hb strat copy
16.12.2014
Bought as part of a package for my daughter. Amazed at the quality of this for the price. Well put together, fingerboard is nice, neck very straight. Well set up too, no buzzes, frets are good, recommended as a cheap but good quality guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good low budget guitar
TaBBy, 12.08.2019
The guitar came in perfect condition and played pretty well right after unboxing, there was just some tuning to be done at the bridge. The strings were very low quality but after i replaced them, the guitar sounds incredebly well for it's price, i'd say it can compete solidly with a slightly higher budget fender.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Bang For Buck
John658, 13.01.2015
I bought this guitar for my 12 year old nephew. I found it to be of excellent quality, a real good buy for a beginner. The inontation really surprised me for such a cheap guitar, it was near perfect.Sounds were decent for a strat copy style guitar.
Good quality finish, i found only one slight imperfection in the finish.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good guitar vor low price
Nikolay Kuzmin, 21.07.2020
Well, it's my first e-guitar and i'm using it for 6 months and it's VERY GOOD. Well sanded, smooth and comfortable neck, shiny black body, it looks very good. No problems with jack plugging or other.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
:)
Eric1700, 31.07.2015
great guitar :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
fabulous Guitar for price
Ashproductions, 22.06.2019
i bought this guitar a while back as my first guitar to learn on after playing bass for years. It arrived well packaged and secure all set up ready to go. I was blown away by the sound of the guitar when playing it through a small practice amp i ended up getting a Harley Benton vintage 30 to play through and they sound exceptional together. would recommend replacing the strings with some cheep but nice ones to warm the tone up a bit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
works GREAT
dannyleeguitar, 15.05.2019
does it work? it works, what more do you need to know?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Most Awesome
Nicholas C., 29.10.2014
This is the most awesome Harley Benton I have owned I have Harley Benton L450-C and this one has the best sound and the feel of the maple neck is a nice feeling that just makes you want to play. The whammy bar works to perfection in overall a great sound and perfect build to this awesome guitar. Would recommend to everyone for a low budget perfect guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great guitar for beginners
SergeyKazharov, 07.08.2020
Great item, especially for that price! Very high quality made guitar, pretty good strings. The guitar came a little upset, possibly due to transportation, but a few minutes of adjustment will give a pleasant sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Quality for Price
DomP, 26.12.2019
Overall the guitar was great for the price. I had to give it a setup and it had a little fret sprout which I filed down. But other then setting it up for my tastes, the guitar is well worth the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
PERFECT FOR HOME RECORDING
Ajay, 20.07.2020
I bought this 3 months ago, I just love it.

Pros :

Smooth Fret Board
Cost
Pickups

Cons :
weight
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton ST-20 BK Standard
Mark234, 03.05.2013
As a Guitar teacher most of my students have had one of these as their first Guitar (since about 1997) before that (and since) I have seen and played most of the other things available but the ST20 performs very well and is exceptional value for money and i would have to spend at least £150 to get something appreciably better.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton ST-20 BK Standard Series

82 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
In stock within 8-10 weeks
In stock within 8-10 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock US

Quilter Superblock US, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic US Amplifier voicings: 60 Tweed, 62 Blonde & 65 Black; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1BK

Casio CT-S1BK Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
Polyend Tracker AE Legowelt

Polyend Tracker AE Legowelt; Limited Artist Edition; individual design; incl. orig. project files and sample packs;, Stand Alone Hardware Tracker; Step Sequencer & Song Arranger; Sampler (Forward, 1 Shot, Backward, Ping-Pong); Granular Synthesizer; Wavetable Synthesizer (compatible with Ableton Wave and…

Recently Viewed
RAV Vast D Major red

RAV Vast2 D Major red edition, D3/ G3, A3, B3, C#4, D4, E4, F#4, A4, Handpans-inspired steel tongue instrument, 2mm Steel, diameter 51cm, hight 17cm, weight 5,9kg, incl. bag

39
(39)
Recently Viewed
Blue Microphones Yeti Blackout

Blue Microphones Yeti Blackout; Multi-Pattern USB Kondensatormikrofon für Recording und Streaming; three 14 mm condenser capsules with four different polar patterns; polar pattern: cardioid, figure-eight, omnidirectional, stereo; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; max. sound pressure: 120 dB (THD: 5% 1…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Affinity P Bass PJ CFM

Fender Squier Affinity Precision Bass PJ Charcoal Frost Metallic; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Laurel; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Line6 HX Stomp XL

Line 6 HX Stomp XL; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Exceptional sound quality with 123 dB dynamic range, features the same SHARC DSP chip and HX models as the Helix, eight capacitive touch footswitches with colour-coded LED rings, 300+…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Thomann Cats Kalimba Brown

Kalimba Made of Mahogany, 17 Tines tuned in C major, Sound hole in the shape of two cats, Colour: Brown, Includes strong case, tuning hammer, and cleaning cloth

Recently Viewed
Polyend Tracker AE Pete Cannon

Polyend Tracker AE Pete Cannon; Limited Artist Edition; individual design; incl. orig. project files and sample packs;, Stand Alone Hardware Tracker; Step Sequencer & Song Arranger; Sampler (Forward, 1 Shot, Backward, Ping-Pong); Granular Synthesizer; Wavetable Synthesizer (compatible with Ableton Wave…

4
(4)
Recently Viewed
ESP LTD B-4E M NS

ESP LTD B-4E M NS, 4-string electric bass, Body: Mahogany, Construction: Neck-Thru, Scale: 34", Neck: Mahogany / Maple, Fingerboard: Ebony, Bridge: LTD BB-604 String Thru, Tuners: LTD, Frets: 24 XJ, Hardware: Black Nickel, Neck Pickup: ESP Designed SB-4N, Bridge…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.