Electro Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi

600 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
21 written ratings
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Speaks for itself
24.04.2015
This little unit has been truly tried and tested. A child of the original Big Muff Pi, there really isn't any remote competition for bass fuzz effects when it comes to the Electro Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi.

Electro Harmonix are one of the best in the business when it comes to effect pedals, and really put in the effort to ensure quality in all their pedals.

Firstly the sound. This thing can range from a light touch of high end fuzz to just slightly color your bass sound, to a crunching low or mid range Rumble distortion that will have you tearing through riffs. The addition of a three position flip switch allows the user to change the mode of effect they desire. The three modes are bass boost, dry and wet.

The build quality is fantastic on all EH products. No plastic here, the pedal body is made completely from die cast metal and so it can take quite a beating. The rotary knobs for the controls are premium plastic and give a good resistance when turned. To end, I just love the graphics EH use on their pedals. They are funky and fresh and really make the pedal stand out among the rest.

The only criticisms I would have is that it can take a bit of tinkering to find your desired sound even with just 3 variables on the device, but this has to be expected and oa not entirely a bad thing. As I have said the range of sounds this little unit can produce is vast, and that's a big achievement coming from just a small pedal. I would have like however some presets on the pedal just so I could quickly change to a new sound if I were playing live, but this is just a personal note.

I would highly recommend this pedal to live and studio players alike, as there is really no alternative. And at that price? You would be mad to pass it up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best bass fuzz
DrBoondigga, 20.12.2017
This to me is the best bass fuzz out there.
I've been playing with it in gigs for 2 years and it hasn't failed me once , it took a beating a lot of times and it is in perfect condition.
The knobs let you manipulate the sound very easily and dinamically, and having that bass boost switch really helps out a lot when you are in need of a little more low end
10/10 would buy again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
GO ON THE LADS!
Darragh, 09.09.2014
I've been using a Boss Bass OD for YEARS. I also gave the GT6B a go, for a long time, but I couldn't get a consistent sound I liked out of either!

On recommendation from a friend, I ordered the e big muff on a whim. I was not disappointed. Going from the GT6B to this was a real pleasure. Bare minimum of controls, which is underwhelming, yet there is more than enough room to play around and find exactly what you're looking for.

I gigged it for the first time last week. I play in a blues rock cover outfit with just one guitarist, so the big muff does a great job in filling out the sound while himself is having an old solo or two. The optional boost also allows for an extra kick in the sound too. Amazing value.

The only thing I didn't like about it was the feel of the metal - nails on chalkboard kind of effect. But, that's just me. Also, there is no way to easily change the battery quickly, four screws need to be undone. I find this mildly inconvenient.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Huge Sound !
24.02.2016
Purchased this pedal a few months ago and still diggin it !

firstly started using it on bass. My favourite feature was that you can have the dry signal and the fuzz ! massively effective with two amps.I have used it through a orange crush 100w and a ashdown 1"15 combo amp and makes the amp roar with it on every time.

this pedal also sounds amazing on guitar , have been using it recently on my PRS sounds massive and if you have a pedal such as EHX pitchfork you can can literally get a fuzz bass sound.

would highly recommend this pedal to anyone with a budget or just looking for great tone! I dont think you will find a pedal with incredible tone at this price too soon !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
zef@porto, 15.05.2018
Big Muff Pi very well tuned for bass.
Great effect sounds.
Easy to tune in.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Classic Muff
05.07.2016
Classic pedal, great rusty sound. If you don't know what a muff sounds like, this is the starting point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fuzz done right!
Constantinos, 13.06.2015
If you are a Weezer fan like me and you loved the fuzzy bass from Pinkerton this is what you need.. play with knobs and you can get some MUSE tones aswell (Starlight, Hysteria etc) Don't forget that there is an awesome clean sound too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fantastic
BarryR, 25.01.2014
I've had this pedal for 5 years now and it is still kicking ass. It's light but very well put together, very strong and has taken a few knocks but keeps on going. It is battery and mains operable which is great.

The lever between dry and bass boost looks and feels delicate but as I said, after 5 years, countless gigs and plenty of bumps and bruises it's still completely intact which I never would have guessed when I first opened the box.

The tonal range of the sustain and tone knobs sounds incredible, the fuzz makes EVERYTHING sound great. Combined with my Dunlop Crybaby this pedal makes a seriously nasty, evil, gut-wrenching but also psychedelic, fuzzy sound that's great for solos or whatever you want really.

The only drawback I can see/hear is that at low levels of sustain/tone I find the pedal sounds quite awful and generally I only turn it on for when I want to drown in that BIG muff sound.

However, with that said, I could not recommend this pedal highly enough and would also recommend the Dunlop Crybaby as well as they both go together so well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent!
George Konstantine, 22.01.2014
I received my Bass Big Muff Pi in the mail yesterday.
I had done lots of research as to what fuzz would work best for me.
This was it. I made the right choice.

It has a very full spectrum of sound to choose from. I especially like the choice between dry, normal and bass boost. Just what I need to fill up some sonic space in my trio.
Last night I used it for the first time in a band scenario. GREAT! is all I can say :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Ideal for bass-players that like it rough
Nickname:, 12.02.2014
I bought the Bass Big Muff because i needed an drive pedal that allows me that produces an heavily distorted sound that doesn't steals my low-end. It does the opposite at that, when you make the right use of the bass boost/normal/dry toogle switch in the middle. I mostly use the dry setting wich causes a sound that doesn't get lost in the sound of my band. Another thing i do wth this is playing the guitar, which sounds good, i can't compare to the normal muffs but i also can't complain.

The last thing i want to note here is that this pedal doesn't seem to produce any hum even with high sustain settings, and that is is build like a tank.

I subtracted one star in the features rating because mixing the processed signal to the dry signal also makes it louder, other manufacturers found a better way to deal with this issue.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very versatile distortion pedal
Christian1205, 13.02.2014
I'd thought about getting this pedal for some months before I finally purchased it, because there are so many reviews about it and nearly all of them said that it is one of the best distortion pedals for bass. And they were all right!

Although there are three different modes - "Norm", "Bass Boos" and "Dry" - which all have a reason to be there, I only use the dry mode for my bandsound now. I think the other two modes speak for themselves. For those who don't know "Dry" mode: You still control the volume and tone with those pots, but the sustain pot now acts like a blend pot - adjusting how much of the dry signal and how much of the distorted signal will finally come through the output. I really love this mode because you can use it for boosting your sound just a bit but also with this mode you can gain massive distortion.

So I like this pedal because it is not just a fuzz pedal as which it is sold at most stores but very versatile and can be used as a overdrive, distortion or fuzz if you know how to use the pots in the different modes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bass Big Muff
Zion S., 19.05.2013
I have nothing bad to say about this pedal. It's perfect for any type of distortion, from a light fuzz to thick sludge. Like all Electro Harmonics pedals it's well built and reliable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bought for my son's bass setup
Spanna, 01.10.2014
He loves it. Robust metal case and rugged foot switches. He loves the control over the sound. He originally wanted the nano version of the same pedal, but we decided to go for the big brother and he hasn't regretted the choice. Great tone and distortion when he wants that dirtier sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A must for a bassist
27.05.2016
The sound is perfect with the tone of my thunderbird, this pedal is a basic must for all bassists out there
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
for a bassist that likes to grind
Graham K., 25.05.2013
the EHX bass big muff is a surprisingly versatile pedal, and one that creates a unique sound, its quite difficult to describe really. its like a buzz but a bassy buzz.

it has volume, tone and sustain knobs, which really do work!

a foot switch and also a style switch: bass boost, normal and dry

the case is like a solid steel. which kind of looks recycled. but it protect everything inside. it all looks very good quality.

i do love mine, and it helps create a really unique sound that you won't often hear. other bass players always ask me what im using after we play.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Maybe not the best but d*** good bass distortion
David2268, 22.02.2014
Using it on many songs. lots of possibilities. Had problems with other pedals that in my opinion cut either the low end bass or the attack. Never uses the bass boost but the dry mode and the normal mode is sweet. Sturdy design and it works perfectly after one year in duty. one problem that i've discovered is the little toggle switch is placed in a way that you might flick it by mistake if you have clumsy feet. happened once or twice but no biggie. no one noticed anyway. In general a good distortion for bass with lots of bang for the buck.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Phat sound
PatTheCat, 26.02.2014
EHX is known for its wide variety of effects, not only for guitar but also for basses.
The Big Muff Pi provides the nice fuzzy sound most of us know and love from guitarists, but combines it with the option to boost your bass-sound without losing sound quality.

It has 3 knobs which provide a simple but effective way to shape the sound and a 3-way-switch below offers the pure fuzz sound, the fuzz sound with a bass boost or the raw bass sound.

The stomper is made of solid metal and can be powered either by a battery 9v-block or a power supply.

Overall the Big Muff Pi provides a variety of sounds but keeps your basses where they are supposed to be. Low and heavy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Easily one of the best bass distortions on the market
John1670, 20.03.2015
There are some very good tones you can get from this pedal. The build quality is excellent. It looks as well as it sounds on a pedal board. A must-have for any bass player.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect fuzzbox for bass
25.09.2014
There's a reason why the Big Muff is a popular fuzzbox. This counterpart for the bass is just as great. If you're looking for a simple fuzz there's no need to look further. Easy to handle and gets any sound you'll want. Simply a great pedal!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bass Big Muff!
sicsacsucs, 14.02.2014
It does what it should.
You can get awesome fuzz sounds.
Also a nice distortion is possible if you want to.
The casing seems valuable.
I like the "dry" setting the most.
Its a classic effect for bass and not that expensive.
Try it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Big sound
Peter1696, 06.06.2014
The bass big muff is similar to the regular big muff and carries a big sound with rich texture. The only downfall of the effect is that it can be tricky to dial in without getting a muddy sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Electro Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi

85 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(8)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S300

Keyboard 61 Velocity-Sensitive keys, 48 Voice polyphony, 400 Sounds, 60 Preset-Songs, Reverb, Volume Sync EQ, Learning Function, Automatic accompaniment, 77 Preset rhythms, One-touch preset, Dance Music mode, Registering, Pitchbend wheel, Connect to the free Chordana Play For Keyboard learning...

Recently Viewed
Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio

Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio; Effects Pedal; 4.3" touch-enabled screen with color coded cues and waveforms; 6 parallel tracks and 6 song parts for a total of 36 distinct loops per song and in simultaneous parallel and sequential looping; Unlimited...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha THR10II

Modeling combo amp for electric guitar 5 Memory locations, Realistic tube amp sounds and feel, Effects, Bluetooth and USB, New amplifier models for electric guitar and bass, Microphone models for acoustics and flat voicings, 3 Amp modes per amp...

Recently Viewed
Levys Pad. Garm. Leather Strap 3" BK

Strap for electric guitar and electric bass Strap material: Leather, Length adjustment: Ladder adjustment system, Upholstery: Foam, Width: 76 mm, Length adjustable from 94 cm to 130 cm, MSS2 BLK, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton PB-20 SBK Standard Series

Electric bass Body: Lime, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Scale: 864 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 20 Frets, Double-Action truss-rod, Pickup: 1 PB-Style split coil, 1 Volume and 1 tone control, Classic...

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX12v3

12-Channel mixer 7 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ, 4 Inserts and 4 one-button compressors, Channels 5-10 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x 3.5 mm Stereo jack Line input, 2x4 USB Interface, Built-in GigFX effect unit with 24...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

Recently Viewed
JHS Pedals Cheese Ball - Fuzz Distortion

JHS Pedals Cheese Ball - Fuzz Distortion; Effects pedal; Lovetone Big Cheese replica; Analog mode; True Bypass; Volume, Gain and Tone controls; 4-way switch to select four gain and tone settings; Bypass footswitch; Status LED; Metal enclosure; 6.3 mm mono...

Recently Viewed
Takamine TKSS3 Guitar Strap Grasflower

Guitar strap Made by Levy's, Material: Suede leather, Width: 7 cm, Length adjustable from 100 cm - 140 cm, With Takamine Logo, Design: Grasflower, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Yamaha THR10IIW

Modeling combo amp for electric guitar Built-in wireless receiver compatible with the Line6 Relay G10 transmitter (Art.398255 - not included), Integrated rechargeable battery, 5 Memory locations, Realistic tube amp sounds and feel, Effects, Bluetooth and USB connectivity, New...

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX16v3

16-Channel mixer 11 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ on all channels with variable medium-frequency control (channel 15/16 has a standard 3-band EQ), 8 Inserts and 8 single-knob compressors, The channels 9-14 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.