Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

478 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A great audio interface
Soheil JB, 13.08.2020
I'm not an expert when it comes to studio equipment but I'm pretty sure this audio interface won't let you down, The build quality is fantastic and I love the sound quality of this audio interface, It's super clean and It has a built-in Phantom power so you don't need to get a separate one for your condenser microphone and you can simply connect this to the computer with the USB-C cable that comes in the box.
The installation process was pretty straightforward and Focusrite has a step by step installation guide on their website.
Did I mention you get a bunch of VSTs and Ableton Live 10 for free? I'm pretty sure if you try to get each one of those it's gonna cost you more than the audio interface.

The only downside for me was some audio crackling when watching youtube ( which doesn't usually happen ) and you can't get any sound output for headphones unless your studio speakers are off which is a bit of hassle and having a volume control for your headphones would've been nice. The more expensive one of this audio interface comes with this feature but I feel Focusrite should've left the headphone volume knob on this model as well.
If you've got the budget and you need two instrument input and you do lots of recording, Get the more expensive one so you don't regret it in the future, For me, this is enough and I'm pretty happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Outstanding quality for a very affordable price.
AKooymans, 18.03.2020
I got this interface as an addition to my home studio; I mainly use it to track bass and guitars. All I can really say is that I have no complaints whatsoever!

The design is very nice, the device itself feels very sturdy. The free software perks that are included are very nice as well. Focusrite provides several detailed instructional videos, so installation is also a walk in the park.

PROS:
- Beautiful and sturdy design;
- Easy to install, thanks to Focusrite's instructions;

CONS:
- I guess that a con for some people can be that you can only hook up one instrument and one microphone at the same time. For me this is no problem, since I'm only tracking one instrument at a time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice for home recording!
Tuncy, 07.05.2020
I am super happy with it.
I thought its broken in the first place. I had a problem with the USB plug on my computer, so the sound was crackling especially on youtube videos. The USB port was probably bottlenecking the data transfer. I switched the USB port to the USB 3.0 one (even tho its a USB 2.0 device) and it solved the problem.

My only complain is that, it doesnt come with a dedicated headphone volume knob or a mute switch. So as long as my headphones are plugged in, they work. If you don't have a volume knob on your speakers, its very hard to balance the volume of monitors and headphones. If I knew it, I would buy the 2i2. And also, you cannot do a stereo recording from your stereo effects unit.

Good overall. Do consider its cons and pros. 2i2 may be a better option for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Megi , 16.09.2020
Would have been really nice if this model could have an audio output routing option, so that one could switch monitoring from speakers to the headphone and visa verse.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Incredible piece of gear
nunocf, 26.08.2020
I'm a bass player and decided to play guitar. This, together with software allows me to not have to purchase an amplifier for the guitar as I can just plug in and run the software to give me all the sounds I want/need until I figure out what I'm looking for.
This was a complete game changer to my approach to playing and I really could not be happier with the product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid Litthe Thing
Tsvetan Tsvetkov, 17.12.2019
Well it's an industry leading product so a lot has been said and written about the Scarlett series. Here are my 2 cents.
Pros:
- Very well Built
- Usb C
- Air button
- Direct Monitoring (not all similar product have this)
- Small and Portable
- Sounds Decent
- Bunch of free software and plugins bundled with it

Cons:
- When I use my guitar with it it peeks super early so the volume levels in the monitors can't go that high
- No headphone volume control
- No combined XLR and audio jack
- A bit expensive

Overall it works great it does what it's made to do and it's very rigid. If the price doesn't bother you this is the usb interface for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Disappointing interface which supports ONLY 1 OUTPUT!
DisappointedMan, 26.08.2020
Have no idea how this interface became so popular..

I will have to return this as soon as get another interface as this one costing 100 eur doesnt even handle separate audio via headpones or monitors.. I mean How stupid the interface has to be if when you have your monitors connected and plug your headphones, you wont hear anything until you unplug both monitors from the back.. This is ridiculous device and definitely not worth buying unless you know that you will be using only 1 output .

When buying this I had no idea it has such a huge issue and could not see anyone noting this at all..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen
Rita W., 13.07.2020
This audio interface is brilliant. I use it when our Swing Band rehearses on Jamulus. It was so easy to set up on my Windows 8.1 pc. Headphones, mic and my electric guitar all plugged in and working well. I did try another audio interface which didn't seem to want to set up on my Windows pc so I was more than pleased that I spent a bit more money on the Focusrite. I can't thank Thomann enough for their help and very fast post.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cheap but lovely
Joris T, 01.07.2020
I got this to replace my old Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 1st generation for one specific reason: the Hi-Z input on the Gen1 is terrible, and they said that this was much improved on the new version. I really only use it for scratch vocals and DI guitars, and yes, the new Hi-Z input is MUCH better than the 1st gen. It suits my needs perfectly, it's super-compact and solid, and the driver works great with no hitches.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very nice with a single feature issue
Dimkasta, 27.06.2020
I use this daily, mostly as a sound card and a control for my monitors. I'm very happy with it.
The mic and instrument preamps are also very nice.

The one weak spot is the headphone amp. With any serious headphones you have to crank up the volume. And it might not be able to drive more serious difficult ones. Plus, you cannot control their volume separately, which is very annoying
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
noxbenton, 11.02.2020
Been using this one daily for a few months and have nothing bad to say about it. Sounds great, no problems with latency or anything. I'm running a guitar and mic to it, studio monitors and headphones out of it and really have nothing bad to say. Works as a USB interface should, built sturdy, knobs are great.

Only reason for me to get anything fancier would be more inputs which I personally don't need.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
perfect for what I wanted
macker, 10.05.2020
got this for my laptop and also to use whenever I was not close to my main recording machine in the studio. Has proved its worth in lots of different situations and is perfect as a back up. everything I expected and more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good for your money
Neighbor slayer, 07.08.2020
All is good until you plug your headphones in and realize you have to physically turn off your speakers to switch to headphones only which is a pain. I have tried so many things to get it so i can directly switch from one to the other but nothing has yet worked/
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
Motaz, 17.02.2020
This thing is just great! I hook use it for recording and also for Rocksmith (Yes it works) - it really is all you need as a hobby based or an amateur musician.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Almost perfect
Robert700x, 29.01.2020
I bought this interface to use it live. I want to use guitar effects plugins and my laptop as the rig.

It definitely wins the preamp battle in the price range, delivering the best performance. I really like that it is USB bus powered, which means less cables are hanging around. Also, it is very easy to install and Focusrite offers good support.

What I really miss on this is a pad option (a 20 dB atenuator) or at least an input gain trimmer that could cut all the signal. I use high output pickups and I find myself having the gain trimmer in the lowest position to avoid clipping.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Easy and compact
RyszardM, 04.06.2020
Very easy installation process. I was surprised by the build quality of the device - it appears to be made of metal and is moderately heavy. For this price you can't go wrong.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Kickass !
Kris88, 26.05.2020
Had a Lexicon Omega for the past 8 years and when it died i decided to give this little thing a shot, totally worth the money, would buy it again!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good for guitar recording. Nice for voice too!
Nelson JP, 29.06.2020
I bought this interface after more than 10 year with an M-Audio one.
I was living far from home and took that interface with my Fender America Strat so I could have a little fun playing once in a while. I become very frustrated because the signal was so weak on the line/instrument input that was almost impossible to play with distortion. I've tried other cables... When I came back to Portugal I decided to buy this little interface and it's a completely different story. The sound reach the DAW and VST plugins very clear and it's easy to work with. Latency it's around 3ms in Logic Pro. Very nice so far. Only complain: since I'm working from home now I use a lot the volume control knob and sometimes there's a little scratch noise.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sloey, 25.05.2020
Cable is a bit flimsy. Already getting a lose connection with it and only had it a few days.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Why say something?
GlebPortugal, 31.08.2020
This is a really great audio interface that will satisfy any need. A really high quality product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Rock solid and easy to handle!
Pudi, 12.07.2020
Very good small/mobile solution for your on the road recordings or limited spaced studio/home studio problem. 1 channel is totally fine with me, i'm a guitarist and mostly record 1 instrument at a time (bass, guitar or vocal, or an overhead percussion etc). Cheers!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Five out of five
Josip Jakopovic, 07.04.2020
I've had a Gen1 for years, until it died on me, I bought this, boy o boy, what a refreshment, better tracking, way less lag, and looks more reliable, I hope it stands for the test of time like my Gen1 did.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect Tool to begin your home studio !
Bobbynou, 18.05.2020
With this little device you have an easy and perfect home-studio solution that doesn't cost that much, I use it with my guitar and a Torpedo Captor in it and it sounds amazing ! I can get a real pro sound with it ! I have enough with the 2 inputs for my use ( I play guitar) but the inputs are a little bit restrictive because they're either an XLR and a Jack and I would have preferred two XLR/Jack mixed inputs, but that's the 2i2 purpose ... Another cable will do the trick so it's not that problematic !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Ideal solution for home use
akawe, 27.05.2020
I think it's a perfect solution for home recording. Sound quality is very good, nothing to complain about. It's super easy to set up, there's a very handy wizard that walks you through all the steps needed to start recording straight away. There's just one nitpick: it comes with USB-B/USB-C cable, so if you have a new MacBook then you need to get another cable or an adapter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for recording guitar!
inquisitor101, 24.08.2020
Very compact and does its job very well. I use it to record my electric guitar and do some mixing afterwards. Works splendid! The quality is great and the sound is good too. The only downside is I wish it could be powered up via a separate cable and not exclusively through its USB port. But that's just me being ridiculously picky. Definitely recommend it :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

102 €
Free shipping incl. VAT

Dispatch expected by Tue, 22. September

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-SR

Behringer RD-6-SR; Analog Drum Machine; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for intensity and tone;...

Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox 96 Studio Ult 25th An

USB Audio Interface Recording Set Consists of AudioBox USB 96 25th Anniversary Edition, Studio One Artist + Studio Magic Plugin Suite (Ableton - Live Lite, Arturia - Analog Lab Lite 3 and many more) (ESD download), Eris E3.5 active...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 Roasted IB

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alder body, Bolt-on neck: Roasted Canadian flamed maple, Roasted maple fretboard, Fretboard inlays: Black offset dots, Neck profile: Modern C, Fretboard radius: 350 mm, 24 Stainless steel jumbo frets, GraphTech Tusq XL nut, Nut...

Recently Viewed
Omnitronic TRM-202 MK3

Omnitronic TRM-202 MK3; 2-channel rotary mixer with 3-band frequency isolator for DJs; classic rotary mixer with 2 input channels and integrated 3-band frequency isolator for DJs; gain control, 2-way equalizer (Highs/Lows) and phono/line switching per channel; dedicated boost and kill...

Recently Viewed
Magma CTRL Case MPC One

Magma CTRL Case MPC One, suitable for Akai MPC One, 6 mm thick and rigid Durashock molded EVA foam and water rejecting polyester exterior shell, Sturdy zipper, Including practical cable organizer panel, Incl. removable egg-foam padding, Compatible with Decksaver cover,...

Recently Viewed
beyerdynamic T1 3rd Generation

beyerdynamic T1 3rd generation high-end Tesla headphones, open back, over ear design, frequence range 5 - 50000 Hz, impendance 32 Ohms, nominal sound pressure level 100 dB (1 mW ), power handling capacity 300 mW, max. SPL 124 dB (300...

Recently Viewed
Thomann ComboDesk88 - designed by Zaor

Producer Workstation Designed by Zaor, Ideal for home and project studios, Extremely sturdy and ergonomic construction, 19" Racks with a total of 3x 3 U, Includes cover plates for 19" racks for expanding the table surface and rack rail,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-AM

Behringer RD-6-AM; Analog Drum Machine; Acid Smiley Edition; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for...

Recently Viewed
RME HDSPe AIO Pro

RME HDSPe AIO Pro; 30-channel PCI Express audio interface; 192 kHz / 24 bit; ADI-2 Pro converters AK5572 and 2 x AK4490; the entire analog input range relies on the circuit design of the ADI-2 Pro (+24 / +19 /...

Recently Viewed
Larry Carlton H7 STR

Electric Guitar Semi-hollow design, Maple body, Flamed maple top, Mahogany neck, Set-in neck attachment, Ebony fretboard, Square fretboard inlays, C Neck profile, 22 Medium jumbo frets, Scale: 627 mm (24.7"), Fretboard radius: 305 mm (12"), Nut width: 42 mm...

Recently Viewed
Rane Mag Four Fader

Rane Mag Four Fader, Compatible with RANE Seventy, Seventy-Two MKII und Seventy-Two, Contactless Fader-technology, with additional Hall-sensor, customizable magnetic field voltage, Exclusive Fader Cap developed by RANE, incl. DeoxITFaderLube F100 Fader spray

Recently Viewed
Audio-Technica ATH-M50 XBT PB

Bluetooth Headphones Special edition, Closed, Circumaural, 45 mm driver with neodymium magnet system and CCAW voice coils, 90° Swiveling ear cups, Control buttons on the headphones, Bluetooth version 5.0, Up to 40 hours of operation, Frequency range: 15 -...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.