Yamaha THR5 V2

171 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Ultimate amp for self production/home practice!
GiTi, 10.06.2020
Only one word: great!

I use this amp for home practice and recording of demos.
This is a good amp under every aspect. Plenty of words of appreciation have been written over the years and I agree with every single one of them.
Sounds great and the modeled amps and effects provide all the basic options you need for practice and simple recordings.
The drivers' installation on PC is straightforward and no issues whatsoever have emerged while recording with Cubase (included with the amp) and other popular software.
The building quality is flawless and the amp is so compact and light that you can play literally wherever you want.
Only feature I miss: bass/mid/treble knobs available right on the amp (but you have to consider the size); anyway they can be set using the PC application (which offers extended settings and options).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
I love this amp
TomGoss, 18.08.2018
This is an excellent practice amp. Very well constructed and easy to use. Small and convenient. I like the pretend tube glow.
The basic sounds are just that....basic, but very good. You don't get the transistor radio sort of sound most small amps produce. It sounds warm, balanced and full. It has a nice range of a few clean, cleanish and higher gain settings and a few simple effects. Not a lot of options to alter them but l don't care. If you want more bells and whistles spend more money and buy something else. The hall reverb is awesome. If that was the only effect on it came with l'd still consider this amp a bargain.
I use it a lot...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The perfect practice amp
Juan Orozco Villalobos, 24.09.2019
The THR5 is a small amplifier designed for practice, and it does the job really well.

The emulation is really, really good. Saying this little beast sounds great is an understatement. The response of the 5 different amp models is very natural, and you can dial almost any sound you want.

It includes a USB cable to connect it to your computer and a license for Cubase AI. It also has a program you can use to tweak the parameters of the amp even further, in case you want to personalize it even more.

It has 8 integrated effects, all good quality, but the hall reverb is especially good.

This is an incredibly good practice tool, you can get great quality sound for an affordable price in a very small and convenient package, I'm very satisfied with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Decent sound and comfort
Nort, 16.05.2020
I bought this to practice at home. Unlike the other transistor setups I used in the past it sounds quite decent. Not a tube amp for sure, but good enough for home.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent amp
wavve, 13.05.2020
Excellent amp, I leave in an apartment and I use it to practice almost every day. It's much more convenient than my big amp, I recommend it especially if you don't have that much space where you leave and if you want to be able to practice at a reasonable volume.
It's simple to use, I play mostly blues but the amp is versatile enough to accommodate all kinds of musical styles.
As usual with Yamaha, the product looks pretty solid, I think it will last.
And I love the "retro" look !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
superb unit
Paul1812, 08.08.2014
I find this more versatile, more compact and just as good quality as the larger (and more expensive) THR10C unit that I own. It's a complete steal at the asking price. Does exactly what it claims - provides inspiration in the form of high quality tones at low volume levels for practice purposes. Super quiet in terms of background hum/noise, genuinely useful tones, superb value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great little amp, watch for power supply
09.06.2014
Ordering from the UK, I couldn't use this immediately - it shipped with a European power supply. Running it through a travel adaptor worked, but introduced a horrendous buzz, as it couldn't earth properly.

A C5 Power Supply (available from Amazon and the like for about £1.50) solves the problem entirely though, leaving this as a great little piece of kit. Small, deceptively powerful, and with bizarrely good stereo performance for its size. For an onboard effect on a tiny little amp, the reverb sounds HUGE, and very realistic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
THR 5
Rafael6465, 15.01.2014
After having THR10C that I sold due to lack of gain. I must say that this amp fits exactly what advertisement says.
With the same watts than THR10 is smaller and sounds exactly the same. Excellent modeling no need more tone controls. One is enough. The amps work very good with the kind of amps it models. it works as a real amp. Perfect to use at home. Perfect mix with your musicphone or laptop. As it has less volume control than his "big brothers" is more easy to use. Keep it as simple as possible. I would recommend it hundred per cent. And if it is stolen I would look for another exactly the same.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bon petit ampli de bureau
06.01.2016
Je l'utilise pour répéter chez moi et c'est très pratique. Il ne prend pas beaucoup de place et le son n'est pas trop fort donc parfait avec les voisins. Comme dit dans d'autres commentaire, le son avec le canal "modern" et british" sonnent un peu grave mais en jouant avec le tone et le gain, y a moyen de régler ça plus ou moins. Le logiciel à télécharger et un plus car ça permet de régler le son comme on veut (choisir le cab et là on dispose de l'égaliseur) même si on ne peut pas le sauvegarder sur l'ampli, ça permet de l'améliorer quand on joue car certains canaux manque de personnalité mais pour le prix c'est vraiment pas mal. Rien à redire sur la fabrication, aucun défaut à la réception.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great little practise amp
03.04.2016
If you're like me and just started to try to learn how the electric guitar really works this is really a good option.

A few good pre selection of different settings and a good amount of effects. Good interface with computer use. A bit disappointing on the amount of pre sets found on Internet but nothing to do with product.

Very good built quality and very smart look as you would expect from Yamaha.

One of the best things about it is that you can practise at night or in situations that you can't burst the volume too high. Still fairly good quality coming from the 2x 5 watt speakers.

Thomann service 100% as always. Fast delivery and very helpful as usual.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great sounding amp to have in the house
Mark Runcie, 02.08.2020
I got one in 2012 and it's been great to have around the house. Still works perfectly too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
i bought this for home practise amp
tanelr, 26.09.2019
I wanted small amp for home practise. sound is really good comparing the size. effects are good and its guite a loud too. fot this amount of money this is good little amp. i recomend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
DeadPriests, 19.12.2017
These are amazing sounding, you can get almost any sort of sound out of them and along with the downloadable programs I would say the features are top notch. The only bother I have with them are that they are of poor quality, it's anyones guess if you get a 100% working one or one with a unwanted high pitch sound coming out of it, mine works but only if I turn all the knobs all the way first. It's a gamble but well worth it for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice amp for small rooms
Prince21, 13.03.2018
I live in a flat and this amp is what I am looking for .
I don't need to worry about making too much noise .
It has pretty good quality for its price so I really reccomend it .
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
fun and convenient....
Adrian5672, 26.03.2014
the THR5 is just about the most fun and convenient way to practice electric guitar - especially if you like to jam along with backing tracks, and maybe use some effects. The sound is excellent for the size of the unit, and with the addition of batteries its fantastically convenient. Brilliant for late night practice when a larger amp is simply not convenient.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Pretty good sound in a small box
15.11.2016
I bought this amp for home practicing at low volumes mostly, you can achieve great tones in the clean and mid gain options. However if you try the high gain options, it starts to make some hum noise, so be prepared. I still think it's a good option for those who want a third amp for practicing/recording. You can modify the default settings connecting the amp with your computer and it comes with a Cubase license, so it's easy to use it as an interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
YAMAHA THR 5
ISTANBUL, 01.08.2017
I got this small monster. I tried 10 watt version before. There is no identical differences between each other. THR 10 have some extra futures. But the sounds are smilliar. 10 watt version has more head room versatile and more loud. If you like to travel much and need something smaller and lighter you can choose this one. If you compare other amps with same ranges this one makes real organic sound. Suprisingly good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great battery powered amp!
Themexican, 01.01.2018
I've tried other battery powered options but this combo is the best. With effects built-in and presets it's a lot more fun to play. I use in the streets and it's awesome. Just sometimes it turns off unexpectedly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very good practice amp
iSeb, 04.05.2020
I use it when the kids are sleeping and it works very well with headsets
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Yamaha THR5 V2

199 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Tuesday, 1.12. and Wednesday, 2.12.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Amp Modeling
Amp Modeling
Amp modellers are guitar DSP effects units that emulate the sound of a range of amplifiers and speaker cabinets.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
video
Yamaha THR5 V2
2:09
Yamaha THR5 V2
Rank #47 in Modelling Guitar Combos
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Filtamp Module 1006

Behringer Filtamp Module 1006; Eurorack module; analog Filter and VCA; 24dB low-pass filter with manual controls for cutoff-frequency and resonance; 2 adjustable signal inputs; 2 CV inputs with attenuators for VCF and VCA; Keytracking input for VCF with attenuator (1V/Oct.);...

Recently Viewed
Decksaver Behringer RD-8

Decksaver Behringer RD-8 - cover for Behringer RD-8; Protects against dust, dirt, liquids and impacts; Milky transparent surface; High quality; polycarbonate; Dimensions (LxWxH): 49,3 x 26,0 x 3,9 cm; Weight: 0,535 kg

Recently Viewed
Decksaver Behringer MS-1

Decksaver Behringer MS-1 - cover for Behringer MS-1; Protects against dust, dirt, liquids and impacts; Milky transparent surface; High quality; polycarbonate; Dimensions (LxWxH): 57,0 x 26,8 x 4,80 cm; Weight: 0,67 kg

(2)
Recently Viewed
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
the t.bone SC 420 USB Silver Desktop-Set

Microphone Set USB studio large diaphragm microphone with USB connection for direct operation on the computer, No additional drivers required, Directional characteristic: cardioid, Frequency response: 30 - 18000 Hz, Sensitivity: 25 mV / Pa, Max. sound pressure level: 140...

(4)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Tonal Balance Bundle CG 2

Plug-in Bundle Crossgrade from any paid-for iZotope-/Exponential audio product to Tonal Balance Bundle, Professional software tools for producing, mixing and mastering, Supported formats (64-bit): VST 2/VST3/AU/AAXnative/NCP, System requirements: Windows 7 (64-bit), Mac OSX 10.11.6 - 10.14.4, paid-for and registered...

Recently Viewed
Toontrack EZX Modern Metal

Toontrack EZX Modern Metal (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 (item 399369) / Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded by Will Putney at his Graphic Nature Audio studios in New Jersey; contains 6 individual drum sets...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Pitch Fork+ Pitch Shifter

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar and Electric Bass Pitch shifter, 2 Independent pitch shifting engines with a range of +/- 3 octaves, Detune +/- 99 cents and full control of the individual engines, 8 Modes including X-MOD: a cross...

Recently Viewed
Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED Bi

Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED BiLight with integrated rechargeable battery; perfect video and photo ring light with adjustable color temperature and countless mounting possibilities for tripods, mobile devices and cameras. Integrated rechargeable battery with USB power output to charge...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Roland TR-6S Rhythm Performer

Drum Machine With 6 instruments, Contains the sounds of the Roland classics TR-909, TR-808, TR-606, TR-707 and more, ACB modeling technology plus stereo sample import and playback, SD card slot for importing your own mono and stereo samples (WAV...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.