Millenium PD-669 Stage Double Bass Pedal

1012 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
3.8 /5
  • features
  • quality
Total
quality
features
Best and most durable double bass pedal you can buy for less than 100?
LarsUlrich, 29.12.2018
TL:DR: Cheap, easy to setup, reliable and comes with a transport bag. Best double bass pedal that you can buy on a budget.! (just have a screwdriver handy in case a screw gets loose)

I bought this pedal in July of 2015, during that summer I started getting serious with my metal drumming and got interested in double bass techniques. I remember going crazy about those double bass parts in Metallica's "One". So I decided to order this pedal as a starting point. From there till now this has been the pedal that has stuck with me from my garage playing days to me joining a band, playing my first couple of gigs and recording my first EP. Is it perfect? No. But is it one a good entry point for aspiring double bass players? Hell yes!!!

Pros
-Ease of use: I remember the day I got it in the mail, I was a matter of minutes until the pedal was all setup in my beginners electronic drumkit. You just need to attach the rod that connects the main pedal to the slave pedal, place the beaters at your desired height (but not too low, which ill discuss in the cons section), adjust the tension and you're good to go!

-Stability: This a solid and stable pedal, you have 2 spikes and a full metal base in each of the pedals that assure that they won't go anywhere.

-Versatility: You can adjust the pedals the way you like it, for example: a few months ago I started playing in a rehearsal room with my band and the room's drumkit had the smallest hi-hat stand and the legs wouldn't allow me to place the double pedal under them, so I had to extend the slave pedal so that it was left of the hi-hat stand. I was pretty amazed at how much it would stretch. Another cool thing, is that you can attach a beater to the slave pedal and use it on a kit with 2 bass drums (it also has a clamp to attach to the second bass drum)

-Durability: The fact that I own this pedal for 3.5 years and I use it on a regular basis for long amounts of time and with serious abuse is a statement to the durability of this beast. I used it on 2 electronic kits with rubber pads and now on my acoustic kit. When I take it with me to my gigs and rehearsals I just disconnect the rod and throw it inside a gym bag and of it goes! I thought about upgrading my pedal, but since I'm always short on money for drumming, whenever I buy something for my kit I don't see the need to buy a new pedal because this one simply works how it's supposed to.

-Price: It's cheap!!!! And also comes with a transport bag!!! However I can't review the bag because I never used it. When I got this pedal I never had to take it out of my kit, so my mom used it as a bag for storing clothing and eventually lost it... You could've come in handy now a days.

Cons
-Loose screws: When you buy this pedal you'll find screws in your drum rug from time to time. Nothing that a screw drive won't fix, but it's a bit annoying after a while. Mine is already missing a support screw under the slave pedal, so if it isn't aligned (which it should be in order to have an ergonomic drum kit) the pedal can wobble a bit during playing. So have a screwdriver always handy.

-A bit squeaky: With time, and as the lubrication starts to wear off, the pedal can start squeaking a bit. Just apply some lubricant and that problem will be gone.

-The second beater holder has a bit of a design flaw: The second beater holder is held in place by a metal curve piece that can get in the way of the beater rod if it is placed too low. The only solution I see is to cut the beaters metal rod or to just place the beater at a higher position. If you're playing in a 22" bass drum it won't be a big problem, big in a 20" you'll need to place the beater above the center of the head to avoid this trouble (which will affect the sounds of the bass drum).

-Quality: It's a cheap product, so the finish sometimes isn't the best. After 3.5 years the black ink in the pedals has a faded a bit and one of the heads of the drum lugs that adjusts the beater horizontally has broken off (however, nothing that really affects the use of the pedal). Also, for some reason the beaters don't really line up when they are at a resting position, don't really know why, but it's something I can live with. Asides from some minor corrosion there's really nothing more that's wrong with it.

Conclusion: If you want a cheap, reliable and easy to use double bass pedal that will be at your side through your evolution as a drummer you should look no further and order this right now!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Either I am extremely unlucky or this pedal isnt great quality
lexkab, 18.08.2020
This pedal is not bad for its price I guess but I had issues with it from the very beginning. I will list
- the connector did not want to connect to the right pedal - either the hole is too small or the bolt too big
- on the left side its the opposite - the connector slips out every 5 min of playing(mind you I am no Tomas Haake and just starting with double bass so it was not that intense) so i keep having to attach it back, no matter how i tighten the bolts its still not enough
- after i assembled it once and played, it broke after 2 minutes - main pedal had some loose bolts at chain / beater holder side and I spent 1 hr trying to put it back together(that screw is awkward to get to)
Overall I suppose its okay pedal if you starting, but if you aren't(especially if you are doing the gigs) look elsewhere as it might fail you at most awkward moment
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Excellent for beginners
Pellet, 08.01.2018
I bought these pedals to replace the single kick pedal included with the e-drums I purchased (also from Thomann). As a beginner, I wanted something that didn't cost too much but also wouldn't impede my learning through lack of quality or functionality. These pedals proved to be of more than acceptable quality and I've yet to outgrow them as my learning and skills have progressed.

The pedals have proved to be incredibly strong and adjustable and have functioned perfectly, without fault even when subjected to quite vigorous use.

Whilst I'm sure that these pedals aren't as quick as some of the more specialist and expensive sets, they've certainly surpassed the expectations I had of them. I play thrash metal and whilst I've got a long way to go before I'm remotely close to matching The Hoglan, I do play quite quickly and these pedals have never left me wanting.

Highly recommended for beginners to intermediate players.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Get your kicks from Thomann!
30.07.2015
I'm not a drummer, neither is my son, but we recently bought a second hand drum kit. The pedal we had included with the kit wasn't particularly good, so we decided to look on Thomann for a replacement. As per usual, the Thomann webstore is really good at allowing you to compare different products and their features, and we concluded, that we may as well buy this double pedal, as we both like music from the heavier side of the musical spectrum (and we certainly didn't have the room for a second kick drum either!).
Ordering, tracking and delivery from Thomann is always fast and efficient, and yet again Thomann didn't disappoint!
On receiving the pedals, we were surprised how good they actually looked and the quality was really good! Plenty of adjustment, and well built, these pedals didn't disappoint (I only wish my playing could match their quality!). I also liked the fact that you can set these up as Double pedals, a single pedal, or two independent pedals if you wanted to actually use two kick drums! The case they came included in was also surprisingly good quality and two keys were included for all the adjusting!
I would recommend these pedals to anyone thinking of buying them!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Broken after 15 minutes of play?
Djov, 07.09.2020
After a hard and long setup time with the thing constantly falling apart, I finally got it to work. While playing, the pedal would always come loose at some point.

It got to a point where the hinge mechanism that is supposed to keep the pedal on the base totally broke off.

I think this was a refurbrished piece, I won't be ordering Millenium pedals anytime soon...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Very good performance
AntonioCTD, 15.01.2021
I don't know yet how it can stand abuse... But it performs beautifully!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Free gift.
Oskar.S., 16.08.2019
Such badly produced staff should not be given away even for free. No tilt adjustment of beaters. Hand grinding the central roller is a joke. Especially the left one.
No balance adjustment of beaters.
The left beater is clearly slower and nothing can be done about it.
The shape of the attachment to the drum does not fit large sizes 20 "and larger.
Dent in the drum frame. Too light beaters prevent playing at full range of rates and forces.
Inertia is very specific and you won't play blues on this pedal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
wow
Luke M., 14.01.2014
juust wow well built smot my dad who has been druming for over 30 years sed its even better than his mapex pedal just wow would recomend highly i am confused how that can do it its strong well built beaters are grate just like the pearl beaters will be using this company again and ordering from these guys again fast blivery even tho i live in kent it was here in less than a week
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
M_Raaby, 27.11.2020
Bought these pedals as a test, but I changed my mind and would rather train the speed of my right foot.
I'm still using the pedal as a single pedal though.

The springs felt loose even when I streched "fully".
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
good for home
Guðlaugur, 06.11.2020
i use these with my Millennium MPS 750X and they work fine for my home use
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Bang on the money
Jason178, 14.11.2013
For a budget pedal I found this a great Entry point double kick , and with a few modifications and setting up , was near on perfect
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Basic, but solid.
23.08.2014
This pedal is very basic as far as double bass pedals go, however it is sturdy and has so huge drawbacks. Works for it's intended purpose, however does not have that smooth feel you get with the big brands.

Only issue I've had with this was one of the springs snapped whilst playing, quickly remedied with a piece from an old keychain, easy part to replace at any rate.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Seems functional.
CarlDJB, 17.07.2018
I've been playing-... Attempting drums for a short amount of time, and double bass is something I aspire to not be garbage at, and for that I need a double pedal... But i'm cheap and not very good so in the budget section I looked, and I found this beauty.

It seems sturdy enough to not fall apart like my love life, comes with a drumkey for assembly and a nice little carry bag thing. I tried playing with the tension a little bit but didn't really notice any difference, so I stopped caring and moved on.

Works like any other pedal, foot down, beater forward. I can't say how well it will do in a live setting with extremely fast use, but if you're doing a live show you're probably not using something cheap for practice.

All in all, practice? Go for it. Live? Maybe get something higher budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Brilliant pedal for the price.
Matthew689, 04.06.2013
I brought this pedal not expecting much, wasn't expecting the best build quality and was thinking of buying an iron cobra after. However when it arrived how shocked i was! The only thing that needed doing was the tightening of a few bolts to make sure it don't fall apart. The beater are very good quality and the linkage bar moves smoothly. Great for positioning and is quite a fast pedal for the money. Great value for what I paid and will be using this pedal for a number of years. I have gigged this pedal and would not see any reason to carry a backup its a great bit of kit for what it is. Very nice footplates and a very strong pedal overall!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Great product !
Yananas, 13.02.2018
It's a great product for it's given price, really easy to use and to put in the bag. A bit difficult to fix on the kick, it moves really often if you play a lot of double bass, but it's easy to put it right again !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Comes with a bag!
Cale, 29.07.2020
Right foot pedal came off almost immediately. Probably fixable, but mildly annoying. Does come with a bag though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Une bonne double-pédale pour commencer
Emma MIGLIERINA, 02.05.2019
En termes de rapport qualité-prix, rien à dire! Elle fait le boulot et semble surtout très solide. Après pour le prix il ne faut pas s'attendre à une qualité incroyable et pour ce qui est du confort idem. Mais cela reste une très bonne référence pour s'initier au jeu à la double.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Amazingly good!!
Peter7602, 05.07.2014
I bought these just to test out double bass playing and I am amazed over how well these peadals work. When it comes to price there is nothing on the marke that can match them. They are just perfect for those who like to explore the world of double bass playing. Wether they will last and play as well remains to be seen but I am very pleased so far. By no means am I saying that the quality is top notch but for the price they are extremely good. No squeeking and adjustable to work just fine. If playing barefooted it could use som smoothing of the edges with a fine file or snding paper.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
for a beginner
JValkyrie, 29.04.2019
im a beginner double bass drummer, and really, this pedal set is great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Upgrade for electronic drumkit!
Zisis, 24.11.2018
Good beginner Double bass pedal! Construction well-made!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Good and cheap starter double pedal
29.09.2016
Although mine started to fall apart after a year or so of rock/metal beating, I can say that it is a very good starting point for any drummer. Considering brand name pedals are more than double the price, and you don't necessarily buy the best double pedal when starting to learn how to drum, I would recommend this pedal for a starting point and if budget is the issue.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
Paul Saviour Spiteri, 26.04.2020
A very good double bass pedal. Very strong material quality. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
The price says it all
Tomasz K, 06.01.2019
Ahhh, the first twin pedal of most newcomers whose only ambition is to play double bass as fast as George Kollias, when they can't even play simple grooves straight yet - i.e. also me. You get what you pay for. If you are serious about those double bass runs and your first blast beats, the pedal should serve you about 6 months and something will break. In my case it was problems with the joints on the shaft. As far as playing goes, it ain't that bad actually, plays normally. All in all - you might want to buy it just to see how your DB playing goes. If it goes well - switch to some mid-tier pedal; if not so well - at least the price was nothing to moan about.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
True METTTTAL
PavlOFF, 22.08.2017
Amazing thing for metal or just for guys who are really into blastbeats or other quiet fun things. Nicely done, beautiful and does it job pretty well. There is nothing to compain about.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
too good for the money
26.02.2016
I'm not a pro drummer but I can tell you that the build quality and all the accessories that the item came with are of very good quality. Some of the screws were a little loose but it could have also happened over transport.
I had to add a bit of grease to the chain that was little too dry but for the rest it is perfect. Good for Edrums as musch as it is good for acoustic kit. If in need I will buy it again.
this was again a suggestion from Thomann customer service which I thanks again for the awesome advice :o)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium PD-669 Stage Double Bass Pedal

82 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
In stock within 1-2 weeks
In stock within 1-2 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-MBA

Warm Audio WA-MBA; professional broadcast microphone boom; easy-to-operate clamping hinges; hidden cable management system;, Connectors with 3/8" and 5/8" thread, suitable for all common microphone mounts; integrated table clamp; Colour: black; Weight: 2.5 kg

Recently Viewed
Eurolite LED Theatre COB 100 WW/CW

Eurolite LED Theater COB 100 WW / CW; 100 W COB LED with variable color temperature 2500-5700K ; Auto, Music, Master / Slave and DMX modes (2, 4, 5, or 7 DMX channels); Integrated show programs in car and music…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.