Line6 HX Stomp

170 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great but not perfect
allanjelly, 24.01.2020
I have been using HX Stomp for the past 6 months and have some remarks.
1). It's really well-built, has tons of features & the sound quality is really professional - really nothing to complain about.
2). It has some added uses - about which you might have not known:
- it is a great practice tool - on its own - you can just plug-in your headphones to it and have a good time practicing while using the simulation of whatever amp you like
- it is a really good recording interface (via USB) with ASIO/midi etc.

2). It has some minor flaws which I would like you to be aware of:
- the quality of effects is not even:
- time-based effects (reverbs, delays, vibratos, choruses etc.) are simply superb;
- amp simulations - are really great - but require lots of effort to sound right - they just don't work like real tube amps which tend to sound ok at all the settings. These simulated amps CAN sound great - provided you found the settings which suit your guitar, pickups and playstyle. And believe me there are a lot of settings that can be set wrong.
- noise gate - it' simply is there - but it's really nothing sophisticated or special
- looper - it's there but the buffer is really short
- overdrives/distortions - I still prefer the real counterparts. Maybe I still did not find the correct settings? For me they do not sound ok - they do not clean up as they should and the tone/texture is simply is not there

- you really cannot use a standard power source from your pedalboard - you have to use the one provided with the unit - it is a 3000mA source. Not a big problem, but adds some mess to your pedalboard.
- you have to be good at word puzzles to use this one - due to copyright issues - example? What is "$$ for nada" preset?
Dire Straits - Money for Nothing :-) What is "2/3 beards"? - ZZ Top
Sometimes you will guess sometimes you will not - but this does not make the life easier.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best Investment Ever for Recording
Kvlt , 27.05.2020
I use this at home for practice and recording, through monitoring headphones and through studio monitors. Highly recommended.

The amp models sound amazing, the effects sound amazing. Professional quality. This unit has saved me literally tens of thousands of dollars/euro in gear if I had wanted to buy all of the amps/effects modeled. Does it sound 100% like the originals? No. Does it get you at least 90% there? Yes!!!

The only caveat I would add is that the best tones require some time to dial in/EQ/etc. But if you are willing to spend a bit of time getting to know the unit and tweak parameters, you will be rewarded with delicious tones.

Line 6 has updated the firmware several times, adding more amp/effect models, improving features, and the 3.0 update will expand the available blocks from 6 up to 8.

High quality unit. Zero complaints. Two thumbs up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for my compact pedal board build!
Rain214, 27.08.2019
There's really nothing more to say about this amazing HX Stomp. Before I have this Mooer pedals for my modulations, it sounds good also and very small which is I like because I want to have a small pedal board that is easy to carry when travelling. But I decided to change it with this HX Stomp as it has a lot more to offer than just the modulations. It's Amp and Cab simulations are so awesome, that is also another main reason why I got this baby. I used the FX loop to integrate it with my Flyrig RK5, and Dunes OD and all the modulations, compressor, and Amp&Cab sims from the HX Stomp make everything sound so complete. And the tone from my pedal board is really really awesome. Tweaking the HX stomp is really easy but it is much easier with the the software that can be downloaded on the Line6 site called HX Edit.

Pros:
-The Stomp is very well built, really cool looking device and it does what it should do, you can also use 4 cable method on it, Stereo or Mono and integrate it with the existing analog pedals on your board by using the FX loop's Send and Return.
-Not that heavy and it doesn't feel cheap.
-Value for money.
-The possibilities on this device are endless.

Cons:
-The power adapter is nice but not good position if you want to plug it under your pedal board, that is why I got the current doubler so that I can plug it in my existing pedal board power supply. It says that it needs 3A but it runs under 1A when it is powered on so I use to 9v on my board's PSU with both 500ma each isolated and it works perfectly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing how far we've come
Bedroom warrior, 07.05.2020
I'm using the Line6 HX Stomp to 1) drive my speakers, 2) as an effects unit in the effects loop of my amp, and 3) as a silent practicing tool with my computer. All of this at the same time, which is incredible.

The unit itself is fantastic. The amp models are amazing, cabinets are great, ability to upload impulses is also spectacular. Sounds great!

Three areas where I would still be careful. First, practicing with headphones is SUPER dependent on the headphones. It sounded terrible until I got a pair of Sennheiser 650s, thanks to the open back and high quality speakers. If you want to use it for that, calculate extra costs for good headphones.

Second, my unit has frozen once or twice, forcing me to factory reset. I'm pretty sure this is due to a driver conflict with the computer, but still something to keep in mind. It is a super complex piece of kit, so you CAN run into issues with your other hardware.

Third, this thing can do so many things that the learning curve is very steep. It took me a few weeks before I found sounds that worked for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It’s awesome.
Reckonhighs, 05.06.2019
Pros. 1. Amp simulation is just beyond for the price. The unit support custom IR loading, for high gain sounds I definitely recommend doing that, but bluesy, crunchy tones and cleans sparkle out of the box. 2. Recording with it is a dream: I use USB 5 channel for the dry signal and USB1/2 stereo for the processed sound. Dry signal can be later ‘reamped’ with Helix Native (discounted with this unit). 3. It has four inputs, no XLR, but for that I use external preamp. 4. It’s small and light.
Cons. 1. Adjusting the presets on the unit is tricky, I use HX Edit for desktop. 2. Looper handling requires crazy fast double tap. 3. Bulky power supply. 4. 6 blocks per preset sometimes are not enough: almost every amp I use requires additional EQ block, that means 3 blocks are taken by IR, EQ and the amp itself.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
All the effects you will ever need!
Kaarel Raud, 06.03.2020
I am more than pleased with my HX Stomp. The convenience of having an expansive pedalboard's worth of effects in one compact box is incredible - for most gigs and practice sessions, I simply keep the HX Stomp in my gig bag and use it as my entire rig. The top-quality amp simulation means that I haven't had to use a heavy and finicky traditional guitar amp at all. The only criticism I have is that the finish on the pedal isn't the most solid compared to some other guitar pedals and due to being carried around so much it has acquired some small visual blemishes rather easily. Otherwise, I heavily recommend the HX Stomp for all guitarists and bassists looking for the ultimate pedal experience.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
You have not purchased yet?
lifedreams61, 03.12.2019
If you have a line6 product, you are a good musician! If you want to be a great musician, you have to buy Line6 HX Stomp. Line6 HX Stomp should be in your pedalboard or in your home studio. If you still do not understand this, then you will understand soon. Do not waste time, life is short!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Mini Helix - universal pedal in small package
IvarsOzolsDB, 19.05.2020
I bought it for my bass rig to spice things up and have not looked back ever since. HX stomp is versatile, it has ton of features in ultra small package. Sound quality is superb. There are no cons that I could think of.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
good for the money
guitarBE, 29.01.2020
The amp sims sound very good and could give the AxeFX and Kemper a good run for their money. Especially at 1/4 of the price !
The ability to load you own IR really make this unit shine (Impulse Responses for cabinet, match EQ or other sound coloration).
The editor is fantastic (uses the same software as the other Helix units)

DRAWBACKS: Any preset will only hold 6 Blocks ! MAX that's it. You can put blocks in parallel but it counts the upper and lower row as 1 slot. It only has 3 buttons.

I sold it to my bass player and got a Helix LT.
As a stand-alone unit it falls short but it would be a very usefull Pedalboard addition !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
FIZZ-TACIOUS UNIT!
LumiK., 30.08.2019
NOTHING kills the fizz!, not pre EQ, not post EQ, Not global EQ, not Ownhammer IRs not Celestion IRs. It's fizz-city at its finest. No matter what I did in the ten days that I struggled with the thing, day and night, I couldn't make the amps sound better than a distortion pedal plugged straight into a desk board. I\m not a tube snob. I've played with plugins, modelers and tubes for more than 20 years but this is ridiculous. Apart from the Shiva, the friedman and the matchless simulation all the other amps are unusable. The tubescreamer and the klon are ok the rest of the distortion pedals are trash. Don't get me started with the three footswitches and the 6 blocks. The 6 blocks that turn into 4 if you use two amps and two IRs because the unit runs out of memory!
OUT OF M EMORY IN 2019!!!! WHEN YOU SAY 6 BLOCKS, YOU BETTER MEAN IT LINE6! It was an insta-gret for me and a refund obviously. Who ever tells you the unit sounds awesome but needs a little tweaking, is either deaf or a line6 rep.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A really swiss knife for bass.
Dario M., 18.03.2019
This is a very good machine with good sounds that you can use as standalone machine or like a pedalboard expander beside others pedals. I'm using it in a pedalboard and this machine has replaced my bass octaver, overdrive and chorus reducing the pedalboard dimensions, adding a lot of possibilities in term of routing and sound combinations! DarkGlass B7K is a really good simulation, pretty indistinguishable from the original, really good chorus, delay and reverb (really analog tone, if you are looking for!), very good cab and amp/preamp simulation with IR also!! Filters and Compression sections are less convincing for me, but pretty good to use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
An actual one-stop tone shop
Barbarossa88, 29.05.2019
This was my first foray into the truly awesome world of modern digital modelling. Like a lot of guitarists in their early 30s I have distinct memories of how truly awful amp modelling was in its early years. Zoom, Digitech and of course Line 6 all did their best but it's taken until recently for the tech to really catch up. This thing absolutely delivers on its promises. Amp models are amazingly accurate, the smorgasbord of effects is enough to lose yourself in for hours and the degree to which you can fine-tune every little detail is just incredible. I'm using this primarily for recording and it's an absolute dream. Packing the processing power of a Helix into a compact package with minimal reduction in functionality is a hell of an achievement. Use the desktop software to set up your presets and it really is an absolute dream. Couldn't recommend it enough as far as bang for buck is concerned. I only knock off a couple of marks for build quality as the first one I recieved had a broken button, and one off for handling as adjusting presets on the unit itself can be a bit fiddly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing for the price
Mohan, 18.12.2019
I got tired of carrying my big pedalboard around. I sold all my other pedals, now I use the stomp with one other pedal next to it. It does the job. I was surprises how easy it is to use and set up, very intuitive, you will learn it quickly. The power supply is perhaps a little bulky, but that is the only negative I could think of. Amazing deal for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Buzzy Product
cnsound, 12.12.2019
Easily generates buzz noise.
I?m assuming that is related with ground loops. Several people complaints about it at Line6 forum
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
This device can be a lot of things.
Mel_Nick, 11.03.2019
This device does so many things it's almost a sin to not have one. Amp and cab emulation, IR import, utility (looper,tuner,etc), It's a multieffect unit emulating famous pedals and effects but giving you also all the Line6 legacy effects, it's a recording interface for direct recording or reamping, with a lot of routing options available thanks to its internal send/return chain.
It can store patches or work as single stompboxes. Personally I purchased it to be a swiss army knife in my pedalboard but since I had to downsize it all i just use the stomp in my home studio and it's so good it's always on.

Cons: Some effects are not that good (pitch effects are bad imho) and the software is not really bulletproof, I encountered some freezes here and there, but this is fixable with software updates.

Overall, the HX Stomp is an amazing tool, it offers so many possibilities that it's impossible to not to like it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
AMP GUY ?
husscy, 05.01.2019
Let me first introduce myself I am an amp guy I can carry ton of equipment for a good sound .... but there is no need now... here it is very small pacckage of amps for your both studio and small giggs or a backup setup for emergency situations just set it up and go wherever you want with it to a studio , practice , recording ,wedding ,gigging to club ....
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great tool
Hakanoz, 02.06.2020
I use it in live gigs and studio recordings. It is a very usefull all in one, small tool. Most of the amp models are very similar to originals when you set it properly. I recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A huge amount of possibilities in a very small box.
milosh, 10.01.2020
Great for music producer who plays guitar or bass because it works as an audio interface as well.
Good-sounding effect models and amplifier models.
Learning to use requires some time but it's worth exploring the possibilities.
Perfect for the studio, great on stage. There are many scenarios and ways to use HX Stomp. The large number of ins and outs opens up many possibilities.
Also great build quality.
I use it every day.
You take the HX STOMP guitar, laptop, headphones and record your solo album :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
amazing unit for the price
BrunoCavara, 25.03.2020
works great, especially with 3rd party IRs. great amp sims, delays, reverbs and modulation. I only wish it has a second EXP input, but nevertheless... amazing modeler at this price point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The Cones of Dunshire Pedal
Bobbo Byrnes, 22.07.2019
This pedal does fuckall. And I mean that as a good thing. But I've never had to watch so many online tutorials and download such a manual just to play guitar. It's punishing and I'm not up for it. If you are willing to take the time to learn this pedal you will be rewarded with amazing sounds unique to you. If you want something to plug in and go with quickly - this ain't for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for bass.
Sean., 28.03.2020
I use this for bass, as a way to replace a bass amp. I run this straight to the PA and with in-ear monitors. If you're a bassist who only needs a few sounds the form factor is perfect, and the quality of sounds is excellent. I also control the patch changes via MIDI from our backing track player and integration was seamless. To be honest I barely scratch the surface tone-wise,. I also use it as a recording interface and it works perfectly, and it can be controlled via MIDI via USB from my DAW also!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Versatile
AFICmusic, 14.01.2019
Great for use at home and gigging.
pros:
-great realistic sounds!
-easy interface with many options
cons
6 bocks may not be enough, and sometimes leaves me wanting, but realistically I'll never use more than 5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fine multiprocesor.
v4m , 10.04.2019
Small size, big sound, stereo FX loop, and very easy to operate. Have board full of quality effects, and I'm not using them, HX alone im most cases is enough to achieve good sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Too good
imranino, 22.04.2019
The best pedal I've used. I also have a Line 6 HX Effects, but I've barely touched it since getting the Stomp.

One thing I will say is that although the stomp CAN do everything, it does need some help - at the very least an external food switch. I've set mine up with a foot switch (for tap and tuner), an expression pedal (used for volume, wah, fading out loops), and a small midi controller for various functions.

I use my stomp for acoustic and electric guitar, banjo, and I even put my mic signal through it on occasion.

Can't recommend this enough!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
An amazing modeler at a great price
SergioAureo, 10.09.2019
I bought the HX Stomp to practice at home without making noise.
Right away I made some presets from scratch with some external IRs. I think it is easy to learn how to work with the unit and just sounds and feels amazing.
I will be using the unit to record, also. It is a great latency free interface and it simply sounds great in a recording context (and I'm a tube amp guy).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Line6 HX Stomp

598 €
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Guitar Multi FX
Guitar Multi FX
The multi-FX concept has been around in various forms since the mid 80s - It is therefore no surprise that there is a huge range of hardware available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
video
Line 6 HX Stomp
4:56
Line 6 HX Stomp
Rank #2 in Guitar Multi Effects
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO

Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO; Eurorack module; two independent analog ADSR envelope generators; for each envelope: manual trigger button, Gate input, sliders for Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release, 2 signal outputs and inverted output; analog LFO with 5 waveforms; sliders for...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 BKS

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Presonus Studio One 5 Pro UG 1-4 Pro

Presonus Studio One 5 Professional Upgrade 1-4 Professional / Producer (ESD); Audio MIDI Sequencer (DAW); upgrades Studio One 1-4 Professional / Producer to Studio One 5 Professional; straightforward single window operation; straight drag and drop functionality; project page allows for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb

Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Based on the Oceans 11 with even more reverbs and functionality; two simultaneous, independent, stereo reverb engines; 24 Presets and advanced I/O allowing for stereo in/out or mono...

Recently Viewed
Aston Microphones Spirit Black Bundle

Aston Microphones Spirit Black Bundle - Limited Edition; contains Aston Spirit Black and Swift Shield; Aston Spirit: Large Diaphragm Studio Microphone, Polar Pattern: Omni/Cardioid/Figure-of-Eight, Frequency Response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz (+/- 3dB), Equivalent Input Noise 14dB A-Weighted, max. SPL:...

Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA

Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA DMX, 60 W LED, 50 cm; decoration element for stages, clubs and events; stable metal construction; illuminated reflector with unique look; technical data: Light source: 60 Watt RGBA 4in1 LED; Control: DMX (4/6/8 channels),...

Recently Viewed
Midas Compressor Limiter 522 V2

Midas Compressor Limiter 522; 500 Series Modular Compressor/Limiter; rotary knobs for Treshold, Ratio, Attack, Release, Gain and Dynamic Presence; HP Sidechain Filter (200 Hz); LED Meter for Gain Reduction and Output Level; Designed and engineered in the U.K.

Recently Viewed
Presonus Studio One 5 Pro UG EDU

Presonus Studio One 5 Professional Upgrade 1-4 Professional / Producer EDU (ESD); Audio MIDI Sequencer (DAW); Educational version (requires proof of eligibility); upgrades Studio One 1-4 Professional / Producer to Studio One 5 Professional EDU; straightforward single window operation; straight...

Recently Viewed
TC-Helicon Go Twin

2-Channel audio / MIDI interface for mobile devices Integrated microphone preamplifier, Phantom power: +48 V, 2 Microphone / line / instrument inputs: combo XLR / jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, Stereo headphone output, 2...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 112 Dual VCO

Behringer 112 Dual VCO; Eurorack module; two identical analog VCOs in one module; selectable waveforms: triangle, sawtooth and squarewave/pulse; adjustable pulsewidth and PWM CV input with attenuator; octave-switch and fine-tune control knob; hard and soft sync; 3 pitch CV inputs...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-AT 24 TBK

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

Recently Viewed
Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headph. Amp

Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headphone Amp; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; practical practice tool; intuitive operation using three fully-tactile slider potentiometers with positioning LED's; 5 cabinet simulations; Aux In & Bluetooth to listen to back in tracks while playing, rehearsing,...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.