Harley Benton R-458 BK Progressiv Series

210 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.4 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice guitar
Francisco5274, 07.12.2015
I've been playing guitar for a long time, and I was curious to try those 8 string guitars that are rising up now in the market. My problem, as many other people, the budget. I was not in position to buy a 900$ guitar now, so I told myself that this budget 8 string could satisfy my curiosity, and if it failed as a guitar, the economical loss won't be as much. But it paid off:

Pros:

-Good construction and finish, it feels a bit light but not an issue.
-Good tuners.
-Good electronics. For the sound gourmets maybe these pickups are not of their taste, but they do a pretty good job IMHO. A little too hot I must say, but that's not an issue for me.
-It doesn't feel as alien when coming from a 6 string. This is because of its neck length and width. It feels very comfortable.
-Well intonated and decent string action (for my taste anyway)

Cons:

-The nut is made of cheap plastic, I strongly recommend to change it. Also it's set up sort of too high, when you voice a chord in the 0-3 frets and you apply a little bit more pressure, the chord detunes a lot.

- The strings are too light for what the instrument is (the F# one, so the 8th, felt like I was holding a bow instead of a guitar...). Change the set and get harder strings (like a .10 or plus).

-It depends on the unit, but for mine I will need to do a fret job. Some frets buzz where others don't (not a truss rod issue, that's tested already)

-Packaging. Just covered in carton board and air bags to secure the instrument, mine came with a hit in the head, half the size of a pinky's nail. Not something that is very bad but I could've been less lucky.

-The jack plug is not well grounded/connected, I get a familiar not-good-grounded noise (like when you touch the tip of a connected jack) when I move the jack in a particular position . I haven't opened the guitar but it seems like a quick fix.


So there you have it, as it is a budget instrument you'll need to adjust it, but for what it does and what it costs it is very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Interesting Purchase !!
18.06.2015
Ok...received in 3 days. When unboxing it became obvious this guitar needed some tlc to get it set up correctly. I dont mind tinkering, especially with such a cheap experimental instrument such as this...the temptation to go 8 string experiment I specifically refer !! I daresay you get good ones and bad ones so I will rate mine as satisfactory as it WAS perfectly playable out of the box. However, I had to slacken the 5 neck bolts to pull the neck slightly as the strings were not parallel with the neck and aligned with the pickup poles properly...5 mins and it was was fixed...has not moved since. Neck joint very snug so take some comfort in that fact. Next...intonation was out but theres plenty of adjustment and another 10 minute job fixed that. Scale length is short for an 8...compared to other manufacturers but hey, it makes for an easier transition from 6 to 8 as it feels "normal" at 648mm...only the width to become familiar with. Finish on fingerboard and back of neck is perfect...fretwork is sublime and makes a very low action achievable if you so desire. Body is a beautiful sculpted shape and very well balanced on the strap without neck diving at all. Tuners are good and nut is cut well...bonus! Strings supplied aren't the best and sound a little dead but some Kerly's will sort that out when required. Sound is pretty good overall...bridge is lively and full sounding across the strings without excessive muddiness at all. Neck pickup is very warm and usable too. From clean to extreme distortion this thing really works well with a Zoom G3X processor with all of its many possibilities !! I opened the rear cover to look at the electronics and its a bit shabby looking but I finished it off to a better standard...its all cheap but functional stuff though. Whats has really made me fall in love with this guitar is the potential to increase it tonal capability...I'm talking about the pickups...they are 4 wire as standard...coil taps please...thank you. I fitted a mini toggle to achieve this + a 1meg tone pot (more treble) and...BOOM...now I have the most versatile instrument I have ever picked up...I mean WOW...its capabilites are endless and it all works beautifully to my ears. The heavy tones are there anyway but shrill, strat type highs are all there to be released for the sake of spending 10 quid on a pot and a toggle switch + half an hours work. You DO NOT need to swap out the pickups on this thing as they are workable. Simply one of my best purchases ever...although I have voided any warranty I don't care as my "experiment" has worked for me and at this price I ain't bothered anyway. This thing is built excessively and nothing can go wrong...Thanks Thomann for bringing this wonderful budget guitar...well pleased.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A good introduction to 8 strings
The Jordanator, 29.08.2020
I bought this because I wanted to experiment with an 8 string guitar and generally they're very expensive. For the price point of this guitar it's hard to argue that it is anything other than excellent value.

It's well made, especially for the price. I've bought several harley benton guitars over the years and have seen the workmanship in there construction improve a lot.

The pickups are my main hang up with this guitar, it's not that they sound bad they just don't sound particularly good. It was difficult for me to get a good tone from them but I achieved it eventually. A part of this is probably related to the extended range of the guitar vs. the amplifiers I've tried it through. I recently purchased a kemper profiler and it sounds great with high gain amps. I will potentially upgrade them to some seymour duncans and then it will be an amazing guitar
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bought for a Hobby, Kept for the Quality
Schengis, 23.06.2019
I originally bought this guitar in the white color, and the quality impressed me so much that I decided to order this one so that I could have one to adjust and tweak to my liking and get some more practice doing mods. That was the plan, but when I got this beast there was so little work to do.

I'll preface this by saying that this is most likely NOT the guitar that I would take up on stage with me, but it is a perfectly capable and well-made instrument. I was anticipating having hours of work ahead of me to get this thing sounding like I wanted it to, but I was pleasantly surprised at how good it sounded right out of the box.

As for the downsides:
The tone knob seems to have no gradual control over the sound and changes sharply at around 5pm. The tuning heads are also a bit touchy and you'll find yourself hovering around notes on a tuner instead of hitting it dead on in the lower register of the instrument.

Like I said, I probably wouldn't be jamming with this bad boy on stage, but it's a great toy to have.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
24.03.2015
After watching a load of Rob Scallon videos on YouTube, I decided it was time to try out an 8-string guitar. I had never played an 8-string before this purchase, nor have I ever played a 7-string, and so I was dreading the increased neck width, which I was expecting to be overwhelming, much like it is (for me anyway) on a 6-string bass.
Thankfully the increased neck width didn't really phase me, and the whole guitar felt quite comfortable to play, despite the few sharp frets. Much to my surprise the lightweight guitar is actually nicely balanced and not even remotely headstock heavy.
So this guitar has impressed me twice straight out of the box. On top of that all of the hardware seems pretty solid.
Although, I'm not a big fan of the pick-ups, they're a little too bland for my tastes (but since I'm running it through a Marshall Valvestate 8080, they still sound pretty good). And finally the fretboard needs a clean, which seems to be a trend among all the Harley Benton guitars I have played: they all seem to come with dirty fret boards, nothing a drop of lemon oil won't fix when I change the strings.

Overall it's a pretty solid guitar, which I've got tuned to some form of Open F (FCFACGCE). It needs a bit of a setup, a clean and a new set of strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Just great
FinC, 16.07.2020
Pros
Solid as a rock
Holds tune really well
Nice neck shape
Switch feels solid
Sounds really nice - the pickups work really well on the lower strings

Cons
The pickups are a little bit quiet but this isn't much of a problem
Frets came sharp. This was fixed with a fret file and sanding sponge in 10 minutes.
The strings it comes with are too floppy on the low F# string. Would recommend using a thicker string guage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I simpli love it
Moddeller, 02.09.2020
I ordered it maybe 2 years ago and i'm still looking at it like it came yesterday. The quality is perfect, size is perfect and its not too heavy (weight). I simply LOVE IT.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton R-458 vs Ibanez RG8
Backpfeifengesicht, 18.07.2017
As an owner of both guitars, I can see that almost every feature and measurement of this is extremely similar to the RG8. And why not, right? Both great guitars. The frets are about half an inch smaller all along the neck, in comparison to the Jumbo frets on the Ibanez.

This Harley Benton is the best and cheapest entry-level 8 string on the market. However the pickups are very bad and noisy in comparison to the Ibanez. The Ibanez delivers the clairty you hear in modern progressive metal bands, and the warmth and diversity for everything else. The Harley Benton sounds embarrassingly weak, but pulls off clean tones well enough to be enjoyable.

The Harley Benton is great for playing unplugged. It's about 1/3 lighter than the Ibanez due to the smaller, rounded body and the smaller fretboard makes it easier to get used to using the 7th and 8th strings.

The tone/volume pots and very delicate, consider taking the back panel off and reinforcing them, using them lightly is the only way to avoid damaging them as they are cheaply fixed at the back.

Consider taking it to a technician as it probably went through a cheap set up, mine needed intonating and the string height adjusted to avoid the 7th and 8th string fret/string buzz, which you will get on the Ibanez too.

If you're buying an 8 string for the first time, buy this one. If/when the novelty wares off then you won't have wasted £300 more for the Ibanez. If you have the money, and don't like hoarding/testing guitars, buy the Ibanez!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Deadly Lightning metal band, Sirius Calling metal band
Aias, 21.07.2018
Come on guys ........ this is a dream that coming trew. Thoman Santa Claus Christmas all year long!!!! This baby was a dream for years...and now in my hands...the 8 string fantasy for only 155 $.
The range of the things you can do with such guitar its unlimited, the fatness of the sound when you go under the six strings its extremely rare, in the acoustic stuff you have a fantastic tone, strong but clean.....thing Metallica.....About the hard riffs its about the right fx and distortion to have clean sound even in the last bass Fa# string...the hall thing is to practise a lot with this beast just cause its something new and sometimes comfusing for the fingers that knows only the 6 string stuff.....after a waile this gonna be your favorite guitar.
Thanks Thoman for this opportunity in this mad price!!!!
Aias Lightning, lead singer (multinstrumentalist) & composer of Deadly Lightning & Sirius Calling metal bands.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A great guitar for stopping burglars!
SRV666, 01.04.2015
So back in April.
I was chilling, watching a YouTube video and some guy calls to my house by ringing the doorbell.

So being the lazy mofo I am, I ignore the repeat ringing.
A few moments pass and I hear a huge crash from a window being smashed downstairs
I quickly realise that my house is being broken into and need to get ready to deal with it.

Looking around my room to procure an item I could use to defend myself with I had to opt to picking a guitar.
The guitar I chose was the Harley Benton 8 string guitar.
(Harley Benton R-458 BK Progressiv Series)

Armed with that beast, I charge downstairs and encounter the burglar breaking and entering.

At this point there's glass all over the floor and the burglar is making his way into the house.
Holding the 8 string guitar by the headstock I approach him and tell to get the F out.
The burglar threatened cut to me with a box cutter so bashed him across the head with 8 string!
He hit the ground like a sack of shit but he quickly got to his feet before I hit him again and jumped back out through the window and took off running!

I tried to cut him off by running out the front door but it was locked.
I ran back upstairs grabbed my keys and saw from my bedroom window
that he was getting away.
So instead of going downstairs and out the front door, I jump from the second story window still with the 8 string in hand!
At that moment the burglar looked back while I was mid free fall and look of horror on his face was priceless.
At that point he knew he was F'd!

So he took off running for his life down the street while I charged after him wielding the HB 8 string body raised overhead ready to whack him with it!

I managed to close the distance and I gave him a belt of the guitar across the head and temporarily stun him.

I got infront of him and that this point he brandishes his stanley blade knife and begins slashing at me with it!
Luckily I was able to maintain distance and parry all his attacks by jabbing him in the face repeatedly with the guitar.

Two minutes of knife/guitar duelling we find ourselves out in the middle of the road on a roundabout and all traffic has come to a halt as we continued fighting!
After many well placed strikes the burglar's head was beginning to look like 'Sloth' from 'The Goonies' movie.
Realising that I wasn't gonna give up the burglar then tried to make a get away by hijacking an articulated lorry which resulted in him getting punched straight in the face and falling out of the lorry cab!
He then proceeded to get into another car and threaten the driver telling them to drive.

My heart sank as I thought he was gonna get away but I just couldn't let that piece of shit get away with it, so I chased after the car in what would have looked like a low budget Terminator 2 chase scene!

Somehow I managed to keep up with the car and see where it was going!

The driver had pulled over and the scumbag got out and planned to hide in a barber shop to which he was quickly escorted off the premises because he had a head on him like a buckled mattress.
I ran into them and ask the to call the guards.

Meanwhile the moron went into a neighbouring café and sat down (I think that was the concussion beginning to set in!)

At this stage I had enough and I left the guitar outside and I went in and disarmed and pinned him in the café as staff and customers looked on in confusion but I calmly explained to everyone once I had in an anaconda choke.

The guards appeared in no time and arrested him and put him into the back of the car.

The moral of the story is:
Don't bring a knife to a guitar fight.

A Harley Benton guitar is a great guitar!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't go wrong at this price
JDJW, 07.06.2018
If you're looking for an 8 string guitar without breaking the bank, this is the one to go for.

I ordered this on a whim after listening to an Animals as Leaders album and deciding that I wanted to have a go at the whole extended range experience. It's absolutely not what I play live, so there was no point in spending a fortune on any of the (really very nice) 8 strings that are available from the 'premium' brands, so I thought that this would do the job.

Some other reviewers have noted that some setup was needed when the guitar arrived, but this wasn't my experience at all. It arrived promptly, and straight out of the box I was able to break into some seriously heavy riffing. The finish was remarkable for a guitar at this price point, and would rival instruments at several times its price. I find the neck to be very pleasing to play on, and the guitar is well weighted.

In terms of shortcomings, the guitar does show its price in some ways. The pickups have a tendency to sound a bit muddy, particularly when shown to any sort of gain. They lack the clarity of some of the big-name pickups, but this is to be expected when a single pickup can be more expensive than this whole guitar. If I were to be using this live I would consider swapping them out for something from Seymour Duncan or DiMarzio, but the fact that I would do that instead of just buying a new guitar should speak highly of the basic quality of the instrument.

Other shortcomings include the tuners, which have been prone to slippage in my experience. Nothing too major, but frequent retuning is necessary.

Overall, if you're interested in trying out the extended-range world, this Harley Benton is a great place to start!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton R-458 8 string guitar
RichH, 28.07.2020
Use: planned to use for solo performance, with extra bass strings

Pros: as usual, great value for money from HB and excellent customer service from Thomann. Amazing value for money. Not heavy and balances well on a strap.

Cons: out of the box this didn't work for me. I considered making a number of changes which might have transformed the experience, but in the end did not keep it. With a Harley Benton 6 string guitar I found that changing to my preferred strings and doing a full setup made a huge improvement, but on this I wasn't comfortable with things like how close the strings are to each other.

Summary: huge value for money, and a great entry into the world of extended range guitars. I have a 7 string I love and thought this would work for me. Personally I found it hard to adjust to and felt that it was too much work for me to customise it to my requirements.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Need to consider the cost
Chameleon665, 09.10.2019
I bought this guitar to get acquainted with an 8-string instrument.
The sound is not bad, but it came with a chip on the neck. The second guitar I have is Jackson rr-3 (Japan) and of course, in comparison, this guitar is a little worse in everything, but considering the cost, it is an excellent purchase.
Highly recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great entry to extended-range guitars
Quimmy, 06.03.2015
Everything you?d expect from a cheap guitar is missing from this.

Excellent tuners, something I was really concerned about as most cheap guitars come with awful tuning machines, these are really solid, hold tuning extremely well and are very consistent and just sensitive enough to make tuning totally fine.

The neck is delightful with a super light finish that almost feels like playing bare wood. Quite thin but definitely not too thin and a nice, flat D shape make it really comfortable to play.

The frets are pretty much perfect, and another area that was super surprising (cheaper instruments tend to have patchy fretwork at best) ? no sharp frets, everything is filed nicely.

The bridge is really solid, too, and coupled with the neck and frets, makes super low action totally doable.

Knobs and switch are fine and sturdy, nothing is loose/falling off.

The only downfall here is the pickups, they?re far from fantastic and really high output ? I always change pickups on guitars though and considering how easy it is, this really doesn?t put me off.

Stock strings are a little light and, coupled with the short-ish scale length, mean the bass strings were a little droopy when I got this, but a thicker set of strings fixed all that.

For the price, I?m really, really impressed; a pickup swap and a light setup turn this guitar into something I?d stack up against any guitar below £500.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing Value for the price
Jay J. , 01.03.2019
If you are looking for a quality 8 string guitar with great value, this is the guitar for you. This beast has amazing tone and construction for the price and can definitely be used in a gig setting as well as the studio.

Cons:
The strings that come stock are not the best and I recommend switching them out immediately. On my model, the input jack was a little loose. An easy fix but it's definitely something to watch, just to be safe.
And finally, the instrument definitely needs a setup. The intonation is a little off and fret buzz is abound. You can also use a fret wrap to mitigate this but a set up is definitely recommended.

This guitar is an excellent choice for that djent sound or technical death metal tone, but does so much more. Such as experimental open tunings, ambient guitar, the works. You get a quality instrument that holds a tune for less than half the price of the typical extended range. While it may not match the quality of the most high quality fenders or Gibsons, it can easily hold it's own between a mid range fender and a high range Epiphone. Well worth the price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
joy and disillusion at djent styles
Nerijus, 12.09.2015
After hearing djent guitar styles and alike, I was eager to put my hands on bariton 8-strings guitar. My pocket allowed me only entry level Harley Benton, so be it. Guitar came in very quickly in 5 working days, well packed, no damage. Complete with a with a thin starter cable with plastic coated jacks. The guitar itself is surprisingly well built for such a price and pick ups sound surprisingly well and meaty too, even at the neck position. That's the main pros. Now the cons I spotted after 4 months of use. The action is too high at the nut and bridge and even with that power chords with 010-074 gauge strings are completely unusable, but that's maybe a fault of the strings. Tuning keys are way too sensitive for lower strings, making it unreasonably hard to precisely tune, and somewhat unstable, hard bends on lower strings must be excluded from playing styles, otherwise they will go out of tune instantly. All in all, I'm happy with the price and don't regret my order and looking forward to do some tech fixes myself.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice Feel but bottom end is not so good
FatManDo, 05.08.2020
It is lightweight and for the price is good. I find though that it struggles with tuning and sound at the bottom 2 strings.

I wish I had waited and had the fan fret model instead
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I wanted a 8-string - I've got an 8-string
24.12.2016
Well this guitar is pretty cheap, but for these money you get pretty much. Everything is satisfying. Only thing is that picks' change is vital. New picks will make the guitar just perfect for these money. I guess I've fell in love with it. Hope, my wife won't deport me and my guitars to live in the streets...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The Eighth Wonder !!
Ronnie J., 18.08.2015
A great guitar. My first 8-string and i am impressed, Good construction, excellent set-up and very comfortable to play. It was recommended to tune it a semi-tone lower than the conventional tuning, but for now i have decided to be conventional. So i have a 6-string with a low-B and F#. It is effectively two guitars in one. Playing Bass lines. melodies and chords on one instrument. Tonally it has a lot of variety, deep lows and shimmering highs. Unplugged it has a beautiful acoustic tone, very clear definition. The neck, though wide, is very comfortable, with fret makings placed along the edge rather than centrally on the fretboard (a minor issue). The scale length is shorter than usual 8-strings, but this is a wonderful instrument. I only wish it came in more colours!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Big bang for the buck
Forevian, 09.10.2019
Great product, it arrived properly set up, so I could start playing right away. I was surprised that the stock pickups actually sound nice, even for clean tones. My goal with this guitar was to experiment with various tunings and learn to play an 8 string in general to get the idea if it was for me or not. It was perfect for this! The frets were not super smooth by the edges, but good enough not to complain. The guitar feels a bit cheap, definitely not a fancy instrument, but I only got praise on it (both it looks and its sound) when performing with it. Eventually I sold it (without any issue) because I moved to another country.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing Guitar Good Craftsmanship . BUT one problem
MadmanOfGamorah, 06.06.2018
I've been searching for an 8 string to play with for a long time because I've been wanting to try one. I've heard about this guitar from Henning Pauly of YouTube Channel EytschPi42 and Glen Friecker of YouTube Channel
SpectreSoundStudios. And if not for them I would have never come across Harley Benton at all.

The Guitar is constructed very well. Sounds amazing in my mixes. But My only problem was that there were sharp fret ends on bot sides of the fretboard. Nothing an experienced guitarist can't fix. Aside from that I have no other problems with the guitar. Because I'm so satisfied with Harley Benton guitars, I'm considering starting a collection of Harley Benton guitars. The FanFret-7 BBB 2018 DLX is next on my list. Thank you Thomann for this brand of guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
For this price, perfect.
17.08.2016
Straight out the box it was in great condition and worked perfectly.

The only negatives would be that the switch feels cheap (but works perfectly.) Secondly, the neck pickup is very wooly and lacks definition. Any sort of distortion demanded the bridge pickup... but at this price I'm really splitting hairs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best kept secret yet
David994, 24.05.2013
this guitar is amazing. I keep thinking about the price and,what value. I wanted an 8 string out of curiosity and didn't expect lot of guitar for the money'How wrong I was the build quality is five star, you have to try it to believe it. fingerboard is just excellent and it plays on and makes you play it. the range of sounds it can produce, from heavy metal to Jazz to rock, from a Gibson to a strat ,honest it is so complete, only downside I no out of phase facility, but that's about all. Just get one you won't be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An elegant and affordable 8-String starter
Di_Pasch, 22.05.2017
I got this guitar because I wanted to start playing around with extended range instruments.

My first impressions were very good despite the fact that the head-stock had a small broken piece. It most likely broke during shipping.

The guitar has a very nice shapes, it's contours are all rounded and there are not rough edges.
The high gloss black finish also looks nice.

The fretboard did not have any sharp fret, there is however a bit of buzz that should be fixed with a bit of a setup.

As I've never played an 8 string, I was quite concerned about the neck being too thick, however to my surprise the neck is really thin and is a bliss to play on, after a couple of hours it really felt like this instrument was no different from my 6 string in terms of playability.

The string that were already on the guitar seem a bit bigger that the one indicated on the sale page, the low F# must be an .85

I needed a little while to find how to bring the best out of these hi-gain pickups. I may change the bridge one with a Pegasus as a more versatile choice.

Overall, an amazing starting point and a great instrument to have in your arsenal!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Value!
08.05.2015
As I suspect many of the Harley Benton guitars are not made from the finest materials and hardware this 8 string is a great value for the price. I have had mine for three months and played it A LOT! Two string changes later it's still going strong! In my opinion it's a great way to get familiar with an 8 string without being a major investment.

Pros:
The hardware is actually quite decent, the finish also very good! Intonation and setup were surprisingly good and the design is quite pleasant. It actually being a 25.5 scale makes transition from 6 string more straight forward compared to many that are more of a baritone scale. Seriously wouldn't mind having the 6 string version.

Cons:
The pickups are WAY to hot as well as not being especially well wax potted as there are more micro phonics than anything else I own. The pickups overload virtually any preamp I jack into.
The strings are generally fine with the exception the lowest is simply too big. I changed to GHS Boomer XL 8 string set which has a noticeably thinner lowest string and is more suitable for the guitar IMO.

Finally, the rest is on Thomann. The product description is wrong, it has black hardware (preferred) vise the chrome and I wish they would state the fretboard radius. The shipping package design virtually guarantees the guitar will likely get some minor headstock damage in shipping! Mine was literally protruding through the internal box showing it had received unrestricted impact because there is zero headstock protection within the packaging! My damage was minor enough I chose to not be concerned, it's an inexpensive guitar.

As I started, it is a great value and would certainly buy it again!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton R-458 BK Progressiv Series

155 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping

Dispatch expected by Wed, 28. October

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
Sennheiser HD 560S

Over-Ear Headphones Circumaural, Single-cable configuration, Lightweight design, Velour earpads, Open design, Max. SPL (sound pressure level): 110 dB (1 kHz, 1V), Impedance: 120 Ohm, Frequency response: 6-38,000 Hz, Total harmonic distortion (THD) at 1 kHz

(1)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Amp/Cab Simulator

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; Fully Analogue Pre-Amp with 3 Classic Voicings: AC-Brit (British Class A 2x12" Combo), American (American Blackface Combo)& MS Brit (British Stack); Zero Watt Stereo Power...

Recently Viewed
Swissonic Webcam 2 Full-HD AF

Swissonic Webcam 2 Full-HD AF; USB business webcam with auto focus for videoconferencing and video streaming; built-in stereo microphone; plug & play without setup; compatible with Mac OS and Windows; multi-functional mount for standing operation or easy mounting on the...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Strymon Nightsky Reverb

Strymon Nightsky Reverb; Effects Pedal; Three selectable reverb types, Mod and Tone sections; Voice section, adjustable Shimmer, Glimmer, Morph & Pre or Post Drive functions; adjustable Reverb core size, independent Reverb and Dry level controls; 8-step sequencer for program rhythmic...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 182 Sequencer

Behringer 182 Sequencer; Eurorack Module; Analog Sequencer; two channels with 8 Steps each; channels can be used in series for 16 Steps; number of steps selectable from 1-8 Steps; Start/Stop switch; manual controls for Tempo, Gate time and Delay (Portamento);...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Komplete 13

Plugin Collection Consists of over 65 software instruments, software effects and 24 expansions, Over 35,000 sounds, Includes i.a. Guitar Rig 6 Pro, Super 8, Electric Sunburst, Butch Vig Drums, Cuba, Massive X, Kontakt 6, Session Strings 2, Absynth 5,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Shure BLX24/SM58BK S8

Shure BLX24/SM58 S8, Thomann exclusive Edition, SM Vocal Series, UHF Wireless-System with SM58 handheld transmitter, up to 7 Systems parallel, Pilottone, antenna-Diversity, Quick-Scan to find free frequencies, dynamic SM58 capsule, 50 - 15.000 Hz, cardioid, receiver with plastic housing, internal...

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-87 R2

Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Directional characteristic: Cardioid, Omnidirectional, Figure-8, WA-87-B-50V capsule - Reproduction of the classic K87 capsule, Gold-sputtered 6 µm NOS Mylar diaphragm, 100% with discrete circuitry with an NOS Fairchild transistor, WIMA/Nichicon capacitors, Cinemag USA output transformer, Lo...

Recently Viewed
Larry Carlton H7 CS

Semi-Hollow Electric Guitar Body: Maple, Top: Flamed maple, Neck: Mahogany, Fretboard: Ebony, Neck attachment: Set-in, Neck shape: C-Shape, Fretboard inlays: Squares, Frets: 22 Medium jumbo, Nut: Bone, Nut width: 40 mm (1.57"), Scale: 627 mm (24.7"), Fretboard radius: 305...

Recently Viewed
Wampler Belle Overdrive

Wampler Belle Overdrive; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; The Belle circuit is based on a firm favourite Overdrive Pedal in Nashville and Brian Wampler’s unique take delivers everything you would expect; from a warm clean boost at low Gain levels...

Recently Viewed
Joranalogue Audio Design Fold 6

Joranalogue Audio Design Fold 6; Eurorack module; analog Wavefolder; contains a parallel and serial Wavefolder circuit with 6 stages; manual controls for Fold, Shape and Symmetry; connections: two signal inputs, CV inputs for Fold and Shape, signal outputs for the...

Recently Viewed
Mooer AP10 Air Plug Wireless System

Digital Wireless System For guitar, bass, and acoustic instruments with Piezo pickups, 4 Switchable channels allow parallel use of up to 4 systems, Integrated, rechargeable lithium battery, Range of up to 15 m, Less than 5 ms latency, Frequency...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.