Daddario EXL120-3D

1225 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
My favourite Strings
RossWhite, 20.07.2017
I use the these on my Fender Strat and PRS and the 110's on my Les Pauls. I have tried most makes of strings: Ernie Ball, Fender etc... I settled on D'addario years ago. I have never had a D'addario faulty string. Maybe I am lucky.

I have a Fender Deluxe Strat and it came with Fender strings. I tried the Fender Bullits, as they were the recommended strings for the guitar. As soon as the strings needed changing again, I went back to D'addario's. Apart from being cheaper, they definitely have a better bell tone to them and although it may be psychological, I prefer the 'feel' of them.

I love the sound of these, they are reasonably priced, especially from Thomann. A quick piece of advice: Always compare the price of multi packs. These packs of 3 work out at ¤4.80 a set. The packs of 10 work out at ¤4.90 a set. These EXL120-3D are the best value!

If you have never tried them, give them a go. I will be very surprised if you don't stick with them. I doubt I will ever use anything else on my electric guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Can't beat Daddario
Vertically compliant, 19.12.2020
When it comes to roundwound strings, Daddarios are my go-tos. They sound great, they last a long time and the prices are just great. I've never had any issues with poor quality using them.

The only thing I'm not crazy about is the colored ends on the strings, but I can live with that and it's not like you normally even see them. I'd also like to see the more rare sets (e.g. sets with a wound G) available as a 10-pack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Best strings you can get
Yd44, 04.04.2021
I've tried nearly all the strings out there and these are by FAR the best. Very great bright tone. Colour coded string ball ends is a great feature not many people mention, it makes string changes way quicker not having to look at the pack after every string once you learn the colours. Bright tone lasts For around two weeks for me [With very heavy Floyd Rose usage to add] and I kill EB strings in a day, Used them for 3 years now and only broke 1 high E string. I cant think of anything I don't like about these strings apart from maybe that the wound strings are bare at the end for the last inch or so which makes Floyd string changes a bit annoying. Nonetheless I wont use any other string Brand, 5/5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Always have a pack of these laying around
Mick Jansen, 23.01.2019
Ever since I played the electric guitar, I have used the same particular set of strings through the years: The Daddario EXL120's. It may be the most basic set of 9's, but it works for me and it has done so for almost ten years! Never had problems with these strings.
I can play them with ease, but the strings do not sound tinny and they do quite well in the bass frequencies. They last quite long, I have broken just one or two strings in all these years. You don't need to change them every month or so. They will stay 'fresh' for longer than that.
The strings also do great on floating bridge systems too. With all the stress of the vibratos with the whammy bar, these strings don't seem to care.
Since I have multiple guitars, it is only convenient to buy a pack of three sets. I have used these strings for almost ten years and I'm planning on using them for the next ten years as well!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Nice price
LeonardS, 28.02.2021
I have used these strings for years now and I bought this 3 pack as price is much better as one set.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Em conta
jcmix, 08.03.2021
Excelentes para praticar dado que são baratas e cumprem com as necessidades em causa
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Just perfect
SebastianSch, 08.12.2020
These are by far my favourite strings to use, they sound great, I've never had a faulty string in a pack and they're very affordable, especially if you buy the 3x packs.

I've never thought of switching strings after I bought these for the first time years ago.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
What's not to like!
mynvidia, 27.08.2020
3 sets of EXL120s for less than the price of 3 separate sets. What more could you ask for?

This is great and is the go to strings for a majority of guitar manufacturers, especially Ibanez.

Great strings at a great price! Recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Daddarion EXL120-3D
30.01.2015
I've been using Daddario strings for quite a while now. I find that they tend to have a longer shelf life than some other popular brands and they are at a good price point.

I found with Ernie Ball strings for instance, that when you first put them on they sound really great with a nice spanky tone. However I do feel that they dull down rather quickly. In comparison I find that although the Daddario's aren't so spectacular when first put on, they don't dull so much over time. If you change strings a lot and like that 'new string' sound, then get Ernie Ball's. But I find Daddario's a better value long trem option.

I use 9's for my two Floyd rose equipped Charvel guitars and they do a good job in that environment.

The only problem I have had was a ball end snapping off a top E string while I was stringing up. I guess you're going to get a dodgy one once in a while though.

Unless someone can convince me otherwise, I'm sticking to Daddario EXL's!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
D'Addario EXL120 - my favourite in all respects
AronLP, 09.08.2020
After years of use, D'Addario EXL-120 is my favorite string set for my LP. Strength 9 is comfortable to play, yet giving a rich and powerful sound. The quality is absolutely reliable, I never had a faulty set or broken a string.
Once tuned in well, only a minor adjustment is needed before a session, if any; they stay in tune even at a lot of bending.
It is practical they come in a 3-pack for a very reasonable price.
5+5+5 stars, no questions.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Bright sounding and reliable for a great price
paniccoffee, 22.01.2021
+ Bright sounding
+ Stable tuning and intonation
+ Economical for a fair price point
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
OK for what they are
Dimkasta, 02.09.2020
The only thing I do not like is that they do not have separate bags/envelops for each string. The colored ends make it a bit easier but still...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The business
Sailerman, 04.06.2020
What can one say about these strings that hasnt already been said, other than buy them you cant go wrong
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Classic
JW92, 27.01.2021
Classic strings, Great tone, Great price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
my usual guitar strings set
Donaz, 24.06.2018
Affter the first years, using the ghs boomers, long lasting and flexible strings, i've changed my taste, preferring d'addario sets......they breaks a little bit easily compared with boomers, but they're definitely more resonating and brighter...my first choice when i want to mount 'THE GUITAR STRINGS'.
Recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My go to string brand and gauge.
GJK123, 17.02.2020
My go to string brand and gauge. I think they are worth the price and the quality is always consistent. I think 9 - 42 is a very versatile string gauge and they have a nice twang to them. I like them especially for playing lead guitar and funk. If you play a lot of rhythm guitar, metal riffs and drop tunings you might want to go for a heavier gauge (Especially for the lower strings). But if you’re into soloing, tapping, shredding, harmonics, bending etc… Go for this gauge and make it easier on your fingers! And get the pack of 3, great price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Consistent
31.01.2015
Used these strings for 20 odd years now. Compared to other brands I have used these are much more reliable and consistent, qualities that are undeniably important when it comes to selecting your brand of string I'm sure! Tone wise they are perfect, not too bright yet very balanced, again I think this comes down to consistency. I have never broke a daddario string, I tend to change sets twice a month, I have broken strings from other major brands. I don't tend to sweat much so I cannot comment on how resistant they are to corrosion but really you should be changing your strings more often if you perspire a lot so it's a moot point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good deal compared to separate packs
Redbeard_Ted, 09.08.2017
You save quite some money buying them in packs of three sets.

I don't use this strings anymore, I went to 11s, cause these were way too thin and also sounded too bright for my taste.
I did stick to the brand though, and I use D'addario stings on most of my guitars - I trust their quality, and another great thing is they are available anywhere, if you're on the road and a string breaks.

Since they're so thin, it's important to carefully pull and stretch them when you're winding them, so that you get better tuning stability and a bit higher tension.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Excelent string set
Maccosta, 27.01.2021
Good quality and good sound.
Bought a 3 set since they are the best ones
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
A good set of strings.
Daniel B. 502, 15.11.2017
I was recommended these buy a friend that works on a lot of big tours with rock and metal bands. He is also an amazing guitarist and said that he uses these on all his guitars. Since he restrung a couple of my guitars with these I can defiantly say I haven't looked back. the price for the multi pack is even better value if you have multiple guitars. really cuts down on costs. they produce an amazing sound and I find them really easy and nice to play. Give them a try and I'm sure you wont be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
iamlmc, 18.12.2018
Great quality-price sets of strings. Sound is good for it's price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Daddario EXL120-3D
16.05.2016
D'Addario is my choice when it comes to guitar strings. They seem to have a better lifespan if you compare them to other brands.

These are no exception, excellent quality with great resonance. I've had to up the gauge due to using a short-scale guitar and opted for the 9.5 gauge since which are perfect for my needs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The Daddy of Strings
Mary A., 28.11.2020
Ive used these strings for nearly 20 Years and ive tried other strings but somehow always seem to just come back to these guys.
Great strings I use the 10-46 for Les Pauls too
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great for soft finger playing
Dusko, 21.08.2017
If you use much finger vibrato these sure are the way to go! 10?gauge just seek more strength and can never get that nice fast vibrato as these 9' gauge can. I love the sound of D'addario strings and will be sticking with them
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
terrific!!
John7397, 20.07.2015
what can i say,it's daddario!! having tried many/many types/brands...i find these suit me best,i have found that these strings don't take forever to stretch/bed-in like others do.a really nice bright/solid sound and tone,and they last a very long time,very highly recommended!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Daddario EXL120-3D

12,60 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Thursday, 22.04. and Friday, 23.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.