Blackstar FLY 3 Mini Amp BK

400 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Crystal Clear, Full, Bright Tones in a Tiny Unit
Halina, 18.05.2015
I had heard some great things about the Blackstar Fly 3 watt mini amp so I was very keen to try it. I was looking for the ultimate portable, battery operated guitar amp and I can confidently say, I think I've found it. This tiny combo has all the features you need for practicing and home performances. Its best asset is the lovely crystal clear sound it provides, which is in no way tinny.

The Fly 3 is a little smaller than the average box of 80 teabags. You can pick it up easily in one hand, making it extremely portable. The big sound is a surprise! The casing is well made; sleek and modern looking and the four main control knobs on the top (gain, volume, EQ and delay) are chunky and operate smoothly.

There are two channels, switchable at the touch of a button. I mainly use the clean channel. I have mostly played my Fender telecaster through the amp.I generally have the volume at about halfway up and the gain about a third. This is more than loud enough for me to sing along to, so that will give you some idea of the potential volume the Blackstar can put out. At this level, when I switch to the over-driven channel I get a nice, fairly subtle, crunchy sound with lots of bite. But of course, it can go a lot louder and more distorted than that. It really is quite amazing that these sounds come from this little box. You have to hear it to believe it.

The delay is of fantastic quality for a unit like this. I would say it is equal to using a good quality effects pedal. It ranges from a gentle reverb to a long very clearly defined delay.

I bought this amp about seven weeks ago and have used it a lot, yet it is still operating on the original set of batteries that come supplied with the unit, so I have felt no need to buy the power supply. I am keen to buy the extension speaker cab which turns it into a stereo unit, which must produce an even fuller sound.

Other features are a bright power on light (so you never leave it switched on by accident,) a headphone socket and a line in for an mp3 player. My tunes sound great through it and I also listen to audio books on it.

I just love the unique tone of this Blackstar amp. It's very clear, bright and full. I'm a very happy customer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cool little amp
JonnyK, 17.08.2016
Obviously I only use it for practicing in my studio/office. It's so cute, very compact, light, easy to move.

Build: It's made of plastic, with a metal grill. Battery powered, and batteries seem to last quite a while.

Sound:
It sounds pretty great. It's got a lovely mid-range crunch to it, with a usable tone knob from dark to bright. There is a crackle/hiss though, and it's a little muddy, but it's not made for recording. For practice, it's fine. I use it on bass too. Delay is poor. Gets washed out easily, difficult to hear if it's there at all. PS, this thing is LOUD. I mean way louder than I thought it'd be.

Pro's:
Usable tones, usable features, batteries last long, compact, cool looking, loud-ish.

Con's:
Crackle/hiss, delay is poor, a little muddy.

All in all, I'd recommend this for the casual guitarist if you want an affordable, small amp to noodle around on that can be stored away in a drawer with ease. It's BY FAR the best of the pocket size mini amps on the market. It's not a toy, but it's not an amp either. It is what it is!

Check it out!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
I am impressed
Edg0414, 15.05.2020
To be honest, I did not expect this amp to be so tiny.. and so adorable!

As a beginner musician, I want to practice as much as I can. And there are situations where you cannot lug around a guitar AND an amp around. This little amp that can is a lifesaver.

Sure, there are a lot of inexpensive amps for beginners nowdays, but this one packs a punch. While features are limited, it is more than enough for an aspiring musician.

It came with batteries, even though the listing said they would not be included, but this is definitely not a minus. Absolute must-buy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Loud & clear.
Jedimaster777, 05.03.2020
Great amp, nothing wrong with it. Great quality. For the price, absolutely no complaints.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A great bedroom practice amp
Bon Scott, 20.05.2019
As a now 1-year guitar player, this was the first amp I got and was exactly what I was looking for – a small, but practical and nice-sounding amp.
I am a student and living with my parents. They are not musical at all and thus wouldn't appreciate me playing in high volumes, especially as I am not yet very good at it. This amp is great for playing in lower volume, some other bedroom amps (1-5 watts) sound bad when not in full volume, this sounds great in any volume.
It also has quite a lot of practical features, such as the overdrive channel, EQ and delay levels. It allows to play around with the tone, giving a chance to experiment with various options. I find the delay control especially attractive.
The overdriven sound on this amp is excellent. As a huge rock fan, I'd say the amp produces a great rock guitar sound. I started to play guitar to learn some AC/DC songs, and I could get a pretty good Angus Young tone with this. The overdrive channel has a bit too much gain for my taste, but I have played some Metallica on that and it sounded fabulous.

For the negative part, it doesn't come with a power adapter, but you can get one for 15 euros on Thomann. I still sometimes use the same batteries it came with a year ago, so using batteries exclusively isn't that bad either.
Also, I seldomly notice a crackling sound when playing on high gain. It's not feedback, don't know what it is.

In summary, this Blackstar mini amp is a great one for beginners, can't imagine a better mini amp for this money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Tommy88, 11.06.2020
So small, but so powerful)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
great beginner amp
daisyy, 03.10.2020
everything is great. from its portability to its sound, everything feels amazing for such and affordable price. only thing I'd have loved is more options but really, can I really complain for this price ? anyways, I am NOT disappointed with this at all :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great portable amplifier!
Archion, 17.05.2020
There are many raving reviews in Youtube about this tiny beasty and they don't lie. It really packs quite a punch. When paired with an extension cab I have even taken it to a quite small jam session. When cranked it almost delivers, although often it can get too quiet. Of course, that's not what the amp was ment to be used for, but the fact that it almost may be deliver in certain circumstances says quite a lot! At least my jam mates were quite impressed that such a small box can make such loud noise. The analog delay in it sounds quite good as well.
As it also has aux-in I have also hooked it up to my laptop when there were no better speakers available. Sounded quite nice as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice and small.
Hoac, 17.09.2019
It's a nice practice amp that you can take anywhere because of its
compact size.

For features, it has a Gain Volume EQ and a Delay knob which is nice to have / There is also a headphone jack that is nice to have if you don't want to disturb anyone.

The sound can get a bit muffled when the Gain and Volume knobs are turned to 11 but thats to be expected of a small amp.

The quality of the amp itself doesn't feel cheap the knobs feel good and it looks great.

In conclusion, it is a great practice amp that can be brought anywhere because of its small size and is also affordable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Little Giant
From London, 05.11.2020
Great for guitar home practice, also as computer audio monitor via aux imputs. The guitar imput is rich and clear. The signal can be eq with a broad setting from warm to crunch, and the delayadd space and character. Very happy with the overall sound. I also bought the satellite speaker for a truly stereo sound field.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
small but amazing sound
Jack Abbott-Miles, 09.02.2020
this amp is amazing for bedroom guitarist like myself, it has very good features for such a small amp, highly recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A decent practice amp
angel.v, 08.11.2020
It fits the purpose but keep in mind it has limitations. It depends on how/where you practice.

Personally I'd prefer to spend my money for a headphone amp (same brand) and use a pedal or my mac for the rest with an external speaker. This has nothing to do with this amp though. It performs great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Doing its job
ozzy75, 11.11.2019
Nice portable unit with most necessary features. You shouldn't expect a 12' speaker performance but you can't carry a 12' speaker in your backpack either. Service was fast.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
very good
TarikJ, 01.07.2018
I ordered this amp and I came really fast, servicevise it was more than good and better than I am used to from other sites.
The amp is very small but totally does its job.
Its made from some harder plastic but I cant complain about the qualitiy in the slithest.
The sound is suprisingly good, not the best but for that price and that size more than you can expect.
It has got one equalizer nob and a delay with a time and level nob.
So the features are limited but useable.
The gain is good for the price, I would use it on high gain but all in all a really good amp for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
still have to experiment ...
CarloGerelli, 30.03.2018
At first sight (and listening) the sound quality is not so nice. I appreciate the very small size, but I probably have to do some more testing on the overall set of features. Sound through headphones is better than thru the loudspeaker. Construction & robustness seems ok. To be re-evaluated
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
This is the one, you've found it.
13.10.2016
I was looking for a small amp to use for practice in my bedroom and that I could take anywhere with me with ease. When I found out about these "mini amps", I started researching them all, and when I finally got to the Blackstar FLY 3, I swear it didn't even take me 30 seconds to decide. All I could think was "How can something this small produce such an amazing sound?!". It's even better than my first normal amp and half the price!
It's got everything you need for an amp, Gain, Volume, EQ and even delay.
The AUX input allows me to turn up a backing track through my phone and jam along, which is a lot of fun!
Still it could have some small features which would make it perfect, like reverb and some other effects. but it manages to be the best mini amp out there anyway!
So if you're looking for one yourself, you've found it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Not a good amp
migueldacruz, 08.03.2018
Bought it to use it as a practice amp, but can't get a decent clean sound out of it. It just starts vibrating and sounds awful. Could sound good playing with a single coil tele on the bridge pickup and cranking up the gain for some overdrive. But if your guitar has humbuckers, forget it. The amp cannot stand the low frequencies and vibration will take hold.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Now my main amp
1Fred, 07.12.2019
I bought this amp after reviewing different options for a portable guitar amp to use when travelling or on holidays.
Perfect in terms of portability; it does not come with an AC adapter but I found after 4 months of use that I still run the same batteries and it's one cable less to plug.
The sound is very good, as well as gain, EQ, delay, on speaker and headphones. The line in is also very convenient for backtracks.
Very good amp to play at home too when you don't want to be too loud. In my view no cons, except I now much less use my combo at home...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
cizin, 19.05.2017
This an amazing little amp, considering it can fit in the palm of your hand. Aux support is a plus when you just want to listen to music from your phone.

At moments I wish it had just a little more gain to stretch, but hey, at this price there is nothing to complain about.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice
msham, 25.03.2020
This is a cool combo.It seems to me that it has everything that a beginner musician needs.He is very light,not very noisy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Solides Produkt für den Preis
04.01.2017
Für den Heimgebrauch (zu 80% mit Kopfhörer verwendet) eine super- kompakte Lösung, tadellose Verarbeitung, solider Klang, Volumen/Gain sollten eher zurückhaltend verwendet werden (nur 3 Watt)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Small but great
18.02.2017
Thats an amazing amp, its so small but so powerful. It doesn't come with the power adaptar, so you need to buy it separate.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really amazing for students!
......, 10.06.2016
I used to be a valve amp fanboy, but then i tried this one cause I recently moved and couldn't bring my stuff. But omg this sounds so amazing. Even has overdrive hard enough to play ac/dc or rock n roll sounding like a quality valve amp. It even has delay. And it is so amazing cause I can take it everywhere and rock (if not mic it)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
I'm honestly impressed
25.11.2015
The build quality looks top notch. it doesn't feel like cheap plastic. This thing is built to last.

The sound is also surprisingly good for its size, it sounds great. The EQ lets you get a a more american or british sound, which is cool. But what about a normal EQ? bass, mid treble? It wouldn't have been a bad addition.

that being said it also comes with a really useful line in and line out sockets. And even a neat delay option.

I'd buy it again I'm pretty happy with it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best buy!
Mojmir, 14.01.2019
For home, for recording, for travel, for anything, as a gift, this is incredible sweet, great sonding portable amp I have ever seen! Forget micro Marshalls, Fenders, Oranges (ok, Orange is really good :)) This IS regular combo!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Blackstar FLY 3 Mini Amp BK

61 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Monday, 14.12. and Tuesday, 15.12.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(6)
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recently Viewed
Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m

Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m; Mobile chromakey background; Easy transport and safe storage thanks to the roll-up system in the sturdy aluminium case; Quick assembly and disassembly thanks to two hydraulic supports; Sturdy and durable scissor system; Two folding feet...

Recently Viewed
Presonus Revelator

Presonus Revelator; USB-C microphone with effects; bus-powered USB-C compatible microphone for podcasts, streaming, home recording etc. ; polar pattern; cardioid, omnidirectional and figure-of-eight; 2x headphone output with volume control and zero latency monitoring; 96 kHz / 24-bit operation; 6-in/6-out audio...

Recently Viewed
Epiphone ES-335 Figured Blueberry Burst

Epiphone ES-335 Figured Blueberry Burst; e-guitar, "Inspired by Gibson"; semi-hollow; top layered maple with figured maple veneer; back and sides layered maple, back figured maple veneer; binding cream; mahogany neck, rounded C; fretboard indian laurel; nut width 43mm (1,693"); scale...

Recently Viewed
Warwick Gnome

Bass Amp Head Compact and light, Transistor circuit, Class D power amplifier, Power: 200 W at 4 ohms / 130 W at 8 ohms, 3-Band EQ with +/- 15 dB cut / boost per band, 6.35 mm Headphone output...

Recently Viewed
Sadowsky Onboard Bass Preamp

Sadowsky Onboard Bass Preamp (4-Knob System), prewired onboard bass preamp for J-style basses with metal control plate, active preamp for passive pickups, 4-knob layout with controls for Master Volume / Balance / Vintage Tone Control (P/P) / Treble and Bass...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Mainframe Bit Crusher

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Bit Crusher, Produces 80s-style lo-fi sounds reminiscent of early arcade games, home consoles and home computers, Reduces the sample rate from 48 kHz to 110 Hz, which leads to reduced audio quality...

Recently Viewed
Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED Bi

Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED BiLight with integrated rechargeable battery; perfect video and photo ring light with adjustable color temperature and countless mounting possibilities for tripods, mobile devices and cameras. Integrated rechargeable battery with USB power output to charge...

Recently Viewed
Epiphone ES-339 Vintage Sunburst

Epiphone ES-339 Vintage Sunburst; e-guitar, Inspired by Gibson" ES-339; semi-hollow; top layered maple; back and sides layered maple; binding cream; mahogany neck, rounded C; fretboard indian laurel; nut width 43mm (1,693"); scale 628mm (24,724"); 22 frets; nut graphtech nuBone; pickups...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.