Superlux HD-681

4777 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Not exactly Pro standards, but superb for music and gaming on a budget!
Nate in Belgium, 07.06.2020
I bought these to listen to music and for playing PC games after reading online recommendations. I have them connected to a Monolith Liquid Spark headphone amp connected to my PC's onboard DAC line out.

My main decision was based on sound quality, imaging and price. I liked the noted sound signature listed on the Superlux website and from reviews I've read. I have to say I'm actually blown away with how they sound! These have a nicer sound signature than my old Sennheiser HD580s. Yes they are cheaply built, but look how much they cost. I'm sure if you look after them and treat them with respect they will last long enough. My biggest complaint is the clamping force and thin earpads. Very uncomfortable, I've ordered thicker velour pads from China to compensate.

Pros: Spacious sound with good clarity, depth and punch making them ideal for gaming. Gorgeously musical. Ridiculous price.

Cons: Treble forward. Not going to compete with high end headphones (but snapping at the heels of phones costing 5-10x as much). Clamping force is probably the worst I've encountered. Build quality fits what you pay for...cheap.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
How is this even possible!
Wietse Willemse, 30.08.2019
First, a quick shoutout to Thomann for handling the order perfectly and delivering the headphone to the Netherlands within two days.

This headphone is worth every penny and puts my much more expensive JBL E50BT to shame. Great sound stage and replacable earpads.
The earpads themselves are decent, but if room temperature is above 25 degrees your ears will start to sweat.

If you like bass you will need an amp and an equalizer for these cans. Without amp the bass distorts quite fast, even at low volume.
On a desktop pc I’ve used APO equalizer with 15 bands and the following settings to get the best results;

25hz +10
40hz +10
63hz +10
100hz +10
2500hz -5
4000hz -5
6300hz -5
10000hz -5
16000hz -5

Bottomline; I could never recommend these headphones enough!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very positively surprised!
Nak0r, 28.03.2020
I bought these as i wanted a cheap headset just to monitor things at night to not disturb the neighbors. Bought them specifically because i'm very used to wearing AKG headsets and love how comfortable they are, and these looked similar in construction.
I was not disappointed! Extremely comfortable like the AKGs, though not as well ventilated, my ears tend to heat up if wearing them for a while. As for the sound, i've seen some people complain about harsh top end, but i find the sound extremely pleasing! Bear in mind though: both the bottom and top ends are slightly to moderately hyped, so consider these more of a "hi-fi" type headset than any kind of monitoring solution.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
These are great
28.01.2017
These are the first set of studio headphones I have ever owned so I have no frame of reference but to me, these are amazing. I typically use in ear, come with phone type phones. I plugged these into my phone to test and heard parts of a tune I had never noticed before, amazing.

I'm mostly using these for guitar playing. The sound, as I said, is incredible. They're a comfortable fit but I find I get a bit sweaty around my ears, I've docked them 2 start for comfort for that.

I gave them a total of 5 start because while they get a little uncomfortable after an hour of use, they sound amazing and I bought them for < ¤20!!! The cheap phones that came with my phone cost more than that retail, they don't even compare in sound quality. Before writing this review I checked the top 10 on Thomann. These are still 2, where as 1 & 3 cost ¤139!!! Unless you need better than these for professional use or something, just buy these, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Luis Emanuel Silva, 27.05.2020
This headphones sound incredible for its price. For less than 20€ I don't believe you can find any headphones with better quality.
I use them to mix and to hear my recordings and for now I'm very very happy!
The only con is that they look like they are a little fragile. But I'm usually very careful so it doesn't seem to be a problem for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Wow!!
K.Kay, 23.01.2020
probably the best budget headphones you can buy today. I use them in my home studio for mixing with my Apogee element. The clarity is unbelievable even when I’m mixing multiple tracks and instruments.
Pros: price, sound quality, clarity, robust construction
Cons: they don’t come with noise cancellation, and they become slightly uncomfortable if you use them more than 4 hours

Don’t spend your money in more expensive headphones, these are the best you can buy in the market today. They beat more expensive headphones that cost 10 times more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
22 EUR feels like 200 EUR
semangko, 23.12.2020
This headphone literally blew me out. I had a low expectation at the beginning due to the price tag. I mean come on, who will expect that much for 22 EUR? But yes, this thing doesn't joke around. It does the job professionally like others monitor headphones in the market!

Now I feel bad for any other headphone brands out there. This thing just raised my expectation for a studio headphone much much higher than ever before. So now if I buy a 200-300 EUR ones, it's gonna be tough. Other brands, watch out. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Bargain of the century
M-S , 09.11.2020
For the price these studio headphones are a steal.
Great sound, comfort and a really good frequency response.
Comparable to much more expensive headphones.
Get them!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Money Well Spent
Ivan Makkin, 01.01.2021
If you are not a professional sound engineer or a prodigy musician, or an audio maniac, you probably won't tell these headphones from 200$ ones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great product for price
dim stel, 15.04.2021
Good sound quality , although the materials for the construction are cheap plastic
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Incredible value for money
mariopereira, 22.02.2019
Never have I ever tested some studio headphones with an instrument before.

Most of the headphones I had in the previous years were gaming headphones and the last ones I bought were 5 times more expensive than this ones, but the sound quality of this for the price you pay it's just so good.

I bought this for a friend but I'm placing another order next month for me and this will absolutely be added to my cart, for 20¤ you will not find better than this (don't quote me on that one) for sure.

I'm not a big fan of those red stripes around them but that's totally personal preference, I would rather have them all in black.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
The best solution for home recording studio.
Crifri, 15.05.2017
These are my second Superlux HD-681 headphones. The first I bought about 3 years ago. Still working perfectly no damage, I just want to have one more.

Superlux HD-681 have a flat sound, a wide range of 10-30 000 Hz. There is no chance to hear 10Hz but 30Hz for sure. And just my opinion but I don't wont to work over 14 000Hz so it's more than I need.

So these headphones don't need an amplifier.

You can work 3-4 hours without any problem / this is personally of course /

You will not find better headphones from up to 100 euros.

Thanks Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect budget monitoring
GNetRadio.com, 19.09.2020
Used for our internet radio guests and presenters.
No ear fatigue and comfortable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Superlux HD-681
Michael FK, 06.09.2019
I've been using these as a daily driver on my PC for both games and media consumption. Standalone they sound pretty good with clear audio and as others have stated slightly lower bass than one may want. I've owned these for over 3 years now. Starting my 3rd year I had some issues with audio cutting out on one side of the headset, I brought it to an electronic shop, and they replaced a wire that had flexed to the point where it broke. This was an easy fix and now they work just as well as when they were new, hopefully for years of continued enjoyment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Much much better then expected
Joe Fahy, 23.05.2018
When I was buying the items for setting up my home studio I was trying to keep to my a budget and bought these as for my guests. I was absolutely blown away by the sound quality of them.

When you have the volume up quite high they don't distort the music compared to another well known brand.

I have pair of headphones for the last 10 years that cost me a lot of money and these have by far a much better sound quality. I would strongly recommend these headphones to anyone considering buying them as you wont regret getting them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Five stars for cost versus quality
JonDave, 17.04.2020
Ordered 5 sets for a community radio station on a budget. We're thrilled. The quality for the price is exceptional. Slightly cheap build quality and discomfort after long periods of wearing can be overlooked for the cost of the product. Doesn't really compare well to more expensive headphones but that's not why you'd buy them. Great quality for the price you pay.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
I wish I found these sooner
Jarno L., 16.09.2014
BASS: It's there alright. I consider myself a basshead and I didn't find the bass lacking. It's not tight but the quantity is deifnitely there. It won't touch the XB700 (what headphone can?) and I actually think the Beyers and the X1s have it beat, but only just. To put it more simply: it's unlikely you'll find the bass lacking.

MIDS: Most of my headphones don't do mids particularly well as a consequence of my preferred sound signature. My ZX700s are my most mid-centric headphones and I don't like their sound very much. The Superluxes have a pretty good mid-range. It's not their strong point and it's still kinda withdrawn, but it's not nearly non-existent.

HIGHS: Oh God, my ears! Yes, the highs will make you scream! Bloody Norah! I thought my DT990s were bad! No, the DT990s are immensely refined in comparison. Absolutely no contest really. Treble is aggressive - very very aggressive.For this price, the best headphone ever.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Fair headphones
Mihai I, 05.11.2020
I use them for guitar practicing, so the frequency range requirement is not extraordinary. Fair to good headphones. A good think is that velvet spare ear pads are available.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great Value for money
Eibon, 25.11.2020
I use this mostly for gaming (I have other stuff for listening to music, mixing/mastering or recording) or for some occasional music videos
The sound quality for that price is amazing
For me it's not the most comfortable pair of cans I have ever had, but that's entirely subjective. They can be tiring for me but after a few hours have passed. For you it could be amazingly comfortable. Changing the pads can definitely improve the comfortability (I have spares from other products)
I don't think you can go wrong by trying this model for such a nice price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Top quality for the price!
JakeyJake, 25.06.2020
Well worth the price tag. Sound quality is amazing. They are very snug & don't feel too tight. I have definitely had more comfortable headphones but you can always buy better ear pads. The Material does feel a bit cheap but for this price what do you expect. You really can't go wrong with these for the price. (I bought them for £17.30, £25 with delivery!)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best In Class
Gabriel-Nacu, 10.06.2020
The Superlux HD-681 is a great pair of headphones that really put to shame many other headphones that I have used which cost far more money.

While external noise reduction is not the focus on these, they are absolutely perfect for mixing/recording at home or on the go. As I primarily mix on Yamaha HS5s, I found this pair of headphones to offer me a fairly similar response in regards to its tone (albeit mixing on speakers is very different than mixing on headphones).

I stopped using my Sennheiser headphones (which cost me almost £100) after using these, as I thought the Superlux sounded "flatter" and felt nicer on my head after a few hours.

Give them a go , as you might find yourself buying Superlux HD-681s for the whole band!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones with a good value for money
unifaun, 18.02.2014
I purchased this item as a budget model to complete my already existing headphones.

In this price category you can't compare them to a headphone made by Beyer, AKG or Shure but these ones are quite good enough as monitor headphones when recording, especially wnen several headphones are needed (for example choir or band recordings).

Overall manufacturing quality is good, no complaints about it. The weight is quite agreeable, the jacks (including adapters) are golden, and the cable is long enough for every recording purpose.

I also use it for playing my Kurzweil PC361 "quietly" and for having a different choice in a mix comparing to the sound of my other headphones Shure SRH-940 which were eleven times as expensive.

I really can recommend these headphones!!

Thumbs up!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Flat Response - Perfect For Musicians
Stewblack1, 31.05.2020
You want a set of headphones made not for walking down the street but for rehearsing and recording? You want a flat response doesn't colour your tone? You want a long cable for the studio? A screw in 1/4" jack adaptor? But you've seen the prices of the ones everyone seems to recommend, right?
Don't panic. These are utterly sublime. I forget I'm wearing them, the sound is so pure I know I'm hearing my bass as the bass manufacturer intended and not as the headphone manufacturer did. Oh and they are so inexpensive you could be forgiven for assuming Thomann got the price wrong.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Suprisingly good
Tambet, 18.01.2021
I was actually blown away - with that price it is absolutely unparalleled quality. Sound is smooth and crisp, cable seems quite solid and jack is sturdy with screw on 6.5mm adapter. Comes with a soft bag, which does not really protect the headphones.

Oh, and they are very very comfy, at least for my head type
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
You just can't beat it
René1591, 11.04.2015
Considering the price these are great headphones. Not considering the price these are still really good headphones. They may not have the sexiness of more expensive name brand headphones, but they do pack a really good sound. For the price you simply can't go wrong!
The cable is fairly long. This is great for studio use. It might seem a bit to long if you'll only be using it with your phone or computer. But the cable is of good quality and will not get damaged easily.
They headphones are not heavy to wear but there are lighter alternatives to be had.
The sound on the other hand I am very impressed with. Both the top end and the bottom sounds great.

I would not recommend this product to Giorgio Armani because of the looks, but any person with a "value for the money mindset" will love these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Superlux HD-681

24,90 €
Including VAT; Excluding 2,50 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Tuesday, 22.06. and Wednesday, 23.06.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Line6 HX Stomp XL

Line 6 HX Stomp XL; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Exceptional sound quality with 123 dB dynamic range, features the same SHARC DSP chip and HX models as the Helix, eight capacitive touch footswitches with colour-coded LED rings, 300+…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Moskwa II

XAOC Devices Moskawa II; Eurorack module; 8 Step Rotosequencer; 8 steps, each with CV control knob and on/off button; for each step programmable functions like slew (portamento), slew probability, gate/trigger probability; up to 8 gate/trigger pattern programmable for each step;…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1RD

Casio CT-S1RD Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
Zhiyun WEEBILL-S Gimbal

Zhiyun WEEBILL-S Gimbal; Three-axis gimbal for DSLR and mirrorless system cameras; simple and safe handling thanks to new algorithms and stronger motors even for fast movements; compact dimensions make the gimbal the perfect companion for reportage and action shots; ergonomically…

Recently Viewed
Blue Microphones Snowball iCE USB Black

Blue Microphones Snowball iCE USB Black; Plug 'n Play USB microphone for recording and podcasting; USB condenser microphone; polar pattern: cardioid; perfect for vocal and music recordings as well as podcasts; frequency response: 40 Hz - 18 kHz; sample rate:…

Recently Viewed
Behringer MIC300 Tube Ultragain

Behringer MIC300 Tube Ultragain; 1-channel tube preamp for Mic and Instrument; hand-selected 12AX7 tube; built-in limiter; 20dB pad; phase reverse switch; +48V phantom power; gain and output volume controls; LED meter; connections: XLR Mic-Input, Instrument-Input 6.3 mm jack balanced, XLR…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock US

Quilter Superblock US, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic US Amplifier voicings: 60 Tweed, 62 Blonde & 65 Black; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Recently Viewed
Mojotone T Standard Solderless Harness

Mojotone T Standard Solderless Harness; Z4T3W730; Solderless Pre-Wired Electronics Replacement Kit for T-Style Electric Guitar; pre-wired Harness with highest quality components that offers a vast improvement over stock electronics; Push-in solderless wire connection for quick installation and easy pickup swaps;…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Ostankino II

XAOC Devices Ostankino II; Eurorack Modul; expander for Moskwa II sequencer (item 521036); expands Moskwa II with CV inputs for Random Play, Slew, Probability, Transpose, Range, Clock Rate, First Step, Last Step; oputput for the internal clock signal; individual gate…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1WE

Casio CT-S1WE Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.