Customer center login
Country and Language

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

1891 Customer Reviews

5 1557 Customers
4 269 Customers
3 44 Customers
2 13 Customers
1 8 Customers
4.8 / 5

sound

comfort

quality

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro
129
Including VAT; Excluding €15 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
1
Almost perfect
125000 18.02.2018
I bought these, the dt-880 (600ohm) and the hd-650.
And I'll quickly write why I picked the 990's over the others.

Comfort:
The dt-880's were amazing, so comfortable, perfect in my opinion.
While the 990's are really similar, they are tighter on the ears, and I don't like that at all, but they are still quite comfortable.
And the hd-650? They clamp like crazy, I couldn't wear these for over 10 minutes, really uncomfortable.

Sound:
Now this category is objective af, you have been warned.
I used the LP-phone-amp-g103 to drive all of these headphones so there shouldn't be any issues with the amp.
With that out of the way, lets start with the headphones that really disappointed me.
The 880's had a really lackluster low end, you could say non existing, and with basically no bass it was just a clear no for me and I didn't bother any further with them.
The hd-650 sounded like the 990's if someone put an equalizer on them that turned down every frequency past 3khz down 3-6db.
They sounded muddy in my opinion, especially compared to the dt-990's.
With that being said, I love the by some considered sharp highs of the dt-990's, everything sounds crystal clear, not "muddy" or "washed out". I listen to a lot of vocals so that's a must for me. But as I said, it ain't for everybody since some might say the highs are over saturated, and they are, but it sounds nice. It's something I'm looking for in headphones, are you looking for that? If not steer away from these headphones. Cons: they might be too sharp for some and too tiring if used in long sessions. Other cons are the fact that you can really hear if a song is mixed/mastered like shit, you can hear everything. I'm not gonna say sh*t like :"you suddenly hear instruments that you previously didn't hear" if you suddenly heard an instrument that you didn't hear before on decent headphones that's on you. But you definitely hear if someone didn't bother cleaning up the samples he used in his song, and you might need different headphones or speakers to enioy songs that are badly mixed.

price/performance: 10/10, I mean ¤140 for these is a steal, you don't get better audio quality for that price, but you probably gonna need a headphone amp as for almost all 250+ ohm headphones.
sound
comfort
quality
14
0
Report

Report

E
Great value open-back with well-balanced sound
Enriconism 24.07.2021
I'm happy with this purchase! I'm not exactly an audiophile, but play and listen to a lot of music and do a small amount mixing / production. My previous headphones were good but exaggerated the bass. I also wanted open-back cups for comfort in long sessions.

These sound clear from low to high volume, and have a very neutral EQ response - I immediately could tell why I had trouble mixing music to sound good both on my old headphones and speakers. With these, the response is much more level and "true".

I am very happy using these when playing a digital piano, again with responsive sound and wide feeling stereo. A bonus using open-back is that when I sing while playing piano with headphones (or just talking in general) it now feels really natural, without that "underwater" voice resonance sensation of closed headphones.

The comfort is very good overall. Cups are large and well padded and easily fit over my ears - no pressure points or discomfort after hours of continuous use, even while wearing glasses. The open back allows to hear the environment around me and prevents hot or "pressured" environment for the ears.

Build quality is good overall, but there are a few edges on the metal and plastic that could be smoother. The metal frame is quite stiff, so it takes two hands to adjust the height of each cup (at least they stay in place!). It's also not possible to adjust the clamping strength of the frame - for me luckily it is a good fit.

I like the long cable with provided jack adapter. It is flexible and light, and can easily span several meters. The coil returns to shape well and does not pull or weigh heavily.

As you would expect, these headphones are not sound-isolating, so you shouldn't use these in a noisy environment. However, the sound does not leak out too strongly. Listening at a reasonable volume, it should not disturb someone sitting next to you. When recording vocals, I have had no issue with "monitor feedback" leaking from the headphones to the mic.

They have held up well over a few months of use now, still seems as new.

PROS
- Great value
- Clean sound with clear frequency response
- Nice size and padding of cups
- Long and light cable
- 6.3 and 3.5mm support

CONS
- Stiff frame with somewhat limited movement or adjustment range
- Cable is fixed to the headphones (understandable at this price point but a detachable / replaceable cable attachment would always be a plus for me)
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
Shocking good sound quality for the price point!
Blackwatch 16.01.2020
Rather exciting piece of headphones!
Although they have advertised 250 Ohms impedance you average smartphone can drive them pretty well to painfully strong sound pressure level. The caveat however is that if you pair them with a simple amplifier you will unleash the beast <1KHz. I was pleasantly surprised when I first tried them on my phone, then thrilled on my audio interface Komplete 2, finally the HA4 "KOMPLETED" the circle of audio pleasure. I compared them directly to Custom One Pros, Marshall Major and K-701 all four driven from the same source - Komplete 2 + HA4. I equalised the volume to the best of my perception and the DT 990s wiped the the floor with the competition.

Sound: 5 stars - NO DOUBT ABOUT! (Metal, rock, classical music listener here)
Comfort: 5 stars - Pretty fluffy ear cups. I wear glasses and my deal breaker is that the headphones do not press my ears too hard against the frame of the glasses. I do however fear that during summer the ear cups will be a bit too warm.
Quality: 4 stars - Overall pretty solid BQ. I do not like the way that metal brackets on both sides are attached to the head band (Mechatronics engineer's inner voice says - FLIMSAAY!). Luckily ALL parts can be ordered as spares from beyer when they break. I am also not of fan of the fixed cable... that should've been a detachable 3.5mm jack like many other less expensive headphones. The cable itself is a bit of overkill sized gauge telephone coil. It is massively thick and heavy and absolutely not portable. It's not a big problem for stationary setups but please take in into account for portable intentions - they are not.
sound
comfort
quality
2
0
Report

Report

K
There are no better ones in the world!
KtVeco 17.10.2021
I have a studio and I decided to try a whole box of headphones from different brands. Certainly, for some brands, it is not the place in the market at all. Some are too expensive for the sound they offer. While others too cheap to make it real. For many years I stopped at these beyerdynamic headphones and said there are no better ones in a pleasant and response. I have also given different tests to other people.
And I think this is from workmanship to quality that every serious studio has to afford. Beyerdynamic is the ultimate listening pleasure, with a sincere response and an even characteristic without any other emphasis. You can actually make the perfect MIX songs on these headphones without the use of speaker monitors.
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

BW
Parfait pour l'edit et l'aide au mix
Bert Werbrouck 21.06.2021
Les plus:
- Très bonne qualité de fabrication, comme d'habitude avec les casques Beyer.
- Très confortable pour les longues sessions, ce qui est très important
- Pas trop difficile à "driver". Même s'il est en 250 ohms, c'est ok sur ma scarlett 18i8 ainsi que sur la sortie casque de mon portable récent mais moyenne gamme. Pratique aussi pour les longues formations en distanciel (le côté ouvert du casque rend le tout hyper confortable)
- Peu flatteur, détaillé et précis, ce qui est clairement ce que j'attendais. Je l'utilise le plus pour des edit de pistes et il est vraiment pratique pour vérifier qu'il n'y ait pas de pops, clics, que les fades soient naturels lorsqu'on cleane les pistes, etc. Il doit aussi avoir des avantages au niveau du mix (pour certaines applications) et même de la prise, si vous utilisez des dynamiques peu sensibles sur une voix par exemple (ce n'est pas recommandé mais la repisse serait très faible et ça peut mettre à l'aise les chanteurs.euses qui n'ont pas l'habitude de chanter avec un casque fermé).

Les moins:
- ... son côté peu flatteur et précis. C'est pas un casque "plaisir". On retrouve la signature typique des casques beyer, avec peu être un côté un peu plus "bright": extension dans les basses généreuse, médiums très légèrement creusés, aigus hyper détaillés. Perso, j'adore.
- Le cable attaché... mais tout est remplaçable (en ce compris le cable) donc ce n'est pas trop un souci
- Le soundstage est toujours aussi impressionnant que sur mes DT770 mais pour un casque ouvert je m'attendais à un changement un peu plus net. C'est peut-être une question d'habitude... ou juste que les DT770 sont très impressionnants de ce point de vue pour des casques fermés.

En résumé: c'est fiable, précis, solide et pas trop cher donc si vous voulez un casque ouvert, foncez
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

IV
Quality for a normal consumer
Ine V 11.01.2021
I've had quite a few headphones over the years for computer usage (Netflix, Youtube and gaming and of course since this year Zoom calls). When my last pair broke because of poor building quality I just decided I needed a more decent pair. Also I wanted to use them for more quiet bass sessions. I never had a pair that could actually handle the sound of my bass well. So I figured, Studio headphones should do.

And well they do. I use them daily for the computer usage I described earlier. For a while I took them to school which they handled perfectly. They're sturdy with a metal frame but just light enough that long time wearing is still comfortable.

Now that I'm wearing these headphones for 6-8 hours a day I do begin to notice the weight but it is not neccesarely disturbing.
So when talking about the sound quality of these. I can only say one thing: it's amazing! The open back produces a very open and light sound. The lower sounds still comes through very well. Even with the open back sound still sounds emerging. It is also nice to be able to hear yourself talking while wearing them on calls. It pairs perfectly with every device I tried to plug it into. As a result I use them for nearly anything.

As for the durability I cannot say much since I've only had them for about 9 months. But they've fallen of my desk a few times and have been carried in my filled backpack (in the sleeve included). But they hold pretty well in normal envoirments with a normal user.

To summarize: I am in love with these headphones because of the sound quality as well as the building quality and ability carry it with you. They're adjustable and comfortable for daily usage. For the price of 120 euros that's all I could ever wish for.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

Tr
Amazing
The real Herzog 31.08.2020
I have a home "studio" in the living room therefore my room isnt suited for serious mixing or mastering work and I went with this headphones for serious checks and detailed sound design. Well, they are amazing. I dont have any experience with proper headphones as these are my first but the clarity of sound and the stereo image I get with them are simply amazing. It feels like the sound is coming from all around me and behind me...great stuff really. I can already see the difference in my production sound wise. The low end is also nice and clear. I would only mention, since I read before buying that people said they can work for hours and hours with them, I can't. After 1,max 2h they feel a bit heavy on my ears and head. But in the end I take that as a reminder to make breaks...
I strongly recommend to anyone that cant afford to blast their speakers or doesnt have the budget for proper speakers. I would compare this to Adams speakers for clarity for sure. Anything below that the headphones can top it.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

AA
Aleksey Alekseev 29.06.2020
I have long dreamed about such headphones (beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro) and here it is - done! Headphones came to Russia very quickly. Everything is carefully packed! It can be seen that the team of masters is working! The assembly is very high quality and strong, but if you have something broken from the parts of the headphones, you can buy it separately! Headphones delight me every day! I use them to mix music and just listen to good music in great headphones. When I put them on my head. I don’t feel them at all!
You will have to get used to the wire in the form of a spiral. In fact, it is long, but twisted into a spiral - it is not always convenient, but it’s nothing!
The sound is great! The store is super! Soon I will buy Cubase Pro 10.5 and studio monitors, wait for me to shop;)
sound
comfort
quality
3
0
Report

Report

S
A versatile pair of headphones
Sashiimi 14.12.2020
I use this mainly for gaming and do music production on the side.

I decided to get these since I had a cheaper pair of very good sound headphones that were not comfortable at all.

These ones, on the comfort are exceptionally good. I use them, sometimes, up to 16/18 hours in a single day with barely any strain (though, to be fair, you obviously start getting uncomfortable after that many hours). But the key point is, I noticed that my headaches reduced significantly since buying these headphones.

Sound quality wise they are amazing. Sounds are clear and distinct, with a good and wide soundstage due to their open nature. This is good for spatial awareness in music and gaming as well. One downside of this is, when doing home office in calls / recording voice, you can get quite a bit of noise bleed into the microphone, which is something to be aware of.

This is then, very suitable to use in quieter environments but not so much on the opposite since you will hear everything outside of your computer and they will hear what you're hearing as well.

One remark that I have are the pads, which are getting in the flatter side after roughly six months of use. For this reason, I intend to buy new pads and wash these ones properly, to see if they regain their fluffiness. Though, to be fair, please don't forget about the long usages that I have with these guys.

Thoroughly impressed.
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Nothing quite like a Beyerdynamic
Atlesque 12.09.2021
I remember 10 years ago I put on my first DT-990 and I've never wanted any other headphones. They sit incredibly comfortably, even for hours upon hours of use. The quality of the air cushions, the headband and the cable are all top notch. I've tried headphones 10 times the price and they still used cheap plastics and cushions that fell apart after a mere year of use. Not so with these cans. My last pair would've lasted my a decade had I not made the stupid mistake of sleeping in them (protip: don't. They are very comfortable, but the cable can break when abused by sleeping with your weight on it). Oh, and the sound! The headroom is insane. Even better than some of Beyerdynamic's higher end cans! The only pair of studio headphones you'll ever need!
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro