Digitech The Drop

346 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best pedal I've ever bought!
SebKell, 10.02.2020
This great little pedal allows me to switch between different tunings within seconds. I like to play heavy music and play songs of different bands who use different tunings (As I lay dying, Parkway Drive, Slipknot, ...). I never have to switch guitars, I only have to turn one knob.

The sound stays very clear and true when you droptune up to 3 or 4 steps. The pedal is very easy and intuitive to use. The build quality is great (complete metal casing).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Does what it says
Bftundra23, 24.01.2020
I'm just a casual, at home player. I mostly just do covers of songs I like over a variety of genres and noodle around for fun. In the past I've just had multiple guitars set up in different tunings so I can switch between songs quickly. With the digitech drop though, now I can easily down tune with a simple knob. I haven't noticed and latency or sound quality issues until you get super low. Then it seems to lose a little. But i usually dont go much lower than drop b, so it fits my needs perfectly. Build quality is excellent. Overall happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bass Player review
Curto, 20.01.2018
I love this pedal! I've used it to "transpose" a song on the fly when the singer decided to change keys at the last minute. Super easy! Took all the guess work out around the faster chord changes. Yes it changes your sound a bit, but not really that noticeable in the mix. It would be almost completely unnoticeable if you were using other FX (like overdrive or distortion or a thick chorus ... etc) in conjunction with The Drop.
I've also used it as a drop tuner with my 4 string. Just set the switch to momentary and when you want a lower D or C or B or whatever ... just stomp and hold. Not as crisp as playing a 5 string but a handy alternative to a 4 string with a Hipshot D-tuner.
And I've also used it as an octaver pedal - which I really like the sound of. I've found the TC Electronic Sub'n'Up coloured my sound too much. This is a octaver with your clean tone 50/50 mix. Very thick and tidy.
So used as an octaver - fantastic!
A sparingly used "5th string" addition / Hipshot D-tuner alternative - very useful!
And entire "transposed" songs - doable. You might be the only one who notices the change in your tone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very good purchase
Zahari, 08.01.2020
I bought this pedal some weeks ago and I haven't had that many occasions to use it. Here is my opinion so far.
It is a solid and sturdy build. I wouldn't be affraid to drop it from the table on the floor, not that I would recommend it. This is how I use it btw. On the table in front of me to easily change the tunning.
When it comes to tunning it goes like this: from E standart, D#, D, C#, C, B, A#, A, octave and octave & original in some cool mix.
The controls are fine, the knob is a little counterintuitive for the way it spins.
The sound is fine, I don't think one will notice any delay or bad quality, especially if one uses it in their home.
Would recommend 10/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Over all i like it
Seboostian, 29.12.2019
If you use distorsion (after this pedal), and put too much gain, it seems to have some digital sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Super stocked to play through it
Evgen666, 10.11.2019
We've been switching the overall sound in our band from 6 to 7 string and I wanted to try first how it will come up. To be honest in home conditions it sounds OK, but in a rehearsal all band mix it sounds awesome! Very nice and precise sound.

As for the durability and overall quality - this unit is top-notch! A very quiet adapter (3000mah!) is more than enough for the purpose.

The button on the pedal is easy to engage and works without delays and click sounds.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Roar, 04.08.2019
great pedal. there is no need to have couple guitars in different tunning.
if you have guitar with Floyd, with this pedal and D-tuna, you have instant coverage of all down and drop standard tunnings.
there is no sound sucking from this pedal, great gadget to play together with your favorite band no matter which tunning they are using.
lot of usable options (octave + dry tone, semitone drop, momentary/latch mode).
my favourite pedal...every metal guitarist should have one... :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Transpose on guitar
Leo_CRO, 17.01.2020
This is nice and usable pedal if you need to change fast your guitar tonality... built as tank, easy to use!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Must own pedal for every player!
eusHD, 12.09.2019
The Drop pedal was the first item that I bought from Thomann. After a flawless customer services experience from Thomann, I have received the pedal that I wanted the most.
The Drop should be the only pedal if you're looking to use your guitars in alternate tunings, whether they have a Floyd Rose bridge or not.
This pedal does not have any latency and tracks the notes very well. Also, it doesn't affect the tone, at least in a bad way.
Just a tip, please use this pedal in front of your overdrive/distortion pedals to avoid any issues with your setup.
Pros:
- No latency
- Hassle-free down tuning ( From half-step to a full-octave)
- Easy to use
- Saves tons of time
Cons:
- EU-type plug for adapter could also be included in the box.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very useful pedal to have!
Kukilej, 17.12.2018
Considering i have only one guitar and play mainly metal ( which requires many different tuning's ) , i needed this pedal so i don't have to hassle between switching tuning every ten minutes or buying several more guitars. And this pedal is a life saver!
I can switch from standard E to standard B in a matter of seconds, and every half-step in between!
Pros:
Features : extremely useful for guitar players who love to use lower tuning and don't want to buy more guitars.
Quality : This thing is built solid and looks like it could handle elephant stomping over it !
Sound: Latency is minimal and hard to notice. Maybe if you shred faster than Shawn Lane you could notice it.
Cons:
Sound : If your amp is really quiet, you can hear both your guitars sound and your amplifier's sound mixing, and since they are in different tuning's it can be a bit irritating. Solution is easy, just raise the volume of your amp!
Features : It would be really cool if this thing had feature to just switch tuning of low E string ( ex: going to drop D ) . But that's just me being picky !
Overall:
While this thing is not perfect substitute for having another guitar, it is really good alternative and great thing to have ! I recommend it to anyone who is in similar situation to me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome Pedal
Bywa, 28.01.2020
This pedal will solve all your issues for playing in different tunes, very fair sound and awesome octaver ! Sometimes it has a little delay but its very little.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Only pros
DimiStas, 26.01.2020
Tested in live gigs, no delay, no quality loss during playing, reccomend it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Downtuning without another guitar
Foefmeis, 07.10.2019
So i was using two alternate tunings next to standard tuning, which led me to bring additional guitars for those tunings.No need for it anymore.I I use it for D and C# tuning. Those intervals work fine. Easy to operate. There is a slight drop in output, but that only clears up the tone when downtuning, so no issue for me. Great tool.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
4 string bass dropped problem solved !
Richardieu, 18.02.2019
I used it previously playing with my precision bass in Drop C sharp tunning. My tip: tune your thinner strings half step higher and your thickest string half step down and you will see how good this device is. You not only maintain sustain and tension of your thickes string, but you let it sound good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
100% Game changer
RenageTV, 28.02.2019
As a music streamer on twitch, this pedal is a requirement. I have nothing but positive things to say and my only con is that I didn't get it sooner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Does what it promises
Dj Arkodel, 25.10.2018
I am using The Drop mainly with my 4 string bass (passive pickups, active pre-amp) for half and a whole step "detuning". I have not noticed any change in tone or delay through my amplifier so far. Great build quality as well. Would buy again if it ever breaks down on me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
IT set the bar
PolMol, 10.12.2018
Nothing more to say, this is the the pedal that set the bar about detune pedal. Is not perfect, a little bit of latency at very extreme settings, but never unusable and never with a bad quality. Just bewere to do not take the wrong one, this is only for detune, if you want to pitch up, you gotta take the digitech Wammy, not the drop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great pedal!
tiesfa, 02.08.2019
As a metal guitarist I change my tuning every once in a while. If you only own a couple of guitars (like me), this pedal is a great solution! I love the good sound quality, the durable metal case and the ease of use.

I recommend this to every metal guitarist that wants to tune really low.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great tool for live performance
Filip M Jankowski, 30.10.2018
Since I got this pedal it has been on my must have pedal list for every show/rehearsal. Sound is slightly different but in a good way. I love this pedal because I don't need to carry 5 guitars just to play a show :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The Drop
Wolfieselket, 10.09.2018
This pedal saves me having to re tune my guitar or having multiple guitars for each tuning I use regularly. Simple to use and sounds good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Does what it says on the tin
Slidedaddy, 15.11.2019
I'm happy with this pedal. Does exactly what it says it will do.
I use it mainly to pitch down to -2 steps for some songs. But the Octave setting for bass sound, and especially the dry+octave setting are cool as well. It's almost as if you're getting two pedals in one, so for the price I'm really happy with my Drop.

Another minor bonus: I was suprised to open the box and find a 9V DC power supply with adapter for Euro and UK plugs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Digitech The Drop review
SimoSacco, 19.04.2019
Amazing pedal, tracks with 0 latency and doesn't change your tone.

If you are using it to drop pretty low (like me, dropping 5 semitones) you might want to pair it with an eq to brigthen it up a little.
it's not fault of the pedal, it's just because goind lower in tuning will change the sound anyway, but if you only drop 1 2 or 3 semitones this is perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Not perfect, but still the best at the current moment.
vitaliistep, 19.03.2018
It changes the pitch pretty good, not ideal, there are still some small artifacts, hi-frequencies loss and tiny latency, but there is no better solution on the market right now.

P.S. It's much better than EHX Pitch Fork.
Google for David?Tyler?Gill - Pitch Fork vs. Drop (on SoundCloud) and you'll hear it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Near Perfection
Berat Zorlu, 07.04.2019
This pedal is the closest that such a form of it may get to perfection in regards to what it's trying to do. I'm very happy with it, can't wait to use it more in the future! Great work Digitech, you've done a very good job with this one! Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great pedal for different tunnings with one guitar
NejcD, 29.12.2018
I use it as a practice pedal, so I can play in different tunnings.

Build quality is good, power adapter in the box.

I was worried the acoustic sound of the guitar, being in different tunning, will bother me, because I play on a room practice amp (Blackstar core 20), but no problems, not noticable, would have to be realy low volume on the amp.

I hear no delay or any kind of latency when playing, no strange noises.

Beyond 4th stage, sound slowly gets muddier. Even at stage 4 the sound is a bit different than just having a guitar in the correct tunning. Hard to saj better or worse, just different.

And I can finally play all the songs I used to, with different tunnings, with just one guitar.

The only negative is, I didnt get it sooner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Digitech The Drop

89 €
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(78)
Recently Viewed
Behringer TD-3-SR

Analog bass line synthesizer Fully analog signal path from VCO, VCF and VCA, VCO switchable between sawtooth and rectangular waveform, 4-Pole low-pass filter with resonance, VCF envelope intensity and envelope decay adjustable, Adjustable accent, Integrated distortion with tone control,...

Recently Viewed
Aston Microphones Origin Black Bundle

Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Liimited edition, Polar pattern: Cardioid, Frequency range: 20 - 20000 Hz (+/- 3dB), Maximum level: 138 dB, -10/0 dB pad switch, Low-cut filter 80 Hz, Requires 48 V phantom power, Integrated pop filter, Stand flange...

Recently Viewed
Roland GO:LIVECAST

Roland GO:LIVECAST; Live Streaming Studio for Smartphones; easy to handle combination of hardware and app for creating professional Webcasts; compatible with Twitch, Facebook Live, YouTube, and other major streaming platforms; three microphone inputs: build-in microphone with reverb-effect, XLR/TRS combo-input (switchable...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Novation Launchpad Pro MK3

Novation Launchpad Pro MK3; Grid-Controller for Ableton Live, other Music Software and external Hardware; 64 velocity- and pressure-sensitive Grid-Buttons with RGB- Background lighting; 4-Track Sequencer with 32 Steps; Accord Mode; dynamic Note- and Scale Mode; 8 User Mode with Components-Editor;...

Recently Viewed
Epiphone Les Paul Modern FPB

Epiphone Les Paul Modern Faded Pelham Blue; e-guitar; body mahogany; weight relief ultra modern; top maple; neck mahogany with asymetrical slim taper with contoured heel profil; ebony fretboard; standard trapezoid inlays; 22 medium jumbo frets; scale 628mm (24,72"); nut wdith...

Recently Viewed
Quilter Phantom Block Pre Amp/Cab Sim

Quilter Phantom Block Pre Amp/Cab Sim; Pre Amp & DI for Electric Guitar; the high impedance input gets optimum tone from standard passive pickups, the Gain goes from clean to overdrive, a wide range Tone covers the most popular sounds...

Recently Viewed
Rockboard Pedalboard w. Gig Bag TRES 3.0

Rockboard Pedalboard with Gig Bag TRES 3.0; pedalboard for effects pedals; for approx. 5 to 10 effects pedals (depending on size); sturdy and light aluminum construction; slotted design for easy pedal mounting; mounting holes for RockBoard LED Light (not included)...

Recently Viewed
Walrus Audio MAKO D1

Walrus Audio MAKO D1; effect pedal; Digital Stereo Delay Pedal; For live and studio applications; Stereo input and output; 5 delay programs: Digital, Mod, Vintage, Dual, Reverse; "Digital": transparent delay e.g. for rhythm guitar; "Mod": random pitch modulation of the...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Modal Argon8

Wavetable synthesiser 8-Voice polyphonic, 37-Key velocity sensitive keyboard (FATAR TP9 / S) with aftertouch, 120 Wavetables divided into 24 banks of 5 morphable waveform sets, 28 Static wavetable processors, 32 Wavetable oscillators, 4 Per voice with 8 types such...

Recently Viewed
Kramer Guitars Focus VT211S Teal

Electric Guitar Body: Mahogany, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Maple, Black dot fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Slim, Fretboard radius: 304.8 mm (12"), Scale: 647.7 mm (25.5"), Nut width: 43 mm (1.69"), 21 Medium jumbo frets, Pickups: 2 Kramer SC-1 single coils...

Recently Viewed
NEO Instruments micro Vent 16

NEO Instruments micro Vent 122; Vibratone emulation; perfect for guitar, organ and keyboard signals; two selectable speeds (Speed1 continous, Speed2 Slow/Stop/Fast); Variable microphone to rotors distance; true bypass; 6.3mm jack input and output; dimensions: 113x 65x 47mm; powered by 9...

Recently Viewed
Rockboard Pedalboard w.Gig Bag DUO 2.2

Rockboard Pedalboard with Gig Bag DUO 2.2; pedalboard for effects pedals; for approx. 5 to 9 effects pedals (depending on size); sturdy and light aluminum construction; slotted design for easy pedal mounting; mounting holes for RockBoard LED Light (not included)...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.