Customer center login

AKG K-240 MKII

806 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240 MKII....AMAZING
Kosh2262, 12.09.2019
These headphones sound very good. When i switch between my Adam audio T7V's and the AKG K-240 MKII there is almost no differance in sound quality..... i was truly astonished that AKG have managed to squeez this much quality into a pair of headphones in this price range. They are very flat responce which is ideal for mixing tracks..... don't expect your music to sound better through these...that is not what they were designed to do. The are open back so not recomended for tracking but very well suited for mixing.... i use them to check my mix on a second source other than my Adam's. Highly recomended and i am loving these Headphones. Thomann got them to me on time and in pristine condition.... well packaged and protected. Buy these....you will love them
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good for studio/listening/guitar practice
JCS84, 12.03.2018
These are very decent headphones for a variety of musical applications. They have a relatively wide frequency response and have little or no sound "coloring". This means they are good for monitoring and audio production, listening to music, and also plugging straight into the headphone jack of a guitar amplifier for late night practice. When pushed, bass, mids and highs sound nice and crisp. Being semi-open they do leak a tiny bit of sound so this model is not ideal for voice recording.
I usually find this type of headphones somewhat uncomfortable, but these ones are especially nice to wear. They are self-adjustable and the pads cup the ears nicely. The synthetic leather pads make me sweat a bit around the ears after 2 hours or so, however.
This set includes an extra pair of velour pads and an extra cord, which is a nice addition and worth the price difference compared to the MKI (at the time of purchasing). Having detachable mini XLR cords is, by the way, a great feature.
Within their price range and category these are a very good option and I am happy with them. They sound better and are better built than slightly cheaper options, but might not be what serious Hi-Fi enthusiasts are looking for. For the listed applications they perform very well and are very reasonably priced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Pretty nice headphones for the price.
Kalin, 28.02.2020
I purchased these to replace a pair of Superlux HD681 EVO that suddenly died (developed some phasing issues cancelling most frequencies.)
My first impression of the AKG K240 MKII was an awful, boxy, low-mid heavy sound... silly me, I just forgot that these are brand new and will need some "burning" time. So after a day or two they revealed the hidden gem inside - pretty clean and detailed sound, with very good panoramic stage. I did as a test 10 mixes of theatrical music and they translated pretty well on the theater sound system, just slightly bass frequencies heavy.
The build quality is good (they survived the first fall from my work desk) and ergonomically they are great - very lightweight, pretty flexible, big enough (I got a big head, yeah) and the earcups are going around the whole ear just as I prefer.
Overall, after two weeks of using AKG K240 MKII, I am pretty satisfied with my purchase and can definitely recommend them if you are looking for studio grade headphones in that price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Over 3 years of flawless opperation
Damian T., 17.12.2013
One of the first things i did with my AKG K-240 MKII's was to pull the cable awkwardly and bend the quarter inch jack which was half out of a headphone socket, this bent it and made it unusable. This turned out not to be a problem as a spare cable was included, hurrah!
My work space is in the family home so I wanted headphones that I could use on long production and mixing sessions as my bass heavy monitors were starting to drive everyone crazy. I wasn't willing to compromise on sound quality. I also wanted a way to more accurately monitor low end response because, even though my room is acoustically treated, I was frequently unhappy with the transportability of my mixes low-end.
I made the correct choice. These headphones are open sounding, detailed and pleasing while remaining sonically neutral. They are comfortable to wear for long periods both physically and sonically. They also look the same as the day I bought them and I am not precious with equipment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
In love
Giannis Vidos, 10.02.2020
The sound is amazing! The fit and the quality is very good.
I can wear it for hours
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very satisfied with the old Austrian Version
PaulN, 21.02.2014
I bought these headphones four years ago and they are like new ones. Mainly I use them for playing guitar over my PC interface and they work excellent. Sometime I also listen to music. Therefore, they have a little bit too less bass, but this is normal for studio heaphones.
The headphones are very comfortable and fit perfect on my head. The ears are surrounded perfectly and they produce no pressure on your head, so you can use them for a long time without needing a break.
They came with many accessories, like two cables and a second pair of pads. At least I don't know if AKG kept this quality when they changed their production place to China in the last years.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Simply great
Bajo, 06.02.2021
First of all the feel incredible, it's like wearing nothing in terms of weight. The clarity of the sound is really good.For anyone looking for solid studio headphones this is a recommend if they don't want to spend too much money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Sehr komfortabel
Shoemeister, 13.03.2021
und klingt fabelhaft. Wirkt auch hochwertig verarbeitet. Nichts zu beanstaden!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect headphones to play the guitar quietly and even listen to music
bdouvill, 26.02.2021
Use:
Bought this to start playing electric guitar again after a 15 year break. I want to play quietly without annoying my neighbors considering I play pretty badly.

Pros:
Honestly, after so many years only listening to music with very cheap headphones (or with my work headset), I completely rediscovered how pleasant it is to listen to music for real. Like a brand new world (or rather forgotten one). Sound is very clear and precise, really like it. Headphone is open but honestly, you don't hear that much out of the headphones. For the price, this is crazy quality I think.

Cons:
This is bulky but this is studio headphones. Not meant to walk outside connected to your mobile.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Awesome audio quality.
Mister Pigman, 14.07.2021
I love this headphones. It has a neutral sound which is excellent for mixing. This comes with two types of cord.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Wow...
19.10.2014
I have been blown away by these headphones!

I have purchased these headphones to be used for a reference when mixing at home or in my university's studios. (!Caution being Semi-Open headphones they will not be suited for tracking as they will release sound bleed into the microphones!).
When first listening to these headphones I was shocked to hear how tight the bass response was (I'm not sure wether this is due to the semi-open characteristics because I have only used closed back headphones up to these), the headphones have a mostly flat frequency response and have great clarity/detail. I highly recommend them for someone who wants a pair of reference/main mixing headphones.

Most headphones are quite heavy and after a while get really uncomfortable, but not these headphones, these honestly feel like you aren't actually wearing a pair of full size headphones. They are really light and even when worn for hours (which I have done), they do not get the slightest bit irritable, which is a bonus for me as i'm usually stuck in front of my computer hours at a time when mixing.

I cant give an opinion on whether they are road worthy as I haven't taken them places where they would get bashed about etc, but to me they feel like they could take a beating even with their light and flexible frame!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
figonacci, 20.01.2021
Nice sound quality and good finishing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great sound and great for the big-headed
D-bags, 19.04.2021
The sound is fantastic on these headphones, but the best thing I can say about these really is comfort.
As the large-headed among us will know, headphones can sometimes be a pain and may pinch on either the ear or the skull. These are just a breeze to wear, don't pinch and aren't easily knocked off either.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Superb studio headphones
Eschmelac, 17.03.2021
Satisfied customer. This classic has become even better in the MKII version. If you're looking for a flat, accurate sound, without modifications - this is the pair to go with.

Perfect for a home studio, especially when working on mixes that require to hear the sound as flat as possible. Mids are superb, just be careful with the bass range (your ear gets used to it.)

The build quality is good as expected for that price range. I find those to be very comfortable, even after an hour of work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Outstanding
M TMO, 05.07.2021
The headphones sound amazing, extra accessories in the price, value / quality is amazing.
The only comment is that they are hard to carry, but I knew that before I bought them anyway.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
top notch sound, very comfortable & affordable
guyrab, 29.08.2017
great for every application. you won't be able to go back from this pair of headphones, so comfortable and sound repro. so good. well done AKG! oh and did I mention the price? this headset is in the top 3 of the leading comparison mags and sites (for a pair less than a hundred 100 EUR)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent for the money
Bedroom warrior, 07.05.2020
Intended to use it for silent guitar practice. I thought it was absolutely great for the money, but I was looking for slightly better headphones which do justice to the thick lows of specifically guitar music, and the top end was a bit harsh. I found it wasn't able to deal with treble and presence controls too well. To be expected for the money, but should be noted. I ultimately returned mine. Would still recommend it on a budget though, as I spent 5x as much before I was satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very Happy
Mtto, 14.04.2020
Affordable price, I practice bass through it and they sound good.

Most importantly they are extremely comfortable (even with glasses), and I can (and do) keep them on for hours and hours.

I guess my neighbourhoods are happy too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Exactly What I Was Looking For!
Charlie S., 17.12.2013
I am studying to be a recording sound engineer and I am required to have a "good" set of headphones. After a lot of searching and reading reviews I stumbled across these. They are absolutely perfect and I cant find any faults what so ever! The evenly balanced sound is incredible and the frequency range is superb. They even cover frequencies that the human ear cannot hear. I am required to wear the headphones for long periods of time when working on projects and these are the most comfortable headphones I have tried to date. They hold on your head well but do not press against your ears, they feel lightweight when you're wearing them and they mould well to the shape of your head. This version comes with suede like earpads and a the standard vinyl/fake leather ones which I prefer. They also come with 2 different length cables which is great for me. Sometimes I am mixing on my laptop and sometimes I am in the live room where the connection point is a distance away. One cable is short and coiled and the other is straight and long. I love these headphones and would recommend them to any person in my field of work. The only thing I would point out (by no means a negative comment) is that the headphones don't feel like they would stand up to being put in a rucksack without any sort of protection. Currently I am still using the box which is great but in time I will buy a case for them. Great headphones, 5 stars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Extremely Good Quality for the Price
Meist, 10.09.2018
I use these headphones for mixing and for podcasting with a friend, and in both cases I get crystal clear and accurate sound that far exceeds other headphones cheaper than this I have tried, and is also amazingly comfortable to wear, as my podcasting partner agreed when he tried them.

The semi-open design helps deliver decent sound quality without sacrificing isolation, making it really good for hearing how your instruments will sound in a mix as you record them while keeping room noise to a minimum.

Pros:
Allows for both mixing and recording use, and excels at both for its price range, making it ideal for musicians on a budget or recording while travelling/on-site outside of a studio.

Cons: Slight lack of clarity in the low/bass frequencies can make mixing bass-heavy mixes tricky, however it is only slight, and hardly noticeable most of the time.

Overall a fantastic buy for travelling or budget-limited musicians, and at the price they are undoubtedly leagues ahead of other headphones in value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great homestudio headphone
Serge Bontemps, 16.03.2021
I bought these for my homestudio project. They fit very nice, sounds is pretty good. No complaints up till now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
DickHunter, 08.07.2019
light on head. Easily adapt to different shapes and sizes of heads. The sound is very clear mid-forward. The bas is very punchy, yet natural, Only con is that because they are very quiet and semi-open, higher tones can be a little bit behind if there is any ambient noise. All in all 8.5/10 would buy again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good for home studio use
Jack Rock, 28.01.2019
I use these headphones daily in my home studio. I do voiceovers and audio editing.

They're by far the best headphones I ever used.

They are comfortable and I'm more than happy that they come with a coiled cable in the pack, which I use when I am editing, so I don't trip over the regular one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Goog, as expected
05.12.2016
Using them for listening music, computer audio and music monitoring with DAW (hobby level).
Pros: Sound is honest and detailed, nice clarity and room feeling. Lightweight, but still sturdy. Option to change cord and ear pads. Definitely best headphones for the money.
Cons: Lacking basses little bit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good quality for the money
Michalki, 01.12.2020
Good sound and good quality for very good price, and comfort is top notch especially with the velour ear pads
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-240 MKII

60 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Thursday, 30.09. and Friday, 1.10.

Your Contacts
Phone: +32-237-69120
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results: