Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit Single Cut

786 Evaluările clienţilor:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • Caracteristici
  • Sunet
  • Măiestrie
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Far better than I expected
jianwhite, 12.04.2017
I purchased this kit, as I wanted an LP style guitar for the tone produced for recording some backing tracks, but had a limited budget. The result really surprised me. The veneer on the body is thin, so use minimum pressure when sanding. The finish is amazing. I am into natural finishes and so after a light sanding, just used thin clear varnish applied with a cloth. The result is quite stunning. A natural butterscotch with a light catching grain. It literally reflects light on stage in places.

The electrics are wrong. If left unchanged, the tone pots do not work. Five minutes with a soldering iron chnging one wire on each tone pot to the correct lug cured the problem. The cure is detailed on several reviews, so I won't bore you with repeating it hear. Once done, the volume and tone controls work very well indeed.

The back of the neck, I left as it came. The fine smooth varnish finish is perfect to play.

The only other problem was the nut. It came with the high E slot cut too near the edge. A replacement for under 2 euros cured the problem and allowed me to file it to the ideal depth.

The Frets were surpisingly good. After fitting the new nut, I set the neck to Gibson Les Paul specs and it plays perfectly. No buzz, surpringly low action. Can't ask for more.

The pickups are very acceptable, producing the rich creamy sound I was specifically after on the neck pickup, with the tone pot turned fairly down and very capable of the typical LP scream on teh bridge pick up if required. Sustain is amazing. In my opinion, a far superior performer to the Vintage/Revelation LP copies that cost 3 times the price.

The bridge is an obvious copy. Typical of a Chinese ebay replacement. I was lucky with mine, it works and I have left it on.

If I add the price of the nut and a set of D'addario 10's strings to replace the ones that came with it. I got the bargain of the century for under 100 Euros. I have played live, recorded 7 songs with this guitar and a professional performer (an ex-guitarist from Mott The Hoople) asked me if it was for sale. It isn't!

The wiring, bridge and the nut brought the quality rating down to Okay for the price. The rest is good.

So in short, if you want a good LP copy and are willing to spend 5 minutes resoldering, maybe a new nut and reasonable time setting up the neck carefully. go for it, you will not be disappointed. I reckon I would have to pay at least £500 to buy a ready made of equal playability. In fact, it has turned out to be a far superior performer to the Gibson Studio.

I have been as honest and detailed as I can. I hope this helps you.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
a very good starter kit
DroidXXVII, 16.07.2020
i bought this kit several years ago, and intended to delay the review as i wanted to see if this guitar can stand the test of time, and frequent use. so i indeed bought one, and then assembled it, and kept it in its default configuration, including the finish, since after assembly. played the guitar for years on a daily basis for hours.

okay, fast forward three years, and here's what's happened to it.

1. the frets wore out. i had to refret it using harder frets.
2. the neck bowed a bit. i was rather baffled by this because i was only using standard 10-46's. it was made more evident when i used 10-52's. so i adjusted the truss rod while there was tension on the strings, and that fixed it, but then it had a bit of back bow with the strings removed. i just surmised that probably the neck was too soft.
3. the pickups sounded muddier. this was, more or less, a perception issue, and only got resolved when i replaced them with stock epiphone pickups that i had on hand. not to say that the stock pickups were bad, but for me, i felt that they weren't good either.
4. bridge saddles wore out fairly quick. this must've been caused by my hands as they keep rubbing with the saddles as i do my palm muting. i swapped the entire bridge with an aftermarket roller bridge, and bought a harley benton tailpiece to complement it.
5. pots started becoming scratchy after a few months. since they became so, i chose to buy log pots and replaced the linear ones installed in the kit. i recycled the stock capacitor, but i also intend to replace that down the line.
6. stock tuners went all over the place. you can't make the guitar stay in tune for too long with the stock tuners. there were also dead spots when turning the pegs, and that greatly affected the tuning. i replaced them with an old set of taylor tuners that i had on hand, and that worked wonders on the tuning.

three years on, the guitar is still working, and is still in its default unfinished state. i've never laid any paint or refreshed the sealer on the wood, as i liked how it looked as a barely finished guitar. my hope is to see it work for more years to come, hopefully outliving me too.

to sum it up, it's a very good starter kit for those who want to learn how to build, play and maintain guitars. for those seeking something more robust or something that requires less maintenance, then this might not be for you.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Nice features, and some short-comings too
Johnny D, 22.07.2019
Harley Benton SC Guitar Kit.
This kit was purchased to review the quality, fit and finish of the Thomann HB kits, then to use the kit as a platform for and extreme modification project.

The kit arrived a few months ago, and has now been opened, reviewed and initial assembly completed.
Please keep in mind, this is a ± $92 US, guitar KIT, it is not a finished guitar and likely has a different QC process than does a finished guitar.
A few examples of QC would be attention to the fret ends, the fit of the neck plate, potential electronic wiring issues, and some discrepancies in the parts bags.

NECK & BODY:
In general, the body and neck are very well made for a "semi-raw" wood kit. The body has an initial sealer coating applied, it is a clear coating only to control the wood fibers slightly. It is not a filler, nor level coating, just a sealer of some sort.
The neck is coated with a satin finish, but is far more refined than the body. The neck could be used as delivered on a completed guitar. The body is rather rough, and should be refined through sanding and other sealer and finish methods.
The dual-action truss rod works well.

FRETBOARD & FRETS:
The fretboard and inlays look good and well manufactured, however it appears a final sanding set was skipped. The fretboard has a slight coarseness to the feel, like the final sanding was done with 100 grit material. The frets are reasonably well set, and this is the first HB guitar that I have seen some sort of glue used with the frets. The fret ends should be addressed before doing any assembly work on this kit, as the guitar I received will slice your hands to pieces. The jagged fret ends are everywhere, nearly every fret. The fret wire will also need to be cleaned, and polished. There is some fine gritty coating on the wire, with fretted notes or bends this coating, or film, will be evident.
When the frets are leveled, crowned and polished this issue will be moot.

TUNERS:
These are rather low quality items. The only reason I say this is because at least one of the 6 in my kit are bad. In general the others function well, there is some slop in the string post, but otherwise the tuning button shaft works well, except for that 1 tuner. The one bad tuner is bound up and will barely turn. I will be replacing the entire set of tuners.

PICKUPS:
The pickups are wax potted, and marked N, for neck, and B for bridge.
Both pickups have single, two wire leads which include the plug ends. The Neck pickup has a "white" sheathed lead, and the Bridge has a "black sheathed lead (on my kit). The Electronics have matching coloring - so it should go together intuitively - It should.

ELECTRONICS:
The supplied switch has a good positive feel and is prepped with Plug-n-play connectors. Of course the plug-n-play feature fails as the kit can easily be connected incorrectly. So, some shuffling of connectors may be required. This kit is likely intended for someone who may not have soldering equipment, and the presumed "ease" of plugging components together will likely help sales. I expect some purchasers to experience frustration if they connect the switch leads in the wrong pairing - they may get NO sound…
The pots volume and tone all function as they should, and once I swapped a couple connectors all components worked properly.
The wiring feeds easily threw the routed passages in the body. There is ample wire length on each component. In fact, there is almost too much wire included.

BRIDGE & STOP TAIL:
These are typical low cost TOM style bridge components. The quality is average, and some "repair" may be needed on the bridge. My bridge had an issue with the retainer springs that hold the saddle screws in place. 2 of the 4 springs needed to be removed, slightly bent to improve tension, and reassembled. Not a big deal, but the bridge would be a serious issue without this adjustment/repair.
This is not the first HB TOM bridge that I've had to adjust in this way, it seems to be a rather typical issue, but easily resolved.

VARIOUS HARDWARE & COMPONENTS:
As the kit comes, there are a few little bags containing all the bits and pieces. You should do an inventory of all the screws, washers and parts that you receive in the kit before beginning assembly. My kit arrived a couple washers short, but has a few extra trim screws.

FLAW:
Even for a $92 US kit, the biggest flaw I can't overlook is the poor fit of the neck mounting plate. At a glance it looks nice and appears to be contoured to match the cut of the body, but that is NOT the case.
It seems like it is the wrong neck plate for this guitar. The holes all align with the body and neck, the screws all seat properly, but the end of the plate doesn't follow the body shape. The neck plate protrudes beyond the body contour slightly, but obviously wrong.
Perhaps Thomann/Harley Benton changed a template at one time and this was overlooked, or the Mfg just shipped the wrong part, I don't know.
It works, but looks - wrong.

TAKEAWAY:
The overall collection of "parts" is pretty good, there are some flaws in the bits and pieces, but this is an affordable/ cheap kit. It is honestly better than any kit I've worked on at slightly higher prices. So, I have to give Thomann and HB credit for a good attempt, it's almost right.
This may not be a great kit for someone with NO tools or troubleshooting ability, but it can be turned into a decent guitar. It will just take some work.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
great guitar, fun to build
Plaankameo, 26.04.2020
as a birthday gift for the two kids of my fiancée, i bought two LP style guitar kits. the way i finished and built the guitars would probably require as little as a few days to up to a week for one guitar, but i stretched out that period over about a year.

these kits are a great opportunity to own a personalized guitar for the lowest price possible. it is great fun to play your own build, made to your own preference. you just need some time, some inspiration and a bit of dedication. if you don’t want to customize the guitar you could even leave the guitar unfinished or just clear coat it so you could be done in a few hours. i kept the hardware stock on these guitars and used water based stain to color the guitars and finished them with gunstock oil. the only thing i recommend to upgrade are the tuners (and the strings). but the two guitars definitely turned out to our liking.

we live downtown and do not have much space to work on such projects, such as a balcony or extra room to spray paint the guitars or to keep the parts laying around. but as i made myself a Harley Benton ST style guitar a few years before and used staining and oiling as method for coloring and finishing that guitar, i knew how it could work if i could use the same technique on these two.

after sanding down the bodies and necks (they are prepared to be lacquered so needed to be stripped of that before using a different finish) i colored and oiled the wood. i used our kitchen table as workplace. the sanding is a bit of work and gives a lot of dust, but the result is great. one of the guitars is stained purely black, the second one fades from blue to yellow, which gives quite a great vintage effect. i didn’t sand down the second body and neck thoroughly enough the first time, so i had to redo that partly as the stain did not cover the wood well on all parts. that was a bit discouraging, but in the end it wasn’t that bad and actually this guitar turned out even better than i could imagine, even though it didn’t came out exactly as i planned. the hardest thing was to keep the binding on the body white. and even though i put some protective tape on it, after i removed it, i still had to scratch some stain of that got to the binding anyway.

assembling the guitars was quite easy and foolproof, even though sometimes you wonder if you should connect something to this or to that, it can not really go wrong and is quite interesting if you never knew how a guitar actually works.

remarkable fact is that the sound of the two guitars is quite different. they both have a clear lp style sound, but the one has a clearer and cleaner sound and the second has a warmer sound, a bit raw, like if the guitar has been drinking and smoking and living a rock and roll lifestyle for a few decades. it is an amazing sound, that makes me want to build a third one for myself, hoping that it will have the same voice. not sure if it are the pickups that are slightly different or the uniqueness of the wooden parts in the bodies and necks, but they really have quite a different sound.

the guitars were bought a few months apart and the second guitar came from a new batch, as they were sold out for a while in between. i guess you can not really predict how your guitar is going to sound exactly, but they both sound very well, especially if you consider the price.

pro’s
- good looking, classic lp style guitar
- cheap
- totally customizable in appearance
- interesting to build
- easy to assemble
- good sound
- scratchplate, etc also available in black (sold separately)
- complete

cons
- tuners work but are a bit wobbly


all together: these two guitar kits made me and their young owners filled with pride. finishing the guitar can be made as easy and fast or complicated and time consuming as you want, but should be quite manageable. it is not hard to assemble the guitar, and the results look and sound solid and good. recommended for anyone who dares to paint, lacquer or stain a bit of wood and knows how to handle a screwdriver. and of course for anyone who dreams about a personalized guitar and does not want to spend a fortune on it.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
5/5 on value for money alone. Great kit !
The Lamb, 08.04.2020
The kit is absolutely superb. For the price of one seymour duncan pickup, you get an entire LP style guitar. The provided instructional manual is great and very clear, and only a couple of basic handheld tools are required for assembly.
I highly recommend giving this a go. A great way to spend an afternoon putting it together, and guitar you're left with is great.
Only a couple of niggles.. There were no screws for the strap buttons as the ones provided slipped right out of the pilot holes. The truss rod cover pilot holes were slightly in the wrong place,,,, and that was about it !. The neck needed a little cleaning and the frets needed a quick buff (but an hour of playing would sort that). I don't know what the provided strings were like, I tossed them out.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Great Kit, just reporting...
Matias M., 26.05.2015
Here's the final result and description of the process:

>
>
Unfortunately, the front pliers were kinda ugly...not a nice top as in the picture. That said the end results came out awesome.

If you plan to stain the wood as I did, be aware that the wood sealer will be a PAIN to sand down. (would be better if they provided kits without any sealer) ..is specially difficult on the sides.

Overall, after sanding the wood has responded nicely to the dye, no problems at all with that. Went for Turquoise on the front and Red on the back, quite nice!

The neck is quite good! thin and the wood is quite robust. The hardware is also good, but I'm replacing the tuners with Grovers.

The bridge, well...really not the best, you can see is gonna catch the string after a bend....so I'm replacing it with a Göldo roller bridge. Be aware that the Göldo comes with smaller studs, so you'll need to redrill or fill the gap with something (I'm gonna use bits from a hose from a talkbox, it works perfectly)

I'm right now in the lacking process, so I cannot review the sound yet....I expect it to be more or less like my vintage Harley Benton which sounds lovely.

UPDATE:

I just finished the project.

Some tips:

- The nut comes REAL high! I suggest you to get a ruler and measure your best set guitar, take the nut out of the neck of this kit and carefully sand it down until is right...DONT TOUCH THE SLOTS they're perfect, is only the nut that is pretty high...otherwise you'll have intonation problems mostly on the first fret.

Hell, is almost impossible to properly play a bar chord at the first fret if you don't do that, after the nut is lowered the guitar plays like heaven.

- Try to avoid using the tuners and bridge that comes with it. They're simply not the best (good but there are better). Get a Göldo roller bridge and some Grover mini tuners.

- Use a piece of guitar string to be able to easily pass the cables that goes from the control cavity to the switch cavity.

- Don't forget to ground the electronics to the strings via the ground cable that goes to the bridge stud.

- Mark the cables before unplugging the switch. If you get lost install it all and plug the guitar then use a piece of metal (rounded small wrench works) and carefully tap the pickups to know whats going on until is right.

- Don't forget to lub the nut with graphite.

UPDATE: I've installed a locking nut and a Schaller stoptail with microtuners. Best decision ever!

UPDATE 2: Changed the original pickups which are very dull to a pair of Seymour Duncan hot rodded kit. They sound awesome.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
All up to you
Theodore85, 13.12.2019
An amazing kit in total, but let me break down the various different parts for clarity and to help set some proper expectations.

Wiring:
In general is kind of ok if you really have no clue what you are doing, but my advice would be to use something better for various reasons (scratching sounds, loud hiss, sticky knobs, bad switch),

Pickups:
They almost make the sounds you need them to, as long as you don't compare them to something else.
But the second you put a better set of pickups (irongear?) in it you'll have a beautifully singing masterpiece.

General hardware:
It works.
Change the tuners and you will get better tuning stability. Change the bridge and you will have better intonation, better sustain and less weird overtones.
Add some graphite in the nut slots (draw in them with a pencil) and it's just fine for now.

Wood and general make:
Amazing!
In all fairness, this is what you paid for. Everything else matters little.
Sand your surfaces with no shortcuts, show the finish some love, do a proper set up, do a fret dress and you have a GREAT guitar.

Summary: 98 euros of amazing possibility!
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
A Les Paul that lacked quality control
t?gerunner , 25.12.2018
The price dictates the overall quality of this instrument, and that is why all of the problems it came with shouldn't be an issue, but potential new clients should know about these possible problems.

At a first glance, everything seemed ok out of the box.
3 or 4 piece body, with 2 piece neck with a roseacer fretboard (ugly and cheap substitute for rosewood)

The hardware is basic mass produced of cheapest and lowest quality possible, tuners feeling pretty decent for the price.

However after trying a test for playability (neck mounted, bridge, tailpiece, tuners and strings) a big problem arised.
The factory process of sanding the top has been made incorrectly, the convex part of the body top was offset to the overall placement of the strings, bridge and tailpiece. This made the bushings for the bridge and tailpiece be on a different height to each other making setup a bit difficult and look awkward aesthetically.

Playability however isn't such a big issue and most of people can overlook this issue. The frets felt very rough when sliding the strings across them, should need a polish before assembling the guitar.
The neck had a shim glued to the underside of the neck joint, to lift it up to Les Paul style playability (making the neck to stay at an angle). The wood used to make the shim was of
a different type, and could be very visible even to the uninitiated.

Overall, going by the popular saying "you get what you pay for" is very true in this particular case.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Very good project guitar
Jrdragonetti, 24.05.2019
Ok, so, I should probably disclose that I was already planning on heavily modifying this guitar kit before I bought it, so some things may or may not be applicable.

Build quality - this was pretty much perfect, the neck fit perfectly, string alignment was spot on, scale length and intonation was excellent. Basically, if this is your first kit, all the hardest bits were already done.

Frets needed minimal work, sharp edges needed filing, a minor leveling/crowning job and I was more than happy.

The guitar actually has a top, not a veneer, so after plenty of sanding to remove the sanding sealer that it has applied at the factory, I had no problems with the top peeling off the body like on other kit guitars. Whilst the guitar I received didn't have remarkable grain patterns, aside from a minor flame on the neck, it is pleasing enough to look at. The body itself had quite a few marks from the factory (saw marks and little bits of minor tearout) nothing was unfixable with patience and a lot of sanding.

Binding was expertly applied, no gaps on the body or fretboard, though I ended up modifying and carving extra bits, so its not there on my finished guitar.

I cant say much about the included hardware as this isn't my first guitar kit, and I already had plans to replace every bit of it, so very little actually ended up on my finished guitar.
All I can really say, is that I had issues with the included stop tailpiece with the posts being different sizes, though I would put that down to QA making a very rare minor mistake, it was good enough for me to check the string alignment, but replacement was necessary before I finished the build.

I cant comment on the electronics, I never used them, though I would probably say if you *are* going to use them, consider soldering instead of the push fit connectors as they looked cheap.

In summary, this is a fantastic kit, giving you the perfect foundation for an excellent quality guitar, especially considering the price.

Be prepared to do a lot of sanding, assemble it before applying finish so you get an idea on what you need to fix during the build. And most importantly, enjoy yourself whilst building it and take your time.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Love building these kits!
28.10.2015
Having built the Tstyle kit recently I caught the bug and fancied a go at the LP as they are such a lovely looking instrument. This one was also promptly delivered and well packed. The body was far better finished than the Tstyle and came up beautifully with Pelham blue on the front and butterscotch tinted lacquer on the sides and back. The neck joint needed a bit of work to get a snug fit. It was just a touch too tight but a simple task just to ease the fit with a chisel. As others have reported the volume pots are wired incorrectly. It's a simple job to remove the red wires from the pick ups from the centre connection on the pots and resolder to the left hand connection. The nut was also a bit high for my liking but was easily removed and the base carefully filed to improve the action. It's worth taking the time to trial fit the pickups, they are different as you'll find out if you fit one in the wrong place! The instructions are ok but don't go into great detail, you will need to be able to work done things out for yourself. Now, don't let any of the above put you off, there's nothing that will cause a serious oroblem, it's really quite simple to put the kit together if you're aware if the above and can do a simple bit of soldering. The end result is a nice looking guitar that plays very well considering the price and has a nice sweet mellow sound or can certainly rock if that's your style. I'm well pleased with it and hope you get as much pleasure from yours as I have from mine!
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Nice toy!
Maksym, 18.10.2020
I would consider this product more as a toy rather than an instrument. Bought this as a birthday gift to my friend.

First of all, I was impressed that it produces usable sound! For sure, it is far from the sound of the professional instrument: poor low end, relatively bad sustain, etc. But for the money... I was really impressed.

As for the quality, do not expect much. My friend had to fight against this set. Not all parts fit perfectly, sometimes you have to make an adjustment. Be careful as not all parts are well polished, do not hurt yourself. Also, there were problems adjusting the action: the bridge was at the limit.

Pros:
- you can assemble your guitar;
- all the components are there;
- you can learn how to apply finish to the guitar;
- you can customise your finish and colour;
- you can have fun with your children;
- and it actually plays after assembling!

Cons:
- poor quality: not all parts fit well, my friend damaged a finger while assembling :) ;
- sound is way far from perfect;
- extremely difficult to setup the guitar nicely.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
For what I paid for
kryddan, 11.04.2020
For what I paid for this is really good after some tuning in.
This was my first try at building (putting together) my first guitar. It was surprisingly easy. Nothing complicated. Ok, it doesn't make wonders. But for that price it was well worth it. A fun experience, and ok to play on. I tuned it to double drop D (Neil Young) and just have some party fun with it. When friends had a beer to much, this is the guitar I let them play with :) I recommend this product.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Unbelievable
danielsyte, 10.03.2020
This kit is easy to build, the quality of the neck is incredible for the money spent, the body is also ok, pickups are what you can get with the minimum expense but the sound is not bad at all, in reality at the end of the building you get a playable instrument which is a good base for future improvements (machine heads, bridge, pickups above all).
The it is also funny to build, definitively recommended!
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Custom Project Starting Point, A1.
mddwoody, 22.02.2014
The: Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit LP-Style; is one of a range of Classic & Iconic Electric Guitar & Bass Guitar Styles that come disassembled, & delivered, with all the parts flat-packed & ready for you to do a D.I.Y. self-assembly job of your guitar. You might ask why assemble a guitar yourself when you can buy a reasonably good assembled one for a reasonable price?. Well my reason! My son was learning to play the guitar. I can't play the guitar, I've tried but I just can't get it together. I play the ukulele, not very good but I know which end to hold & which hand to strum the strings with. My main hobby & passion is woodcarving & marquetry. I thought if I can't help teach him to play the guitar could I make one for him?. "A-One-of-a-Kind. If you buy an assembled guitar, to carve it you have to take it apart. Surfing the net I came across these kits Thomann sell at a very competitive price a complete guitar in effect already stripped down to its constituent parts. The Pickups, pots, selector switch & jack, all already soldered & wired, ready to feed through the routed body & when in place, simple snap connectors to join the loom together. The Neck just requiring the machine heads fitting & then it's ready to bolt into the neck pocket. I need say no more than it would be perfect. I carved a flower around where each control knob & the selector switch plate would be, & leaves scrolling around the top face. On the back face I carved a series of leaves & flowers over most of the surface & fitted an ornate metal cross onto a part I had left uncarved. Around the edges I carved the words "Faith, Hope & Love" & "Faith, Hope & Charity". I then sprayed the body metallic blue. I fitted a set of chrome machine heads with tulip buttons instead of the ones that came with it. I replaced the pickgard, control cover & selector switch cover with blue marble effect celluloid ones & a silver metal filigree treble tone plate, a chrome switch tip, & a set of white volume & tone top hat reflector knobs. To finish it off I had a family name we made up engraved Gibson style on a bell shaped truss rod cover & on a plate to go on the top as maker & fitted a used Gibson logo strap. Both myself & my son are quite pleased with the end result. Even if you don't try to do any carving, these kits make a great project starting point for you to swap the standard parts, pieces & fittings & even electrics, to make your "Own, Unique, One-of-a-Kind Instrument". Could anyone assemble one?. Well there are pitfalls & I've had a few problems with this & subsequent kits I've assembled from the range, but I think that most people with a basic DIY & guitar knowledge, The very helpful Thoman Customer Service, & access to the internet would enjoy taking on one of these Harley Benton Guitar Kits. As I said I'm no guitar technical expert, so when it comes to guitar sound so I've only given it 3 stars on this point, but it sounds great when my son plays it. The bridge, truss rod & intonation all seem to fine tune well for a good playing action. All in all, for value for money, & as a custom project base I've given it a Very Good. "Rock On".
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
No Gibbo, but for 80 Euros!!! WOWWWW!!!
JoeHarpo, 16.03.2018
3rd attempt at DIY guitar building.
And THIRD TIME LUCKY!.....This was my masterpiece.
I turned this piece of wood and bits of metal and wire into a beautiful, LP GoldTop copy, and it is a BEAUTY.
Just ask my friends! :-)
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
MMA_17, 03.05.2020
It is a good experience for anyone who wants to assemble a guitar. For value, I consider it an instrument that exceeds expectations.
Positive aspects: the neck is not that bad and the guitar looks very good.
Negative aspects: the electronics are of low quality. Only the middle module works.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Great looking guitar even as is
JvdBout, 30.10.2020
Bought the kit it with the idea to potentially airbrush it, but it actually looks very nice in the natural wood look. The only drawback was the black and white pictures in the manual since it wasn't clear which colors the wires of the different pickups were. Luckily the Thomann website has great color pictures of the building steps of the guitar so that helped a lot. Also the positioning of the pot meters was a guess and will need to figure out still which one does what now.
But other then that, was put together in no time and after tuning ready to play.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
DIY with a lot less effort
13.05.2014
Ever wanted to make your own guitar? It's a lot of work, but this made is a hell of a lot easier.

Basically all you need to do is assemble all the parts. Painting should probably be done before assembly though :)

The parts are treated with a finish, so if you like the natural look, you're golden. Just assemble and rock on.

If you want to paint it I'd recommend sanding it first. Normal hobby paint (for wood use) will actually peel off if you strike it with anything until it's lacquered.

Also, the knobs are amber-ish in color while the plates are cream white (as seen in the picture), so make sure you've planned your build. Make sure your knobs, pickguard, pickup frames, jack plate, control plate, bridge and everything match ;)
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Maybe the best kit for the price. Good quality.
MojiT0, 19.06.2018
The kit is from good quality and maybe is the best for its price. The body is from several parts but of good make and needs just some 600 or higher sandpaper sanding to be perfectly polished. There were some very small holes from some work-tool but they are easy to fill. I like that the neck is completely ready for use and has mat lac finish - it's comfortable for the left hand. I prefer it that way instead of the high gloss finished necks. You can leave it as is and paint/varnish only the body. It is already treated with sealer and easy to paint after light sanding. Maybe the hardware is what most people will change and that's what I did also. Especially for my needs I purchased hot-rail humbuckers and gotoh tailpice. Also I prefer complete rewiring with custom pots, knobs and switches. In general this is good quality kit - maybe the best for it's price.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Does the job quite Well!
20.06.2016
The Thomann service is absolutely 5 stars, my parcel was dispatched and shipped on the next day. Five days later the parcel arrived. As if it wasn't that good packaging, that large big bite on the parcel would have destroyed everything inside. But I was lucky I think, thanks to Thomann packaging.
I use my kit guitar as practice and small family parties.
In terms of satisfaction building these kits, in my opinion is priceless. I stained and tru oiled mine. Although the stain did not go well on the sides (I tried three times sanding down the sides and re-applying stain), I don't care....it gives that vintage, aged look. I stained it mahogany on back, sides, neck and left it natural on front. I applied Tru Oil as a finish. The result....Absolutely awesome!
Cons: The tuners and the bridge are not as good, I will replace them with better quality others. The pickups although they do the job well, I'm planning to replace them too. The soldering on the knobs was a little bit wrong (making that on/off effect on volume), but thanks to some back and forth on youtube, it was fixed.
So, if I have to say it in five words: Worth it every spent penny!
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Incredible quality for the price.
Ninuzzo, 10.04.2020
This kit is very easy to put together. It's very solid, perhaps a bit rough around the edges, you may want to to some sanding here and there.

The neck is straight as an arrow and comfortable to play. No complaints.

The only sort of problem is that it doesn't perfectly fill the neck pocket on the body, so there is a slight space between the two components, but nothing major for the moment. Perhaps it can be filled if you eventually paint the guitar.

The bridge holes are misaligned which causes some trouble in the setup, nothing that impedes you from playing it however.

I can't really comment on the sound as I swapped all electronics with a set of active Fishman Fluence Modern pickups and it sounds just killer.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Easy to build and customize
Ctrs, 16.03.2020
Easy to build and refinish. A nice kit with lots of modification options that you can do. I'm adding a balanced output to be able to feed a mic level output into my console. That way I can sent unbalanced to effects boxes and an amp and direct at the same time. This allows both a clean and an effects track to be recorded to my studio workstation. The only con I've encountered is that the electronics were not clearly labelled which meant I had to test and mark the interconnects before mounting on the head of the guitar. Building the kit has helped me learn a great deal about guitar construction. A number of things I never really thought about with my other guitars. Overall a beautiful kit and I'll hopefully build others in the future.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Not bad!
03.06.2015
I ordered this and a telecaster style kit at the same time. This one is a little more expensive than the telecaster kit, has quite a few more bits and is slightly more difficult to put together. At the same time it's also slightly easier to put together - the headstock is already shaped while with the telecaster kit it's a blank square that you need to saw into something nicer.

The body on this is actually pretty decent looking. I think it's 4 parts, the top looks to be another 3 parts. They've done a great job on the top, the parts match up fine and the grain looks nice. Mine has a pretty ugly join on the side, in the cut away, where a lot of filler or something has been used. It's not a prominent place though and I'm happy enough painting the sides in a solid colour.

The hardware is ok. The tuners aren't great (very sensitive), pickups are ok. The neck is fine, frets seem ok. The instructions aren't great and are at times quite vague but I managed to put this together fairly quickly.

I would say that while this is good for the price and a lot of fun it's never really going to be anything like a real les paul. Thomann are upfront about this being basswood and having a bolt on neck but it's worth remembering these are very un-les paul things, with a good paint job it could look a bit like one but it'll never really feel or sound much like one. That doesn't mean it can't be a great sounding and playing guitar though..

Conversely the fender type kits are a bit more authentic - fenders do have bolt on necks and there are basswood fenders out there.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Great guitar, BUT.
Peter R. 438, 15.01.2014
I really love these guitar kits, worth every penny. I do music few times a week to make my rent.

When these kits are assembled (carefully), they're a nice piece of kit, they sound and play better than a ready built guitar at up to four or five the price, they look much better too, with all the fancy extras & trim.

I did the telecaster kit a while back, which almost fell together on my kitchen table. It looks sounds & plays so good, without problems or replacement parts at all.

This LP is every bit as good as the Telle I built. I prefer it to my real & genuine LP.. I like the natural wood finish straight from the box & use it just like that. It also plays (when my aged fingers allow) just as good as my original LP.

Then I messed with wiring from from online electric guitar sites & now have some sweet sounds from push, pull tone & volume knobs which swap pickup polarity &, or "cut" to single coil p'ups, my favorite sound is from all the pickups in series, all good fun when out with the band hitting the audience with "new, unheard" guitar sounds.

This particular LP kit was a little awkward, pickup screw holes did not line up, only needed re'drilling, also the wiring had an earth link missing, it all worked OK, but knowing there was more, I visited stewmac.com for some wicked wiring diagram ideas.

So don't screw the pickups down until you get the strings on so you can center the pickups using the strings as a guide, then screw them down.

This guitar kit now looks, plays & sounds great, although I do have a genuine Gibson LP guitar, the Gibson is very heavy compared with this HB kit guitar, apart from that there's little difference HB has a bolt on neck which I prefer, because it is easily adjustable, or replaceable. The Gibson has a integral neck which is neither easily adjustable or replaceable.

There is everything but a plectrum in the box. Do read the "setup" section in the book as this will help understand how all electric guitars need setting up regularly for sound and play'ability, although neither of mine needed much setting up at all.

A very important part of most LP's, genuine or not, is the NUT LUBRICANT, graphite or silicone grease. This stops the "usual" tuning problems associated with the Gibson shape (back angled) head stock.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport
gb Tradus automat (Arată originalul)
gbRecenzie originală (Arată traducerea)
Din păcate a intervenit o eroare. Vă rugăm încercați din nou mai târziu.
Total
Caracteristici
Sunet
Măiestrie
Single Cut Electric Guitar Kit
Ragged Rascal, 17.04.2019
I recently built one of these kits to add to a growing collection of self-builds and kit guitars. This was my first Harley Benton guitar kit and was influenced by reviews from this site.

The kit arrived very well packaged and protected from knocks. Upon opening I was pleased to see an instruction manual and all parts present.

Building was a simple process with all parts fitting beautifully. I was particularly impressed with the fit and finish of the neck. The only adjustment needed was to the nut height: easily achieved with careful sanding. Fret ends were neat and smooth and the action was perfect.

The electrics are perhaps the most complicated part of the build. Although the entire process is plug-&-play, the cables would benefit from colour coded connectors or tape to aid connecting for the less electrically astute.

The body finish on my kit was excellent with no filling needed, just a light sanding to give a surface ready for paint. I opted for the "Gold Top" style of finish using Rustoleum paints and am delighted with the results. The back of the body appears to be mahogany. I finished this with three coats of teak oil, applied with a clean lint-free cloth.

Overall I couldn't be happier with this kit. The parts are not the highest quality but are more than reasonable for the price and would be easy to upgrade at a later date. The instrument plays beautifully with a very low action and a very comfortable U shaped neck profile. The pickups sounds incredible for the price and respond well to volume changes, going from clean to nicely crunchy.

I highly recommend this kit either for beginners or more experienced players who want to build their first instrument.
De ajutor · De nici un ajutor · semnaleaza un abuz
Raportează evaluarea…

Consideraţi această evaluare inexacă sau inacceptabilă din anumite motive?

Trimitere raport

Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit Single Cut

111 € 540,72 RON
Include TVA plus 20 € transport

Prețul în RON este doar de ghidaj!

Disponibil imediat
Disponibil imediat

Acest articol este disponibil în stoc și se poate expedia imediat.

Informații despre livrare

Livrare aprox. între Luni, 30.11. și Marţi, 1.12.

Share produs
Persoane de Contact
telefon: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Ghiduri online
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
Ghiduri online
E-Guitars
E-Guitars
Electric guitars are ten a penny and nowadays there are at least as many models and makers to choose from.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
rezultatele testelor:
Recent vizionate Note
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

(1)
Recent vizionate Note
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recent vizionate Note
Roland TD-07KV V-Drum Set

Electric Drum Set TD-07 sound module, 25 Preset kits, 25 user kits and 143 instrument sounds, V-Edit, EQ, ambience and 30 multi-effects, Bluetooth, Internal metronome, Coaching function, USB for audio and MIDI, Includes cabling and power supply Set configuration:...

Recent vizionate Note
Behringer Modamp Module 1005

Behringer Modamp Module 1005; Eurorack module; Ringmodulator and VCA; 2 ignal inputs with level controls; MOD and UNMOD modes for selecting Ringmodulator or Amplifier operation; 2 adjustable CV outputs for controlling external Oscillators; Gate inputs to switch modulation modes; build-in...

(2)
Recent vizionate Note
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(1)
Recent vizionate Note
the t.bone SC 420 USB Silver Desktop-Set

Microphone Set USB studio large diaphragm microphone with USB connection for direct operation on the computer, No additional drivers required, Directional characteristic: cardioid, Frequency response: 30 - 18000 Hz, Sensitivity: 25 mV / Pa, Max. sound pressure level: 140...

Recent vizionate Note
Electro Harmonix Mainframe Bit Crusher

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Bit Crusher, Produces 80s-style lo-fi sounds reminiscent of early arcade games, home consoles and home computers, Reduces the sample rate from 48 kHz to 110 Hz, which leads to reduced audio quality...

Recent vizionate Note
Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED Bi

Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED BiLight with integrated rechargeable battery; perfect video and photo ring light with adjustable color temperature and countless mounting possibilities for tripods, mobile devices and cameras. Integrated rechargeable battery with USB power output to charge...

(4)
Recent vizionate Note
iZotope Tonal Balance Bundle CG 2

Plug-in Bundle Crossgrade from any paid-for iZotope-/Exponential audio product to Tonal Balance Bundle, Professional software tools for producing, mixing and mastering, Supported formats (64-bit): VST 2/VST3/AU/AAXnative/NCP, System requirements: Windows 7 (64-bit), Mac OSX 10.11.6 - 10.14.4, paid-for and registered...

Trimite feedback-ul tau
Feedback Ați găsit o greșeală și doriți să ne împărtășiți opinia despre această pagină?

Abia așteptăm să mai auzim de la dvs și să rezolvăm orice problemă.