Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit Single Cut

672 Oceny klientów:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 / 5.0
  • właściwości
  • dźwięk
  • wykończenie
Liczba pisemnych ocen 73
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Far better than I expected
jianwhite, 12.04.2017
I purchased this kit, as I wanted an LP style guitar for the tone produced for recording some backing tracks, but had a limited budget. The result really surprised me. The veneer on the body is thin, so use minimum pressure when sanding. The finish is amazing. I am into natural finishes and so after a light sanding, just used thin clear varnish applied with a cloth. The result is quite stunning. A natural butterscotch with a light catching grain. It literally reflects light on stage in places.

The electrics are wrong. If left unchanged, the tone pots do not work. Five minutes with a soldering iron chnging one wire on each tone pot to the correct lug cured the problem. The cure is detailed on several reviews, so I won't bore you with repeating it hear. Once done, the volume and tone controls work very well indeed.

The back of the neck, I left as it came. The fine smooth varnish finish is perfect to play.

The only other problem was the nut. It came with the high E slot cut too near the edge. A replacement for under 2 euros cured the problem and allowed me to file it to the ideal depth.

The Frets were surpisingly good. After fitting the new nut, I set the neck to Gibson Les Paul specs and it plays perfectly. No buzz, surpringly low action. Can't ask for more.

The pickups are very acceptable, producing the rich creamy sound I was specifically after on the neck pickup, with the tone pot turned fairly down and very capable of the typical LP scream on teh bridge pick up if required. Sustain is amazing. In my opinion, a far superior performer to the Vintage/Revelation LP copies that cost 3 times the price.

The bridge is an obvious copy. Typical of a Chinese ebay replacement. I was lucky with mine, it works and I have left it on.

If I add the price of the nut and a set of D'addario 10's strings to replace the ones that came with it. I got the bargain of the century for under 100 Euros. I have played live, recorded 7 songs with this guitar and a professional performer (an ex-guitarist from Mott The Hoople) asked me if it was for sale. It isn't!

The wiring, bridge and the nut brought the quality rating down to Okay for the price. The rest is good.

So in short, if you want a good LP copy and are willing to spend 5 minutes resoldering, maybe a new nut and reasonable time setting up the neck carefully. go for it, you will not be disappointed. I reckon I would have to pay at least £500 to buy a ready made of equal playability. In fact, it has turned out to be a far superior performer to the Gibson Studio.

I have been as honest and detailed as I can. I hope this helps you.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Nice features, and some short-comings too
Johnny D, 22.07.2019
Harley Benton SC Guitar Kit.
This kit was purchased to review the quality, fit and finish of the Thomann HB kits, then to use the kit as a platform for and extreme modification project.

The kit arrived a few months ago, and has now been opened, reviewed and initial assembly completed.
Please keep in mind, this is a ± $92 US, guitar KIT, it is not a finished guitar and likely has a different QC process than does a finished guitar.
A few examples of QC would be attention to the fret ends, the fit of the neck plate, potential electronic wiring issues, and some discrepancies in the parts bags.

NECK & BODY:
In general, the body and neck are very well made for a "semi-raw" wood kit. The body has an initial sealer coating applied, it is a clear coating only to control the wood fibers slightly. It is not a filler, nor level coating, just a sealer of some sort.
The neck is coated with a satin finish, but is far more refined than the body. The neck could be used as delivered on a completed guitar. The body is rather rough, and should be refined through sanding and other sealer and finish methods.
The dual-action truss rod works well.

FRETBOARD & FRETS:
The fretboard and inlays look good and well manufactured, however it appears a final sanding set was skipped. The fretboard has a slight coarseness to the feel, like the final sanding was done with 100 grit material. The frets are reasonably well set, and this is the first HB guitar that I have seen some sort of glue used with the frets. The fret ends should be addressed before doing any assembly work on this kit, as the guitar I received will slice your hands to pieces. The jagged fret ends are everywhere, nearly every fret. The fret wire will also need to be cleaned, and polished. There is some fine gritty coating on the wire, with fretted notes or bends this coating, or film, will be evident.
When the frets are leveled, crowned and polished this issue will be moot.

TUNERS:
These are rather low quality items. The only reason I say this is because at least one of the 6 in my kit are bad. In general the others function well, there is some slop in the string post, but otherwise the tuning button shaft works well, except for that 1 tuner. The one bad tuner is bound up and will barely turn. I will be replacing the entire set of tuners.

PICKUPS:
The pickups are wax potted, and marked N, for neck, and B for bridge.
Both pickups have single, two wire leads which include the plug ends. The Neck pickup has a "white" sheathed lead, and the Bridge has a "black sheathed lead (on my kit). The Electronics have matching coloring - so it should go together intuitively - It should.

ELECTRONICS:
The supplied switch has a good positive feel and is prepped with Plug-n-play connectors. Of course the plug-n-play feature fails as the kit can easily be connected incorrectly. So, some shuffling of connectors may be required. This kit is likely intended for someone who may not have soldering equipment, and the presumed "ease" of plugging components together will likely help sales. I expect some purchasers to experience frustration if they connect the switch leads in the wrong pairing - they may get NO sound…
The pots volume and tone all function as they should, and once I swapped a couple connectors all components worked properly.
The wiring feeds easily threw the routed passages in the body. There is ample wire length on each component. In fact, there is almost too much wire included.

BRIDGE & STOP TAIL:
These are typical low cost TOM style bridge components. The quality is average, and some "repair" may be needed on the bridge. My bridge had an issue with the retainer springs that hold the saddle screws in place. 2 of the 4 springs needed to be removed, slightly bent to improve tension, and reassembled. Not a big deal, but the bridge would be a serious issue without this adjustment/repair.
This is not the first HB TOM bridge that I've had to adjust in this way, it seems to be a rather typical issue, but easily resolved.

VARIOUS HARDWARE & COMPONENTS:
As the kit comes, there are a few little bags containing all the bits and pieces. You should do an inventory of all the screws, washers and parts that you receive in the kit before beginning assembly. My kit arrived a couple washers short, but has a few extra trim screws.

FLAW:
Even for a $92 US kit, the biggest flaw I can't overlook is the poor fit of the neck mounting plate. At a glance it looks nice and appears to be contoured to match the cut of the body, but that is NOT the case.
It seems like it is the wrong neck plate for this guitar. The holes all align with the body and neck, the screws all seat properly, but the end of the plate doesn't follow the body shape. The neck plate protrudes beyond the body contour slightly, but obviously wrong.
Perhaps Thomann/Harley Benton changed a template at one time and this was overlooked, or the Mfg just shipped the wrong part, I don't know.
It works, but looks - wrong.

TAKEAWAY:
The overall collection of "parts" is pretty good, there are some flaws in the bits and pieces, but this is an affordable/ cheap kit. It is honestly better than any kit I've worked on at slightly higher prices. So, I have to give Thomann and HB credit for a good attempt, it's almost right.
This may not be a great kit for someone with NO tools or troubleshooting ability, but it can be turned into a decent guitar. It will just take some work.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Great Kit, just reporting...
Matias M., 26.05.2015
Here's the final result and description of the process:

>
>
Unfortunately, the front pliers were kinda ugly...not a nice top as in the picture. That said the end results came out awesome.

If you plan to stain the wood as I did, be aware that the wood sealer will be a PAIN to sand down. (would be better if they provided kits without any sealer) ..is specially difficult on the sides.

Overall, after sanding the wood has responded nicely to the dye, no problems at all with that. Went for Turquoise on the front and Red on the back, quite nice!

The neck is quite good! thin and the wood is quite robust. The hardware is also good, but I'm replacing the tuners with Grovers.

The bridge, well...really not the best, you can see is gonna catch the string after a bend....so I'm replacing it with a Göldo roller bridge. Be aware that the Göldo comes with smaller studs, so you'll need to redrill or fill the gap with something (I'm gonna use bits from a hose from a talkbox, it works perfectly)

I'm right now in the lacking process, so I cannot review the sound yet....I expect it to be more or less like my vintage Harley Benton which sounds lovely.

UPDATE:

I just finished the project.

Some tips:

- The nut comes REAL high! I suggest you to get a ruler and measure your best set guitar, take the nut out of the neck of this kit and carefully sand it down until is right...DONT TOUCH THE SLOTS they're perfect, is only the nut that is pretty high...otherwise you'll have intonation problems mostly on the first fret.

Hell, is almost impossible to properly play a bar chord at the first fret if you don't do that, after the nut is lowered the guitar plays like heaven.

- Try to avoid using the tuners and bridge that comes with it. They're simply not the best (good but there are better). Get a Göldo roller bridge and some Grover mini tuners.

- Use a piece of guitar string to be able to easily pass the cables that goes from the control cavity to the switch cavity.

- Don't forget to ground the electronics to the strings via the ground cable that goes to the bridge stud.

- Mark the cables before unplugging the switch. If you get lost install it all and plug the guitar then use a piece of metal (rounded small wrench works) and carefully tap the pickups to know whats going on until is right.

- Don't forget to lub the nut with graphite.

UPDATE: I've installed a locking nut and a Schaller stoptail with microtuners. Best decision ever!

UPDATE 2: Changed the original pickups which are very dull to a pair of Seymour Duncan hot rodded kit. They sound awesome.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Very good project guitar
Jrdragonetti, 24.05.2019
Ok, so, I should probably disclose that I was already planning on heavily modifying this guitar kit before I bought it, so some things may or may not be applicable.

Build quality - this was pretty much perfect, the neck fit perfectly, string alignment was spot on, scale length and intonation was excellent. Basically, if this is your first kit, all the hardest bits were already done.

Frets needed minimal work, sharp edges needed filing, a minor leveling/crowning job and I was more than happy.

The guitar actually has a top, not a veneer, so after plenty of sanding to remove the sanding sealer that it has applied at the factory, I had no problems with the top peeling off the body like on other kit guitars. Whilst the guitar I received didn't have remarkable grain patterns, aside from a minor flame on the neck, it is pleasing enough to look at. The body itself had quite a few marks from the factory (saw marks and little bits of minor tearout) nothing was unfixable with patience and a lot of sanding.

Binding was expertly applied, no gaps on the body or fretboard, though I ended up modifying and carving extra bits, so its not there on my finished guitar.

I cant say much about the included hardware as this isn't my first guitar kit, and I already had plans to replace every bit of it, so very little actually ended up on my finished guitar.
All I can really say, is that I had issues with the included stop tailpiece with the posts being different sizes, though I would put that down to QA making a very rare minor mistake, it was good enough for me to check the string alignment, but replacement was necessary before I finished the build.

I cant comment on the electronics, I never used them, though I would probably say if you *are* going to use them, consider soldering instead of the push fit connectors as they looked cheap.

In summary, this is a fantastic kit, giving you the perfect foundation for an excellent quality guitar, especially considering the price.

Be prepared to do a lot of sanding, assemble it before applying finish so you get an idea on what you need to fix during the build. And most importantly, enjoy yourself whilst building it and take your time.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
A Les Paul that lacked quality control
t?gerunner , 25.12.2018
The price dictates the overall quality of this instrument, and that is why all of the problems it came with shouldn't be an issue, but potential new clients should know about these possible problems.

At a first glance, everything seemed ok out of the box.
3 or 4 piece body, with 2 piece neck with a roseacer fretboard (ugly and cheap substitute for rosewood)

The hardware is basic mass produced of cheapest and lowest quality possible, tuners feeling pretty decent for the price.

However after trying a test for playability (neck mounted, bridge, tailpiece, tuners and strings) a big problem arised.
The factory process of sanding the top has been made incorrectly, the convex part of the body top was offset to the overall placement of the strings, bridge and tailpiece. This made the bushings for the bridge and tailpiece be on a different height to each other making setup a bit difficult and look awkward aesthetically.

Playability however isn't such a big issue and most of people can overlook this issue. The frets felt very rough when sliding the strings across them, should need a polish before assembling the guitar.
The neck had a shim glued to the underside of the neck joint, to lift it up to Les Paul style playability (making the neck to stay at an angle). The wood used to make the shim was of
a different type, and could be very visible even to the uninitiated.

Overall, going by the popular saying "you get what you pay for" is very true in this particular case.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Great guitar, BUT.
Peter R. 438, 15.01.2014
I really love these guitar kits, worth every penny. I do music few times a week to make my rent.

When these kits are assembled (carefully), they're a nice piece of kit, they sound and play better than a ready built guitar at up to four or five the price, they look much better too, with all the fancy extras & trim.

I did the telecaster kit a while back, which almost fell together on my kitchen table. It looks sounds & plays so good, without problems or replacement parts at all.

This LP is every bit as good as the Telle I built. I prefer it to my real & genuine LP.. I like the natural wood finish straight from the box & use it just like that. It also plays (when my aged fingers allow) just as good as my original LP.

Then I messed with wiring from from online electric guitar sites & now have some sweet sounds from push, pull tone & volume knobs which swap pickup polarity &, or "cut" to single coil p'ups, my favorite sound is from all the pickups in series, all good fun when out with the band hitting the audience with "new, unheard" guitar sounds.

This particular LP kit was a little awkward, pickup screw holes did not line up, only needed re'drilling, also the wiring had an earth link missing, it all worked OK, but knowing there was more, I visited stewmac.com for some wicked wiring diagram ideas.

So don't screw the pickups down until you get the strings on so you can center the pickups using the strings as a guide, then screw them down.

This guitar kit now looks, plays & sounds great, although I do have a genuine Gibson LP guitar, the Gibson is very heavy compared with this HB kit guitar, apart from that there's little difference HB has a bolt on neck which I prefer, because it is easily adjustable, or replaceable. The Gibson has a integral neck which is neither easily adjustable or replaceable.

There is everything but a plectrum in the box. Do read the "setup" section in the book as this will help understand how all electric guitars need setting up regularly for sound and play'ability, although neither of mine needed much setting up at all.

A very important part of most LP's, genuine or not, is the NUT LUBRICANT, graphite or silicone grease. This stops the "usual" tuning problems associated with the Gibson shape (back angled) head stock.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
First time build and WOW!
Tom C.Grey , 02.09.2019
I've been playing guitar 18 years now and was always dreaming about to made a guitar myself but since I don't have working space neither tools for that kinda craft,I was looking for some D.I.Y G. kit. Ladies and gentlemen this is what you want, very good fast neck with no flaws, body is kinda soft wood and forget about it to do any stains it's not worthy just put one color, Gold Top like I did and you will have a beauty. This kit is gonna get you satisfaction of a mother, like you deliver a baby, ha ha I know it,s sounds crazy but you'll be proud guitar parent and everyone will be blown away with your skills, like" you really assemble this guitar" they will say. It's pretty much easy job, you can do any modification later if you wish, like I did with pickups and man, this guitar is a beauty and the beast, it sings and growls. I love it. Thomann is the best, very fast delivery, tracking updated (thanks for the small gift). I'm making new shopping list already, found myself a new shop for buying gear, yeah baby, groovy yeah!
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Fantastic value for money
John8954, 06.08.2015
Building this guitar was very straightforward. The instructions came in both English and German (which is ideal as my native tongue is English but I live in Austria) and were easy to follow.

All the holes were in the right places, all the components were there, and the wood was more interesting than I had expected for a guitar of this price. A minor complaint is that there were a couple of areas where I guess glue residue was left on the body which required lots of sanding before the wood would take a stain.

A second minor problem is that the bridge is very slightly out of position, so the intonation is not perfect even with all of the saddles at their longest extent. While setting the guitar up I compared the setup with my 1997 Les Paul Studio, only to discover that the intonation on the Harley Benton is better than on my Les Paul, which had been serviced recently by a professional!

I've just spent an hour swapping between this guitar and my Les Paul, playing through an amp with moderate gain and reverb but no effects. Can I tell the difference? Yes, but in terms of sound the Harley Benton is different - not necessarily worse. I'm pleasantly surprised at how nice the pickups sound. In terms of playability the real Les Paul wins, but I'm sure that as I play the new guitar, replace the cheap strings that come with it and work on the action - it will improve a lot.

Overall, a fun project to work on with a few minor hiccups along the way and a great end result. Bottom line is that you get a Les Paul style guitar for under EUR100, and lots os satisfaction - what's not to like?!
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Quite disappointed with this (second) kit... :(
06.10.2014
Well, this is in fact my second HB guitar kit. I first purchased the T-style kit, which was quite acceptable. With some upgrades (better pickups and pots, and good strings), it could in fact be a better guitar than my cheap Strat that costs 4 times that price... I know you only get what you pay for, but I'm quite happy with what I got with the T-style kit: a playable guitar that sounds good "as is" and can be upgraded later.
But this LP-style kit is really disappointing ! The electronics is awfull, the pots are "ON/OFF" style and the wiring is completely wrong in the box. The neck is awfull too: some frets raising above the others (not compl. set down in the cut), generating a terrible buzzing sound (especially on the lower E string on my kit), and the nut is so high that it's quite impossible to play open chords because of an incredibly high action at the end of the neck. As I said, "you only get what you pay for", but this time, I feel like I paid too much for an unusable kit... :(

Well, I'm a handyman, and a bit stubborn too... I already solved some of the wiring problems (pickup switch) and will have to re-solder some good pots, but I'll try first to solve the neck problems, which could be a lot more tricky...
If the final result is not playable, this guitar will end up with a paint job on the wall... but that was not my first intention. :(
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
No Gibbo, but for 80 Euros!!! WOWWWW!!!
JoeHarpo, 16.03.2018
3rd attempt at DIY guitar building.
And THIRD TIME LUCKY!.....This was my masterpiece.
I turned this piece of wood and bits of metal and wire into a beautiful, LP GoldTop copy, and it is a BEAUTY.
Just ask my friends! :-)
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Custom Project Starting Point, A1.
mddwoody, 22.02.2014
The: Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit LP-Style; is one of a range of Classic & Iconic Electric Guitar & Bass Guitar Styles that come disassembled, & delivered, with all the parts flat-packed & ready for you to do a D.I.Y. self-assembly job of your guitar. You might ask why assemble a guitar yourself when you can buy a reasonably good assembled one for a reasonable price?. Well my reason! My son was learning to play the guitar. I can't play the guitar, I've tried but I just can't get it together. I play the ukulele, not very good but I know which end to hold & which hand to strum the strings with. My main hobby & passion is woodcarving & marquetry. I thought if I can't help teach him to play the guitar could I make one for him?. "A-One-of-a-Kind. If you buy an assembled guitar, to carve it you have to take it apart. Surfing the net I came across these kits Thomann sell at a very competitive price a complete guitar in effect already stripped down to its constituent parts. The Pickups, pots, selector switch & jack, all already soldered & wired, ready to feed through the routed body & when in place, simple snap connectors to join the loom together. The Neck just requiring the machine heads fitting & then it's ready to bolt into the neck pocket. I need say no more than it would be perfect. I carved a flower around where each control knob & the selector switch plate would be, & leaves scrolling around the top face. On the back face I carved a series of leaves & flowers over most of the surface & fitted an ornate metal cross onto a part I had left uncarved. Around the edges I carved the words "Faith, Hope & Love" & "Faith, Hope & Charity". I then sprayed the body metallic blue. I fitted a set of chrome machine heads with tulip buttons instead of the ones that came with it. I replaced the pickgard, control cover & selector switch cover with blue marble effect celluloid ones & a silver metal filigree treble tone plate, a chrome switch tip, & a set of white volume & tone top hat reflector knobs. To finish it off I had a family name we made up engraved Gibson style on a bell shaped truss rod cover & on a plate to go on the top as maker & fitted a used Gibson logo strap. Both myself & my son are quite pleased with the end result. Even if you don't try to do any carving, these kits make a great project starting point for you to swap the standard parts, pieces & fittings & even electrics, to make your "Own, Unique, One-of-a-Kind Instrument". Could anyone assemble one?. Well there are pitfalls & I've had a few problems with this & subsequent kits I've assembled from the range, but I think that most people with a basic DIY & guitar knowledge, The very helpful Thoman Customer Service, & access to the internet would enjoy taking on one of these Harley Benton Guitar Kits. As I said I'm no guitar technical expert, so when it comes to guitar sound so I've only given it 3 stars on this point, but it sounds great when my son plays it. The bridge, truss rod & intonation all seem to fine tune well for a good playing action. All in all, for value for money, & as a custom project base I've given it a Very Good. "Rock On".
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Love building these kits!
28.10.2015
Having built the Tstyle kit recently I caught the bug and fancied a go at the LP as they are such a lovely looking instrument. This one was also promptly delivered and well packed. The body was far better finished than the Tstyle and came up beautifully with Pelham blue on the front and butterscotch tinted lacquer on the sides and back. The neck joint needed a bit of work to get a snug fit. It was just a touch too tight but a simple task just to ease the fit with a chisel. As others have reported the volume pots are wired incorrectly. It's a simple job to remove the red wires from the pick ups from the centre connection on the pots and resolder to the left hand connection. The nut was also a bit high for my liking but was easily removed and the base carefully filed to improve the action. It's worth taking the time to trial fit the pickups, they are different as you'll find out if you fit one in the wrong place! The instructions are ok but don't go into great detail, you will need to be able to work done things out for yourself. Now, don't let any of the above put you off, there's nothing that will cause a serious oroblem, it's really quite simple to put the kit together if you're aware if the above and can do a simple bit of soldering. The end result is a nice looking guitar that plays very well considering the price and has a nice sweet mellow sound or can certainly rock if that's your style. I'm well pleased with it and hope you get as much pleasure from yours as I have from mine!
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Single Cut Electric Guitar Kit
Ragged Rascal, 17.04.2019
I recently built one of these kits to add to a growing collection of self-builds and kit guitars. This was my first Harley Benton guitar kit and was influenced by reviews from this site.

The kit arrived very well packaged and protected from knocks. Upon opening I was pleased to see an instruction manual and all parts present.

Building was a simple process with all parts fitting beautifully. I was particularly impressed with the fit and finish of the neck. The only adjustment needed was to the nut height: easily achieved with careful sanding. Fret ends were neat and smooth and the action was perfect.

The electrics are perhaps the most complicated part of the build. Although the entire process is plug-&-play, the cables would benefit from colour coded connectors or tape to aid connecting for the less electrically astute.

The body finish on my kit was excellent with no filling needed, just a light sanding to give a surface ready for paint. I opted for the "Gold Top" style of finish using Rustoleum paints and am delighted with the results. The back of the body appears to be mahogany. I finished this with three coats of teak oil, applied with a clean lint-free cloth.

Overall I couldn't be happier with this kit. The parts are not the highest quality but are more than reasonable for the price and would be easy to upgrade at a later date. The instrument plays beautifully with a very low action and a very comfortable U shaped neck profile. The pickups sounds incredible for the price and respond well to volume changes, going from clean to nicely crunchy.

I highly recommend this kit either for beginners or more experienced players who want to build their first instrument.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Maybe the best kit for the price. Good quality.
MojiT0, 19.06.2018
The kit is from good quality and maybe is the best for its price. The body is from several parts but of good make and needs just some 600 or higher sandpaper sanding to be perfectly polished. There were some very small holes from some work-tool but they are easy to fill. I like that the neck is completely ready for use and has mat lac finish - it's comfortable for the left hand. I prefer it that way instead of the high gloss finished necks. You can leave it as is and paint/varnish only the body. It is already treated with sealer and easy to paint after light sanding. Maybe the hardware is what most people will change and that's what I did also. Especially for my needs I purchased hot-rail humbuckers and gotoh tailpice. Also I prefer complete rewiring with custom pots, knobs and switches. In general this is good quality kit - maybe the best for it's price.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
DIY with a lot less effort
13.05.2014
Ever wanted to make your own guitar? It's a lot of work, but this made is a hell of a lot easier.

Basically all you need to do is assemble all the parts. Painting should probably be done before assembly though :)

The parts are treated with a finish, so if you like the natural look, you're golden. Just assemble and rock on.

If you want to paint it I'd recommend sanding it first. Normal hobby paint (for wood use) will actually peel off if you strike it with anything until it's lacquered.

Also, the knobs are amber-ish in color while the plates are cream white (as seen in the picture), so make sure you've planned your build. Make sure your knobs, pickguard, pickup frames, jack plate, control plate, bridge and everything match ;)
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Does the job quite Well!
20.06.2016
The Thomann service is absolutely 5 stars, my parcel was dispatched and shipped on the next day. Five days later the parcel arrived. As if it wasn't that good packaging, that large big bite on the parcel would have destroyed everything inside. But I was lucky I think, thanks to Thomann packaging.
I use my kit guitar as practice and small family parties.
In terms of satisfaction building these kits, in my opinion is priceless. I stained and tru oiled mine. Although the stain did not go well on the sides (I tried three times sanding down the sides and re-applying stain), I don't care....it gives that vintage, aged look. I stained it mahogany on back, sides, neck and left it natural on front. I applied Tru Oil as a finish. The result....Absolutely awesome!
Cons: The tuners and the bridge are not as good, I will replace them with better quality others. The pickups although they do the job well, I'm planning to replace them too. The soldering on the knobs was a little bit wrong (making that on/off effect on volume), but thanks to some back and forth on youtube, it was fixed.
So, if I have to say it in five words: Worth it every spent penny!
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Good kit to start
Luker, 26.07.2019
I bought this kit as preparation to understand how to build a guitar. My goal was to restaure the old 1994 Fender Stratocaster made in Japan which was in terrible condition.
I learned a lot about wood , painting finish and electrical parts and the result of this kit was acceptable because the guitar made sounds and play good as entry level guitar.
The pickups are good and the starting finish too. I think you can really enjoy the result , make experience and then go to new project. I think I will buy a new kit for a telecaster very soon.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Not bad!
03.06.2015
I ordered this and a telecaster style kit at the same time. This one is a little more expensive than the telecaster kit, has quite a few more bits and is slightly more difficult to put together. At the same time it's also slightly easier to put together - the headstock is already shaped while with the telecaster kit it's a blank square that you need to saw into something nicer.

The body on this is actually pretty decent looking. I think it's 4 parts, the top looks to be another 3 parts. They've done a great job on the top, the parts match up fine and the grain looks nice. Mine has a pretty ugly join on the side, in the cut away, where a lot of filler or something has been used. It's not a prominent place though and I'm happy enough painting the sides in a solid colour.

The hardware is ok. The tuners aren't great (very sensitive), pickups are ok. The neck is fine, frets seem ok. The instructions aren't great and are at times quite vague but I managed to put this together fairly quickly.

I would say that while this is good for the price and a lot of fun it's never really going to be anything like a real les paul. Thomann are upfront about this being basswood and having a bolt on neck but it's worth remembering these are very un-les paul things, with a good paint job it could look a bit like one but it'll never really feel or sound much like one. That doesn't mean it can't be a great sounding and playing guitar though..

Conversely the fender type kits are a bit more authentic - fenders do have bolt on necks and there are basswood fenders out there.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
This guitar is truly great!
09.01.2017
I was so exited for this guitar to arrive and it did not disappoint. Harley Benton has come a long way from it's mediocre tendency a few years back. The sound is great. The pickups are much better than I expected (and they are great for pinch harmonics). I use this guitar now for gigs and busking. The only issue I had with it is that the neck was slightly twisted but it was an easy fix. It has a great range for lead and rhythm players. When I got it I was playing a lot of thrash metal with a metal muff pedal but without the pedal it is also great for rock. It has a beautiful natural finish. Originally since I had only seen photos on the website I was going to paint it but when I finally got my hands on it it was just too nice. The neck has an especially pretty pale finish on the back and is also the perfect thickness. Overall this is a very versatile guitar with a lot of range. I look forward to using this guitar for years to come.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Great kit and price, good fun to make too
Mark5957, 12.10.2014
I have enjoyed making this kit.

The instructions are pretty clear and precise.

Like all DIY kits, it requires a bit of thought before you steam in though, and I would personally recommend that you wire up the pick-ups, switch and jack to test it all works before you put it in the guitar, then dismantle it and fit accordingly.

May sound stupid, but I had a problem with the wiring (my mistake, not the kit) and had to adjust it with the wires in the body, it was a pain!!!

But then as it was my first DIY kit this may be my inexperience showing.

The neck is screw on, but I glued it as well for extra rigidity.

Some of the pre-drilled screw holes were slightly off (wiring and switch cover on the rear of the guitar, nothing that shows) but as the body is not rock hard, these were easily corrected.

The body and neck are great the sound is very good for a £70 guitar, I've played much worse that cost a lot more!!!!

It only really took about 30 mins to set up the action, and intonation and a small tweak on the neck (that's me being pedantic rather than a comment on the guitar quality) and then I was off playing.

It's quite light and has a real good feel.

I beeswaxed the body and neck rather than any other type of finish and it really has brought the grain of the wood out and it looks superb.

If you want to dabble in making a guitar, then this kit is real good value for money.

Do yourself a favour and just buy one of these kits, it's good fun and you get a nice guitar at the end of it too.....
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Great kit for the beginner builder
BFLP92, 19.09.2018
A great kit for the money. Cannot fault it. The wood and the components are indicative of a guitar twice or three times the price. Nothing but good things to say about Thomann customer care, they were very helpful in dealing with a small problem with the bridge that came with the kit, nothing major, but thanks to a few emails with Dorian the problem was quickly sorted out.
Definitely would recommend this kit to a friend 10/10
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
lp
21.05.2014
brilliant guitar brilliant finish first rate sound will be buying from you again brilliant all round looks and sounds like a fully made Les Paul brought to get back to ace frehley and kiss am very well pleased with this guitar first one i brought outstanding on delivery no problems at all fantastic
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
not good....
27.06.2014
i may have to deal with a defective piece but
BODY WOOD : outside surface was nice and smooth,but EVERY cavity was full of splinters...had to sand quite a lot to make it at least bearable...on the neck cavity there was some sort of hole,that was filled up with glue and wood chips and was not sanded down at all....
ELECTRONICS : way too much wire for one guitar....could barely fit it into the cavities...i liked the way they have made it so that you dont have to solder anything...but one of the wire broke on the soldered connection and i had to reconnect it with some more wire...overall not bad electronics.....
SCREWS : this was a nightmare....i had to re-drill almost EVERY screw hole....the pickup frames,the keys on the headstock....almost everything....
PLASTICS : they had a really cheap feel....but not bad....what bothered me was that the control cavity cover was not cut the right way and doesnt have a good fit....
NECK-BODY JOINT : i really dont know what to say about this.....since the guitar is a curved top,the fretboard should be parallel to the body's angle where they connect.....on mine they are not....i could really stick my finger under the strings and still not touch them....i have to fill the screw holes on the neck,make a new angles piece that will be stuck on the neck joint,and then re-join them...
OVERALL : if you dont mind having some real work to do besides a simple assembly its nice....otherwise its a bit too messy
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit Single Cut
Gn'R357, 29.01.2015
Very nice and affordable guitar kit, parts are well finished, mechanics are OK, and the final instrument is quite pleasant to the eyes. I cannot tell about its sound with the original pickups as these have been replaced by a couple of active EMG ones. The original strings have not been used but replaced by some D'Addario ones (EXL110). That combination of pickups/strings/body provided a good and powerful sound to my ears, but sound is very subjective to describe, it was ok for me.
For me, the main interest for such kit is the fact that this is the perfect occasion to learn about this instrument, how it works and get more experienced about fine tuning such as neck straightness, lowering action, adjusting intonation and pickup height. This is also a good learning process for some DIY works such as fret filing/polishing.
The action could be lowered at 1.5mm / 2.0mm at the 12th fret for the 1st and 6th strings respectively with no buzz, but this required slight filing of 2 frets.
Recommended stuff for those who wants to learn and willing to perform some DIY tasks, the final result is surprisingly good overall.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij
gb Tłumaczenie automatyczne (Pokaż oryginał)
gbOryginalna ocena (Pokaż tłumaczenia)
Wystąpił błąd. Proszę spróbować później.
Łącznie
właściwości
dźwięk
wykończenie
Nice product
zonek, 01.02.2019
For those who tend to scary to basswood (wich is the main body guitar in this case): they must know to Harley Benton use some species or may be a kind of special wood treatment which seems better than other competitors on the market. I use over time alot of basswood types , various brands and some of that proved poor quality wood. But I bought over the time some Harley Benton electric kits (including JB kit) and I was very pleasant.
So, in this case everything is better, except few holes are rather narrow (bridge and stoptail mount).
Tunners feel somewhat cheap but they can adjust by screw.
Pots are great, very smooth and efficient
Pickups are mid-hot outputs and surprising really matched with body-neck combinations so the sound tend to be closer to LP
More, you can personalise that guitar endless ways.
Przydatne · Nieprzydatne · Zgłoś nadużycie
Zgłoś nadużycie...

Czy ta opinia powinna zostać usunięta?

Wyślij

Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit Single Cut

98 € 419,03 zł
Zawiera podatek VAT, nie zawiera kosztów wysyłki 15 €

Cena w PLN podana jest w celach orientacyjnych

Przedmiot dostępny w magazynie w ciągu około tygodnia
Przedmiot dostępny w magazynie w ciągu około tygodnia

Produkt będzie za niedługo dostępny i natychmiastowo gotowy do wysyłk.

Informacje dotyczące wysyłki
Powiadom innych o tym produkcie
Twój asystent sprzedaży
gb
Tel: +49-9546-9223-20
Fax: +49-9546-9223-24
Poradniki online
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
Poradniki online
E-Guitars
E-Guitars
Electric guitars are ten a penny and nowadays there are at least as many models and makers to choose from.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Podsumowanie:
(7)
Ostatnio obejrzane
JBL Eon One Compact

Active 2-Way PA Speaker with Battery Operation Equipped with: 8" Woofer and 1" tweeter, Mobile battery speaker for concerts, school shows, conferences, church services, sporting events, presentations and parties, Excellent sound thanks to 2-way active concept and digital technology,...

(3)
Ostatnio obejrzane
MOTU M2

2-Channel USB C Audio Interface 24-Bit / 192 kHz AD/DA converter, 2 Microphone preamps with individually switchable +48 V phantom power on each one, 2 Line inputs: 6.3 mm XLR / Jack Combo (switchable to Hi-Z instrument input), 2...

Ostatnio obejrzane
Hercules DJ Learning Kit

DJ Set Consists of DJ Control Inpulse 200, HDP DJ45 headphones and DJ Monitor 32 speakers Features of DJ Control Inpulse 200: DJ controller with integrated USB audio interface, Control elements per deck: Jogwheel (90 mm),...

Ostatnio obejrzane
iZotope Music Production Suite 3

iZotope Music Production Suite 3 (ESD); plug-in bundle; extensive collection of software tools for music production, mixing and mastering; contains Ozone 9 Advanced, Tonal Balance Control, Neutron 3 Advanced, Nectar 3 incl. Celemony Melodyne Essential and RX 7 Breath Control,...

Ostatnio obejrzane
Teenage Engineering PO-137 rick & morty

Teenage Engineering PO-137 rick & morty; vocal synthesizer and sampler; integrated microphone for sampling; 120 seconds sampling time; 8 voice characters; 8 effects; parameter lock (2 parameters per sound); 16-step sequencer; 16 patterns; "Lock Tab" write protection for patterns; transpose...

Ostatnio obejrzane
DPA 4266-OC-F-F00-ME

DPA 4266-OC-F-F00-ME, d:fine CORE 4266 Omni Flex Headset Mic, Dual Earset Omni Tan two ear headset microphone, DPA 66 capsule of the famous DPA 4066 headset, omni-directional, 20 - 20.000 Hz, 144 dB SPL max, designed to fit easily and...

(4)
Ostatnio obejrzane
Yamaha THR10II

Modeling combo for E-Guitar 5 Memory/storage spaces, Realistic tube amp sounds en playing feel, With integrated effects, Bluetooth and USB, New amp-models for E-Guitar and bass, Microphone models for electric-acoustic guitars and flat voicings, 3 Amp-modi per amp-type: modern,...

(4)
Ostatnio obejrzane
Electro Harmonix Ram's Head Big Muff Fuzz

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Fuzz, A faithful reproduction of the popular 1973 V2 Violet Ram's Head Big Muff Pi sound, Controls: Volume, Tone, Sustain, True bypass, LED: Effect on, Footswitch: Effect bypass, Input: 6.3 mm jack,...

Ostatnio obejrzane
Harley Benton JB-20 BM Standard Series

Electric Bass Neck attachment: Bolt-on, Body: Poplar, Neck: Maple, Neck profile: Modern C-shape, Fretboard: Amaranth, Inlays: Dot, 20 Frets, Scale: 864 mm, Nut width: 38 mm, Double action truss rod, Pickups: 2 x JB-Style single coils, Electronics: 2 Volume...

Ostatnio obejrzane
TC-Helicon GO XLR MINI

USB 2.0 audio interface / mixer for Livestreamer 24 Bit / 48 kHz AD/DA converter, Integrated MIDAS preamplifier, Creates multiple virtual USB audio devices for most applications to, Change the volume of the applications independently of each other, Integrated...

Ostatnio obejrzane
XAOC Devices Hel

XAOC Devices Hel; Eurorack module; Polyphony Commander for Odessa oscillator (item 474296); control up to 5 voices of polyphony via individual CV inputs (1V/Oct.); powered via the main module; width: 3 HP

Ostatnio obejrzane
EBS MultiComp Blue Label

Effect pedal for electric bass Compressor, 3 Switchable compression modes: Tubesim, Multiband and Normal, Controls: Comp, Sens and Gain, 3-Way mode selector switch, True Bypass, Current consumption: 45 mA, Power supply via 9-18 V DC power supply unit (not...

Twoja opinia
Zgłoś błąd Zauważyles błąd i chciałbys nas o tym powiadomić?

Dziękujemy za Twoją wiadomość, zostanie ona przetworzona najszybciej jak to możliwe.