Customer center login

Yamaha YAS-280 Alto Sax

151 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • response
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Very good instrument
etc-etc, 08.04.2019
The saxophone arrived fine out-of-box except for the octave key which was riding a little high and in released position was about 1 mm above equal height with the thumb rest. All notes in standard range respond well, in tune and clear. Altissimo range is more easily accessible as high F# key is provided. The side C and Bb seem a little undervented. The G# pad sometimes sticks closed the next day after playing as it often does on other saxophones. The neck collar jaws are much improved from earlier versions - they are beefy enough to not bend shut when the neck screw is tightened (that was an issue on YAS-23 where the neck collar jaws were much thinner). The bell when looked on from player's side, while parallel to the main body, is facing somewhat to the left which appears to be a compact design feature, as all low stack keys respond and seal properly. All in all, a well made, sturdy and easy to play instrument.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Good qualty sax for your money
Michael C. 753, 21.07.2013
Bought this saxophone when I started to play I now have a Yanagisawa tenor but always go back to this little baby for my alto fix... it's very well put together sounds very nice for the price and is good value for money. It's lasted me a year now and I've never had any hassle with valves sticking or any other issue for that matter. Great saxophone for the learner or intermediate player or even beyond.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Perfect Sax with almost perfect add ons
Homers, 10.04.2021
You definitely can't go wrong with the Yamaha YAS 280 - aka the king of student saxophones. However, I can't understand why they don't include swabs. There is only one cloth for the exterior but nothing for the neck and interior of the body. You will have to order these seperately and should never play this fine instrument without them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Very satisfied, more than expected!
MajidM, 06.02.2021
I purchased Yamaha YAS-280 Set. I am new in saxophone and I want one day be able to play it in our church. I can say punctual delivery and the quality of instrument and accessories were more than I expected. Beside the saxophone itself, I saw the quality of accessories specially sax & music stands were better than I expected. For me this set really deserve 5 star.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Great for intermedium or beginer saxophone players!
Luís C., 13.06.2015
This was the first saxophone I bought and I love it. It is a great instrument, I like the feel, the gold, and the touch of the keys.
I know it is not the best saxophone in the world but it has a very good quality-price relation.
The sound is very good acording to the price I paid.
There was only one thing that I switched and that was the mouthpiece, the mouthpiece was a little too closed for me so I exchanged for a Yamaha 7C.
I also recomend the Rico jazz select 3S that go very well with this saxophone.
I have been using it in my auditions and it is being a great success, the sound is clear and everyone loves the music.
Overall you should buy this set, it helped me very much.
Thank you!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Wow
gnorff, 14.11.2019
Arrived fast and in perfect condition. Totally new to the saxohone, coming from the clarinet. After a first night wondering what I was doing, I fell in love with that instrument the next day. I don't know enough to judge it properly but it must definitely be good for beginners if it was that easy to start having fun with it. Can't wait to see what it will sound like after a few months
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Victoria
Vikky, 10.04.2018
My daughter is just learning to play, but she says that there is a BIG difference with the one alto sax we had before. It is soo much easier to play, it's lighter and the sound is soft and beautiful. Very happy with my purchase. Fast delivery. Thank you, Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
great piece of kit
serb, 14.01.2018
The instrument is a great choice not only or beginners but even for experienced players...I swapped the 4c mouthpiece with Otto Link mouthpiece tone edge 6 and the tone and response is great...the Thomann creative bundle I bought with tis sax is superb value for money...I just don't like the zipper on the sax case,I prefer a nice clasp,but I understand that this is entry level instrument from Yamaha...Well put together,miles ahead of Chinese instruments I played earlier..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Impressed by the quality !
hhpia, 28.09.2020
I have just started as a third instrument for me and I am very happy with the quality and sound of this instrument !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Quite satisfied so far
Paulo V, 09.06.2014
As a beginner sax player, I'm quite satisfied with the Yamaha YAS-280 saxophone so far. The sound is nice and the tuning is quite good (I play the piano and have very good ears). The only complaint I have is a sticking C# pad sometimes when I start playing, even though I swab the sax and dry all the pads every time after I play. It goes back to normal by just lifting it a bit manually, but it is a bit annoying having to do this often. Other than that, I have nothing to complain.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
GREAT!
Nadezda, 19.11.2015
Got one of these beautiful Saxes and I am in love with my Golden Baby and totally addicted to learning to play it to the best of my ability. I started playing Clarinet when I was 9 and love that too but always hankered after a Sax,well I am a very happy Man so thank You Yamaha :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Yamaha YAS-280 Alto Saxophone
Janefer, 01.02.2019
Saxophone bought for a children's music school.
We are very pleased with the instrument's sound and quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Great package for a beginner!
L''emiro, 06.04.2020
Fantastic Sax and a great package.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
As expected from Yamaha
05.03.2016
This Saxophone has really met my expectations even if the term "student" saxophone is on its brand it still can line up to the intermediate and pro saxes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Yamaha YAS-280 Alto Sax

€990
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24