Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner

12854 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.3 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • quality
Total
features
quality
handling
Fine for the price, not without issues.
Mofosir, 26.01.2020
Bought this mainly for home use, as I have a pedal tuner for other purposes.

Although it's very light, it does feel nice in the hand - the finish of the plastic is not glossy, rather satin like, almost rubbery, which definitely feels better than just cheapo plastic.
Operation is very straight forward - You hold the button for a second or so for it to turn on, and voila. It is chromatic, and it's both for guitar and for bass. Also, a very nice touch is the fact that there is a backlight , it's blue when You're out of tune, then the entire screen lights up green when You hit the pitch, so it's well suited for low light situations. So, thus far, all good.

The cons that I've stumbled upon are such - on guitars, that aren't exceptionally resonant, it doesn't really pick up the thinner strings all that well - it definitely works, and is usable, but it's not fast as sometimes it won't pick up the vibrations. I've tried it on strats, teles, les pauls, a couple of basses and a classical guitar, and it seems to jump around a fair bit on the strat, less so on the tele and LP, BUT seems to work outstandingly well with basses.
So, if You're buying this for home use, of maybe studio, it is fine - does it's job, sometimes hunts around. All of this is absolutely acceptable, especially considering the price point.
But if You're looking for something fast and responsive for, let's say, live situations, I'd opt for something that's faster/more accurate.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Useful and versatile
The Dragon Guitarist, 12.11.2020
Incredibly good money for value purchase.

I got this as part of the bundle of my first acoustic guitar and used it constantly ever since (> 6 months). You can use it for chords (useful when you start learning) or just tune your guitar strings. You can also tune bass, which is a nice extra (didn't use it for that, as I don't own a bass yet). The screen turns green when you hit the perfect pitch, which is a nice visual clue.

Be aware that this tuner must be clipped to the guitar in order to process sound. For an acoustic, clip it around the rosette, and for the electric, clip it to the headstock.

I know it's just common sense, but it makes so much of a difference to practice with your guitar always in tune.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner
03.10.2016
The "Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner" is one of the cheapest tuners you can buy, because of the low price you could be forgiven for thinking it's not going to much use but it's actually a pretty accurate and useful little tuner.
I usually tune with a BOSS TU-3 pedal tuner when I'm using on my pedal board but thought a little clip on tuner would be useful so that I could tune up without having to plug in and power up my pedal board for a quick practice session, the CTG-10 couldn't be handier for the job.
So far I have used it on my Fender Stratocasters, Fender Telecasters, Fender Mustang, Gibson Les Paul, Gibson SG, Gibson ES335, Epiphone Casino, Danelectro DC59 as well as my Gibson Hummingbird, Martin D28 and Art & Lutherie acoustics and the clip has accommodated all the different headstock shapes and thicknesses with ease.
The tuner is very simple and intuitive to use, a single button turns the unit on and off and the same button toggles between the three modes which are "guitar", "bass" and "chromatic".
To turn the tuner on the button needs to be held down for a couple of seconds so it won't be turned on accidentally in a gig bag or case.
The screen is easy to read and is bright enough to use in the dark but can be a little difficult to see it in daylight or under bright lights.
I have experimented using it along with my BOSS TU-3 and the results are pretty much the same.
It usually works as soon as it's clipped on and only very invasion ally do I need to reposition it to get it to work.
It's small enough that it can be left on the guitar when put away into a hard case and it's cheap enough that you can have one in every case.
All in all a very handy and capable little tuner, really very good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Beware of Expensive Imitations
Dr Bassman, 17.12.2019
*** Update: 12th Nov 2o2o ***
I stand by what I wrote in my earlier review with the exception of the final three words: End of, right?; cos it wasn't; the end of the matter, I mean. In fact, it never is when you're a contemporary musician. There is no end (other than...), just perpetual change.

Simply put, I quickly outgrew the need for a simple tuner as described below. I was now in the land of pedal boards and that means: Well, check out my review for the Boss TU-3 and you'll see what I mean... end of, right? - unlikely; very unlikely.

*** Original Review ***
A good friend of mine recently paid a small fortune for a very similar piece of kit. Don't get me wrong: It works well; it is fit for purpose; it assists with tuning a guitar; he is happy.

Now, I have seldom found myself in need of a tuner before, for one simple reason: Just like many other guitarists and bassists, I can tune a guitar or bass perfectly well by ear. I do concede that, on occasions, I would ask my keyboard player for a "middle C", just to make sure but, other than that; no, there was no justification for such an accessory; especially at the prices I was being quoted.

However, I now find myself playing bass in a band with a compliment of three relentlessly noisy guitarists. Therefore, rather than having to utter a continuous stream of expletive ridden edicts, telling them to shut up, so I can check my tuning, I decided to buy this little tuner.

And, like my friend, I am happy. Why?; because, despite costing a fraction of the price of certain expensive imitations, it also works well; it is also fit for purpose; it also assists with tuning a guitar, bass, etc., or any other of a huge range of musical instruments.

Simply put, there's no real excuse for not being able to tune your instrument, although I meet many who can't, allegedly. But, if you find yourself in circumstances similar to my own, beware of expensive imitations. It's a tuner! Pay a small ransom, should you so desire, but surely a fit for purpose, incredibly well priced option, such as the CTG-10 Clip Tuner is the best way to part with your hard earned cash. Of course, it's your call but, take my advice: if needs be, get yourself one of these little beauties. Easy to use and great value. End of, right?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
It's good
JakaTeka, 09.12.2020
It is great, especially for the price. I have not had any experience with any of the high-end headstock tuners though.

Of course, it is not as fast as a tuner pedal, but I just always keep it on my 6 string bass, for the times I don't have my pedal with me. And yes, it tracks the low B string just fine. Although, on guitar it performs noticeably faster, but that's expected, as the lower frequencies of the bass are harder to tune anyways.

Would definitely recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Looks cool, but that's all
Gwohawin, 13.04.2021
I was using apps for tuning my bass and it doesn't work properly when there's external noise, so i thought this kind of a product would make my life easier, i was so wrong :/ This bad boy can't tell the difference between an e1 and an a2 with litreally no external sound(in a soundproof studio, and i was muting the other strings yes). it looks cool tho, and in this price i can't argue, but if you need a proper tuner, you should get one that you plug your guitar into.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Does the job
kostas_v, 25.04.2018
I was looking for a cheap tuner for my guitar, and I stumbled upon this one. I already had a tuner pedal, but I wanted one that could be more accessible. Also, I could use this one on my acoustics.

For the price, I really cannot have any complaints about this tuner. It has 3 settings, Guitar, Bass and Chromatic, so it covers pretty much all the areas I was looking for. It is quite accurate, even compared to my Korg Pitchblack pedal. The display is bright enough so you can easily see it in the dark, really helpful for live performances. I've been using it for about two years and the battery still goes strong.

Compared to previous tuners of the same price range I've used, this one, while not amazing, is probably the most responsive one. It does have some issues though, there are times where it takes a while to register a note you play, so you have to wait a bit for it to "reset". Also, while the build quality voerall is fine, it does have a cheap plastic look.

Overall, for its price, I cannot reccomend this tuner enough. I've used it for two years and it hasn't let me down yet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
rd20143195, 14.04.2021
Has rubber at the part where it catches the headstock.
Blue letters turn green when in tune.
Comes along with a small round battery.
Gets confused if more than a string rings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Works as expected
PeaceT, 14.04.2021
Nice and cheap tool for both acoustic and electric guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Passable but frustrating to use
MrPowell, 27.08.2020
Pros: Accurate. It will get you in tune.
The light up feature when you are in tune is nice.

Cons: It struggles to find what note you are on. Sometimes it will get lucky and pick out the right note the first time. All too often it will flounder on what note you're playing. For example, I might sit on the B string and it will tell me I'm sharp for the A string, then flat for the D string before telling me how to tune for B, without me changing anything for that string at all.
It doesn't have access to the full chromatic scale. It will only tell you if you are on one of the standard tuning notes. It tries to tell you if it's Bass or Guitar tuning, but does a laughable job at figuring that out.

All in all, it is functional, but frustrating to use,
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Great little gadget
Heppy, 01.10.2020
This clip tuner was a lot smaller than I was expecting it to be and underwhelming on first impression but when you switch it on there are a number of functions built in. I used it to tune guitar. display shows note and string number and display changes to green when in tune.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Decent not great
robgar, 21.02.2021
Its a cheap tuner, that does what its supposed to do.
not quite as accurate as some others, but once Tuned with it, checking with a more accurate tuner such as a Korg, shows it to be within reasonable rates 1 - 2 cents off, which your ear probably cant hear, anyway.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Feels cheap
Anh Tu Tran, 19.03.2021
I would not recommend this Tuner for a classical guitar. It is everything but accurate. Frustrating and completely useless.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Cheap and accurate tuner
feathery, 02.04.2021
Small, nice to carry in pocket. Very accurate, but not too fast.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Useful
L Louis, 11.12.2019
Simple and useful to the maximum, decent looking - nothing over the top or excessively big in size; clear bright enough screen which lights up green when you're in tune; takes a bit to reset back but nothing too bad; then easy functionality for switching on/off and switching between the three modes provided. Does its job; and a well priced product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Very nice product
Aykhan, 10.03.2021
I liked it very much
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Ok for general purpose
Verner Gusmao, 09.02.2021
not very precise, but does the job for any Robie musician
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Has its issues
OzanG, 17.08.2020
I've been using this for some time now, and i have two of them. I use it on both nylon acoustic, and my electric guitars. It does it's job.

Main issue with this little tool is that the battery has loose contact with the power pins. I have to put some thick paper in the battery compartment to make it work properly. Also you have to attach it to the instrument really carefully (trial and error) otherwise it fails to detect the sound.

Otherwise, it is cheap and really easy to use. Has auto switch off feature which helps me a lot (I always forget to manually switch off). You can use it as a chromatic tuner or also guides user to do standard tuning.

I'm happy with the device except the battery contact issue.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
The battery compartment sucks
R Martinez, 27.09.2020
FIrst there is this little tape or whatever, then when you put in the battery that it comes with CR 2032, it fits correctly, however the battery door that comes off to access the battery compartment is not tight enough, the connection of the battery to the terminal doesn't work correctly, and I ordered 2 of these, both the same loose door. Since the door doesn't push down enough to make a secure tight connection, you are unable to turn the tuner on, but when it does work, it works well, its just not as high quality as a Snark because of the battery door
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Tom from the block, 20.11.2020
I bought some of these tuners for my students and one for myself.

Pros:
Price is tempting.
It does the job.
Tuner feels heavy and sturdy.

Cons:
After some time of use some of these tuners just didn't work properly. Screen started to flicker and tuning accuracy was not good.

Worth the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Super pratique !
vikingbis, 09.11.2019
Ce tuner fait exactement ce que j'espérais.Ce n'est sans doute pas le top du top mais c'est extremement pratique.Une fois clippé sur la tete de ma guitare, je peux l'oublier..Je l'utilise pour toutes mes guitares: classique,électrique,folk..Très léger,précis ( peut-etre pas toujours fiable mais alors ,il suffit de recommencer..) il fonctionne grace à une petite pile offerte ( appréciable !).Très bien conçu (chromatique,guitare et basse), son usage est des plus simple. Sa durée de vie ne sera peut-etre pas très longue (plastique etc.) mais, à ce prix, ça ira !Seul défaut : le placement de la pile qui ne tient pas bien..Sinon, je le conseille .
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Can be bought
Omer Guven, 28.10.2020
I used this tuner with my acoustic guitar, electric guitar and bass guitar, I realised I was out of tune with all of them. Precision is valuable, If you are starter, amateur or a hobbyist You should buy a tuner. and this tuner can satisfy your needs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Worse than I expected
GodotWaits, 08.07.2020
Clip on tuners are quite inaccurate to begin with, but this is the worst one I've owned. Comparing to other tuners, when reading the guitar is in tune, they will still be out by a few cents either way.

If you're restringing or moving to a different tuning it may be helpful to get you most of the way but you will be left with your ears or another tuner to get it the rest of the way (should really use ears anyway folks, it will improve your listening capabilities!). However when you need a tuner for a performance to an audience greater than that of home, tuners are essential and I just cannot recommend this product. Sorry Thomann, I love you but not this ♥
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Thomann CTG-10 Sintonizador
laglok, 30.11.2020
I just have to thank you, I've never seen an instrument store as amazing as it is thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Good for the money.
gojoe2, 24.10.2020
I use this on the back of my strat headstock. tilted up at an angle. I have not had a problem with it in one year and the battery is still going strong. no problems. Does the job and good price.
Pros: price
Cons: none
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner

€4.99
Including VAT; Excluding €15 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
MOTU UltraLite mk5

USB 2.0 Audio Interface With USB C connector, ESS Sabre32 Ultra DAC technology, 24 Bit / 44.1 - 192 kHz, Precise level meters for all analogue inputs/outputs with high-resolution OLED display, 2 Microphone / line / Hi-Z inputs via…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer S&H / Random Voltage 1036

Behringer S&H / Random Voltage 1036; Eurorack module; dual Sample & Hold /Random Voltage; internal clock adjustable from 0.03 - 300Hz; manual sample button; clock FM input with attenuator; signal input with attenuator; internal random generator with attenuator; channel A…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine, transmitter(battery) can be charged via the usb-port of the amp, great…

Recently Viewed
Fender FA-15 3/4 Acoustic Steelguitar

Fender FA-15 3/4 Acoustic Steel Guitar; Acoustic Steel Guitar, 3/4 Size; Laminated Agathis Top; X-Bracing; Sapele Back and Sides; Neck Nato; C-Shape; Fretboard and Bridge Walnut; 18 Frets; nut width 1.69" (43 mm); Finish Natural; incl. Gig Bag

4
(4)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Pro 5.8Ghz Instrument

Harley Benton AirBorne 5.8Ghz Pro Instrument, 5,8GHz digital wireless instrument system; suitable for all instruments with 6,35mm audio jack; plug-n-play transmitter & receiver; 5,8GHz band (5.729~5.820GHz); 24 bit/48KHz; 4 channels; transmission range up to 35 meter; latency 5,6ms; battery…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Doepfer A-138n VE

Doepfer A-138n VE; Eurorack module; Vintage Edition with black front panel; compact 4-channel mixer; works for CV and audio signals; level control per channel; 4x signal input; 2x mix output; power consumption: 10mA (+12V) / 10mA (-12V); width: 4 HP;…

Recently Viewed
Solid Gold FX Imperial MKII Fuzz

Solid Gold FX Imperial MKII Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Gated-Fuzz pedal, based on the vintage JEN Jumbo Fuzz; retro-themed design with sliders; preamp built around a modern J-FET circuit, for enhanced clarity and response; Controls: Vol, Tone, Contour,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.