Customer center login

RME Fireface UC

265 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solved problems with audio drop outs in Ableton Live
Stef Go, 05.02.2019
If you're experiencing audio drop outs in LIve, inspite of using a decently new laptop with Windows10 installed, this may solve your problems.

I used to own a Steinberg UR22 which did me good services for many years on a Win8 system. Then i recently replaced that 5 yr.old latop with a new laptop, Intel i7 8th generation and 16 MB RAM running withWin10 - which i assumed would speed everything up and be even more stable than my old system. But, lo and behold, i started experiencing audio drop outs with my UR22!

At first i assumed it's just a one-off glitch. BUt it was systematic, even on low CPU usage (<10%) i kept experiencing drop outs.
So i got frustrated enough to want to do something about it,.
I spent a full day reading through many many forums where other users reported similar problems, watched a dozen Youtube videos on how to tweak my system, tried different USB ports, installed LAtencyMon and DPC Latency Checker, changed power settings, tweaked my system in just about every way i could imagine, de-activated NVIDIA, Bluetooth, WLAN drivers etc. but still the problems persisted.

I had read somewhere that this RME Fireface soundcard had great latency performance. Didn't think that alone would solve my problems with audio drop outs because the USB data transfer seemed to be interrupted on the UR22 even at higher buffer size settings like 512 samples.

But then i read somewhere that the folks over at RME didn't just build their interface to work on normal Asio USB communication script, but re-wrote the USB driver script altogether. Data packages are not sent continously but rather in sequential "parcels". This seems to be the magic trick, to me at least. No interruptions in data transmission, so it appears : )

I've used this interface for 1 week now and have NOT HAD A SINGLE audio drop out.
Very very happy. : ) :)
Coincidentally, the system is so stable now, i don't have to deactivate half of Win10 settings in device manager which was just a complete drag to have to do every time before opening Live, according to friendly advice from otehr users.

If you're frustrated with audio drop outs in your DAW, give this a try. I cannot guarantee anything, but it certainly did the magic for me. Just wanted to let you know...!
-----

PS The software "RME TotalMix" that comes with the Interface is not too complicated to learn (I'm a novice and fairly apprehensive when things get too technical, but i was still able to wrap my head around how this works in 30 minutes); there a couple of instructional videos on the web - watch those.

PPS Thomann service friendly and great, as always!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing drivers for windows, otherwise disappointing.
Tamtamtam, 19.07.2021
I am performing with Ableton Live running on a windows laptop so stable drivers with low latency are very important to me, and that is why I bought this product. The drivers are amazing and very solid, the latency is also very low. It has a lot of inputs and outputs for its small size.

The unit feels well built, but the power supply feels suuuper cheap and when connecting to the unit it feels very very flimsy. I am going to have to buy a backup already since I don't trust it will last very long when touring. I have a 9 euro electric razor with a power supply that feels much more beefy than this does.

Having just one encoder to control everything without using the software would be ok if there was something more than the seven segment display to help you navigate. Now it is very unintuitive. And since the gain of the inputs is digitally controlled I ran into the problem that I couldn't set a low enough gain for some of my instruments when in high impedance mode, even with the low gain setting they are clipping. From what I understand this product has had its input circuit revised and there used to be an option for applying a pad to the input level that doesn't exist anymore. This is really disappointing.

The Totalmix software has lots of nice routing options, and using this for my in ear monitor mix has reduced latency a couple of milliseconds compared to doing the same monitor routing in Ableton, so I am very happy about that. But the Totalmix software is not very intuitive or well designed.

This is a 12 year old product by now, and I appreciate that RME are keeping the drivers up to date. Considering how much this interface costs though there were too many dissapointments for me to ever recommend it to anyone unless they really needed the stable drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
This thing is just very, very good!
lavidaesuncinema, 26.06.2021
I've been doing research on audio interfaces for a few months before buying the RME UC. I previously owned a MOTU M4. As some new jobs started coming in, I decided to upgrade. This is what I needed:

- Ultra-low latency for going through my laptop during live shows, with no dropouts, crackles, noises, instability. No need for DSP, I have a my own plugins for that;

- A large number of I/O, including MIDI, in order to adapt to any future configuration of my studio if I buy more gear, or need to work with 5.1 surround;

- No 19" rack size, cause I'm not the Coldplay and I want to travel light, and I don't want to buy two interfaces for studio and show applications;

- Industry standard preamps and conversion. I don't need to obtain subtle musical textures (I hire an external engineer for that!), I just need to be sure that - when I'm tracking at home - I can then use the material in professional contexts without having to re-record anything.

Some Apogee, UAD and MOTU products made it into my shortlist, as well as some 500-Series preamps like the SSL Six, but eventually all of them had some limitations with regards to I/O or flexibility.

I bought a full RME rig including a Fireface UC, QuadMic and ARC Usb, with an expense of approximatively 1,6k€ including studio grade cables, and I'm very happy with my choice.

I'm aware the UC is a 15 years old project. However, if your needs are similar to the ones I described, my opinion is that the RME UC is still a great and cost-effective solution.

PS. I bought the UC before the UCX II came out. However, I don't think I would have got the new model as the price difference is significant.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent product
rearear, 15.06.2021
I'm using Fireface UC both with a Macbook pro and a PC with Windows 10. It works very well with both systems. Unlike my previous audio interfaces, RME gives confidence while using it. It just works. Only thing with Windows 10 is that, when I return to regular use after working in Ableton with the ASIO driver, it randomly makes a bit crusher like effect. When I re-apply some settings in Fireface USB settings it gets normal again. This hadn't been a big issue for me until today.

Totalmix software is an incredibly flexible environment that allows you to route anything to anywhere. In my work I have been using softwares like Jack and Soundflower to internally route signals between softwares. However, I am not using virtual audio devices anymore since I can use digital ADAT channels to route anything to anywhere. Thats a big step in my practice.

The device gets hot which made me stress, however when I made a research I learned that all other devices gets hot like mine and its not an issue.

Overall, I am really happy that I purchased RME Fireface UC. It has a very good sound and features which took my working practice to another level.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very pleased
19.02.2017
I'm using this audio interface mostly for recording acoustic music, usually in pair with my Neumann KM 184.

Pros:

I must say that the sound quality is incredible, no self-noise or coloration, it's pure and clear.

The stereo picture is wide and realistic, even when listening on headphones you feel like you sitting in front of a performer, the level of detail is amazing. This also uncovers any recording problems and poor mic placement which you won't hear in consumer audio gear.

I've been using Fireface UC for a few months and never experienced any dropouts or any driver problems (running it on Windows 10), it's very stable.

Delay-free monitoring is a very useful feature when you're recording.

It might take a bit to get used to controls if you're upgrading from a less complex interface, but the manual book provides clear instructions.

Cons: none in terms of performance and quality.

I wish they'd add a possibility of using FX with delay-free monitoring, but unfortunately, it's not supported in this model, so you can only monitor dry sound without delay.

The only con I could find so far is a green light on power supply's cable, which is so strong that unintentionally functions as a night light, which can be a bit annoying.

All in all, it's a great product and I'm very satisfied.
Also, I would like to express my gratitude to Thomann for their great job on packaging, it came in a huge box filled with bubble packets.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The most reliable interface out there.
PMSFX, 11.03.2021
I was looking for something reliable, with a fair amount or inputs and outputs. I work a lot with LCR and 5.1 and I need minimum of 4 (ideally 6) outputs. I also wanted a fair mot of inputs including instruments one and this one has it all.
At first, I thought USB2 might not be enough of speed, but RME drivers (macOS) are top notch and probably the most stable ones I've used (compared to Apogee and UA). Don't let the USB2 put you off. Market is indeed heading towards thunderbolt 3 audio interfaces, but this one is a solid. It has never crashed nor fail me in any other way.
Totalmix software might be a tad intimidating at first but once you get a hang of it you gonna love. Fader grouping, preset recalls/templates are perfect for what I am working with on a daily basis. You can group them in 5.1, LCR, Stereo or whatever you heart desires really.
Preamps sound nice and clean and I occasionally record some foley with it. It's not sound devices sound, but it really good.
Headphone output provides enough juice to power my 660s. DAC sounds great, on pair with Apogee and UA ones.
This thing is built like a tank. It once slipped of my hands and there's no scratches on it whatsoever.
Don't hesitate - get one for yourself!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sound upgrade
DigitalMonk, 20.09.2020
I was into this card for a long time.They we're saying about the drivers are the best, sound quality is guaranteed, transparent mic pre and easy routing handling.
Everything was true.Drivers installed easy, TotalMix was a bit confusing at the begging but you can find everything you need online.

Also you can get DIGICheck.It shows you Level meters, spectral analyser and also phase.
The build quality is solid, you can feel it when you hold it.
The sound difference from the saffire pro 26 which I was using for 3 years was huge I can say.The bass got its " own " room on the mix and a overall depth on mids.The highs are crispy clean.

Its a small super tool.With adat/spdif and wordclock if later I need more inputs this machine will get the job done flawlessly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fantastic
Guillaume Lalonde, 10.08.2021
So far so good.
The only I've had is an occasional drop out where everything gets staticky, but I resolved it with a new USB cable.

I mostly use it for timecode output, but plan to use it for recording shows in the future.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Anton944, 09.02.2019
Good product does not need advertising!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Top quality.
DrCheese, 23.08.2018
A bit pricey but sound quality is superb. The mic preamps are pristine and 192kHz sounds clean even when slowed down (unlike other devices that I have tried this with). The TotalMix software seems extremely powerful but I'm still working through its potential. This is an extremely compact device. I was also considering the MOTU Ultralite but the RME seems more compact. The other reason I preferred the RME is that it comes with a 'lump in the line' power supply (so you can just change the cable if you're in the UK) whereas the MOTU comes with a wall wart (and a travel adapter if you're in the UK).
The only negative is that there are some things that it might have been nice to see as hardware controls on the device such as phantom power switches, dedicated trim controls for the two XLR inputs. It's also a shame that you have to use adapters to use MIDI (although 2 ins and outs are provided) and that outputs 7 and 8 are only on a single TRS (and obviously unbalanced). I suppose these compromises need to be made for the sake of compactness. Lots of other connectivity though: spdif, optical ADAT
One thing to watch out for: the nuts around the word clock connectors worked themselves loose quickly so give them a tighten when you first get the unit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best portable sound card
vivalaecho, 07.04.2020
I would say this is best audio interface for home studio. It has so little latency and very clear sound not to mention how portable it is. Price vs. performance is very positive. The results you get exceeds all expectations. If you need expand inputs you can always add Behringer ADA8200 and you don't need to worry.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
Yoni.sound, 14.03.2020
Really good audio interface. great drivers, Digicheck is awesome, sound is amazing and super quiet. I highly recommend it. Handling is a 4\5 just because theres no gain and volume knobs.. everything is through the software. if it had that it would be perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A great sound card
Darby, 10.07.2019
I've used it for a year. Great quality and a good price. It's never let me down.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
This is an amazing interface
Emily Banks, 20.01.2021
Setting this interface up was a breeze. Low latency, extremely tight bottom end and a generally clear, transparent sound. I'm no audio engineer but the sound quality of this device was immediately apparent.

The totalmix software is very flexible and I found it quite easy to work with. The device is responsive and the indication leds and display are very helpful.

I use the UC to multitrack my synths and drum machines and everything has been great. I'm very happy with my purchase and give RME 5 stars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
RME Fireface UC
Maayan, 31.05.2019
Great product, thank you Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Big troubles with new Macbook Pro 16 RME drivers
Claudio P, 20.02.2020
After spent 2 days trying to make it work (MacPro 16 with latest Catalina) I give up and sent it back to Thomann.
Dirvers install but does not see the RME FF UC interface.
I've found other users complains in RME blog.
Totally unsatisfied and too many hours lost.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
First RME Experience
Will J., 03.03.2015
Everything RME makes is professional level. After owning the Fireface UC and Babyface, I am now buying a Fireface 802. For anyone who works half inside the box and half outside the box, TotalMix gives you so much routing power to combine the two worlds, it becomes fun instead of a headache.. I have a touch screen monitor dedicated to TotalMix or TotalMix FX when writing and I can't imagine doing it another way now. It's basically a digital console.. (Note: TotalMix is TotalMix FX without Reverb, Echo and EQ, but the routing capabilities are the same).

The mic pre's and AD/DA conversion are both flawless. Overall sound is clean and 100% professional. Build quality is outstanding. No complaints whatsoever.

Makes a great combo connected with the Babyface through ADAT. I link my laptop and desktop audio this way, then I control all audio with the Babyface's TotalMix FX window.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
La mejor tarjeta que he probado
03.11.2015
Calidad de sonido excelente, los previos otro tanto. Ningún problema con los drivers. Multitud de entradas y salidas. La integración con el PC ha sido perfecta y el programa que lleva para gestionar la tarjeta y todos los canales también me ha gustado. No se me ocurren pegas, estoy contentísimo
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
FireFace UC: Brilliant
BillyB, 08.05.2017
Rock solid.

I have toured with this interface for about a year now and it hasn't let me down once.

Built to last. Worth the price tag!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Easy to use, great sound!
06.09.2014
These just work with no issues or frustrating problems, and they sound absolutely awesome. Build quality is top-notch, drivers just work and there is no hassle with them whatsoever. Sound, performance and usability gets five stars without a question - not much more to say really.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great card
Matan, 19.05.2013
Enjoying it very much.
Especially the sound quality and the 2 midi input options for live performance.
highly recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface
Suman, 05.07.2016
I bought this interface to replace the Tascam US144 mkii which I'd been using previously and am so far very happy. I have it plugged into my Macbook via USB and the interface is then outputting to powered Behringer Truth B2031 studio monitors via 1/4 inch jacks. The set up sounds great and I've used it to record acoustic bass, electric bass, electric guitar and horns with no problems. There were no latency issues (recording audio with the Tascam was a nightmare) and I got some very good sounding recordings. I've also used this set up to do some basic mixing and had no problems. It works seamlessly with Logic Audio.

I haven't done much messing about with the USB settings or with the TotalMix software (virtual mixing desk) that comes with it but they seem pretty standard. I think there's probably a lot of features that I don't yet have the know how to use but will hopefully work out in the future!

All in all this interface does everything I need it to do without much fuss. I get the impression that it will also meet my needs for a long time into the future as I get more into home recording and mixing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very well interface !
dhjk, 31.03.2017
The Fireface UC is a fantastic audiodevice with stable drivers and a good sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent. Top
XRC Maquinik, 06.05.2020
Everything i whish for. Thank so much
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent Audio Interface
Robert701, 08.03.2015
I was looking to upgrade my studio with a better interface, primarily better converters. The RME UC was a perfect choice after connecting it, it was immediately clear how good the converters are......it was like removing a blanket that had been covering my monitors. The detail was there that I had been missing.
I had looked around at a lot of options before buying, and it was difficult to find any
negative feedback on RME.
The Totalmix software mixer is a great addition also, allowing incredible flexibility as
far as signal routing.

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

RME Fireface UC

€845
Free shipping incl. VAT
Delivery date unknown
Delivery date unknown

This item has sold out and has been re-ordered. Unfortunately, our supplier cannot guarantee delivery within the next three months. We recommend that you choose a suitable alternative from our store.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
RME Fireface UC
2:09
RME Fireface UC
Rank #176 in USB Audio Interfaces
 
 
 
 
 
test results: