Customer center login

Manfrotto 244N Variable Friction Arm

107 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • quality
Total
quality
Fantastic piece of kit
Moment Photography, 20.05.2021
You know it's a great piece of kit when you see it being used on the international space station!

I bought a couple of these as an addition to the Manfrotto 143N Magic Arm. This one is much better as, instead of a lever that jolts when you tighten it, this one allows you to more gently and precisely position whatever it is you are holding and still hold it rock solid.

The build quality is bombproof, these things are built to last for years!

Just about the best product on the market for this purpose and worth the high price as you know you won't need to replace it again!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Robust
F2376, 02.08.2021
Having struggled with cheap rubbish friction arms thought I'd try this - it's rock solid and doesn't move once tightened. I'm not using it for anything heavy, but it's a well made solid product. Would recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Manfrotto 244N Variable Friction Arm
Arabella , 14.06.2021
A useful bit of kit to have in your bag. I use them to mount a lightweight light or camera and a superclamp to attach the arm to an autopole, ladder, railing, etc. Well made, sturdy and holds my equipment securely in exactly the position I’ve manoeuvred it into.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Very useful for small flashes etc
Mark7429, 27.09.2014
I got this along with a super clamp. I use it for mounting small flashguns. I attach an umbrella holder on the end which isn't in the super clamp. Its rated for 15kgs, and while I have't tested it with that much weight, I'd be happy to put any kind of flash on it. Once its tightened it really is very solid feeling.
When you release the wheel, the whole thing goes limp, including the ball joints at each end, so you can just hold the flash, loosen it off, reposition then retighten.
You can also get a camera mount to mount an slr or other camera for remote operation.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A solution for most rigging problems
Frank Hammond, 28.06.2021
A variable friction arm can do so many things there isn't much point in me listing them. So much better than the lever action arm. The fine adjustment on this is brilliant. Highly recommend several of these in a good Gaffer's kit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Truly magic!
Andy Mac, 04.01.2021
These manfrotto magic arms are probably the most useful bits of grip kit in our studio, and combined with a Super Clamp they are unbeatable. Strong, easy to position, super flexible, if you haven't tried them yet, don't hesitate, just buy one. In fact, buy several, you'l have so many uses for them you'll wonder how you ever did without.
And get the 'variable friction' version - the version with the lever arm is not quite so useful.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Never enough
xsteen, 24.02.2021
I know someone once said you cannot have enough hats, scarves, gloves and shoes, but in a studio you can never have too many of these. Once you are used to them you never go back. Flexibility for any angle and holding weights up to my LS 120D MkII with Dome ii.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Classic.
George from Holland, 12.09.2020
One of those things you shouldn't save money on. I bought many variations of these in the past from different brands, but regret not buying the Manfrotto's straight away. Save yourself some money, and buy the real deal!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Manfrotto-quality
jorisr, 28.03.2021
This magic arm fulfilled my expectations. Can handle quite large forces, easy to bring the mounted item in position (by not completely tightening the knob), smart mounting pins at the ends.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Better than the version with central, locking lever
Andreas H. 863, 25.06.2015
This arm is just Magic as Manfrotto says. You can easy attach whatever you want and nail the position. It can handle heavy stuff like a big dslr with proper glass. I also have the other version with a lever instead (143N) of the knob. That one can slip/glide and the lever can become hard to manoeuvre in some positions. I recommend you get this one instead.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Working well
andeye, 04.08.2018
I'm using three to support some rotolights - much nicer than having stands everywhere cluttering up the place. Pretty flexible reasonably solid support.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Manfrotto 244N Variable Friction Arm

€99
Including VAT; Excluding €15 shipping
In stock within about one week
In stock within about one week

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-45
FAX: +49-9546-9223-443