Customer center login

Vic Firth 5A American Classic Hickory

2104 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • quality
Total
quality
The "default" drumstick
Ike, 30.10.2014
To me, the Vic Firth 5A American Classics are the standard of drumsticks. These are well-balanced, well-matched, great sounding drumsticks. As a drummer of small stature with hands that are on the small size, I find these sticks to be of just the right size, both in length and diameter, and weight for general playing. The bead of the stick also gives a good, clear sound on the cymbals. For slower, heavier songs I prefer a 5B or other bigger model, but for faster stuff and for lighter playing that requires less volume, these are great.

On the negative side, I find that while these sticks hold up well even under fairly heavy playing with constant rimshot backbeats, they're not as durable as e.g. Pro-Mark's equivalent 5A model (though I've never had a Vic 5A snap on me within minutes of starting playing, as has happened with some other sticks). The wood tips also have a tendency to chip, so they may not be intact at the end of a 50-minute set.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
No longer the best sticks I've played
Jizus, 16.09.2020
I am realizing, after having played these sticks for years, that they indeed have a problem with the tips. Sometimes tips will break within the first hour of use, which is frustrating seeing that these sticks are not budget (they are not the NOVA series after all, but have the same problems with the tips splitting). No longer worth it for me, I still have two unused pairs that I will keep for backup/last resort. It is just a stick after all, I just wish the tips would last significantly longer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
The absolute classic
hedericsM, 04.06.2021
You really can't go wrong with these. I don't know if there's anything else to say. While I was using my electronic drum kit, barely any markings could be seen on the sticks - I could use one pair for even three years -, and only now, when I switched to acoustic, they started to chip away. However, they're still holding up well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Comfortable abd durable
AA, 12.04.2018
These sticks are really durable compared to any other sticks ive tried across many different brands. 1 set can last me up to a year, which is particularly impressive compared to alternative sets of drumsticks. I also particularly like the weight and grip comfort of these sticks, more so than my last Nova sticks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Top quality
Sebadasta, 10.12.2020
You can’t go wrong with this ones! If the size is right for you then it’s a no brainier.

Been using these on edrums for the las 2 years and still look “like new” so you will get great value for the money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good
framus az-10 , 24.04.2020
Good quality, not played by a professional but it does the job well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Vic Firth 5A
Duckmandrummer, 09.06.2021
Really nice balance, really good fun. Nice rebound feel in the hand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Chris149, 29.05.2018
Been using these for years, awesome sticks
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Always has to be Vic
27.01.2015
Drummer gets through these a fair bit but loves the balance of them.
Not too heavy but still strong enough for most use.
Again Thomann are better priced than UK offers if we're buying a few bits and get the shipping free so well worth adding a few pairs to the orders.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Standart
Kristaps, 05.11.2017
Great feel. Great weight balance, good for rock good for jazz. Durable. Standart of drumsticks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A well balanced stick
tkit, 08.12.2020
Not sure what else to say about it, it's a pretty standard stick, nothing to complain about.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Decent
IAFB, 07.07.2020
I got them for 'free' in the e-drum millenium mps-850 bundle that I bought. Vic firth is a good brand in general, so free drum sticks from them are always welcome.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A great stick to play with
25.10.2016
These are a great classic 5A stick. They last for a ling time even with a hard hitter like myself which is great.
Theyre good value for money as well. Sticks can end up being a big expense of you play regularly like me,

You cant go wrong with these, if you're not sure about what stick to go for, get these and work from these. 5A is the medium of drum sticks - not too light and not too heavy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
exellent drumsticks
09.04.2015
Let me start by saying that I've been drumming for over ten years, and have gone through many kinds of cymbals, heads, shells, and, yes, sticks. I mainly stick with Vic Firth, as my style of playing matches many of their models. However I decided to go on a whim and buy a pair of them because I had heard how long they last. And boy, they do NOT lie! In the time that I have had just one pair of these, I have broken 4 pairs of wooden sticks based on my normal playing schedule and switching out between pairs for feel and sound differences. But these are good! I love the feel, the weight and the sound. But durability is the watchword here, and if you're jamming for long hours like I do, do not wait- invest in a few pairs of these now!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Dependable consistency
16.06.2016
I've been playing drums for more years than I'd like to admit and I always come back to Vic!

Every stick feels exactly the same as every other stick to me. In fact, I recently found a pair at the bottom of a box when I moved house; they'd been there for at least a decade - but they felt, and played, identical to a brand new pair. What else can I say?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
If you use this size, can't think of better sticks
Dylan Z, 03.02.2016
I went from using 5b's to 5a's, (playing more jazz now instead of rock). Granted, I've not tried many other sets of 5a sticks (2 or 3 different pairs), but these are by far my favourite. The balance is really nice, and they last pretty long too. If you use this stick size, can't recommend anything else.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good
Tom from the block, 20.11.2020
Awesome sticks. Parfectly balanced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
The "Classic" Drumstick
Oguz A., 06.07.2021
I've been using the same Vic Firth 5A Classics for years now. Lately all they are being used for is practice, either on the drums or on the pad, they work perfectly either way.

However I do have a problem with the latest pair I ordered, they are significantly lighter. One stick is supposed to be 50 grams where in the last pair it's 48. It may sound miniscule on paper but you can really feel the difference while playing.

In any case, this was a first 'bad' experience after many times of great pairs of 5A's. Still recommended 9/10.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Use in a repetitions
Stalko, 02.07.2020
Cheap and comfortable. The best choice for this price!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Phi1, 29.04.2020
Classic for jazz hobbyist like me
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
The perfect pair
Bazzzingaaa, 08.11.2018
There were first drumsticks for my child and we buy them 3 years. Drumsticks are very quality: straight, light, good balanced, nice lie in hand. Very good work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
The standards
Reminiscence, 16.04.2020
Classics, very resistant and consistent.
Can"t go wrong with these. They're basically the standards.
Thin enough to play fast but thick enough to play hard.
I play progressive metal and punk with these!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Must Have
24.03.2015
This is a must have set of sticks for any drummer. Giving a great sound with a phenomenal weight to balance ratio. used mostly for recording sessions and live performances. Cant use words to express how good these sticks actually are! Great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Every day sticks
Rabbitman, 29.06.2021
Perfect choice to practice at home
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Always a reliable product
Kim de la Crème, 23.01.2021
These are my favourite sticks for general drumming. Quick to play with and always a predictable feel - great balance within the pair.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Vic Firth 5A American Classic Hickory

9,80 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Monday, 4.10. and Tuesday, 5.10.

Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24