Customer center login
Country and Language

TAD RT272 Tubes EL84 Cz Pair

99 Customer Reviews

5 69 Customers
4 25 Customers
3 3 Customers
2 1 Customer
1 1 Customer
4.6 / 5

quality

TAD RT272 Tubes EL84 Cz Pair
42 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Delivery approx. between Monday, 1.11. and Tuesday, 2.11.
1
A
Excellent! I'm very satisfied!
Anonymous 29.04.2014
For reasons of portability, I frequently use a Mesa Boogie Mini-Rectifier and 10-inch speaker, which I can easily bring on a plane or load onto my motorcycle to ride to gigs. The drawback is that this amp-speaker combination often lacks in bass response and head room, which are really crucial elements to my clean sounds.

In real gig situations, I need lots of volume to keep up with loud drummers. You can always increase the treble on most amps, particularly Mesa Boogies. But to my ears, there is nothing uglier and more painful than boosting the sharp treble end of the frequency spectrum just to be heard. The original Mesa Boogie power tubes tended to break up way too early, not allowing me to generate clean sounds with punch and clarity and medium or higher volumes.

On reading the description of the CZ tubes, I decided to give them a try. I'm VERY SATISFIED. While they aren't drastically louder, they are noticeably louder and deliver more bass, allowing me to stay clean at higher volumes without resorting to boosting ear-piercing treble frequencies.

Most of my distortion is derived from pedals and with the CZ tubes, so I can now use them to push the power tubes to distort at a more appropriate volume level for a gig situation. Contrary to some reviews out there that the CZ tubes lack character, they sound warm and smooth. On the other hand, the TAD EL84 STR tubes, which are touted for their tone and claimed as being superior to the CZ tubes, they are no better than the stock Mesa Boogies I had--they break up too early and lack bass response. I will definitely keep a spare set of CZs on hand!
quality
2
0
Report

Report

Sa
Good Power Amp tube
Susanne aus L. 14.02.2014
I Needed replacement tubes for my Hughes & Kettner Studio 84 because the original Ruby Tubes were starting to go microphony.

Installing the tubes was a bit tricky because of the construction of the H&K (nothing to do with the tubes) but after getting the Amp apart, setting the tubes in was no problem.

After turning on the amplifier, the tubes made no "displeasing" sounds (crackling, Popping etc.) they were and still are absolutely quiet...nice! The have a bit more output than the standard tubes that were in the amp and I have been very pleased with quality.

Cheers
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
One of the nicest sounding tubes I have heard!
Anonymous 11.09.2016
I have been buying from Thomann for many years now and I have to say they have one of the best customer service around, along with their extremely competitive prices. (cheapest by far!)

In all honesty, I have never needed to buy pre amp tubes for amps. But when my EL84's blew in my Vox I needed some. Did some research and for my price range these came top. Boy oh Boy, do these sound good! These have a fair bit of kick in the bass region than most tubes but don't let that put you off. The drive and crunch these little beauties provide is excellent. Brilliant all round sound for a relatively cheap tube.
Even though made in china, they fell very sturdy, very responsive and sound really really warm.

Im extremely happy with these and would definitely buy them again over sovtek tubes!
quality
0
0
Report

Report

D
Value for money
DrewGR 13.05.2018
Really good value for money tubes. I use them in my Orange Dark Terror and they produce great results. I wouldn't say that they'll last a lifetime, they were ready to be replaced after a year or so. But, I did use the amp almost every day for about 2 hours.
Decent tubes, I'd recommend them.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

H
Sounds fine, but questionable duarbility
Han-earl 18.04.2017
It sound fine (I have no complaints), and it does what it does.

However, I have some questions about their durability. The tubes are beginning to exhibit signs of failure after only a couple of years of relatively light use.

I admit modern tube manufacturing is not what it used to be, so not sure this is any worse than the industry average.

Your mileage may vary.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

P
Good, really good!
Pete-Layburn 07.01.2019
Replaced the original Ruby tubes in a H&K Studio 84 with these and didn't even bother taking care of the bias (no tech around where I live).
So far so good.
After that, I spent quite a big time playing on this amp again (which I had left aside for a while)... it says a lot about what these tubes did to the combo. I'm ordering them again for a Marshall 1974x.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

j
Nice replacement
johnk1 05.02.2018
I bought these tubes to replace the stock tubes on a bugera v22.
Gosh the amp has really changed ! It has more power,some more warmth in higher volume levels.
I'm thinking of buying them again !
Thomann's shipping was perfect!!!
quality
0
0
Report

Report

VP
Both powerful in sound & tone
Vee Pee 01.07.2015
They out perform the previous Sovtek version EL84 that was fitted in my little handbuilt amp for the last few months. Far better tone & depth + noticeably louder than the Sovtek at same volume, which equated to better headroom in this case.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

d
My first TAD Tubes
disssa 12.02.2014
I bought this Tubes for my Ashdown CTM15 to change the original Tungsol-Tubes. I wanted a bigger Sound with more Lowends. The Tad selected EL84 Cz Tubes change the sound of that little amp more in the lower way with less hissing.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

F
great tubes
Florian970 26.03.2014
I bought these tubes for a 4 year old 20 watts tube amplifier who is bias fixed. The installation of the tubes was succsessfull and both were in good condition. Now the amp is singing again. I can't find anything thats wrong with them. They do their job and the amplifier is sounding as new as he once was.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
TAD RT272 Tubes EL84 Cz Pair