Customer center login

Millenium MS 2005

12208 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
3.7 /5
  • handling
  • stability
  • quality
Total
handling
stability
quality
Worst product I've ever bought. Period.
21.02.2016
I've bought MANY great stuff from Thomann over the years, including a lot of budget stuff (that included some Millenium stuff which turned out to be great) but this stand is probably the worst thing I've ever bought. Sorry folks.

The most important bits that bear most of the pressure (the boom) that should be made out of alloy or metal are made of plastic. I originally bought somewhere between 20 and 30 of these stands some time ago, some of which I still have packed like new somewhere. I took out 8 of these stands for a job and ALL the booms broke on first use. Tighten them a bit too far and the plastic snaps and breaks. Never got around to use the rest of them as they aren't trustworthy.

While live sound isn't the kindest of situations on any kind of equipment, I have used stands from other manufacturers that have lived up for the job for years. These stands sadly did not live up to the job and I've basically given some away to anyone who needed an emergency stand, along with a warning that it's a disposable stand.

Terrible product overall, even for the money. Sorry Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Get what you pay for
ruairinik, 17.06.2020
This isn't necessarily bad, not by a long stretch. However, it is not good either.

To begin, a couple of dodgy things that have annoyed me over the last few months of having this:
1. The swivvel that moves the mic further away from the mic, side to side, up and down, etc (useful for recording instruments and vocals while seated - this broke off after only a few months of very VERY light use, thus rendering the stand more or less useless.
2. The height-adjusting twisty bit is quite loose. This means if you put almost any downward pressure on the mic the stand will slide down toward the ground. This is frustrating if you like to put youor hands on the mic in a live setting ie: video or gig.
3. Any sound or vibrations in the ground seem to travel up and get picked up in the mic - unsure if this is only this stand or if this is a universal issue though so maybe check for yourself.

Overall, this comes as part of a package deal and for what you PAY it is fine. It does the job. Just be careful, it's not strong.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Long term (8yrs) Review
BenEgg, 09.11.2020
I need to add some balance to previous reviews of this stand. I've had mine almost a decade and yes, it is without doubt a "budget" stand. However, it's still working perfectly. Granted, this one stays in my home studio and doesn't come out on live gigs very often but, it has done club gigs and has survived being packed into a van at 2am. Yes, you probably should invest more in your main, on stage mic stand. But, if you just want one for home/studio/rehearsal room this is a very budget friendly option.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Inexpensive and easy to use.
Tricamel, 23.11.2019
I have used a number of mic stands for use with vocal mics and this has become my go-to selection. I like it because of the single screw boom adjustment, these are hard to come by without spending a lot of money. They are of medium build quality and are relatively stable. We use them twice a week at church and they have withstood the rigours of of much abuse. The friction plates have been forced many times, both on the boom and the mic connection but the screw fixings are robust enough to make them super tight and work again. There is not quite enough weight in the base to make them as stable as they could be, just be careful where you put the legs or they will tip. This lack of weight does make them super portable when you are travelling though.

If you have particularly weighty mics or want to work at height these are not the stands for you.

Would recommend if you are looking for a fast and simple to adjust vocal mic stand and are on a tight budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Hard to argue with price but nearly falls over a lot
the GGG, 15.01.2021
First off the price on this product is ridiculously cheap so any issues with it are understandable. It has lots of adjustment to it but the moving parts do feel a little flimsy. Anytime I have to loosen something I'm always a little bit afraid that they won't tighten back up again. The legs splay a little bit too much and I have to do a bit of propping up every now and again. It is being used in my home studio so doesn't need to move too much, if you are looking for something for a live set up I wouldn't recommend this as it could fall over too easily.
Having said all of that I have had this a year now and it's still standing (albeit a little bit unsteady). Again, if I had paid more for a stand like this I could probably complain but you get what you pay for and ultimately it is still doing what it is supposed to. So I am happy overall.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Sturdy, well-built and great value.
markodarko, 13.05.2014
You do not need to look for another mic stand. Don't even bother.

Over the years I've had the mic stands with the round heavy bottoms (like most of the girls in the pubs I played in), straight 3-legged mic stands and booms.

Most booms fail. It's a fact of life. They get to a point where you just can't tighten them enough to stop mic-boom-droop and then half-way through a gig you'll be playing guitar and singing only to find yourself bending your knees more and more through the song as the boom slowly gives way.

I've not experienced that problem with this stand since I bought it in 2007 - it's 2014 now(!). Are there "better" stands out there? Well, I guess there are, there's certainly heavier ones out there, but I've come to the conclusion that heavy doesn't necessarily equate to sturdy, and heavy definitely doesn't equate to helping your back at the end of the night when you have to pack up.

I've used this stand when playing guitar and singing backing vocals and for that it's superb. A boom mic when playing guitar and singing is a must over a straight stand. Makes the whole process so much easier. Plus, it means you can put your stand's feet around the floor monitor and then adjust the boom to fit where you're standing instead of moving the monitor around the straight stand.

There's not a lot more to say really other than after 7 years of wear and tear it's still going strong, doesn't droop and packs away nicely and is light to boot.

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Decent Budget Mic Stand
Woodwork Barn, 22.12.2020
It happily holds a Shure sm58 without tipping over but...... it does feel a little fragile. It's great for a bit of practice at home and that's all. I wouldn't expect it to last too long in any environment or situation which requires packing down and setting up often. Do bear in mind that this is a very low budget stand. The quality is fine for the price and it's hard to grumble. So it's simple, If you are gigging regularly or move your gear around a lot, then you WILL need to dig a bit deeper into those pockets and spend at least 2 to 3 times the price of this stand. My stand will stay at home for practice and song writing and for that it's perfect. I've given it 4 stars total because the low price meant I could have a mic stand + boom dedicated to practice at home without breaking the bank. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Not bad for the money
Kaptin Marko, 14.06.2021
Bought this stand for a public venue that sees a lot of traffic. This is a great stand for the money.

Pro's - great price, easy to use, plenty of adjustability and height.

Con's - lightweight. With boom at full extension, stand is unsteady

if you don't need a perfect stand, or need a low price stand to get the job done, this is perfect. If you need to consistently use a boom at full extension, buy a heavier stand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Quite good
Sheen , 04.05.2019
I have been using this particular mic stand for home recording for some time now and have to say I am quite happy with its performance. There are few thing that might cause some annoyance and issues, but nothing that can't be assessed.

When talking about quality, it does feel solid and strong. The main metal pipes seem great quality and in my opinion could handle rough traveling, etc., however, some of the plastic adjusting nobs do seem to be a bit iffy. Upon tightening, they seem to give a bit of a squeaky sound, which is not a big problem or anything, but at the same time might not tighten the adjustable parts quite well, which can cause a bit of an annoyance. I did have issues when attaching the microphone where, if I were to record acoustic guitar while sitting, upon lowering the microphone stand, the mounting place would not always be able to hold the full weight of the microphone and might start to slightly shift the microphone downwards. Some adjusting fixes it, however, not the best thing to experience.

For live performances and home recording this will work well, however, make sure to not get a really heavy microphone as that might cause some minor setting up issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
It is affordable and works
nkovac, 10.05.2021
It is affordable and works, do not expect a super sturdy top product. if you do not abuse it or do not have to set it up many times it will just work, great for solo at-home music makers, maybe not great for busy studios or stages.
Pros: Fairly priced, does the job.
Cons: Not too sturdy or massive.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Universal & Cheap
JCBurnett, 03.12.2017
This mic stand is much better quality than other brand cheap mic stands of the same type. Just make sure you don't overtighten things and ruin the threads or break some plastic parts. Get a feel for how tight things need to be to be perfectly stable.
It can hold two mics which is a great thing. On a certain drum setup, you can mic the snare and the rack tom using just one stand.
This stand could be very useful at a very low price and functional in the home studio if used appropriately.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
SDWave, 23.02.2021
You get what you pay for with mic stands. These are grand as mic stands for the local battle of the bands or an emergency back up but if you're going on tour or planning on doing serious recording shell out the extra bucks. If you're a local band or recording yourself in your bedroom or garage work away they do exactly as you would expect and will do perfectly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Millenium MS 2005
MikkoMallikas, 28.01.2021
Not that much experience on different mic stands but this is noisy if stand is rotated. Horrible noise :D Although using cheap samson dynamic mic with this one at the moment. The mic I use is not too good rejecting handling noise. It is still a cheap stand and does feel ok stability wise. Just don't get too crazy extending the boom all the way in horizontal position. Not really meant for that I guess but just saying.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Great idea but poorly executed = Poor product
Stefan S. 733, 10.08.2013
I bought a few of these MS-2005 stands for use in our band studio since we were on a very tight budget and discovered that the hinge part where the boom meets the vertical part of the stand is made out of extremely cheap and brittle plastic (!!?) which cracked and pretty much fell to peices within a couple of months while being set up permanently on our drumkit (without really even moving it and also being very careful knowing that it was plastic).

I made a reclamation on a couple of them so far and got a couple of the same as replacement, but i havent really bothered with the other stands although they all have broken in the same way.

I really liked the idea of these stands though since you can mount two mics on the same stand and also if you have more than one of these stands you could borrow a boom and mount more than one boom on the same stand to save space, but this idea was poorly executed unfortunately and i even spoke to Thomann about it and suggested that they change the hinge part to metal instead.

I have now replaced the boom parts with high quality booms from K&M (K&M 211/1) instead which can be bought here at Thomann since the vertical part including the cast metal base seems to hold up very well (we have had these stands for a few years now). I have been very satisfied with this solution, but the MS-2005 as delivered is an extremely poor example of a boom stand and not recommended by me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
The worst item to penny-pinch on.
T Molloy, 01.06.2021
Don't buy a cheap stand.
A quality K&M stand isn't that expensive and when can you ever say in music that you can get something cheap AND have it forever.
This stand, on the other hand, is not fit for use. Because of the plastic locking screw, it WILL break no matter what setting you use it in. Also, it will not reliably hold any worthwhile microphone that has a metal chassis while it's 'working'.
Buying this will not save you money, it will bring you grief.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Fair price for what you get
Danny Inder, 23.01.2021
It's not the best mic stand ever, but it also doesn't cost much.
A little unstable, wobbly and plasticky. But for the price I absolutely can't complain. And it does exactly what it's supposed to do. Hold a microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
No long term solution
Nizaril, 14.11.2020
The build quality is not the best. I have two and they have both broken at the tilter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Reasonable Budget Stand
Scott Zsalt, 29.08.2017
I use this to record vocals and instruments in a bedroom studio and it seems fine for this purpose. I don't think it would survive the rigors of a touring band but for home use it's fine,

On the pro side it is cheap and easy to use. It will hold your mic in the position you set it and will accept either of the main screw types.

On the con side? It won't hold a large mic such as many modern condensers as the weight will simply pull it down. Providing it's a dynamic sized mic such as a Shure Sm58 or a mic of a similar weight or less then you're fine, but not those big bruiser mics.

The parts are adequate but not high quality and aren't likely to last thousands of unscrews and changes. but for the price and if you are only using this at home then it will fulfill your needs without making too much impact on your bank balance.

As usual, Thomann did a great job on the service, packaging and shipping of the product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
It does its job
JRey, 10.03.2021
Exactly what you would expect in this price range.
It does its job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Poor quality
spekofthedevil, 03.02.2021
Unless you plan on setting these things up once and leaving them alone forever, it won't take long before they start to come apart with mild use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Very good value
Kieran Reddy, 10.03.2021
Great quality for the price paid. Fanastic!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
It does the job
CustomerA, 13.07.2021
It's fine as long as you don't expect too much. It works as a mic stand well enough, but it definitely feels cheap. I would not use this stand with very heavy or expensive mics. It's okay once you have it set-up but I'm pretty sure I would eventually break it if I was moving and adjusting it a lot.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
super handy
Nathan V., 27.08.2020
I love this stand, you can take it apart and use it in ways that other stands don't offer.
you can take the secondary arm off together with the mounting screw so what you left then is a straight mic stand.
They're also stable and sturdy enough for normal regular use, although not as stable as some more expensive stands.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
happy with this
Bazk9, 11.02.2020
sturdy and adjustable. i haven't owned a microphone stand before but this seems to do the job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
jimjam
James J., 04.11.2013
Nice quality, and easily put together.
The three balancing legs come as one unit and fasten to the upright stand by use of a large plastic knobbed pin. The upright stand fastens to the reach out bar by the use of a large plastic knobbed pin, used to stop it from turning from left to right and a tommy-barred locking pin used to allow the reachout arm to be positioned at any angle and at speed.
I have not rated the stability as highly as the other parts as I am not sure just how stable it is. I beleive it to be very good. Without a microphopne in it the stand easily copes with its own weight, but I have just brought a Tyrso 4 and have placed the stand and microphone at the side of it. This requires the stand to be at its maximum horizontal extension to reach me, plus I have a Shure microphone slotted into the holder on the top. This microphone is very heavy, and at the full extent of horizontal reach tends to over balance. It is only kept from falling over when the back leg meets the underneath of the writing desk. If I could move the microphone closer I can not see it causing me any problems. Used as a singing microphone it should perfect. The microphone holder at the top holds the microphone by slotting it in place and a resitance joint allows the microphone to be easily adjusted upwards or downwards.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium MS 2005

13,40 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Friday, 24.09.

Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Microphone accessories
Microphone accessories
The right accessories bring out the best in your microphones. Find out what’s available and what you can do with it!
Online Guides
Drum Mics
Drum Mics
Miking up and recording a drum kit is a fairly complicated procedure, and this can apply equally to choosing the right mics for the job.
 
 
 
 
 
test results: