Customer center login

Kawai MP-7 SE

44 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Just perfect!
Mr.Moon, 04.07.2021
The best advise I got before buying a digital piano was to prioritise on the needs. If you're looking for a digital piano, than the first thing that should be on top of your list is the feel of the keys. Then durability and sound follows. The Kawai has a splendid keybed, only it's bigger brother the MP-11 SE is better (but is also way heavier which is not ideal if you want to use it on stage). I also checked out the Yamaha CP-88, the Roland RD-2000 and Korg Grandstage but in the end I have picked this one. Reason is straithforward: it has better keys. The Clavia Nord Grand stagepiano has also the keys from Kawai, but that one is almost 3 times the price of this Kawai (though it will offer better sounds).
Sound wise, it's always personnal. Ik my opinion the Kawai sounds more then decent. OK, it's perhaps not completely on par with the more expensive competitors with their build in piano engines... but... it depends what you want to use this paino for. On top, if I connect my PC and use the Kawai as a master keyboard, I have all the sounds that I can wish for and tweak as far as I want. There are plenty of virtual piano's out their that will give you the perfect sound that you need.
In short: the Kawai might not win any beauty competitions, but this one is extremely well build. If you ask me, price wise, this is the best quality you can get at this price point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Problem with key contacts after 2 years of use
@ndrei, 25.08.2021
I bought the piano in October 2018 and after 2 years 4 keys have problems: they sound loud no matter how soft i press them, this doesn't happen with the other keys (yet). The keys with problems are not in the same place, they are scattered over 3 octaves.
This is a shame since the piano is really well designed, sounds are very customisable, interface very intuitive and piano, drawbar, organs etc sound really good.
I don't use the piano professionally so I find it unacceptable for a DP to have problems after only 2 years of home practice.
It's still under warranty, thanks to Thomann's 3 years warranty policy but I have to send it in for service and it can take up to 6 weeks to get it back fixed during which time I cannot use my piano..
Hope Kawai will fix this for the MP7SE and other DPs they sell otherwise customers (me included) will surely move to other more reliable brands
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Kawai Stage MP7 SE
jfxfen, 25.07.2019
I bought this Kbrd some years ago and mostly I use it at home for practicing with headphones
It is a Great Kbrd with lots of various excellent sounds and sound combinations, and great amount of notes (when using sustain pedal)

Unfortunately it seems Kawai has some problems with materials used for the keys contact rubber - some keys are playing intermittently - rather very annoying to players... Now I took it for repair and it seems it will cost somehow - and parts are not easy to find .....
Hopefully Kawai will rectify this problem asap !!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great authentic feel
Musec, 13.05.2021
This stage piano is impressive on the eyes and plays like a real piano under my fingers. It looks like a hybrid between a "real" Kawai and an electric. The is a solid piece of equipment. Make note there are no speakers in this model so you will need to use headphones or plug in your own.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
MP7SE - Stage Piano version of a Bentley!
Lemar, 18.09.2019
I have played many types of keyboards but found them lacking in touch and quality of sound.

I thought I would purchase this Stage Piano for our church because of its first class looks which is sleek and most importantly its ease of functionality and work class sounds. I knew that the pianos would sound pristine but the additional sounds such as the EPs and Organs where not just acceptable but actually good quality and useable.

Quite simply put... It has been a joy to play and has inspired me to further imprint playing techniques without fatigue. My focus is no longer about how true the sounds are. Instead, my focus is on my enjoyment in playing the piano.

It is well worth the money paid for and a very well hidden contender that truly outshines the more expensive alternatives with all their bells and whistles. Simply beautiful!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great Piano and more
PatM, 17.01.2021
Love this keyboard.. I already own the older Kawai MP6 and decided to upgrade. No regrets. Sound fantastic and the touch incredible. I'm a gigging musician playing from Musicals to Rock. It ticks all the boxes. There's a huge improvement in the Rhythm section. Very user friendly now for live playing. The keyboard is very robust. I've played all Yamaha, Roland, Korg and Nord before deciding to choose and Kawai and I've NO REGRETS.. It'll see me out LOL.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing piano sound and touch
miteuler, 20.03.2019
This keyboard has really the best keyboard (for digital piano) I ever played. The keys are hard enough and every time I play, it feels like I do exercises for the fingers. Quality wise it is amazing, a bit heavy but this you can easily justify by the time you touch the wood and the keys, it's a quality piece of gear (not easy to transport!!!). The piano sounds are really outstanding, I wouldn't say the same for the Strings / Bass / Wind sections - they are not bad but not outstanding compared to the pianos (4 stars in features). I use it to play at home and I have also recorded (already) few songs with it in my laptop, the sound really is spot on, tiny eq-ing to sit better in a more complex mix but really effortless, the sounds are - again - SPOT ON! The only negative is that Kawai have not built a wooden stand for it to compliment more as a "furniture". As an improvement I would also suggest a wooden stand with speakers so it really becomes a living room furniture (for those who use it at home).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great Professional instrument
LatvianSF, 18.03.2019
Bought this beautiful piece of instrument for gigs and concerts as keyboard player in a pop/rock band. It definitely suits its purpose and quality follows the expectations. First of all, it looks great, well and strongly built - gives a hint of a steady professional instrument from the first look. Piano sounds - very very very good. Some of it - outstanding. Quite easy to use, it does not have anything unnecessary in its features - just the most used tembres in high quality base, that can be modified based on your style and purpose. The only main con I would say is the (heavy) weight. You HAVE to count in a wheel bag for more comfortable transportation, because carrying it around only on shoulder will not be pleasent :) Overall - definitely recommended for piano/ drawbar/ organ sound oriented players.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Kawai MP-7 SE

1.369 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Monday, 27.09. and Tuesday, 28.09.

Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Stage Pianos
Stage Pianos
Stage Pianos - What can these digital pianos do?
Online Guides
Controller Keyboards
Controller Keyboards
At the simplest level, a controller keyboard, also commonly known as a "master" keyboard.
 
 
 
 
 
test results: