Customer center login
Country and Language

Harley Benton R-458MN WH Fanfret

101 Customer Reviews

5 67 Customers
4 23 Customers
3 7 Customers
2 3 Customers
1 1 Customer
4.5 / 5

features

sound

quality

Harley Benton R-458MN WH Fanfret
206 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
In stock within 2-3 weeks
In stock within 2-3 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
O(
Very Solid Base for a Project Guitar
Oscar (Tired of Diet Pepsi) 24.12.2019
I'll get straight to it.

Pros:
-The guitar is well built. Having fanned frets and it being an 8 stringer at this price range sounds all too good to be true, but it holds true to what it's advertised to be.
-The important parts, such as the neck is reliable.
-the tuners aren't top of the line but it does the job well enough to warrant as a positive thing for its price point.
-The bridge has great intonation range and its sturdy! wow! That's important! And you nailed it!
-There's conductive shielding paint on the humbucker cavities and the electronics cavities!!! something i didn't expect from a $150 guitar!!
-The fret ends actually had some sort of sanding/polishing done to it! My hands won't get cut going up and down on it!! wowow! Minimal work is required to get to the ideal specs. Big thumbs up.

Cons:
-mine came with a dead capacitor! WOO! Thankfully I'm a tinkering type of person, and I replaced 80% of the original electronics there cause..(segway to the next point)
-The electronics are kinda bad. But that's to be expected for a guitar at this price point. Though QC could've at least noticed the dead capacitor...or at least hear that something is wrong with the output of the guitar.
-lots of blemishes on the neck. A couple of raw unfinished spots, some scratches, uneven finish, and lots of coarseness when you run your hand at the back of the neck. Hopefully it will smooth itself out when it gets worn in.
-some of the frets are already worn?? I don't know what's going on but this isn't even B-Stock and i have crazy inconsistent frets on the one i got. Some frets looked untouched, some looked sanded and scratched but not polished to spec, some already dented by the string. whats going on haha...
-The nut doesn't have a curve to match the neck's radius curve. Nut is flat and requires lots of work to make the strings be at proper height on nut side. That i don't mind as much, just more tinkering for me.

Regardless of all of its issues, I still like this guitar, The cost of this guitar is equivalent to a months worth of Diet Pepsi for a family that drinks a lot of Diet Pepsi, and my family drinks a lot of Diet Pepsi. But this guitar is no sugar drink. It will make you work hard to make it like how you want it to be, but you'll like what you make out of it once you do.

It'd be neat if Thomann sent me a new, better capacitor, and maybe one of them weird German drinks too. I need a break form all this Diet Pepsi.
features
sound
quality
29
0
Report

Report

T
Incredible value and quality
Tekrytor 12.07.2020
Pros:
I've had mine almost one week now and it just grows and grows on me, despite my very high first impression. It just amazed me how much instrument I'm getting for around $200.
The only downside was the wait for delivery, in all about 6 weeks, during the COVID lockdown, not bad. It was well worth the wait. This is my first order from Thomann and I am quite happy.
The frets feel great, no work required. They are a bit rough, could sand them, but nothing that a few days play will not break in nicely. The action is great and the tone is fine for now. If I were gigging, I might swap the pickups for something more professional, but they sounds nice through my Roland cube and through my PA. I'm having fun with it into a DigiTech RP-360xp, looping, etc. The 8 strings really give me the range for more looping options, no need to swap guitar and bass for the different loops. Exactly what I was looking for. The fan frets require a little effort to get accustomed to, but not as bad as I thought. I find holding it more vertical really helps get the bass notes and the highs as well. Holding it at about 45° seems to be the sweet spot, and the fan really helps access both the highs and lows in that position. The pickups play nice with my FX unit and bypassed as well. They clean up nice and overdrive if pushed. The natural distorted sounds are not really my thing, but I haven't tried it in my tube amp yet, where it might matter more. I'm just really enjoying it through the cube for now. It's a bit heavier than some of my guitars, but similar to my Les Paul, which seems fine, considering the additional two bass strings. I was looking for an affordable Chapman Stick alternative and I'm extremely happy. I may buy another without the fan frets and restring it for a more bass version. At this price, experimentation isn't difficult.
If you're on the fence, jump. I think any "bigger" curious guitarist will be quite happy with this investment as a jumping off point into the 8-string world. I had a 7-string before that I could never grasp, but this is easy to visualize with two more strings. In its standard timing, G is just one fret up from the open bass string, which is my primary key on guitar. That makes it a natural extension for me. I play mainly pop, rock, and light jazz and usually solo these days, but I have played in bands a lot over the years. I can see this instrument as a real asset to the one man band gig, or duo/trio gigs, where you often need to fill a lot of range, and for composing songs, where you might be writing and arranging for more than just standard guitar range.
And if course head bangers in the various sub-genres will enjoy the range on this instrument.
It came detuned and I have done nothing other than letting the box sit for two hours in the house to acclimate, and then tune it up. It might need minor intonation, but it seems pretty close to perfect to me so far. It also stays in tune quite well. As you can tell, nothing to complain about from my end. The finish is even quite good on the body and neck. Probably the only thing I might change would be the tuners, just to get locking ones and ones with a bit stiffer feel. But these stay in tune and are very easy to tune. A good bag or case would also be nice. I am going to show this one off to my musician friends.

Cons:
None I could find, especially considering the price and quality.

Bottom line, get one. I'm loving this one.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

J
Fantastic intro 8-string for the price
Jackillin 17.06.2020
I wanted to try out an 8-string without investing too much cash. It took me all of about 20 minutes to fall completely in love with this guitar.

Pros :
Cost - it's incredibly cheap for what u get.
Setup - It turned up with the action low & all the strings were well intonated except the bottom 2 which needed tiny adjustment.
Ergonomics - I'm a lady with small hands & I feel like this was made for me!
Neck - Satin feeling neck at the back where u lay your thumb, a little less smooth on the neck edges but I only noticed when I ran my fingers down the neck sides to check the fret job.
Frets - The frets on mine are very well dressed, nothing sticking out or sharp.
Tuning stability - It had to be tuned everyday when it first arrived as I live in a very humid country & I stretched the strings a bit...after a week, it seems to have stabilised & it's holding tune pretty well the last couple of days - don't really needed to adjust much before playing.
Weight - The body is surprisingly light which is great for me but with the solid maple neck has a bit of neck dive.
Pickups - Mine sound great so far - the high end sounds clear to me, bottom end could maybe have some more separation but hey I'm tuning down to E - I'm happy for the price! U can upgrade!
Looks - It's really pretty.

Cons :
Neck dive - due to the weight of the beautiful maple neck.
Flaws - Mine had a black mark on the nut.
A tinyl crack in the body where the neck is set - prob just a surface paint/gloss crack, haven't noticed any probs with it.
Packaging/Delivery - Turned up with it bashed & slightly open at the headstock end of the box & so the headstock got a little bash at the top spike but the neck was unaffected so I'm not bothered & I can sand it out - I would prefer Thomann to put a little more padding around the headstock & perhaps mark the box with 'This Way Up' as my local delivery guys delivered it upside down prob due to the neck end being heavier than the body so I assume it was sitting on it's head for a couple of days.

I've only had this for about a week, I can't put it down! So much fun to play! It's comfortable, sounds great, is holding tune & a great entry level 8-string.
features
sound
quality
3
0
Report

Report

L
Localzen 19.03.2021
I couldn't pry myself off of this guitar long enough to write this review! I've been playing for 15 years and wanted to try an 8 string guitar without breaking the bank. I was intimidated by fanned-fret guitars and was trying to accept that I would need to spend $800 USD to buy a guitar I might end up hating. Saw a video by Glen Fricker of Spectre Media Group and ended up here!

AND WOW.

I'll just list the pros since I HONESTLY have zero cons:
- I also ordered a bag (Thomann E-Guitar Gigbag Deluxe fits perfectly for $22 USD) and a strap so my guitar came in it's little box, INSIDE another box that contained the bag and strap. Well-protected with the two layers of cardboard as well as some nice fabric around the guitar itself and held in place by foam padding on top, bottom and under the neck. It arrived 48 hours after my payment went through (I'm on the east coast of the USA)
- This guitar was setup so perfectly that I could play it right out of the box after tuning the 2 or 3 strings that were a bit off. Someone obviously put their heart and soul into tending to this piece of art.
- It's very lightweight, lighter than some 6 strings I have. Feels so comfortable with an 80mm strap even after 2.5 hours of playing.
- Paint is flawless, glossy and smooth.
- Well constructed. Again, it's obvious someone put their heart into building this.
- Electrical is very tidy and cables were bundled and organized! I don't know if the paint inside the cavity is shielding paint or not, but the back of the cover was shielded and there was ZERO hum or buzz.
- Pickups sound clear and deep in clean tones and crisp, sharp and heavy when distorted. No mud in a well-dialed tone. Tested on a 15w and 75w solid-state amp as well as an amp sim (NeuralDSP Archetype Gojira). The tone knob cuts a dramatic amount of high end, which sounds spectacular on a clean setting. It's a gradual cut also, not just an on/off knob. Dial to taste.
- Knobs have a very satisfying resistance to them, they don't just spin and spin. 3-way switch is smooth and snappy. They're all placed out of the way too, so you won't smack them when you're playing. (Looking at you, Charvel!)
- The frets are polished to perfection and perfectly cut along the neck. No overhanging frets whatsoever. My hands thank you.
- The fanned frets are very easy to get accustomed to. They're well-placed and gorgeously symmetrical.
- The neck itself is sanded to perfection, nice and flat but comfortable whether you're playing bar chords, cowboy chords or full-on riffage. No glossy finish so your hand glides very smooth.
- The guitar stays in tune very well, and my Snark tuner is capable of tuning this beast, although sometimes it struggles with the 8th string. The on-board tuner in my 75w amp can handle the low notes though!
- They even sent a 1/4" cable and an awesome "In case of emergency, rescue my guitars" sticker! (4" at least)

This guitar is absolutely perfect for players of any skill level who want to get into playing an 8-string. PERIOD. Thomann and Harley-Benton are INCREDIBLY underrated!!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

E
Great buy at a great price.
Eyvi 21.03.2021
Shipping was fast, the guitar came set up well however the factory strings less than steller. After putting on a fresh set of strings I was very pleasantly impressed by the playability and overall construction of the guitar, there were no lose screws and the pickups sounded great when plugged in. Even after a few months of playing the guitar plays well. The tuners that come stock are functional and do work but they are definitely the least impressive piece of hardware that come stock. Overall this guitar is a great buy at an outstanding price.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

M
Super cheap, but requires a little work
Makr 05.08.2019
This guitar is my intro to extended range guitars, i have never played more than a six string. Fan frets are really easy to get used to.
The guitar looks beautiful from afar, but the attention to details is a little lacking.

Finish
You can see the scratch marks from the sanding under the finish and the paint is missing in the hole for the pickup selector. The finish of the neck is a nice satin, feels really good in the hands. The profile of the neck is fairly rectangular with prominent "shoulders".


The fret ends are dressed decently, but the levelling is not very well done and the frets are not recrowned and polished, so there is some fret buzz, intonation is a tiny bit off and the rough surface of the frets makes bends feel awkward. The nut is quite terrible, I will definitely change it.

The pickups are a bit muddy, but that was no surprise and they can easily be changed.

Overall it's a nice intro to extended range guitars, but only if you are capable of tweaking some things and setting the guitar up properly. For the price it's definitely worth it.
features
sound
quality
3
0
Report

Report

T
Bullseye!
TheEvilZombiesDo 17.02.2021
I honestly don't know how to start. It is like HB is doing a guitar revolution teamed up with Thomann. For only +139GBP (vat etc.) , I have been delivered the Lion of a guitar. This is a white winter beast with 2 extra claws to djent your way out of the Covid apocalypse!
Besides the fanfare and flowers, let's talk technical:
+Facts about me: My skills are somewhere in between the intermediate and the advanced range and this is the first extended range/multi-scale guitar I have ever played.
+The neck feels very similar to my LTD KH-202, I totally love it and for someone with not so big hands, I am very happy that I am not overwhelmed by its' width. Of course, there is a tiny bit struggle but that is expected when playing extended range guitars.
+The Set-up was perfect for me , thanks for saving me a trip to my guitar shop!
+QC has done a great job, I have not noticed any flaws.
+The courtesy of adding a jack cable and allen keys in the package is a standard that sets another example to cash-grab big companies.

Danke Schoen!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

W
I wasn't expecting much
WNStudios 23.02.2021
I'm not a guitarist but i wanted a 8 string guitar in the studio so i can help writing riffs for my band. I was pleasantly surprised when i got it. It had some tiny, tiny blemishes in the finish which are only visible if you inspect it very closely. I dont care about that though, especially for the price.
The sound isnt bad at all, it's not great but i was expecting it to sound alot worse. Some fiddling around with the amp and i get a tone that's well worth keeping on a demo.
Tuning stability is decent aswell. I've had worse tuners on guitars costing alot more so i cant complain.
Feels great to play and it looks awesome! Sure i wouldnt use it on a album recording. But if i was a starting guitarist wanting to learn to play a 8string or fanned fret guitar i would highly suggest getting this!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

f
A fantastic instrument for those wanting to try out 8 string guitars, and perhaps beyond just trying out.
felipeamsv 12.08.2020
I've had this guitar for about 5 months now, since March 2020 (it is August 2020 as I'm writing this) and I feel ready to share my thoughts about it.

I want to start out by saying that I'm an intermediate guitar player (about 13 years of play) who has only ever owned cheap (think sub-300€) guitars, so my standards aren't extremely high. Even considering this, I went into this purchase with my expectations not too high up, despite all the glowing reviews I've read online. And let me tell you: I expected to take a much worse instrument out of that box. Here are some of the things I love about it:

- Looks: it looks great. Outside the places where the guitar has been cut, like the neck slot and pickup cavities, the finish is super smooth.
- Playability: I love the neck on this thing. Mine is maple with a maple fretboard, but from what I've seen you may get it with amaranth on the fretboard. Now, your mileage may vary since it *is* an 8 string guitar, so the neck is dauntingly wide compared to a traditional 6 string, but the shape and smoothness of the back of the neck (which is unfinished, completely natural wood) makes it super comfortable to play. Even the fanned frets haven't given me a lot of trouble (with the exception of barre chords closer to the nut), but again, your mileage may vary. The hardware (pickup selector and pots) feel great, very smooth. Also, the fret ends are not poking out at all.
- Out of the box setup: The guitar came pretty decently setup (outside a few things I mention below). The action was pretty low (I did lower it a bit more to my personal liking), the neck was straight as an arrow and the intonation was pretty much perfect.

Onto the negative:

- The nut. This was my first big gripe with the instrument. I haven't seen any more reviews complaining about this, but mine was horribly cut. It was so bad that the 8th string would just jump out of the nut slot if I plucked it normally with a 1.4mm pick. I had to deepen it and widen it by hand (my first time doing this) and now the problem is fixed, for the most part. The badly cut nut also affects tuning, in that the string binds on it. My tip is to always tune *up* to pitch, that way the nut won't be a problem for stability. I'll be looking for a luthier to see if they can do a nut replacement.
- Pickups: they're muddy. That's it. Not a lot of clarity, bad string separation. This is somewhat manageable if you adjust your amp settings a bit, but the pickups are definitely one of the first things I'm upgrading.
- Out of the box presentation: the fretboard had some sawdust on it which I had to clean off. There were also some wood shavings around the neck slot, which came out fine.
- Frets: I know I said the fret ends were fine, but the fret surfaces... Ouch. Extremely rough out of the box. Bending a string was like running a block of metal along a bed of nails. This smoothed out naturally with play and the frets feel fine by now, but during the first week or two, they felt pretty bad. I will be purchasing a fret dressing kit to try and polish them properly. Also, my 24th fret is slightly raised on one end, such that fretting my high E string at fret 23 produces an E, instead of the expected D#. Luckily, I pretty much never use those frets so this isn't an issue. This does not happen on any other string or fret.

Those are the biggest things I want to point out about the guitar. You may be thinking I pointed out a lot more negative than positive; do I regret this purchase? Would I buy it again? The answers to those questions are "Absolutely not" and "For under 200€, absolutely yes!". The playability of the guitar to me far outweighs the flaws I pointed out. I've been having lots of fun playing it and if something happened to it I would definitely get another (and who knows, the second one might come with a better cut nut ;) ).

In conclusion, if you want to try an 8 string on the cheap, I can definitely recommend this one. Especially since the biggest flaws are all in upgradable parts, so if you're willing to invest more, you can just upgrade this guitar and end up with a amazing instrument which rivals guitars 10x its price.

Update (April 2021): it has been a little over a year since I've had this guitar. I've replaced the pickups with Fishman Fluence (Tosin Abasi set, they fit perfectly in the pickup cavities with no modification/routing required), installed locking tuners, and got a luthier to swap the nut for a bone one and do a professional set-up and fret leveling. The guitar is now pretty much flawless. Sounds incredible with a ton of versatility thanks to the pickups I installed and feels amazing to play. It was already amazing for the price, but if you're willing to upgrade down the line, it just makes it that much more worth it. I've left the star ratings as they were before since I want them to remain relevant to what the guitar is like out of the box, but in its current state, I'd rate it 5/5 in every category.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

PP
Great beginner 8-string guitar!
Paul P-ff 19.02.2021
tl;dr: good price-to-quality ratio, tuners is something you should consider upgrading, sound will require some EQ magic and you might need to set up the guitar after unboxing. Nevertheless, well worth the money if you're tight on budget!

First of all, I'd like to thank Thomann staff for quickly ironing out a few kinks I've had with the ordering process, and subsequent fast delivery - 7 days total!

While I'm primarily a bass player, I decided to buy a guitar for recording purposes, as I wasn't happy with how some of my musical ideas sounded on other instruments.

First impressions - solidly built, considering the price. The neck is slim and feels good in the hand. Action out of the box was set way higher than I would've liked, so I had to make quite extensive adjustments before I could start playing. Comes pre-equipped with light tension strings, so you can thump away on the E, B and F#. There was a minor cosmetic defect in the form of a bump on the headstock, but nothing that affects playability otherwise.

One major area of concern - something I've seen reflected in other reviews on this page - is the tuners. The guitar goes out of tune quite often, especially on the lower-tension strings. This was particularly frustrating for me as a bassist, since I only ever touch my bass's tuning pegs once in a blue moon. Expect to have to tune it every time you grab it from the stand.

As for the sound - the guitar sounds... alright. I would say it's exactly something you would expect from an electric this cheap, and you'll have to do a bit of tinkering around in your DAW to clean up the muddiness, especially if the recording involves the lower strings.

Despite the shortcomings, you can't find a fanned-fret 8-string of similar quality within budget, even used. If you're considering testing the waters of the extended range world, you will be happy with the purchase.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
Harley Benton R-458MN WH Fanfret