Customer center login
Country and Language
Harley Benton R-458 BK Progressiv Series
166 €
Including VAT; Excluding 19,90 € shipping
In stock within 8-10 weeks
In stock within 8-10 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
R
Perfect first 8 string
ReubenNB 28.09.2021
Bought this expecting mediocre playability, poor intonation etc. and a weak scratchy tone like other ultra-cheap guitars I've owned, but it has exceeded all expectations and is exactly the extended range instrument I've been wishing for, despite having little money to spend.
Condition and initial impression:
Arrived extremely well-packaged, with the hex keys and even a free jack lead included. Upon opening, noted that there's not a single scuff, scratch, bump or crack on the instrument, and it was strung with strings that were heavy enough on the bottom end not to be too wobbly. It is also surprisingly light, the body weighs almost nothing and I'm sure most of the mass comes from the neck. This helps it balance really well on a strap.

Sound:
The humbuckers sound surprisingly rich when playing lead parts, only moderately worse than something like an Ibanez quantum pickup, but enjoyable to play and listen to nonetheless. I'd heard that these pickups give a somewhat muddy sounds on the lower strings, and this is true to some extent when distortion is applied, but EQ can largely sort this out. Clean sounds are pleasant and sparkly, the lower 2 strings buzz a little in chords sometimes but it's not much of an issue.

Setup:
Straight out of the box the action and intonation were fine, though I adjusted the action of the higher strings to preference. It was only somewhat out of tune, not enough to make the neck and strings temporarily unstable. It has held tune really well, despite the poor reputation for these tuners.

If you'd like an introductory 8 string without committing £400+, go for this one, it'll take you a long time to want to upgrade it.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

F
Nice guitar
Francisco5274 07.12.2015
I've been playing guitar for a long time, and I was curious to try those 8 string guitars that are rising up now in the market. My problem, as many other people, the budget. I was not in position to buy a 900$ guitar now, so I told myself that this budget 8 string could satisfy my curiosity, and if it failed as a guitar, the economical loss won't be as much. But it paid off:

Pros:

-Good construction and finish, it feels a bit light but not an issue.
-Good tuners.
-Good electronics. For the sound gourmets maybe these pickups are not of their taste, but they do a pretty good job IMHO. A little too hot I must say, but that's not an issue for me.
-It doesn't feel as alien when coming from a 6 string. This is because of its neck length and width. It feels very comfortable.
-Well intonated and decent string action (for my taste anyway)

Cons:

-The nut is made of cheap plastic, I strongly recommend to change it. Also it's set up sort of too high, when you voice a chord in the 0-3 frets and you apply a little bit more pressure, the chord detunes a lot.

- The strings are too light for what the instrument is (the F# one, so the 8th, felt like I was holding a bow instead of a guitar...). Change the set and get harder strings (like a .10 or plus).

-It depends on the unit, but for mine I will need to do a fret job. Some frets buzz where others don't (not a truss rod issue, that's tested already)

-Packaging. Just covered in carton board and air bags to secure the instrument, mine came with a hit in the head, half the size of a pinky's nail. Not something that is very bad but I could've been less lucky.

-The jack plug is not well grounded/connected, I get a familiar not-good-grounded noise (like when you touch the tip of a connected jack) when I move the jack in a particular position . I haven't opened the guitar but it seems like a quick fix.


So there you have it, as it is a budget instrument you'll need to adjust it, but for what it does and what it costs it is very good.
features
sound
quality
10
1
Report

Report

A
Interesting Purchase !!
Anonymous 18.06.2015
Ok...received in 3 days. When unboxing it became obvious this guitar needed some tlc to get it set up correctly. I dont mind tinkering, especially with such a cheap experimental instrument such as this...the temptation to go 8 string experiment I specifically refer !! I daresay you get good ones and bad ones so I will rate mine as satisfactory as it WAS perfectly playable out of the box. However, I had to slacken the 5 neck bolts to pull the neck slightly as the strings were not parallel with the neck and aligned with the pickup poles properly...5 mins and it was was fixed...has not moved since. Neck joint very snug so take some comfort in that fact. Next...intonation was out but theres plenty of adjustment and another 10 minute job fixed that. Scale length is short for an 8...compared to other manufacturers but hey, it makes for an easier transition from 6 to 8 as it feels "normal" at 648mm...only the width to become familiar with. Finish on fingerboard and back of neck is perfect...fretwork is sublime and makes a very low action achievable if you so desire. Body is a beautiful sculpted shape and very well balanced on the strap without neck diving at all. Tuners are good and nut is cut well...bonus! Strings supplied aren't the best and sound a little dead but some Kerly's will sort that out when required. Sound is pretty good overall...bridge is lively and full sounding across the strings without excessive muddiness at all. Neck pickup is very warm and usable too. From clean to extreme distortion this thing really works well with a Zoom G3X processor with all of its many possibilities !! I opened the rear cover to look at the electronics and its a bit shabby looking but I finished it off to a better standard...its all cheap but functional stuff though. Whats has really made me fall in love with this guitar is the potential to increase it tonal capability...I'm talking about the pickups...they are 4 wire as standard...coil taps please...thank you. I fitted a mini toggle to achieve this + a 1meg tone pot (more treble) and...BOOM...now I have the most versatile instrument I have ever picked up...I mean WOW...its capabilites are endless and it all works beautifully to my ears. The heavy tones are there anyway but shrill, strat type highs are all there to be released for the sake of spending 10 quid on a pot and a toggle switch + half an hours work. You DO NOT need to swap out the pickups on this thing as they are workable. Simply one of my best purchases ever...although I have voided any warranty I don't care as my "experiment" has worked for me and at this price I ain't bothered anyway. This thing is built excessively and nothing can go wrong...Thanks Thomann for bringing this wonderful budget guitar...well pleased.
features
sound
quality
7
1
Report

Report

G
Actually a great bargain!
Gummi_Iceland 06.07.2021
I received this instrument 2 days ago. I read propably around a 100 reviews before i bought it so i actually expected it to have some issues that would need to be addressed before it would be playable.
But no!
The finish is just way above standard for a 150 euro guitar. The neck is fine, slight string buzz on frets 1 and 2 but nothing that would bother me. Reviewers said that the pickups are noisy, but no. Mine are silent and deliver a great output for the price. The strings that come with it are not great but way above the expectations that i had so that is not an issue.
Tuners are just what the reviews said, quite simple HB stock but are actually ok. It does not detune a lot and the feel to the tuners is actually that of a more expensive instrument.
Bottom line, i LOVE this guitar and it has not left my hands since it came. It's a no brainer, if you want to try out an 8 string. Buy this one now! It has the feel of a 3-400 euro guitar!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

M
Fair enough
Marcos82 28.10.2021
Well if you want a perfect finish, perfect tuning, perfect sound this guitar is not for you as this guitar is made to be cheap. The tuners are bad. They are not predictable at all, some even have slack. Detunes very easialy. The paintjob is rushed. Conclusion?
Worth the money!! Plays just fine and for what it is, adequate for this price point. Nice to own an 8 string on a lower budget. Recommended!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

J
Can't go wrong at this price
JDJW 07.06.2018
If you're looking for an 8 string guitar without breaking the bank, this is the one to go for.

I ordered this on a whim after listening to an Animals as Leaders album and deciding that I wanted to have a go at the whole extended range experience. It's absolutely not what I play live, so there was no point in spending a fortune on any of the (really very nice) 8 strings that are available from the 'premium' brands, so I thought that this would do the job.

Some other reviewers have noted that some setup was needed when the guitar arrived, but this wasn't my experience at all. It arrived promptly, and straight out of the box I was able to break into some seriously heavy riffing. The finish was remarkable for a guitar at this price point, and would rival instruments at several times its price. I find the neck to be very pleasing to play on, and the guitar is well weighted.

In terms of shortcomings, the guitar does show its price in some ways. The pickups have a tendency to sound a bit muddy, particularly when shown to any sort of gain. They lack the clarity of some of the big-name pickups, but this is to be expected when a single pickup can be more expensive than this whole guitar. If I were to be using this live I would consider swapping them out for something from Seymour Duncan or DiMarzio, but the fact that I would do that instead of just buying a new guitar should speak highly of the basic quality of the instrument.

Other shortcomings include the tuners, which have been prone to slippage in my experience. Nothing too major, but frequent retuning is necessary.

Overall, if you're interested in trying out the extended-range world, this Harley Benton is a great place to start!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

S
Bought for a Hobby, Kept for the Quality
Schengis 23.06.2019
I originally bought this guitar in the white color, and the quality impressed me so much that I decided to order this one so that I could have one to adjust and tweak to my liking and get some more practice doing mods. That was the plan, but when I got this beast there was so little work to do.

I'll preface this by saying that this is most likely NOT the guitar that I would take up on stage with me, but it is a perfectly capable and well-made instrument. I was anticipating having hours of work ahead of me to get this thing sounding like I wanted it to, but I was pleasantly surprised at how good it sounded right out of the box.

As for the downsides:
The tone knob seems to have no gradual control over the sound and changes sharply at around 5pm. The tuning heads are also a bit touchy and you'll find yourself hovering around notes on a tuner instead of hitting it dead on in the lower register of the instrument.

Like I said, I probably wouldn't be jamming with this bad boy on stage, but it's a great toy to have.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Anonymous 24.03.2015
After watching a load of Rob Scallon videos on YouTube, I decided it was time to try out an 8-string guitar. I had never played an 8-string before this purchase, nor have I ever played a 7-string, and so I was dreading the increased neck width, which I was expecting to be overwhelming, much like it is (for me anyway) on a 6-string bass.
Thankfully the increased neck width didn't really phase me, and the whole guitar felt quite comfortable to play, despite the few sharp frets. Much to my surprise the lightweight guitar is actually nicely balanced and not even remotely headstock heavy.
So this guitar has impressed me twice straight out of the box. On top of that all of the hardware seems pretty solid.
Although, I'm not a big fan of the pick-ups, they're a little too bland for my tastes (but since I'm running it through a Marshall Valvestate 8080, they still sound pretty good). And finally the fretboard needs a clean, which seems to be a trend among all the Harley Benton guitars I have played: they all seem to come with dirty fret boards, nothing a drop of lemon oil won't fix when I change the strings.

Overall it's a pretty solid guitar, which I've got tuned to some form of Open F (FCFACGCE). It needs a bit of a setup, a clean and a new set of strings.
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

S
A great guitar for stopping burglars!
SRV666 01.04.2015
So back in April.
I was chilling, watching a YouTube video and some guy calls to my house by ringing the doorbell.

So being the lazy mofo I am, I ignore the repeat ringing.
A few moments pass and I hear a huge crash from a window being smashed downstairs
I quickly realise that my house is being broken into and need to get ready to deal with it.

Looking around my room to procure an item I could use to defend myself with I had to opt to picking a guitar.
The guitar I chose was the Harley Benton 8 string guitar.
(Harley Benton R-458 BK Progressiv Series)

Armed with that beast, I charge downstairs and encounter the burglar breaking and entering.

At this point there's glass all over the floor and the burglar is making his way into the house.
Holding the 8 string guitar by the headstock I approach him and tell to get the F out.
The burglar threatened cut to me with a box cutter so bashed him across the head with 8 string!
He hit the ground like a sack of shit but he quickly got to his feet before I hit him again and jumped back out through the window and took off running!

I tried to cut him off by running out the front door but it was locked.
I ran back upstairs grabbed my keys and saw from my bedroom window
that he was getting away.
So instead of going downstairs and out the front door, I jump from the second story window still with the 8 string in hand!
At that moment the burglar looked back while I was mid free fall and look of horror on his face was priceless.
At that point he knew he was F'd!

So he took off running for his life down the street while I charged after him wielding the HB 8 string body raised overhead ready to whack him with it!

I managed to close the distance and I gave him a belt of the guitar across the head and temporarily stun him.

I got infront of him and that this point he brandishes his stanley blade knife and begins slashing at me with it!
Luckily I was able to maintain distance and parry all his attacks by jabbing him in the face repeatedly with the guitar.

Two minutes of knife/guitar duelling we find ourselves out in the middle of the road on a roundabout and all traffic has come to a halt as we continued fighting!
After many well placed strikes the burglar's head was beginning to look like 'Sloth' from 'The Goonies' movie.
Realising that I wasn't gonna give up the burglar then tried to make a get away by hijacking an articulated lorry which resulted in him getting punched straight in the face and falling out of the lorry cab!
He then proceeded to get into another car and threaten the driver telling them to drive.

My heart sank as I thought he was gonna get away but I just couldn't let that piece of shit get away with it, so I chased after the car in what would have looked like a low budget Terminator 2 chase scene!

Somehow I managed to keep up with the car and see where it was going!

The driver had pulled over and the scumbag got out and planned to hide in a barber shop to which he was quickly escorted off the premises because he had a head on him like a buckled mattress.
I ran into them and ask the to call the guards.

Meanwhile the moron went into a neighbouring café and sat down (I think that was the concussion beginning to set in!)

At this stage I had enough and I left the guitar outside and I went in and disarmed and pinned him in the café as staff and customers looked on in confusion but I calmly explained to everyone once I had in an anaconda choke.

The guards appeared in no time and arrested him and put him into the back of the car.

The moral of the story is:
Don't bring a knife to a guitar fight.

A Harley Benton guitar is a great guitar!!
features
sound
quality
5
2
Report

Report

B
Harley Benton R-458 vs Ibanez RG8
Backpfeifengesicht 18.07.2017
As an owner of both guitars, I can see that almost every feature and measurement of this is extremely similar to the RG8. And why not, right? Both great guitars. The frets are about half an inch smaller all along the neck, in comparison to the Jumbo frets on the Ibanez.

This Harley Benton is the best and cheapest entry-level 8 string on the market. However the pickups are very bad and noisy in comparison to the Ibanez. The Ibanez delivers the clairty you hear in modern progressive metal bands, and the warmth and diversity for everything else. The Harley Benton sounds embarrassingly weak, but pulls off clean tones well enough to be enjoyable.

The Harley Benton is great for playing unplugged. It's about 1/3 lighter than the Ibanez due to the smaller, rounded body and the smaller fretboard makes it easier to get used to using the 7th and 8th strings.

The tone/volume pots and very delicate, consider taking the back panel off and reinforcing them, using them lightly is the only way to avoid damaging them as they are cheaply fixed at the back.

Consider taking it to a technician as it probably went through a cheap set up, mine needed intonating and the string height adjusted to avoid the 7th and 8th string fret/string buzz, which you will get on the Ibanez too.

If you're buying an 8 string for the first time, buy this one. If/when the novelty wares off then you won't have wasted £300 more for the Ibanez. If you have the money, and don't like hoarding/testing guitars, buy the Ibanez!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Harley Benton R-458 BK Progressiv Series