Harley Benton HB-35Plus Vintage Burst

178 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
My Best Harley Benton - so far
Johnny D, 13.01.2017
HB-35Plus Vintage Burst

Pros:
Price, Finish, Features, Fretboard, 3-way switch location, Output Jack location, Electric Sound, Frets

Neutral:
Frets, Acoustic Sound, Coil Tap feature , A few little blemishes, Strings

Cons:
Strings, Pick Guard

My 4th Harley Benton.
As always, ordering from Thomann?s website was easy and with Paypal convenience. The shipment took roughly 2 weeks from Germany to US/Florida (Christmas/New Year time).
The shipping box was damaged but, all items in the box were in good shape, no product damage!

Initial inspection was pleasing. The finish is very good on a product of this price. It is not perfect, but for this price it is better than I expected. The overall finish is smooth and nicely buffed to a high gloss. As for defects, only a few little specs in the clear, and a small blemish in the wood grain on the back of the guitar, roughly 1/2" long. Not really an issue for this price guitar, and it?s on the back.

The fretboard on this guitar is the best of the 4 Harley Benton's I now have. The fingerboard doesn't appear to have any stain coating as my other guitars had. The rosewood is natural, and has nice grain, however it appears a bit dry.
The block inlays are nicely cut and installed. They fit smoothly to the surface of the fingerboard.
The fret work on this guitar is good, but not finished. The frets appear to be raw fret wire pressed in an dressed on the ends only, but not finished beyond that point. They are clean and free of the crusty buildup my other HB's suffered from.
Sighting down the neck, there appears to be no offensively high, nor low frets, and a quick chromatic run up each string resulted no serious buzzing. I should mention this was done after the action was lowered.
As it arrived, the action was set very high, playable, but not ideal. I roughly lowered the bridge until some buzzing was noticeable, then raise the action ever so slightly.

The neck binding is very good as well, only one small area that is a bit rough between the frets. This can easily be smoothed off, so no real issue.

The strings are better than most I've received, but still not great. They don't feel rough or corroded, but lack brightness when played. I believe this inhibits the acoustic sound of the guitar out of the box. Better strings should make a noticeable difference.

The tuners are closed back, smooth and uniform in function and stay in tune (so far). They all appear to be well produced and bare no branding.

The pick guard - Every review I have read, seen or heard, has complained about the pick guard. I'm no different. It is poorly produced, irregularly-irregular shaped, rough-edged, makes the guitar look very cheap due to the rough unfinished appearance. Two screws and it is now off the guitar.

The coil tap (split) volume pots, cut the humbucker(s) to a single coil(s). As with my HB SC450Plus, I don't think the feature is as prominent as I had hoped, but it does work.

The f-holes are nicely cut and finished on this guitar, some wiring is visible through the f-hole, but of no concern.

The nut appears to be the standard HB plastic cast variety. The string spacing is fine, but may require the string slots to be opened up a little.

The pickups are Wilkinson covered humbuckers. The sound pretty good for stock pickups, especially at this price point.
As for sound, the pickups are fine for now, plugged in the guitars sounds very good (to me). Acoustically, the guitar is a little dull, probably the stings. Remember, it is a thin semi-hollow body as well, not a full bodied acoustic.

The output jack is in a location I prefer over an ES-335. The jack is placed through the wooden side. As it arrived, the jack is neatly installed and tight. I should also mention I like the location of the 3-way switch on this guitar over the 335. If you plan to add a tremolo (think Bigsby), the location of the switch on this guitar just seems better. It won?t be under the trem bar.

The strap buttons are very basic standard style, one at the end, the other on the back of the neck heel.

Recap.
The negatives are minor, a couple small spots in the finish, and a little rough spot on the neck binding in one area as well.
The frets are good, but need to be finished. It's playable, but could easily be much better.
The controls, pickups and tuners all work well, and for the price are quite nice.
This is the best finished Harley Benton I've purchased, it is also the most expensive Harley Benton I've purchased.

What really needs to be done to this guitar?
Finish crown and polish the frets, possibly adjust the neck relief, put on some new strings and check/set the intonation.
And, I might prefer a better 3-way switch. The stock switch works, but feels a little cheap.
Of course, this guitar can be played without any of these changes.

I'm giving it 5 stars because the few blemishes are of no concern on a guitar of this price. The frets aren't finished, but can easily be finished. Overall the total value of the guitar is greater than what it cost. A numerical rating would be 8/10, but the star scale it gets 5/5 for having everything, with minor finishing touches needed.

Please remember, this guitar costs just under $200, it's not $400, $500, $1000 or more. If you expect a $1000 guitar quality, then buy a $1500 guitar. Yep, you read that right.

With a little finishing, this is easily a $400 guitar, or more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing guitar
zart arn, 17.10.2020
My acquaintance with Harley Benton guitars began with the Harley Benton HBO-850NT guitar. It was not very good quality and there were concerns about buying a Harley Benton HB-35Plus Vintage Burst guitar. After reading reviews of other buyers, I decided to buy it. About a month of waiting and the guitar appeared in stock. Another 2 weeks of being sent to Russia and the guitar is in my hands.
They delivered to me exactly the same guitar as in the picture. It is very well made in quality. The neck is perfectly straight. All frets are sanded, it is clear that the guitar went through pre-sale preparation. Strings do not ring or cling to frets when played. Guitar tuners have a small gear ratio, which lengthens the tuning time of the guitar.
Humbuckers have a coil cutoff which allows for a wide variety of sounds from Les Paul to Telecaster.
This is my first semi-acoustic guitar and I absolutely love it.
The sound is very pleasant even though this is a guitar that costs less than 200 euros.
You need to understand when buying that this is not an acoustic guitar and without connection it will sound quiet. The empty cavities are found only on the sides of the case where the holes are cut. in the place of the pickups and the bridge is a mahogany block.
The guitar has a significant weight.
This guitar was purchased for home use.
To my incredible pleasure, I did not find any downsides in it. Only pluses in everything.
I am not a professional musician and I think this is the most beautiful instrument for amateur home playing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
HB score again
Timddeb., 18.06.2021
This guitar is everything we wished for in this genre.
Could not find any faults and it arrived in excellent condition. No faults at all!!!! We use it when we are looking to emulate Beatles et al but it's versatile so we can tackle anything we want with it. Pickups are fine and HB has definitely improved in this area. I used to think of them as low budget but these days they are consistently very good.Definately a keeper. To add a little more we also bought a Bstock lefty. This was as usual just as good as a new one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Happy with it, despite some minor issues.
Snoozeboy, 11.01.2021
Pros
- Looks like a lot of guitar for the money, with some caveats (see below).
- It resonates and sustains like crazy. I really like the sound.
- I also love the growl of the humbuckers as an alternative to my Strat. The pups are quite hot and crude, but I'm happy with them.
- neck is straight and frets are level(ish). There are no dead frets. There are a few sharp ones on one side towards the 15th fret. Nothing too serious.

Cons
- Pickguard is horrible, both the cheap plastic, the sharp-edged finish and the way that the main screw holding it in place is not fully countersunk. Once I decided I was going to keep the guitar I removed it. It looks much nicer without it anyway.
- there were a few hums and buzzes when I first started playing it. There was some loose veneer or wood inside the top which I either removed or glued down. It's fine now.
- The dots on the side of the fretboard are slightly off centre. It's not something that bothers me.
- the seam in the middle of the flamed top is about 3mm off centre. Again, this doesn't bother me.
- the vintage burst is more orangey than I expected. It still looks nice hanging on the wall next to my tidepool (blue) Strat.
- the G string kept going flat one evening when I was practicing a solo with a lot of bends on it. I grated some pencil into the nut slot and it cured it for a while, but then the problem comes back and disappears from time to time for G and D strings. Apparently this is an issue with many 3/3 tuner headstocks. Maybe I'll change the nut.
- the inlays really look like mother-of-toilet-seat plastic. In retrospect, the dot inlays of the non-plussed version would look better. Come to think of it, I can live without the coil splits too, so maybe I should have gone for the black version. Ah, who cares?
- the pau ferro fingerboard is redder and lighter than expected and doesn't feel substantial. It feels like a veneer. Maybe it will improve with age.

In conclusion it's more than good enough for the money and is a useful new sound to my guitar collection.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Punching Way Above its Weight
Phil-Leeds-UK, 28.02.2018
I received my HB35Plus VB last week and was amazed at how good this is for 218 Euro. This was a birthday treat and I had promised myself an Epiphone ES 339 VS. I went into town a few days before buying this HB35Plus to test the ES 339 and was a little disappointed with it. The finish wasn't that good and there looked to be a growing crack where the neck meets the body. So I decided to think about it some more and subsequently decided to go for the slightly larger bodied HB35 Plus from Thomann who I had bought from before. I am so glad I did. I was prepared for it not being perfect out of the box, given some of the picky negatives we see about these. But I was so pleasantly surprised when it arrived. The figured top is beautiful, the sunburst is well sprayed on the front, back, and sides, there's no weeping into the cream binding - which is perfect by the way, even around the f holes. The neck is just perfect for my fretting hand and on the subject of frets, having made a guitar or two in my time, I can say that these are very well placed and finished both on the fret and on the bevelled edges. The inlays are attractive (as they should be - block is the easiest to inlay), the decals on the headstock are central and the generic tuning pegs seem sturdy and able to hold their position well. The HB35 could have been played straight out of the box after a little bit of string tuning, but I prefer a lower action so I adjusted it to suit me. Now I have what I would call a perfect guitar. The Roswell humbuckers combined with the 3-way pickup selector, the 2 tone control, and the push/pull coil split volume controls, work perfectly with my Vox AC30 and provide all the combinations I'm ever likely to need at the level I play. Crikey, even the pick guard is reasonably well cut on mine. Overall, I cannot fault this guitar. There's so much more here than the price point would suggest and I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone. I would also recommend Thomann. I ordered this late on Friday and it was delivered to my home the following Wednesday. This is the same excellent service I'd received when I bought my Epiphone EJ 200 CE from them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Not what I ordered - otherwise OK...
ZigM, 22.10.2019
The guitar advertised on the Thomann website depicts a 335-style guitar with a pronounced AAAA-grade tiger/flame maple top in cherry burst. The guitar I got was a brown burst and the tiger/flame maple is barely visible. It's like ordering a red shirt with a big fat logo visible but you get a black shirt with a miniature logo on the sleeve that no one can see. Not good. Not what I ordered. Not what I wanted!

Don't get me wrong. The overall build quality of the guitar (i.e. body, neck, fretwork, pickups) is amazing. But the neck pickup tone pot and output jack were loose - flopping around. The strings were rusty, the frets had gunk on them and the action was only good for slide guitar - but I don't play slide! I tightened the pot and jack, polished the frets, oiled the fret board and put on new strings. But I ask you (Thomann), why put QC tags on all your guitars if you don't actually QC them? I still have the tag if anyone's interested? I can teach you, if you want?

None of the guitars I received to date were properly set up. There was always an issue: either yucky, dirty fret-board with rusty strings, faulty electronics, poorly adjusted vibrato etc. I consider that 'verarschung'. Look it up in German.

It's not that I dislike the guitar colour etc. It's the fact that I was expecting what I had ordered. To date, the images of the guitar you probably won't get (i.e. if you order it) are still there . There is no mention that the product you will receive could vary substantially in colour and in the quality of the AAAA-grade tiger/flame top.

The Harley Benton HB-35Plus Vintage Burst is an extremely good guitar, albeit with some issues that were resolved. Seriously, this guitar is in no way inferior to the brand guitar that this guitar was modeled on. The original 335s I played in the 1980's weren't really better. Some had so many problems...brrr. OK, so the electronics (not the pickups) suck in this guitar. But that can be rectified. The Roswell pickups (switchable to single coil) are very good.

Had I received a properly set-up guitar with the advertised AAAA-grain and colour as advertised, I would have given 5 stars easily. Had the website been updated, I would have also added points. Alas, it is only 1 star.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Far exceeded my expectations!
MichaelBC, 11.02.2021
I've been looking for a reasonably priced semi-hollow body for quite some time now(for jazz/rock/blues), and stumbled across multiple youtube videos extolling the virtues of the "HB-35" series. I decided to take the plunge and am glad I did so!

Pros
Fast shipping: This guitar was ordered on Feb. 6th and arrived this afternoon, Feb 10th... It was shipped from a location in Germany, crossed an ocean, and was delivered to my door(U.S.) around lunch time, 5 days later.

Overall build quality: The fit and finish of this guitar is really quite amazing, given its price-point. The binding and finish were extremely well done, the neck feels great, the fretboard looks and feels really nice, the frets were fitted properly, and the guitar was properly intonated right out of the box. The action was good, with no buzzing.

Tonal range: This guitar does everything you'd expect a semi-hollow body guitar to do, and the coil-taps add additional opportunities for finding new sounds.

Cons(These are mostly )
Strings: The stings were pretty bad and were replaced immediately

Fret appearance: The frets were downright dirty and had visible toolmarks, but no dead-spots and they polished up nicely

Minor cosmetic issues: Very minor issues with slight over-spray and somewhat sloppy f-hole paint

Overall, I'm extremely pleased with this guitar and already have another model in mind for my next purchase
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First purchase and outstanding!
StrummingSteve, 03.01.2020
I am an intermmediate level player and It was with some degree of uncertainty that I ordered from Thomann. My first more important online purchase / the international shipping to Canada and concerns of damage and not sure of taxes or duties / my first Thomann purchase / and the attractive pricing versus what I would receive? Well absolutely everything has been perfect! Purchase and regular communication very good and easy. The guitar arrived without a mark and simply looks and feels fantastic. The QA and set up by “Ray” was good out of the box. The HB 35 Plus partnered with my Vox Valvetronix sounds terrific. While I am big on supporting my local services and suppliers, a similar spec guitar locally is minimum 2X the price.......Thomann have earned my next order.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Hidden Gem
Koz, 24.05.2017
Brilliant value and rapidly becoming one of my favourites.

Most of my guitars are basses. I already had a Fender Strat but I'd always wanted a 335 or something 335'ish. After seeing the video reviews of these HB35s I thought I'd take a chance on one.
I was not disappointed, she came out of the box playable and looked great; not counting THAT pick guard...
Finish is good and everything works. That sunburst is luscious.

Cons
Fret ends needed a little finishing; just slightly catchy here and there. Not horribly sharp.
To get her playing a little lower took a bit of fettling with the neck and the frets.
A little work brought her nearer the kind of spec one might expect to see on an American made guitar of this type.

Pick guard - that had to come off. Horrible shape, not well finished. After I was sure I would be keeping her, I remodelled the guard to take off that terrible horn and give it a more convention outline. I put a proper radius on the bottom end too. She looked good with no pick guard but now she just looks... right.

There was one little bit of transit damage.
One of the strings must have taken a knock in transit somewhere and was giving a curious buzz on just one fret. At first I thought it was a fret problem but upon magnified inspection I could see the dent was in the string. Thomann sorted that one with no fuss. Strings replaced.

Plays great, looks great. Tuning is stable. I'm very happy with her. going between her and my Strat, there is no feeling of a drop in quality or feel.
The pups are strong; I find they sound better when set lower rather than too close. Raising the poles (except the G and B) gives a brighter tone than just flat.
I put marvel strap locks on her just to be safe.

This experience has encouraged me to buy two more Harley Bentons; an SC-450 P90 GT (sweet) and a TE-70 Paisley (yet to get my hands on).

Somebody stop me !!! 8^)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Yamaha SA-1000 !
Mesa66, 15.03.2021
Reminds me of a Yamaha SA-1000 I’ve played, same fretboard radius at 350 mm and it even has the same headstock shape. Pickups are a very good modern version of the PAF 59’s, as good as it gets, swapping won’t mean upgrading that’s for sure. The hardware is unbranded but it all works, stays in tune and all. I do my own full setups and buzzing frets issues, but if you don’t then you might have to have it done, after all for that price they have to cut some cost somewhere. Why not have one of Thomann’s luthier do full setup before shipping, would be a little more expensive but worth it, just a thought cause even my expensive Gibson Les Paul Standard needed work when I got it. Thomman’s customer service is exceptional by the way, next am getting one with P-90’s, that Harley Benton SC-450 GT Classic will do just fine, I wish those where available 40 years ago! Now everyone can have good playable guitar very cheap, it’s crazy lol!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Astonishing Value for Money
Crommers, 11.01.2021
My first HB and it completely lives up to the hype around Thomann's signature brand. As a seasoned player used to playing my Gibson and Fenders, this thing has impressed me greatly. Excellent build, attractive finish, good sound and very enjoyable playing feel. Intonation spot on out of the box and no fret buzz.

The tuners felt a little dodgy, so I switched them out for Vanson locking tuners and also upgraded the nut to Graphtech PTFE while I was as it. Also gave the frets a good polish to clear the scratchy surface and oiled the dry fingerboard. Stock Roswell pickups sound nice and retain clarity even with the tone rolled off. The pots are a bit stiff, so I may change those in time, but really this is nit-picking. The general impression is of quality greatly exceeding its price point.

Worth noting too that it is very sonically versatile, especially given the coil-split functionality to run the humbuckers as single coils. Jazz, country, blues and hard rock are all perfectly at home here.

After a few minor tweaks, this is a fantastic guitar that is a joy to play. For £200 it has made me very happy indeed!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome guitar. Love it
Great 335 replacement, 26.04.2021
I have to say that I LOVE this guitar. I'm 61 years-old and have been a semi-pro working musician since I was 14. I've owned a number of guitars through the years, including a Fender, Guild, Ibanez, custom Carvins, and Gibsons( including a 1963 Gibson ES-335), and this guitar is wonderful. I'm astounded how well it's made and sounds. I will admit that it's not as good as the '63 ES-335, but I was not expecting it to be. I should never have parted with 63 Gibson and have been looking to replace it ever since, but I just couldn't justify paying Gibson's prices. Apparently I don't need to now. I mean, how much better can a Gibson be? This guitar is that nice. I will say that if you are looking for that 355 feel and sound and can't/won't spend the money for a Gibson...this is the guitar to buy. You can't go wrong. it is a pure joy to play.

Pros
Workmanship is amazing considering the price. It just feels like a top quality guitar in all ways. I haven't found any flaws in it. It's beautiful to look at, feels wonderful to hold and play, and sounds great. The tone on it is just what I was expecting in a 335 style guitar.

Cons
There are 2 things I would change on this guitar. That is the placement of the pickup switch and the placement of the treble knobs. Harley-Benton decided to the put the pickup switch in the same location as it is on a Les Paul (above the strings). I switch pickups a lot and it's just not as fluid as the Gibson location (below the strings near the bridge). The other thing I don't like is the placement of the treble controls. They moved them a couple of inches and they are just too far away. Not a huge deal as I don't change tone often, but it's annoying. I'm actually considering having the treble knobs and pickup switch moved. Shouldn't be hard to do.

Overall it is a great guitar and absolutely worth what I paid for it. It looks, feels, and sounds like it should be worth 10 times as much.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton HB-35Plus Vintage Burst
Jem68, 29.11.2020
I've always wanted a guitar in this configuration/style. Having fruitlessly scouring the usual internet market places for a secondhand epiphone or similar, my wife found the Thomann site. I'd never heard of Thomann or Harley Benton.
I read and viewed several reviews of this guitar and Thomann in general.
I placed my order accepting , as some reviewes had stated, that for the price some 'imperfection' could be expected. Three days later my order arrived in perfect condition. No blemishes, no residual glue or 'gunk'. Perfect! It sounds great, looks great, plays great, straight out of the box. Obviously, it needed tuning!
I might not be a virtuoso guitarist, but I am now a very happy one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
maza 1, 08.02.2021
i dont think you can buy better for the money ,, this 35 plus is flowerless and i meen flowerless iv not had a Gibson 335 but it can not be much better than this guitar maybe the pickups,,but as far as im concerned the sound of the pickups on this guitar are A1,, excellent guitar, i do think in time harley benton guitars will be rated a lot higher than they are, iv been playing for over 40 years and id take any one of the 8 guitars iv had of harley on stage and no iv got a good sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The Harley Benton HB-35Plus Vintage Burst
08.07.2016
I recently reviewed my Cherry version of the HB-35Plus, and now I will talk about my Vintage Burst. Of course, some of the review will be quite similar, but there was a difference outside of cosmetic, which I will get too. On with the review?

As I mentioned on the Cherry, this shipment of guitars and pedal took only 7 days to get here. This is from Thomann, Germany?to the central US. (Missouri) I have ordered in-country things that have taken longer to receive?I can?t explain it, but I love the fact this got here so quick!

A lot of folks in the US worry about the condition of their shipment. I guess the travel takes a toll on some orders, and I even know of a few instances where guitars were damaged. Everything arrived in great shape. No complaints at all!

Now, let?s talk about the guitar?

The looks?well, what do you expect? It?s a beautiful guitar. I?m a sucker for sunburst/vintage-burst guitars. This is beautiful?BUT, I don?t know why, the Cherry one I ordered seems to catch my eye a bit more. Something about it, with the shape?just looks better. But that is totally opinion?and nothing more. This sucker is still beautiful.

The neck on the HB-35 is different than what I am used too. It?s a thick neck, but not particularly wide. With the exception of one guitar I own, which has a rather wide neck, everything I own has a much smaller neck. I?m getting used to this bigger neck rather quickly, and I do like it. Bending strings feels like waving a magic wand, and I love it.

One BIG difference between the Vintage Burst and Cherry from this order?. I mentioned how the cherry might need some work on the nut. The open strings stayed in tune. The higher notes stayed in tune?but for whatever reason, the Cherry had some problems with the D chord. It always sounded sharp. The vintage burst didn?t have this problem at all. In fact, the action was a bit lower, and I didn?t find one problem while playing. Even while jamming acoustic, the guitar sounded beautiful.

The switch/knobs/bridge/tuners all work great. I haven?t found one problem with any of it.

Lastly,the Pickups/Coil-split... I absolutely love the neck pickup. It nails that hollowbody blues tone that I want to solo with. For me, it?s magic. The bridge pickup is fine. It works for chords and I don?t have any problem with it. As for the single coils? it?s a bit thin for my taste. I did hear some strat like tones?but I don?t play a hollowbody for that. Still, that?s an opinion thing. You may absolutely love it!

Overall, this is an amazing guitar. It?s beautiful. It?s affordable. It feels solid. It?s worth the money and then some. If you are looking for a good hollowbody guitar, you need to try one of these before spending a fortune on a big name guitar? you may find this as the instrument you are looking for!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Pleasantly Surprised
CB..., 12.07.2019
So this is my first "China" non US made guitar. Simply there is nothing to complain about... I read a lot of reviews some good, some no so good. However I am pleasantly surprised. No it did not come with my brand of strings, but neither did my Gibson's or Fender's... The flame maple top is not as pretty as I would like, but the quality is good. It plays good, it sounds good, and I paid 10% of the price of a 335... So I say nice job!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great guitar - you won't be disappointed
squierjosh, 15.04.2021
Overall, this is a great guitar, regardless of price. I couldn't give it the full 5 stars because it's clearly not a AAAA flamed top. You can barely even tell there's a flame on it. This is common if you read other reviews. Thomann or HB needs to change the description. I feel like they write AAAA and then make me pay extra for it.

The pickups are fine. I would replace them, but that's a daunting task on a hollow body. I gig in a cover band and it covers most songs with no problems.

The input jack gets loose too easily and needs to be watched. No other physical issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Pick of the litter
Texas Slim, 07.07.2020
i said i would never buy a guitar over the internet and definitely not one from China. i had a semi-hollow body guitar about 30 years ago and always wanted another one, but could not afford a four figure price tag. About 12 months ago, while surfing the web for used semi-hollow bodies, i stumbled across a video comparison between a branded semi-hollow body and a guitar called the HB-35Plus. The reviewer said he was shocked about how well the HB-35Plus compared. After spending 100+ hours reviewing multiple sources, reading guitar articles and weighing the pros and cons (very few) that other musicians had shared in their reviews I took the plunge and bought the HB-35Plus Vintage Burst. I can't say enough good about this guitar. The flamed maple arch top is beautiful, the sunburst is well sprayed on the front, back, and sides, there's no bleed over on the cream binding, even around the f holes. The hardware and the fretboard are good quality. The inlays are attractive and the machine heads are sturdy and easily hold a tune. Concerning the Fretboard; lack of quality of materials and craftmanship most often show up in a low priced guitar when building out the fretboard and setting the intonation , not this HB-35Plus. The guitar was right on the mark. This will not be my last Harley Benton.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Purchased as new
Johnny O, 20.05.2021
Guitar arrived nicely packed and surprisingly in tune. I ordered a new guitar but there are scratches on the body especially the pickguard as if this was a B Stock, floor demo or a return. Aside from that, it plays beautifully, though I will probably replace hardware as needed such as the bridge hardware for more mass as well as the bridge pickup for a Seymour Duncan JB. Absolutely cannot beat the price for the quality and is a great base platform to upgrade as desired. I own 3 Gibson, 1 Fender, 3 Ibanez, and 2 ESP guitars and this purchase was by far the most satisfying. I have played other upper level semi-hollow body guitars and the HB35 is very comparable. This will not be my last purchase for sure.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An Excellent Deal for a Semi-Hollow body electric
Tim O, 22.01.2021
I just received my HB-35 Plus Vintage Burst guitar from Thomann. I can't see any flaws in the finish except a little rough spot in the f-hole binding. The tuners are smooth and it holds tune well. The nut looks to be cut properly with only the low E string perhaps needing a little deeper grove in the nut. The action is low enough for me without any adjustment and the neck relief is just right. There is no fret sprout but the frets do need polishing. They are scratchy but I expected that.

In conclusion, I'm very satisfied with this guitar. I think it's comparable to an Epiphone which would cost 2X as much.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good guitar, amazing for the money.
HasNoName, 22.09.2020
Lets get it out of the way, its not a 1k$ guitar. Does it strike above its price range, sure. But still, it needs work.

the bad:
The bridge came uncut, the nut needed to be cut as well and after lowering the action the 8 upper frets turned out to be too high.
All in all I paid a 100 euro for the setup + elixir strings.
For what its worth according to the guitar tech guy, most new guitars have similar problems except MusicMan guitars and most of American PRSs.
You can see the wires in the f-holes =\
coil split is mostly useless for me.
Its heavy for a semi hollow (3.9kg!!) and the neck is fat, fatter than my les paul -- some might like that
The pots feel cheap but get the job done.

the good:
Well balanced, none of that neck diving.
Surprisingly good tuners.
Sounds great, soft and warm.
Playable out of the box and a joy to play after the setup.
Price is great --> With case, shipping, VAT and the setup it clocked at more than 400 euro. And that is still a good price for it. A similar guitar costs about 600-700 euro locally, without a case and would still need a setup.

Bottom line, its a good guitar for a great price.
If you want a semi hollow and don't plan playing standing up -- this one is a great choice!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic guitar with minor issues
Meathos, 05.03.2021
I have been playing guitar since Mid 90s. For a long time, I have been looking for a Semi Hollow but could not justify the cost. When I found and received this Guitar I was in heaven. The guitar had some issues when I opened it. The 3 way switch was broken (Thomann shipped me the part and I soldered it in - works great now). Action Height was a little high for me. But the Tunomatic bridge makes adjusting this very easy. The guitar was intonated before it arrived.
Use: Home and Festivals
Pro: great guitar, split coil, no sharp frets. Guitar intonated before arriving. Felt great in hand. Looks great
Cons: Minor paint issue and 1 switch problem that was easily resolved.
Conclusion: Whether you are a beginner, intermediate or experienced player, this guitar is an excellent budget choice. I have recommended this to my friends and family.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing for the price
George Pickering , 06.06.2021
I use this guitar very often and its built like a tank!

the truss rod did need adjusting when it arrived but that is to be expected.
It sounds beutyful and works like a charm !!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Buyer beware in states and still waiting
Dissapointed , 31.10.2017
Thomann shipped the wrong product because they mislabeled it. Sent email no response. So called them said they would look into it. No response so called again, asked to send pictures. Pictures sent and no response so called again. Asked to send guitar back unless costs more than 60 euros. Emailed cost would be 133 euros. No response so called them again. They said they will send someone to pick up guitar sol waiting for guitar to be picked up and receive guitar I ordered.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice sounding guitar let down by poor QC
damo, 24.09.2019
I'll keep it as brief as possible.


In terms of fit and feel compared to my old HB-35 standard (black)

Weight feels the same, overall feel is very similar.

On this one there are a few QC issues.

Blackened strings
A mix of tight and slippy tuners
Fret ends poorly finished, some look badly cut, some have filling visible around the fret end and the binding

Binding has some cracks and may have been damaged in places during fret finishing.

Crack in the nut plus loads of little plastic cuttings from the nut cutting process.

I've had to return several damaged guitars recently and I added a note to my order asking for careful packing.

Instead, my guitar arrived with only one crumpled piece of the brown packing paper Thomann use. It's almost like someone didn't like me asking for careful packing and did the opposite.

Thomann customer service has been good generally, my buying experiences have been mixed over the last while. Overall I am satisfied with the guitar, I contacted Thomann and they gave me a discount to reflect the QC issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton HB-35Plus Vintage Burst

259 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Monday, 28.06. and Tuesday, 29.06.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Moskwa II

XAOC Devices Moskawa II; Eurorack module; 8 Step Rotosequencer; 8 steps, each with CV control knob and on/off button; for each step programmable functions like slew (portamento), slew probability, gate/trigger probability; up to 8 gate/trigger pattern programmable for each step;…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1RD

Casio CT-S1RD Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock US

Quilter Superblock US, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic US Amplifier voicings: 60 Tweed, 62 Blonde & 65 Black; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. Jazz Bass MN Black

Fender Squier Affinity Jazz Bass MN Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 38,1 mm (1,5"); Scale:…

Recently Viewed
Zhiyun WEEBILL-S Gimbal

Zhiyun WEEBILL-S Gimbal; Three-axis gimbal for DSLR and mirrorless system cameras; simple and safe handling thanks to new algorithms and stronger motors even for fast movements; compact dimensions make the gimbal the perfect companion for reportage and action shots; ergonomically…

Recently Viewed
RAV Vast B/H Kurd red

RAV Vast2 B Kurd red edition, B2/ F#3, G3, A3, B3, C#4, D4, E4, F#4, A4, Handpans-inspired steel tongue instrument, 2mm Steel, diameter 51cm, hight 17cm, weight 5,9kg, incl. bag

Recently Viewed
Zhiyun Smooth Q3 Gimbal

Zhiyun Smooth Q3 Gimbal; professional 3-axis stabiliser for smartphones; integrated fill light with three brightness levels; gesture control and Smart Following for automated tracking of people in the field of view; panorama mode with "Magic Clone" function; ZY Cami app…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Ostankino II

XAOC Devices Ostankino II; Eurorack Modul; expander for Moskwa II sequencer (item 521036); expands Moskwa II with CV inputs for Random Play, Slew, Probability, Transpose, Range, Clock Rate, First Step, Last Step; oputput for the internal clock signal; individual gate…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1WE

Casio CT-S1WE Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Libec TH-Z Camera Tripod

Libec TH-Z Camera Tripod; tripod system with tilt and centre spreader; features a video head (TH-Z H) with DualHead system, that can be used for both 75 mm half shell and flat base tripods; video head can be mounted on…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.