Harley Benton HB-20R

1608 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great at this price point.
Dom Nicky, 22.12.2020
I got this to use in my home only, while I practice and learn, and just generally mess around.

Another reviewer, also a beginner, said that this surprised them with how loud this is. I absolutely agree, it has an impressive oomph to it.

I thought the overdrive and reverb are both excellent, and both responded well when increasing and decreasing on the amp itself.

Clean sounds lovely, just what I'd hoped for.

I had initially thought I'd probably need or want to upgrade this amp as soon as money allowed, but having now used it I won't be in any rush, and I'd rather spend that money on a multi-effects pedal.

The only con I can think of is it would be nice to have an arm at the back to be able to tilt the amp upwards when it's on the floor.

To sum up I would say this is great at this price, for a practice amp to use at home. If you want better, or a more 'gig' suitable amp, then you'll need to pay much more than what this costs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Overall very good for money
Bogdan Guitarist, 14.07.2020
pros:
-very low price: it costs like going once to local restaurant with your girlfriend
-pretty good quality
-very loud: I usually play at 30% loudness. I guess you can take it to local pub concert, etc.
-The eq is nice

cons:
-Mine came a little bit scratched
-The spring reverb is very strange. If you play at a big volume, and turn the reverb bigger than 60% percent, it starts to make a very loud noise which go louder and louder, until you turn off the effect at all. First time it happened I thought I destroyed the combo. You don't imagine how loud that was
-Strange sound quality when playing in headphones. That is because the combo doesn't have a cabinet simulator. So playing in headphones doesn't make any sense.
-Also the aux cable quality is very very bad. The sound is very bad, it doesn't have any bass and middle freqs. Also when nothing is playing it makes a very loud noise. So connecting an aux cable for practicing or just listening to music also doesn't make any sense.

In conclusion I can say that if you are a beginner totally buy it! But if you want something serious, buy a combo like Fender, that has digital effects. They are called Modelling combos. Buy something like Fender Mustang LT50.
But from my opinion, the best option is buying a sound card. I bought Behringer Umc204HD. But if you want a sound card, you will have to know at least the basics of a DAW (reaper, cubase, reaper), or you can download different soft(Bias fx2, Guitar Rig 5). Also you need to have a good pc, and some speakers or studio monitors
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's allright
Someone who likes it old-fashioned, 31.03.2020
Let's start with the most important thing: For the money, it's great. It is a powerful amplifier that can be used at living-room volumes, it has a headphone jack and even built-in spring reverb, a looked-after feature. It's a good option for a first amplifier as I've found it to take pedals in front quite nicely (mind it doesn't have an effects loop so any pedals will need to be put in front) and its own overdrive is all right for a beginner to get you in the ballpark of rock.
However, there are a few less likeable features about it.
First off, The on-board overdrive is not by a long shot as good as I would like it to be, it lacks dynamics, sounds very harsh and artificial and when the knob goes above halfway it doesn't get dirtier, instead it only ads noise without distorting the guitar. My recommendation is to get an overdrive pedal to go along with it, a cheap one will undoubtedly be better than what's on board.
Secondly, the MP3 input lacks a serious function: Remaining quiet. Whenever it doesn't have a signal from another device, it hums like crazy. Also, it doesn't like to be quiet: It wants to be loud.
And thirdly, although this is just me nit-picking, the reverb gets noisy rather quickly. The amplifier doesn't have the best shock-resistance ever so me walking around creates a little noise from the springs wobbling. Do keep in mind that I have quite a heavy step and this might not be an issue for you, but it is a downside in my opinion.
To conclude: If you want to sit in a chair and plug pedals into it, go for it. If you want a cheap solid-state amplifier that will last you, go for it. If you expect it to get crunchy metal tones, it won't, though it does do cleans quite nicely.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
lovely solid state
cliff james, 03.01.2018
I am happy with this little amp I got it for playing at home, and I never was happy before without valves. i get a great claen sound with a little spring reverb, not only that it has it s own very convincing character of sound.I used other solid state amps from big names or modelling amps this one has the blues.I am not commenting on the distorted channel right now I haven t tried it enough. Only one thing is funny sometimes if you leave it on for a while and you re not playing it makes loud bang, I dont know what that is but its ok. It has a standby feature, and only starts when you tuen up the volume and start playing the guitar which is kind of cute. Definitele I am happy with that amp. And there is a line out for connecting it to another amp. Great. Just might have got the bigger version and use it for small gigs I can still do that. Thank You
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for the price
Danycaster, 03.05.2019
I can't believe how bloody loud this thing is, wholly overkill for me on so many levels. Highly recommend as a beginner amp 11/10

I've been told to always set volume on max for tuning purposes, I accidentally hit the G string and my heart almost jumped out of my rib-cage. I've been told this is normal and that 20W isn't even that much

I've also been told I *need* to buy a combo for practice and I have to say I agree (even though initially I agreed only reluctantly), but I can see this thing could work at a small club concert, you can probably juice out that much out of this. I can even see this being a good backup solution in case your main amp is MIA

Aside from the loudness the What-Brand Chinesium speaker this ships with isn't exactly an audophile's dream. I should clarify, the sound is great, for 60 euros it's, I mean, I couldn't imagine this level of quality 10, 20 years ago at this price level. Still you should know, anything through the aux input is going to sound dulled? ie. not bad, but not great either

Guitar sounds great of course, I mean great as in unexpectedly good for transistor. I actually greatly prefer the *actual sound* through headphones/an external speaker over aux cable. The difference is noticeable even for an amateur like me

I keep the volume knob at 1-2-4 at most, and strangely I prefer the clean sound. I intuitively believed that if you're gonna have a cheap speaker then distorted sound would sound better since you know... it's distorted and the nuances of the sound are lost. But this didn't turn out to be true in the real world and clean sound has much more "body", it feels more plentiful and vibrant. Remember kids, keep your gain low. Signed: someone who is not an expert

EQ works differently than I expected, but I've been told this is exactly how these things ought to work so yeah

Let's quickly address points made by other reviewers:
- build quality is... I just can't give it all of the stars without feeling like lying. It's amazing for the price. The logo is very well machined. It will probably last I don't know, let's say 10 years. But just... 5% more effort would make this combo look and feel so much better, dare I say premium even. There was one bolt that wasn't fully tightened. This might've happened during travel, but then I'm afraid what kind of travel conditions this was in. Also on the back there's a strange black paint applied? I don't know if this is normal, you'll see if you buy it, I'm neutral towards it
- the two buttons and all knobs are good quality, the lines below are slightly misaligned though and it's triggering the perfectionist nerves in me. Just very *slightly* so, just barely [screaming inside]. I think these are the same knobs from the higher-end models
- the jack seems to be good enough to last a lot of connecting in/out
- handle feels goood, I approve
- reverb sounds amazing except for positions 5 through 9.5-ish. Still you probably should stick to 1-3-4 anyway. 9.5-10 sounds good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Not what a beginner needs
MalletMaker, 27.01.2021
I read many comments here stating that this is a good amp for a beginner. Personally, I do not agree with it.
I was a beginner, I bought this amp, and that was so ******* hard to play to understand that this overdrive is not good enough, does not sound like further away with sum tutorials on youtube. And the constant buzz it has, when you are not playing, it is very loud. I made me feel that something is bad with mu power lines, and I tried to make some configurations of it, in order to escape the buzz, but no luck. Later, on electrical forums, I just figured out that that's just how the amp is.
Pretty "not good". Literally, if knew this all from the beginning I would never buy it. I would add may be $50 and I think in around $100-$150, you can definitely find something better. Of course, not as the best ones. But I'am sure better that this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
the guy, 19.11.2020
i use it at home and it is more than enough for playing at home.
pros:
sound loudness and quality
3,5 mm jack for earphones/headphones
cons:
no accumulator for playing on the street
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amagazin
MatthPl, 08.03.2020
The versability of this amp is so amagazin, i was able to switch a lot of settings and get everytime the sound that i wanted to hear. So cheap as a price but actually can prove to you that this little baby can please you without any problem. yes, actually this is my first amp and im not an expert, and because i am a beginner who likes so much the sound that this amp produce, you should trust my super beginners feels and buy this amp You will not regret anything you can even check around the web and others reviews that will agreed with my point of view. It's so easy to use, just plug in, set your amp to the romantic guy trying to impress a girl, or set your amp to, i want to scare my neighbours with an extreme metal sound. And that's it, simply dont worry about the quality of the amp, because it will not betray you, untill you will not leave him alone in a dark lonely corner of your house.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Simple amp
Smat, 05.08.2020
For someone starting out,
I wanted a modest amp when it comes to price and knobs.

The amp is pretty good.
I think the reverb could do with some improvement.
Overdrive channel is nice.

I couldnt figure out how to control the volume of backing track if I plug one in. (but it could be my fault).
I haven't tried line out.

My idea before buying this was to have a good amp for a beginner, to be able to play around in my room/house.
And it has served me well for that.

One thing I did notice was that amp would switch off sometimes in the middle (which I assume is power savings?)
And putting the jack in contact with a metal surface of the guitar connector to turns it back on.

Often times this happens in middle of when you are playing. Which can be annoying.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good enouth if it works
Krz , 23.09.2020
Pros:
Good for smaller rooms.
Everything works as it was expected.
Cheap.

Cons:
Overdrive not very sensitive, more effect comes from 50% and more.
It broke after 1 month and 4 days of not intensive use.

P.S. I don't know if it's normal, but 3,5mm input do not "wakes up" AMP from standby mode, only a 6,35mm does that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Als Einsteiger-AMP nicht verkehrt
Shoemeister, 06.02.2021
Also die Tatsache, dass man zwei Channel zur Verfügung hat und Standard 3,5mm Kopfhörer anschließen kann machen diesen AMP zu dem Preis zu einem hervorragenden Erstverstärker.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My practice amp
Tambet, 29.12.2020
Ordered it with my guitar, to be used as a practice amp. It's decent quality product. Nothing overwhelmingly stellar tho.

Pros:
it gets the job done, is loud enough and has the features you might want as a beginner. Headphone jack, AUX and spring reverb are useful for a new guitar enthusiast.
It is also compact and light, so you can transport it easily.
Seems sturdy.

Cons:
Does not sound the best.
Using phone via AUX cable is somewhat underwhelming - if you play music via your phone, you cant control its volume on the amp - only on the phone itself. And sometimes it gives you heart attack by making a loud bang sound. For no real reason I could find.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB-20R
Cveto, 19.02.2021
Suitable for a beginner, loud enough even for a small concert for a selected company. Very good buy for that money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice Combo
disasterZz, 04.01.2021
Nice combo for this price, but so weight
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for homeplaying.
Kowcio, 20.12.2017
This is great for a beginner for home / solo outside playing.
No need buying the 40 watt version but it depends on You, for starters this is awesome start, don;t get the 10 watt cause You wount know if it is Your strings You hear or the amp. Here You will definetly know that the sound You making is coming from the AMP.

20 watts is perfect for home practice or a garage
I am playing at home with 2nd / 4rd level on knobs
On the guitar i have volume around 7 and this is a perfect setup.
Do not need to go louder.

Reverb is not as good as i would think but it is there non the less.
Clean / Overdrive definetly work.The sound quality is ok, but of course the tone and tune depends on Your preference.

Bas, mid , trebles knobs work as they should.
There is a AUX in which is nice.
Playing with headphones works nicely.

ProTip:
Want less bass ? Put it higher , on some table, or similar, and keep it away of corners of the room.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB20-R amp bought for SC-450Plus
Oreo, 14.08.2020
Decided to get a new amp with my new guitar, though there was no point in upgrading the guitar and still having the old cheap amp. Sounds good with my new SC-450. plugged in my old guitar to see if I could tell the difference. Absolutely, makes it sound like a much better guitar so I was very happy that it was right to upgrade the amp too.

3.5mm headphone and line in sockets so I can use other headphones etc without adaptor as i only have the one.

Power saving mode which is nice and didn't expect.

Feels nice and seems good quality finish.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap and Good
Follir116, 15.12.2020
There's everything I wanted but I wish there would be more specific settings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good practice amp
Fusion lover, 01.04.2021
I am using HB-20R in my bedroom,mostly with
headphones and playing my Harley Benton ST-62CC RW (fantastic value for money).

I would like to give the amp full blast,but my neighbors are senior citizens, so headphones are criterion for my feedbeck.

In few words-you cant go wrong with combo i have.Next step is upgrading my headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Small, but
03.02.2017
Lovely little amp!

Two channels with separate volumes, easy tone controls, built in reverb, plenty loud enough, and nice features like MP3 input and headphone outputs.

Only thing missing is ability to use footswitch for channel selection.

Just what a little man needs for their first amp!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A good beginner's amp - with a few small issues
Mr D, 16.05.2017
The 20 watts of the HB20R are more than enough to fill a room with sound; at 1/4 of the way to max, it's already too loud for bedroom jamming.

The HB20R has a good clean channel with customizable EQ settings shared with the overdriven channel; but I'd avoid the overdrive. It crunches and crumples the sound into an unintelligible mess at any noticeable gain level.

Otherwise, a nasty glitch/issue is shared between this model and it's bigger brother, the HB-40R ; plugging your phone into the dedicated backing-track aux-in port on the front panel results in terrible, terrible clicking/buzzing until you start playing a song through the connection on your device; as well as this, the sound from the aux-in is *NOT* affected by your amps' EQ, or even volume settings; I was nearly deafened when I accidentally connected it with my phone set to maximum audio on the aux cable output!

Apart from these issues, the amp does serve well on the clean channel for general practice and playing, and the EQ knobs provide clear, noticeable tonal changes to the sound emitted. Would recommend most for a beginner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Absolute Bargain, Great sound
Scrambler, 06.05.2019
Brilliant amp, great price, Features are brilliant with inputs.
Size is perfect for me as I use it at home, not too loud and volume adjustment is easy to get just right.
Headphone option and Aux port and line out a nice extra.
I'm not in a band or gigging so I don't need all the bells and whistles.
This fits just perfect to be honest, nice and compact and light, but not too small or big.
Pros and cons
From reading above - that's the pros
Cons, genuinely, i have none.
Its a sturdy well build amp , crisp and clear.
For the price, you cant go wrong,
I was going to buy by a "bigger" brand name, I'm glad i didn't.
I have similar her and the difference is nada.
More options on this to be honest.
Id love to be more direct for more buyers on the cons,
But i don't have any.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
i am satisfied
ghostM9so, 28.07.2020
Great amplifier. I like the sound more than others in this price category
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cbaiu, 08.12.2019
Great amp for juniors &beginners
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton HB-20R
Dave Country Boy, 14.05.2020
I wanted a very compact combo for home practice and stage guitar monitor. This amp is surprisingly loud, pretty good tonally (I only want clean sound, I have FX to do other stuff). My only gripe is that I would like to be able to play tracks without connecting a guitar to the amp (for signal). Very good amp at good price overall.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent starter app
MartinWB , 02.03.2019
Got this amp in a starterkit and must say or beginners it is excellent, build quality is fine. The gain/crunch is no the greatest but the clean channel is very nice
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton HB-20R

71 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Thursday, 29.04. and Friday, 30.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Harley Benton HB-20R
0:50
Harley Benton HB-20R
Rank #1 in Solid-State Guitar Combos
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-MBA

Warm Audio WA-MBA; professional broadcast microphone boom; easy-to-operate clamping hinges; hidden cable management system;, Connectors with 3/8" and 5/8" thread, suitable for all common microphone mounts; integrated table clamp; Colour: black; Weight: 2.5 kg

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Eurolite LED Theatre COB 100 WW/CW

Eurolite LED Theater COB 100 WW / CW; 100 W COB LED with variable color temperature 2500-5700K ; Auto, Music, Master / Slave and DMX modes (2, 4, 5, or 7 DMX channels); Integrated show programs in car and music…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.