Harley Benton HB-20R

1623 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great at this price point.
Dom Nicky, 22.12.2020
I got this to use in my home only, while I practice and learn, and just generally mess around.

Another reviewer, also a beginner, said that this surprised them with how loud this is. I absolutely agree, it has an impressive oomph to it.

I thought the overdrive and reverb are both excellent, and both responded well when increasing and decreasing on the amp itself.

Clean sounds lovely, just what I'd hoped for.

I had initially thought I'd probably need or want to upgrade this amp as soon as money allowed, but having now used it I won't be in any rush, and I'd rather spend that money on a multi-effects pedal.

The only con I can think of is it would be nice to have an arm at the back to be able to tilt the amp upwards when it's on the floor.

To sum up I would say this is great at this price, for a practice amp to use at home. If you want better, or a more 'gig' suitable amp, then you'll need to pay much more than what this costs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Overall very good for money
Bogdan Guitarist, 14.07.2020
pros:
-very low price: it costs like going once to local restaurant with your girlfriend
-pretty good quality
-very loud: I usually play at 30% loudness. I guess you can take it to local pub concert, etc.
-The eq is nice

cons:
-Mine came a little bit scratched
-The spring reverb is very strange. If you play at a big volume, and turn the reverb bigger than 60% percent, it starts to make a very loud noise which go louder and louder, until you turn off the effect at all. First time it happened I thought I destroyed the combo. You don't imagine how loud that was
-Strange sound quality when playing in headphones. That is because the combo doesn't have a cabinet simulator. So playing in headphones doesn't make any sense.
-Also the aux cable quality is very very bad. The sound is very bad, it doesn't have any bass and middle freqs. Also when nothing is playing it makes a very loud noise. So connecting an aux cable for practicing or just listening to music also doesn't make any sense.

In conclusion I can say that if you are a beginner totally buy it! But if you want something serious, buy a combo like Fender, that has digital effects. They are called Modelling combos. Buy something like Fender Mustang LT50.
But from my opinion, the best option is buying a sound card. I bought Behringer Umc204HD. But if you want a sound card, you will have to know at least the basics of a DAW (reaper, cubase, reaper), or you can download different soft(Bias fx2, Guitar Rig 5). Also you need to have a good pc, and some speakers or studio monitors
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's allright
Someone who likes it old-fashioned, 31.03.2020
Let's start with the most important thing: For the money, it's great. It is a powerful amplifier that can be used at living-room volumes, it has a headphone jack and even built-in spring reverb, a looked-after feature. It's a good option for a first amplifier as I've found it to take pedals in front quite nicely (mind it doesn't have an effects loop so any pedals will need to be put in front) and its own overdrive is all right for a beginner to get you in the ballpark of rock.
However, there are a few less likeable features about it.
First off, The on-board overdrive is not by a long shot as good as I would like it to be, it lacks dynamics, sounds very harsh and artificial and when the knob goes above halfway it doesn't get dirtier, instead it only ads noise without distorting the guitar. My recommendation is to get an overdrive pedal to go along with it, a cheap one will undoubtedly be better than what's on board.
Secondly, the MP3 input lacks a serious function: Remaining quiet. Whenever it doesn't have a signal from another device, it hums like crazy. Also, it doesn't like to be quiet: It wants to be loud.
And thirdly, although this is just me nit-picking, the reverb gets noisy rather quickly. The amplifier doesn't have the best shock-resistance ever so me walking around creates a little noise from the springs wobbling. Do keep in mind that I have quite a heavy step and this might not be an issue for you, but it is a downside in my opinion.
To conclude: If you want to sit in a chair and plug pedals into it, go for it. If you want a cheap solid-state amplifier that will last you, go for it. If you expect it to get crunchy metal tones, it won't, though it does do cleans quite nicely.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
lovely solid state
cliff james, 03.01.2018
I am happy with this little amp I got it for playing at home, and I never was happy before without valves. i get a great claen sound with a little spring reverb, not only that it has it s own very convincing character of sound.I used other solid state amps from big names or modelling amps this one has the blues.I am not commenting on the distorted channel right now I haven t tried it enough. Only one thing is funny sometimes if you leave it on for a while and you re not playing it makes loud bang, I dont know what that is but its ok. It has a standby feature, and only starts when you tuen up the volume and start playing the guitar which is kind of cute. Definitele I am happy with that amp. And there is a line out for connecting it to another amp. Great. Just might have got the bigger version and use it for small gigs I can still do that. Thank You
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for homeplaying.
Kowcio, 20.12.2017
This is great for a beginner for home / solo outside playing.
No need buying the 40 watt version but it depends on You, for starters this is awesome start, don;t get the 10 watt cause You wount know if it is Your strings You hear or the amp. Here You will definetly know that the sound You making is coming from the AMP.

20 watts is perfect for home practice or a garage
I am playing at home with 2nd / 4rd level on knobs
On the guitar i have volume around 7 and this is a perfect setup.
Do not need to go louder.

Reverb is not as good as i would think but it is there non the less.
Clean / Overdrive definetly work.The sound quality is ok, but of course the tone and tune depends on Your preference.

Bas, mid , trebles knobs work as they should.
There is a AUX in which is nice.
Playing with headphones works nicely.

ProTip:
Want less bass ? Put it higher , on some table, or similar, and keep it away of corners of the room.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for the price
Danycaster, 03.05.2019
I can't believe how bloody loud this thing is, wholly overkill for me on so many levels. Highly recommend as a beginner amp 11/10

I've been told to always set volume on max for tuning purposes, I accidentally hit the G string and my heart almost jumped out of my rib-cage. I've been told this is normal and that 20W isn't even that much

I've also been told I *need* to buy a combo for practice and I have to say I agree (even though initially I agreed only reluctantly), but I can see this thing could work at a small club concert, you can probably juice out that much out of this. I can even see this being a good backup solution in case your main amp is MIA

Aside from the loudness the What-Brand Chinesium speaker this ships with isn't exactly an audophile's dream. I should clarify, the sound is great, for 60 euros it's, I mean, I couldn't imagine this level of quality 10, 20 years ago at this price level. Still you should know, anything through the aux input is going to sound dulled? ie. not bad, but not great either

Guitar sounds great of course, I mean great as in unexpectedly good for transistor. I actually greatly prefer the *actual sound* through headphones/an external speaker over aux cable. The difference is noticeable even for an amateur like me

I keep the volume knob at 1-2-4 at most, and strangely I prefer the clean sound. I intuitively believed that if you're gonna have a cheap speaker then distorted sound would sound better since you know... it's distorted and the nuances of the sound are lost. But this didn't turn out to be true in the real world and clean sound has much more "body", it feels more plentiful and vibrant. Remember kids, keep your gain low. Signed: someone who is not an expert

EQ works differently than I expected, but I've been told this is exactly how these things ought to work so yeah

Let's quickly address points made by other reviewers:
- build quality is... I just can't give it all of the stars without feeling like lying. It's amazing for the price. The logo is very well machined. It will probably last I don't know, let's say 10 years. But just... 5% more effort would make this combo look and feel so much better, dare I say premium even. There was one bolt that wasn't fully tightened. This might've happened during travel, but then I'm afraid what kind of travel conditions this was in. Also on the back there's a strange black paint applied? I don't know if this is normal, you'll see if you buy it, I'm neutral towards it
- the two buttons and all knobs are good quality, the lines below are slightly misaligned though and it's triggering the perfectionist nerves in me. Just very *slightly* so, just barely [screaming inside]. I think these are the same knobs from the higher-end models
- the jack seems to be good enough to last a lot of connecting in/out
- handle feels goood, I approve
- reverb sounds amazing except for positions 5 through 9.5-ish. Still you probably should stick to 1-3-4 anyway. 9.5-10 sounds good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Milhas Reles, 03.02.2021
The amp sounds great!
Good quality at a great price. I was actually surprised with the quality of the materials and the built of the amp.
The only downside I encountered was that you can't use the AUX input if you don't plug the guitar and the amp captures any frequency through the guitar input. Besides that, amazing product.
I totally recommend it to beginner players, as I am one and found it to be great at the starter range price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amagazin
MatthPl, 08.03.2020
The versability of this amp is so amagazin, i was able to switch a lot of settings and get everytime the sound that i wanted to hear. So cheap as a price but actually can prove to you that this little baby can please you without any problem. yes, actually this is my first amp and im not an expert, and because i am a beginner who likes so much the sound that this amp produce, you should trust my super beginners feels and buy this amp You will not regret anything you can even check around the web and others reviews that will agreed with my point of view. It's so easy to use, just plug in, set your amp to the romantic guy trying to impress a girl, or set your amp to, i want to scare my neighbours with an extreme metal sound. And that's it, simply dont worry about the quality of the amp, because it will not betray you, untill you will not leave him alone in a dark lonely corner of your house.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Als Einsteiger-AMP nicht verkehrt
Shoemeister, 06.02.2021
Also die Tatsache, dass man zwei Channel zur Verfügung hat und Standard 3,5mm Kopfhörer anschließen kann machen diesen AMP zu dem Preis zu einem hervorragenden Erstverstärker.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Simple amp
Smat, 05.08.2020
For someone starting out,
I wanted a modest amp when it comes to price and knobs.

The amp is pretty good.
I think the reverb could do with some improvement.
Overdrive channel is nice.

I couldnt figure out how to control the volume of backing track if I plug one in. (but it could be my fault).
I haven't tried line out.

My idea before buying this was to have a good amp for a beginner, to be able to play around in my room/house.
And it has served me well for that.

One thing I did notice was that amp would switch off sometimes in the middle (which I assume is power savings?)
And putting the jack in contact with a metal surface of the guitar connector to turns it back on.

Often times this happens in middle of when you are playing. Which can be annoying.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good enouth if it works
Krz , 23.09.2020
Pros:
Good for smaller rooms.
Everything works as it was expected.
Cheap.

Cons:
Overdrive not very sensitive, more effect comes from 50% and more.
It broke after 1 month and 4 days of not intensive use.

P.S. I don't know if it's normal, but 3,5mm input do not "wakes up" AMP from standby mode, only a 6,35mm does that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB-20R
Cveto, 19.02.2021
Suitable for a beginner, loud enough even for a small concert for a selected company. Very good buy for that money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Not what a beginner needs
MalletMaker, 27.01.2021
I read many comments here stating that this is a good amp for a beginner. Personally, I do not agree with it.
I was a beginner, I bought this amp, and that was so ******* hard to play to understand that this overdrive is not good enough, does not sound like further away with sum tutorials on youtube. And the constant buzz it has, when you are not playing, it is very loud. I made me feel that something is bad with mu power lines, and I tried to make some configurations of it, in order to escape the buzz, but no luck. Later, on electrical forums, I just figured out that that's just how the amp is.
Pretty "not good". Literally, if knew this all from the beginning I would never buy it. I would add may be $50 and I think in around $100-$150, you can definitely find something better. Of course, not as the best ones. But I'am sure better that this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice Combo
disasterZz, 04.01.2021
Nice combo for this price, but so weight
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My practice amp
Tambet, 29.12.2020
Ordered it with my guitar, to be used as a practice amp. It's decent quality product. Nothing overwhelmingly stellar tho.

Pros:
it gets the job done, is loud enough and has the features you might want as a beginner. Headphone jack, AUX and spring reverb are useful for a new guitar enthusiast.
It is also compact and light, so you can transport it easily.
Seems sturdy.

Cons:
Does not sound the best.
Using phone via AUX cable is somewhat underwhelming - if you play music via your phone, you cant control its volume on the amp - only on the phone itself. And sometimes it gives you heart attack by making a loud bang sound. For no real reason I could find.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB20-R amp bought for SC-450Plus
Oreo, 14.08.2020
Decided to get a new amp with my new guitar, though there was no point in upgrading the guitar and still having the old cheap amp. Sounds good with my new SC-450. plugged in my old guitar to see if I could tell the difference. Absolutely, makes it sound like a much better guitar so I was very happy that it was right to upgrade the amp too.

3.5mm headphone and line in sockets so I can use other headphones etc without adaptor as i only have the one.

Power saving mode which is nice and didn't expect.

Feels nice and seems good quality finish.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good practice amp
Fusion lover, 01.04.2021
I am using HB-20R in my bedroom,mostly with
headphones and playing my Harley Benton ST-62CC RW (fantastic value for money).

I would like to give the amp full blast,but my neighbors are senior citizens, so headphones are criterion for my feedbeck.

In few words-you cant go wrong with combo i have.Next step is upgrading my headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Absolute Bargain, Great sound
Scrambler, 06.05.2019
Brilliant amp, great price, Features are brilliant with inputs.
Size is perfect for me as I use it at home, not too loud and volume adjustment is easy to get just right.
Headphone option and Aux port and line out a nice extra.
I'm not in a band or gigging so I don't need all the bells and whistles.
This fits just perfect to be honest, nice and compact and light, but not too small or big.
Pros and cons
From reading above - that's the pros
Cons, genuinely, i have none.
Its a sturdy well build amp , crisp and clear.
For the price, you cant go wrong,
I was going to buy by a "bigger" brand name, I'm glad i didn't.
I have similar her and the difference is nada.
More options on this to be honest.
Id love to be more direct for more buyers on the cons,
But i don't have any.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap and Good
Follir116, 15.12.2020
There's everything I wanted but I wish there would be more specific settings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A good beginner's amp - with a few small issues
Mr D, 16.05.2017
The 20 watts of the HB20R are more than enough to fill a room with sound; at 1/4 of the way to max, it's already too loud for bedroom jamming.

The HB20R has a good clean channel with customizable EQ settings shared with the overdriven channel; but I'd avoid the overdrive. It crunches and crumples the sound into an unintelligible mess at any noticeable gain level.

Otherwise, a nasty glitch/issue is shared between this model and it's bigger brother, the HB-40R ; plugging your phone into the dedicated backing-track aux-in port on the front panel results in terrible, terrible clicking/buzzing until you start playing a song through the connection on your device; as well as this, the sound from the aux-in is *NOT* affected by your amps' EQ, or even volume settings; I was nearly deafened when I accidentally connected it with my phone set to maximum audio on the aux cable output!

Apart from these issues, the amp does serve well on the clean channel for general practice and playing, and the EQ knobs provide clear, noticeable tonal changes to the sound emitted. Would recommend most for a beginner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
i am satisfied
ghostM9so, 28.07.2020
Great amplifier. I like the sound more than others in this price category
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Quality item
16.06.2016
Thanks to Thomann for a great product at a fantastic price, would highly recommend this item. Excellent service and speedy delivery.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cbaiu, 08.12.2019
Great amp for juniors &beginners
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HB-20R impressiona!
MDFreitas, 25.09.2019
Tem um som impressionante, alto o suficiente, bons acabamentos e estéticamente agradável. O som limpo é muito bom, a distorção também não deixa a desejar e tem o necessário no que diz respeito às equalizações.
É surpreendente a alta qualidade e performance por um preço tão baixo.
Recomendo este pequeno mas poderoso amplificador.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very happy with the purchase!
Makharbek, 31.05.2020
Very happy with the purchase! Excellent and quality products! I Be sure to make a purchase again only in this store!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton HB-20R

71 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Wednesday, 26.05. and Thursday, 27.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Harley Benton HB-20R
0:50
Harley Benton HB-20R
Rank #2 in Solid-State Guitar Combos
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.