Fender Champion 50 XL

49 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Exceeded my (high) expectations
Bristlehound, 28.10.2019
I've had this for a while now and I've played it for 3 or 4 hours a day so far - my wife is away :)
I'm not someone who would want to mess with menus and downloading tones from the internet or anything like that... I'm very much a plug-n-play guitarist who uses very few effects and likes to control the drive of the amp by using the guitar volume. I've played tube amps for the 45 years that I've been playing guitar, nearly always in one band or another, and my experience of solid-state amps has always been very negative.

These amps are reasonably new and there are few reviews, but there are a couple of good ones on t'interweb now that really piqued my interest... and I'm now getting too old (and lazy) to lug a heavy valve amp and pedal board around. So... I bought one.

After trying all the different amp types with different levels of gain I've settled on Voice 02: Fender Clean ('65 Deluxe) with the gain turned up to maximum, the Treble at 1 o'clock and the Bass fully off. The FX Select on 04: Reverb Spring with the FX Level at 9 o'clock.

This gives a glorious sound that's controllable from the guitar volume, from clean to bluesy crunch. (Strat with Kinman AVn '62 in Neck and Middle, SD SSL-5 at Bridge.) If you want more then either add some boost from a pedal or choose another voice, it depends if you want to do this mid-song in a live set or practising at home. For my current band needs then no pedals are 'needed'... but it's nice to have a few. Tuner, graphic e/g with a ~5 dB boost at 500Hz, and a Chorus. I like mixing in Chorus with Reverb as I pretend to be playing an acoustic in quite a few of our songs. Neck p/up with the volume rolled down to 7 or 8 plus the Chorus works well enough for what we do.

Pros:
If you can find a tone you're happy with and you don't use lots of effects, it's a one-box gigging solution.

It's light and easy to carry around, get through doors and navigate stairs.

It's loud enough for what we do - pubs and clubs where the customers actually want to be able to talk to each other while we're playing.

Some of the f/x are great - especially the spring reverb, vib and trem. Vib and Trem being two pedals that are expensive and occasional use only, so it's good to have them built in.

There's no temptation to spend all my time scrolling through menus and 'deep editing' patches etc, only to find what sounds good at home sounds rubbish in a band-mix and you can't change your settings on the fly.

It's really not very expensive at all considering how good, and how convenient it is.

Cons:
The 'clean' channel isn't brilliant, but I don't find I need it 'cos the amp responds to the volume control so well.

There are some obvious omissions like an f/x loop or a speaker-emulated line out... but these would put the price up. Their absence is plain to see if you research the specs before you buy it - if it bothers you, don't buy it.
The 'metal' channel isn't very good... but I don't play metal so I don't care.

Conclusion:
This is a great amp... and not just 'for-the-price'. My choice of Voice sounds great to me and inspires me to play more. I don't think you can ask for more than that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bloody hell! What a product!
Theo_F, 19.05.2020
Ok wow. I only got this recently but I'm already in love. It's all i ever wanted from an amp and more. Originally i was going to go for the Champion 40 but then this came up as I was browsing Thomann. I did my research and was instantly won over by the gorgeous sound of the Celestion speaker.

What a step up from the other champions I heard in store!

As other reviewers have said, it's so simple to use! Plug it in, mess around with the voicings and effects for a bit (without having to dive into messy computer menus) and you are off. I play a little bit of everything but mainly punk, blues and country and i can honestly say this handles everything with ease. I also love that you can mess around with different effects without having to shell out loads on pedals.

To condense things down a bit:

Pros:
Its bloody light! really surprised at this considering how sturdy it is.

It can take a lot of abuse, far better than any tube amp.

Love how easy it is to choose what voice and effect you want.

It looks AMAZING. Obviously that's not on the top of my list of priorities but I'm loving the sleek black looks along with the angled control panel.

The open back is great for stashing leads/picks. Even a cheeky drink and some ciggies if you're careful.

The tap button is great for changing how long you want your effects to go on for, really useful to have that option.

The Aux in and phones out is so useful for jamming solo or in the night when you don't want to disturb everyone in a 5 mile radius.

Cons:

If I'm nitpicking it would've been nice to have an fx loop but I can't really complain as that would've made things pricier and I knew that from the get-go.

Selecting the voice was a tad confusing at the start due to the use of LEDs but soon i worked things out. Now I might even say its a pro due to its simplicity.


To wrap things up this is a brilliant amp at very affordable price point and could easily surpass amps twice, maybe three times as expensive. It begs you to pump some tunes out and at the end of the that's what counts.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fantastic practice amp
Fiddler, 12.11.2018
Pros:-
Got mine today and it nails the Fender clean tone 100%. Has that hard but warm attack on the treble and a deep but not flubby bass. You can play it as quietly as you like as it's solid state so no need for a voltage drop switch. The effects are really good and the only time you get the fizz (that all other solid state and modeling amps have) is on the Brit setting + distortion and high gain. Every other voice is fantastic. It's also dead simple to use, no menus or tiny LCD displays or apps. Just a few choices on the front panel knobs. I love it. I usually play clean/crunch on a Fender 68 Vibrolux and don't need 100+ effects. I honestly don't think anyone else does either. This amp is a perfect quiet practice substitute.

Cons :-

I'm not sure if I'm doing something stupid but the effects (delay, reverb etc.) seem to go on forever and never stop unless you play another note. For example if you mute all strings to check how much reverb you have and then hit them, the reverb continues endlessly. Same for delay and chorus. It doesn't happen on single notes, only if you hit multiple strings. I'll mail Thomann and if I get an update I will also update this feedback.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
50/50
Christopher6076, 21.03.2019
I bought this amp primarily for practice and the small bar gigs that I sometimes play.
At first I hated it. Here is why. One big reason I chose it was that it has an angled control panel and I hoped that that would make seeing the settings easier in the poor lighting at bar gigs from both sitting and standing positions. It does not, the font on the amp mode dial and the effects dial is so small that I have to read them from a very short distance even in good lighting. To make matters worse, both of these controls do not have click stops between functions, instead a tiny coloured light indicates which setting the dial is in. Unless you have a photographic memory you will never be sure what setting you have chosen. While on the subject of these dials, they offer pre determined mixtures of amp types and effects and so choosing a particular amp sound and effect combination is not always possible, you have to take what is offered or leave it. There is no supplied footswitch so to move between the clean channel and the effects channel you must push a tiny square button on the confusing front panel, this button is not illuminated so in dim lighting it is not easy to find it. This amp desperately needs a footswitch.
That is enough of the bad, now for the good. The amp is very light, easy to carry. It has plenty of power and volume, particularly in the effects channel. It has good clear tones and sounds particularly good in the clean settings, a typical Fender.
I no longer hate it, but I don?t love it either. I have gigged with it, it has plenty of power for my small gigs and the sounds were pleasing. I think it is best used for practice where a missed setting change is not the end of the world but I will never take it out to play again.
Would I buy one again? No, definitely not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A cheap amp
Altazar, 13.12.2020
I wanted a cheap practice amp that's good enough for an occasional outing. I especially wanted a good clean sound, which this has.
There are not lots of features and the various set-point tonal settings are dial-in. But there's enough eq on the tone controls for me. I'm not worried about masses of effects. I use four pedals [which includes a noise reduction pedal] on the input.
This amp is light and has good volume. The build quality is obviously down to a price, but adequate. It's not going to stand up to a lot of road treatment. but again that's not what I want it for.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing combo
Gedas, 10.05.2020
I cannot say anything against it, apart from that it is missing that middle pitch control :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great Fender Tones
Lemonaidan, 14.04.2020
This amp sounds great if it is a fender clean to crunch sound you are after. Serves as a good pedal platform and is easy to transport. Bought for my dad who prefers the more simple layout and ease of use compared to the katana. I prefer the katana but if you are looking for something that sounds good to plug into and not have complicated computer software then this is great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
super produit
ben1979, 03.12.2020
super bon rapport qualité prix. trop content
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fender Champion 50 XL
hakuna, 18.03.2020
Very good amp for the money, and loud too.You can use it for gigs with pedals and for practice.I only use it for Fender sounds, because it can do Deluxe,Princeton and Twin very good, especially when it is loud.Effects are ok for practice, delay and reverb ok even for gigs.
You wont be disappointed if you get this amp.
No connection with the computer is a plus for me, because I only want to have fun playing :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good amp
Page@!#$%^&, 07.10.2020
The greatest thing about this amp is the speaker; that's what you should buy it for. additional to that it is quite versatile and even the build in effects are sometimes useful

But the speaker is amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great amplifier
America's Best, 13.05.2020
A great amplifier from Fender, plenty of effects to suit all my needs.
I would recommend this amplifier, great sounds from the 12" Celestion speaker.
Supplied efficiently by Thomman, kept up to date with tracking, no problems at all, well done.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Fender Champion 50 XL

222 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Thursday, 22.04. and Friday, 23.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser MKE 200 Mobile Kit

Sennheiser MKE 200 Mobile Kit- Kit includes MKE 200, Manfrotto PIXI Mini Tripod and Sennheiser Smartphone Clamp, MKE 200: condenser camera mircophone; super-cadioid capsule; integrated wind protection; internal suspension mount; Frequency response: 40 Hz - 20 kHz; Sensitivity: -33 dB...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.