Behringer TO800 Vintage Tube Overdrive

308 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.4 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
A bargain Tube screamer that rivals the original!
Vepar, 06.09.2019
This is the tube screamer, and not just any tube screamer, but the original one! There is literally no difference in sound whatsoever! The controls are familliar, and it works the same. Gain on minimum, level at maximum, tone in the middle for a boost, everything else for a good overdrive.

The build quality is like any other Behringer pedal of this range however and that means plastic all over with wonky connectors. The knobs are ok though. But for a approx. $20 pedal, it's no surprise, nor does it matter in this case because most people will have it on all the time without stomping on it too much (as a boost).

If you never tried a Tube screamer as a boost, this is the best one to get to see if you like/need a tube screamer in your life. It's affordable and the sound is (at least to me) indistinguishable from the real thing. Later, you might want to upgrade to a real one in case you need a sturdier pedal, but for a pedal that stays on and isn't stomped on, this one will last a while too!

It's amazing value for the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
This pedal survived years of abuse
Press K, 02.07.2020
I've had this little pedal for years now. Its coloring has faded from being exposed to the sun for too long, its rubber cover on the step portion has fallen off...

But the thing still works. For the money I paid for it years ago, I've gotten a ton of value back.

Its pots do feel wonky and it's sometimes hard to get the tone you are looking for out of it. Stepping on the pedal will sometimes turn it on and off as the button below it is not super-reliable. Replacing the battery is always an annoyance due to how the thing is put together — you need to push a spring mechanism in from both ends, then do the same when putting it back together.

I've mainly been using it as a booster for my distortion channels, and it served its purpose just fine for that.

In fact, it still does — it's hooked to my bedroom amp right now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
TS-9 copy!
Vetrodar, 11.11.2020
It produces a sound similar to TS-9 (no differences for my ears), which is not surprising, given that it is assembled on the same element base (the same chip, etc.). Of the minuses, the assembly of the base is rather mediocre and the jack falls out of the socket periodically. But if used in pedalboard assembly or at home for recording, no problem
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great Value for Money
Robert924, 01.07.2013
As you would expect, it isn't as well made as more expensive pedals. The construction is fairly solid but I doubt it would stand up to much abuse. The knobs on mine are a bit odd too. The level knob is very tight and considerably more difficult to turn than the drive knob, which seems loose by comparison. The tone knob seems to be somewhere in between the two in terms of resistance. This isn't a major issue but it does raise some questions about the construction quality. For home or studio use it shouldn't be a problem but I wouldn't use it for playing live unless I had a backup.

That aside, it sounds great. It's pretty much identical to a tubescreamer. I use it infront of a 6505 as a boost and it performs it's job of tightening up the low end and adding saturation perfectly. Considering it costs a small fraction of what you would pay for the tubescreamer it's modeled on it really is a bargain.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Very nice, a perfect TS808 clone.
Woof Woof, 13.11.2020
Excellent but loses a star for plastic construction, so has a shorter life expectancy if gigging a lot.
If only for bedroom use its a 5 star.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Brilliant tone at budget price
Ayrhead, 02.01.2020
This is my first pedal from Behringer and I’m really impressed. In terms of tone it is basically the same as the Ibanez Tube Screamer, but at a fraction of the price. The build quality is ok. I play only at home and I think the build quality is more than sufficient for home use.

I was so impressed by this pedal that I’ve begun to build up a bit of a Behringer collection. Currently the Blues Overdrive BO100 is my favourite (found one used for 10 EUR!), with the Vintage Tube Overdrive TO800 coming a very close second.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
20 EUR?!!
Mehagar, 07.11.2019
Guys, this pedal looks great until you take it in your hand. If you wanna put the battery inside it feels like it's gonna break until opens. Pretty cheap plastic. Knobs feel little loose and weak. BUT. The variety of sound is awesome. Great muddy drive with no drive at all or heavy sounds ot the other end with my Epiphone 339. Worth 20 EUR. Mos def.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Sounds good
Dim_, 15.01.2021
Very nice sound from this pedal.
Just by reading other reviews I was expecting a cheap enclosure but not so cheap. There is no feedback when pressing the stomp switch.
Wouldnt move this pedal out of the house.

Hey Behringer
I dont think that your customers would mind paying 1-2 USD more for a better enclosure.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
It?s green :-)
NigelT, 20.05.2020
Yes, it?s green, it has a T and 80 in the model name... Just missing 1 letter and one number! ;-)

What it isn?t missing is the tone of another green pedal has! This really is as close as it gets to another pedal without calling itself the same name!

Want to boost your signal? Done! Want to drive the amp a bit harder? Done! Want to really gun your amp? Done!

This does everything the rather more expensive pedal does for a fraction of the price and, really, I cannot tell much tonal difference!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Good for the price
TheGreenDino, 14.04.2021
This was my first pedal, and I didn't want to spend 5 times more to get the original pedal, before I know if I need it.

Pros:
- It does a relatively decent job for the price
- The knobs and plugs are well built

Cons:
- The housing is plastic and its engineering is quite terrible; try inserting a battery and you wish you wouldn't need to do it ever again.
- The sound: In general it's OK, but with a Fender tube amp, I'm having a hard time getting a good sound out of it. I don't yet have a TS9 to compare with.

Overall, you get what you pay.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
"Basically a tubescreamer"
duckbo, 26.01.2021
I'm glad I bought this. When I last tried a tubescreamer I was disappointed with the sound, thought "this does nothing", but have since learned how they work, and also learnt that this pedal is basically a tube screamer.

So I use this mostly to drive a dirty amp. I have played with other musicians and it makes my guitar stand out in the mix for solos and such.

It makes my amp shine in clean too.

As a clean boost it will still make your guitar a bit more prominent due to its mid-hump.

It has a stiff input jack socket. Take care of this pedal and it'll treat you well.

My overall rating takes into account the price whereas the others are more objective.

A con is I am sure this is actually lower than unity volume with level set to maximum.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Behringer TO800
Viktor Apagyi, 15.02.2021
The product is just amazing! Just go for it!
I use it front of an peavey 5150 II head and it just killer.
Pro:
sounds great
Cheap
Con: Not really , maybe the plastic housing but its still pretty neat, sturdy.
Just go to youtube ,choose any comparsion video Behreinger vs Maxon OD 808 or vs TS808 vs TS9
you gonna be suprised!
Best 24 euros spend, ever, period.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Joshuffle, 16.01.2021
It's a fine thing, just less of an impact than a fuzz pedal, but that's just from my inexperience.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Screaming!
JoachimTe, 09.08.2020
Simple but great pedal!

Run it on the clean channel of your amp and you'll rock'n roll all day. Switch to the overdrive channel and it really encourage you to metal up your playing. ( I use a Blackstar combo with it)

The plastic casing means it won't last forever, but nothing at this pricerange does.

A whole lot of fun for a VERY reasonable price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Brilliant Tubescreamer circuit
johncordy, 25.11.2019
Behringer actually manufacture the chips that are used in many perceived higher quality Tubescreamers and so on such as the Ibanez models. In effect this is a top quality circuit housed in a plastic enclosure.
In terms of gigging this pedal, I'm not sure I would risk it if I was actually using the switch - however, if you're using a loop switcher (like a Boss MS3 or the Harley Benton StompControl), you won't need to worry about this. To be honest it may not even be an issue, just perception wise at least a metal enclosure should be more reliable?

I've got/had many other tubescreamers and while many have their quirks and added features, the main core sound remains pretty consistent, so if you're looking to dip your toe in the Tubescreamer world, or are just looking for a pedal that can give you that extra bit of drive and mid boost, the TO800 is a great choice, especially at this price point!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Recreating the Iban.z wonder
MoGreen, 06.11.2019
This little pedal however plasticky it may feel to the touch has a lot of potential to offer. It delivers the sound we know and love from it's inspirational source and that at a fraction of the price.
For me, being a producer and session percussionist occasionally laying down a guitar line in a production, buying into the Behringer stomp box range makes a lot of sense both soundwise and when considering the cost/benefit aspects of it.
Great stuff cheap!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
TO800, buy it
Oreo, 22.09.2020
Just go ahead and buy it. Nice subtle overdrive, can't over do it but if you want more get a distortion pedal. Good sounds on my HB amp clean channel. Yes its plastic but feels like good plastic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great affordable tube screamer sound
BeMaWo, 22.02.2021
First of all, the downside: yes, it is plastic but I knew that before i decided to buy it.
On the other hand, this is an very versatile tube screamer clone that sound so much more expensive then it is. I use it mainly for stacking but it is more than good enough to be used on its own. You could even use it as a boost if you turn the gain all the way down. In that way, it might even be worth having more then once on your pedal board...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Sounds almost exactly like the real deal!
Boberto, 11.06.2020
This pedal is great! sounds almost exactly like other actual ts808s I've tried and if anything has a slightly better bass response!
The only downside is the plastic casing feels like it wont last forever but it doesn't seem difficult to re-case.
Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for the classic TS sound and doesn't want to spend the earth
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
No noticeable difference from the tube screamer
Verner Gusmao, 26.02.2021
I know this review will hurt the gear snobs out there (and I could not care less ;)
But there is not difference from the more expensive tube screamer pedals - Sounds absolutely great.

The casing is a bit fragile though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great tones for great price
CJ Silvestre, 18.02.2021
I've seen reviews of this pedal against the Ybanez TS, and I totally agree that they sound the same. When I unboxed this beast, I was astonished by the clean drive tones I can get. It can range from light crunch to heavy distortion. I love it to bits! Hope it will last though, as is commonly the problem with Behringer products they say. I will see for myself. Totally worth it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
best rocky sound i've ever had
ttalis2000, 26.06.2017
Even this is a cheap product, i bought it and i love it, i get that good rocky sound that i should get from it and i finaly enjoy sound of solos that im playing, also it goes good for bass, not for electric guitar only... you can control your sound on it as u want, and it doesnt make your guitar to sound realy loud when you plug it into your amp... I recomend this product for everyone!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Wallet friendly excellence!
Radioz, 17.05.2020
Behringer is my new favourite pedal producer for sure. With this price and sound there is nothing to complain about. And if I should complain then it is the case that is made from plastic. Good news is that if that breaks then I will go to garage to make custom case!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Insane value for money
Stefan Lucian, 11.05.2020
I use this at home, so the fact that it's made if plastic isn't a huge deal for me.

What matters is the sound, and it's the sound of a tubescreamer and for the amount that you pay for it, this is amazing.

It's a pain to change batteries though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Behringer Vintage Overdrive
Brian812, 24.10.2018
I am very satisfied with this pedal. Doesn't blow you away but it's sounds really good, especially when you consider the price. 3 simple controls. I can really recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to lash out to pay for an Ibanez.
My only complaint is (as with any Behringer pedal) that the power input is on the side and not on the top end of the pedal. On a full pedalboard it's not very practical.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer TO800 Vintage Tube Overdrive

24,40 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Wednesday, 28.04. and Thursday, 29.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-MBA

Warm Audio WA-MBA; professional broadcast microphone boom; easy-to-operate clamping hinges; hidden cable management system;, Connectors with 3/8" and 5/8" thread, suitable for all common microphone mounts; integrated table clamp; Colour: black; Weight: 2.5 kg

Recently Viewed
Eurolite LED Theatre COB 100 WW/CW

Eurolite LED Theater COB 100 WW / CW; 100 W COB LED with variable color temperature 2500-5700K ; Auto, Music, Master / Slave and DMX modes (2, 4, 5, or 7 DMX channels); Integrated show programs in car and music…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.