Customer center login

Arturia MiniLab MKII

262 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound/quality
  • computer utilisation
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
A great MIDI controller, apart from some details
José Meira, 26.07.2020
I was a bit divided between this Arturia MiniLab MKII and the Akai MPK mini MK2. I chose this one because it looked nicer, because I didn't like the mod and pitch wheel being merged in a joystick in the Akai and because the keys looked sturdier. I was not mistaken about that, I have some friends that had the Akai and the keys actually felt really flimsy and some even broke.
I wanted something that I could take with me everywhere and that could also be on the side of the computer in my home studio to try synth sounds and deal with them easily before going to my main keyboard that is not a MIDI controller but has more keys and better quality overall. This keyboard does the trick but there are a few details I would like to mention.
First, the knobs have really little sensibility if you turn them slowly but can go crazy if you crank them up a little faster. That can be useful in some cases, but in other is really distracting and can slow your workflow. Not something terrible, just something to keep in mind.
Second, I prefer the pitch and mod wheels being separate things, but the "touch" feature is a little unnatural and, in my opinion, unnecessary. But since I only use this keyboard it for drafts or dialing sounds, it's ok for me.

Off with the bad points, on with the good ones.

The pads are really good and sensible. They feel great and have a really nice response.
The size is perfect to put in your backpack and take it anywhere, and since it doesn't require any batteries or a power outlet, you can make music anywhere (keep in mind that it is white, it can get dirty really easily if you're not careful).
The keys are not amazing but they meet the goals that is to play with more or less sensibility.
It looks awesome!!!

Overall was a great buy, considering the price and the functionalities it has, plus the plug-ins it gives you. If your looking for something portable and powerful, I would recommend the Arturia MiniLab MKII ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Before you buy, read this
anonnymous, 23.04.2020
I ordered this a couple days ago and got it two days ago, at first everything seemed fine, the keys were playing, i could map things, but when i started playing with the rotary encoders i noticed that when I turned them slowly, the values would jump up and down for a few values, like really unstable! its basicaly unusable for things like fine automation.. This was unnaceptable for me and i don't know how i didnt notice that in the reviews! just search the google: Arturia minilab mk2 jumpy knobs, its a common problem due to their cheap encoders, and no amount of software firmware updates can fix it, what makes me even more sad is that this is an old problem, i've found posts about this from 2013 and Arturia hasn't done anything to fix this, i returned this product, the features are great, exactly what i needed and that makes it even more frustrating for me. Maybe i got a defect product but i don't even want to bother because of their slow customer support, i'm glad i bought this on Thomann as they have excellent customer suport and return policy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Awesome Midi Keyboard for the Price
Leskipsy, 05.08.2021
This keyboard is truly awesome for the price. Also, the included arturia software sets you up with pretty much everything you need. Highly recommend it for anyone looking for an affordable midi controller. The only downside for me is the number of keys, but it really depends on what you want to do
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Cheap but useful and loyal
Groovial, 24.12.2020
This keyboard is my main keyboard for travelling. It's light, for the way I travel the size is ok, the keys feel much better then other similar keyboards at this price range, the knobs, pads and encoders can all learn MIDI, I use it with Ableton and I am very happy with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Way more than I expected
TiagoTaveira, 18.11.2020
This midi keyboard is perfect for home studios and even for small live sessions/ jam sessions.
I is really versatile and the software is good too.

Cons in my opinion:
the pads are not that sensitive. You have to press a little hard when compared with other pads (e.g. Akai )
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
excellent little midi controller
HopelessComposer, 24.10.2019
I have absolutely no regrets buying this.
It works so well with my Arturia V collection, as well as with the Ableton Suite. I had no problems getting it to work with Sibelius as well.

I was a little worried before I bought it that my rock-climbing man hands might not like the mini keys, but my concerns were unfounded. The keys are nice to play, very expressive and seem to be able to take a beating. The whole unit is solidly constructed and honestly looks much more expensive than it was. I'm not much of a finger drummer but the velocity sensitive pads are of the same high quality are the rest of the unit. Having 16 rotary encoders is a real life enhancement. I was previously using a mouse :p

The pitch and modulation strips work well. The pitch bend auto-centers when you let go, as it should.
The modulation strip will stay at the value of your last touch.
Controlling modulation via a touch sensitive strip is actually better than having a wheel, since you can pick out individual values without passing through the intermediate values if you want. That just isn't possible with a wheel, so yay :)

So, I'd say if you are looking for a 2 octave midi controller on a budget the MiniLab is excellent value for your money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Just Arturia
Oliver Berlin , 15.03.2021
No words needed. Arturia is top quality. Perfect for begginers
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Really, really good
fisherbim, 07.10.2020
I just been testing it a day, but as far as I can say for now is that it is a really good midi controller. I use it with ableton live to track instruments that I don't usually have. I play and record traditional acoustic instruments. I play only for family and friends but when I do, I...This is my first personal midi controller. I wanted it to be mobile, versatile, and structurally solid (and I think I found it). I plan to use it for a long time. I updated to the latest firmware that was released recently. It's good to know that it is still being supported after years of its initial release. I upgraded to Analog Lab 4 though the Analog Lab Lite that came as a software download is enough get things started. The UVI Grand Piano Model D software is also a good addition to my arsenal. I recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Easy to use
Audiolab studios, 11.03.2021
It is very easy to use it.
My computer sees it directly and the knobs are working fine.
As for the pads, you need more force than expected, so you need to press them hard. That means that it is not to easy to handle the dynamics.
As for the sound quality, there is no sound of it's own (it's a midi controller). The quality of the clavie is great. Small and fits everywhere. It is what i needed for my desk and helps me to find very easily small mellodies (2 octaves) and some chords very fast.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
good value for money controller
kostas Sam, 20.04.2021
Using with ableton Live with custom setup for effects on vocals, guitar and as a looper.
Pros:
Very easy to setup
Cons:
None so far, durability is not tested yet, as I bought this just a month ago. Will be commenting again after a year of use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great for ableton
A. j M., 08.02.2021
This is a great piece of gear, especially if you use Ableton. I personnalité use both Ableton and Logic Pro fro different music needs.
The setup in Logic Pro is as easy as Ableton (just plug and play) BUT you get a lot less functionalities out of the box. The pads are read by Logic as regular keys and the pots order doesn’t make any kind of sense.
If you’ll be working with Logic, expect a lot of MIDI mapping if you want to have a controller as versatile and useful as this one can be.

In Ableton - no issue at all, just freakin’ perfect out of the box.

I would have appreciated a lot more documentation from Arturia on how to use their gear with each DAW. Only YouTube and forums have been helping me so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great small keyboard with pads and encoders
JThomas, 28.01.2019
The main reason why I bought this controller was to have a small keyboard with endless rotary encoders. I don't like pan pots because it's hard to map them to your VSTs. So after a lot of research, I found that this Minilab was basically the only keyboard who actually had proper encoders!

I was also looking for a smaller keyboard to put on my desktop. Most keyboards with only 2 octaves tend to have a "cheap" feel, and move easily when playing on it (I'm a pianist). But here, the build is quite sturdy. You can really play on it and it won't budge. I must say some of the keys can be a bit stiff, but I feel that it gets better overtime.

The keys themselves are a decent size, and I like the fact that they're not hollow at the bottom (like most cheaper controllers). The pads are alright, but they're not as good as Maschine or Ableton Push pads because you have to press harder to trigger them correctly. But I don't really mind since I don't really use the Minilab to drum on it.

The cherry on the cake? This keyboard comes with a free full version of Arturia Lab, meaning that you get hundreds of great sounding presets from the Arturia VSTs. And it's perfectly mapped to the Minilab, so you can play and tweak the sound at the same time.

Overall a great buy. I actually bought Arturia's Keystep after that. They're a good combo.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Tarik Arslan, 30.04.2020
I use the keyboard in Logic Pro x and abelton live and it perfectly fits to those.Keys have relatively feels good and have consistent velocity but I can't say the same thing for drum pads. Pads feel hard and not that easy to play.But overall a good product definitely worth it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great experience and easy to get going
Pillow Slap, 25.01.2021
Packaging was cool and build quiality of the unit is great. Set up was straight forward especially for someone not tech minded. The analog lite program was exactly that, light on features. But all progrmas that come with it are great overall.
Overall would recommend, bulit to last, easy to use and plenty there to feel like you got waayy more than your monies worth!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great addition to a home studio.
Peter Ivanov, 04.06.2021
There is no cons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
It really worths the price!
Armanii, 29.12.2019
The controller is really solid made and has quite good built quality. If you're using Ableton Live, it comes with quite good midi mapping preset and of course, you have the option to customize your midi mappings and what I love about it is the limitless rotary 16 encoders, so you can adjust the parameters, no matter what's the current knob's position.
It also comes with really good software bundle! AnalogLab lite is more than enough if you are just starting the synth world! It comes with 500 presets which you can tweak around all the different parameters and mix different synths here and there!
I really recommend to have it as a handy gadget in your home studio!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Good product with a lot of sounds
Kitusai, 30.04.2020
The keyboard is very good but the (kind of) modwheel isn't enough precise. Otherwise great product with a lot of good sounds.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Still learning its capabilities and overall a really good keyboard
TAiradus, 09.06.2020
Great keyboard for my amateur music production. I'm still learning how to make the most of this keyboard and so far I really love it.

Keys strokes are similar to pianos which is what I wanted. Also, the keys are, though short, a bit longer than most mini keyboards which is also a plus for me.

Recommend to anyone like to turn their instruments and make new sounds, as there're tons of buttons which can be mapped to the DAW.

The only slight disadvantage is that it is quite heavy, but the build quality is excellent and I don't feel people would move around a lot while using it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great quality for its price !
Wollfie, 30.12.2020
I'm quite surprised of the quality of this product for its price. Although the keys are quite close to each others, it is still very comfortable to play with.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
great to start making music
Gabri88, 26.09.2019
bought it to produce electronic music, it is very well built and the keys give a natural response when pressed (quite close to a real piano). the knobs are not super smooth but they are endless encoder that makes them a very nice addition compared to similar products. You get a nice selection of presets with it, however you need to install a lot of software to use them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Poor materials
GilAmado, 16.02.2021
The keys are not comfortable to play.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
life changing.
CHE888, 15.07.2019
along with the analog lab.. the sound possibilities are just fascinating
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
very good midicontroller
gnf404, 02.03.2021
i'v been having loads of fun with this thing and if you are an ableton fan it comes with integrated features for ableton it's easy to use and the keys sensitivity feel nice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Tottaly worth!
simis, 14.05.2020
Really nice mini keyboard, the keys are easy to play, the knobs help the user handle the macros in any DAW.
The software include a large variety of sounds i use in my projects.
The pads are quite hard to hit but overall its a value for money product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
A good Midi Keyboard for the price
Rowen94, 16.05.2020
I use this keyboard occasionally when I have to work with Midi in my recordings. I would say that it is a good keyboard for the price. what i did not like was the touch pitch wheel, a physical wheel would have been better for me personally.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Arturia MiniLab MKII

99 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Monday, 27.09. and Tuesday, 28.09.

Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Software Instruments
Software Instruments
These days, software instruments seem to most like the natural thing to use as a sound source in a com­puter-based studio.
Online Guides
Synthesizers
Synthesizers
There are a wealth of synthesisers available today, ranging from hardware keyboards to virtual software instruments.
Online Guides
Plug-ins
Plug-ins
More people than ever are now convinced of the advantages of plug-ins. Why?
Online Guides
Sound Libraries & Sampling
Sound Libraries & Sampling
Sampling technology is no longer restricted to large studios!
 
 
 
 
 
test results: