Arturia MiniLab MKII

131 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound/quality
  • computer utilisation
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
A great MIDI controller, apart from some details
José Meira, 26.07.2020
I was a bit divided between this Arturia MiniLab MKII and the Akai MPK mini MK2. I chose this one because it looked nicer, because I didn't like the mod and pitch wheel being merged in a joystick in the Akai and because the keys looked sturdier. I was not mistaken about that, I have some friends that had the Akai and the keys actually felt really flimsy and some even broke.
I wanted something that I could take with me everywhere and that could also be on the side of the computer in my home studio to try synth sounds and deal with them easily before going to my main keyboard that is not a MIDI controller but has more keys and better quality overall. This keyboard does the trick but there are a few details I would like to mention.
First, the knobs have really little sensibility if you turn them slowly but can go crazy if you crank them up a little faster. That can be useful in some cases, but in other is really distracting and can slow your workflow. Not something terrible, just something to keep in mind.
Second, I prefer the pitch and mod wheels being separate things, but the "touch" feature is a little unnatural and, in my opinion, unnecessary. But since I only use this keyboard it for drafts or dialing sounds, it's ok for me.

Off with the bad points, on with the good ones.

The pads are really good and sensible. They feel great and have a really nice response.
The size is perfect to put in your backpack and take it anywhere, and since it doesn't require any batteries or a power outlet, you can make music anywhere (keep in mind that it is white, it can get dirty really easily if you're not careful).
The keys are not amazing but they meet the goals that is to play with more or less sensibility.
It looks awesome!!!

Overall was a great buy, considering the price and the functionalities it has, plus the plug-ins it gives you. If your looking for something portable and powerful, I would recommend the Arturia MiniLab MKII ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
It really worths the price!
Armanii, 29.12.2019
The controller is really solid made and has quite good built quality. If you're using Ableton Live, it comes with quite good midi mapping preset and of course, you have the option to customize your midi mappings and what I love about it is the limitless rotary 16 encoders, so you can adjust the parameters, no matter what's the current knob's position.
It also comes with really good software bundle! AnalogLab lite is more than enough if you are just starting the synth world! It comes with 500 presets which you can tweak around all the different parameters and mix different synths here and there!
I really recommend to have it as a handy gadget in your home studio!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Still learning its capabilities and overall a really good keyboard
TAiradus, 09.06.2020
Great keyboard for my amateur music production. I'm still learning how to make the most of this keyboard and so far I really love it.

Keys strokes are similar to pianos which is what I wanted. Also, the keys are, though short, a bit longer than most mini keyboards which is also a plus for me.

Recommend to anyone like to turn their instruments and make new sounds, as there're tons of buttons which can be mapped to the DAW.

The only slight disadvantage is that it is quite heavy, but the build quality is excellent and I don't feel people would move around a lot while using it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Before you buy, read this
anonnymous, 23.04.2020
I ordered this a couple days ago and got it two days ago, at first everything seemed fine, the keys were playing, i could map things, but when i started playing with the rotary encoders i noticed that when I turned them slowly, the values would jump up and down for a few values, like really unstable! its basicaly unusable for things like fine automation.. This was unnaceptable for me and i don't know how i didnt notice that in the reviews! just search the google: Arturia minilab mk2 jumpy knobs, its a common problem due to their cheap encoders, and no amount of software firmware updates can fix it, what makes me even more sad is that this is an old problem, i've found posts about this from 2013 and Arturia hasn't done anything to fix this, i returned this product, the features are great, exactly what i needed and that makes it even more frustrating for me. Maybe i got a defect product but i don't even want to bother because of their slow customer support, i'm glad i bought this on Thomann as they have excellent customer suport and return policy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
excellent little midi controller
HopelessComposer, 24.10.2019
I have absolutely no regrets buying this.
It works so well with my Arturia V collection, as well as with the Ableton Suite. I had no problems getting it to work with Sibelius as well.

I was a little worried before I bought it that my rock-climbing man hands might not like the mini keys, but my concerns were unfounded. The keys are nice to play, very expressive and seem to be able to take a beating. The whole unit is solidly constructed and honestly looks much more expensive than it was. I'm not much of a finger drummer but the velocity sensitive pads are of the same high quality are the rest of the unit. Having 16 rotary encoders is a real life enhancement. I was previously using a mouse :p

The pitch and modulation strips work well. The pitch bend auto-centers when you let go, as it should.
The modulation strip will stay at the value of your last touch.
Controlling modulation via a touch sensitive strip is actually better than having a wheel, since you can pick out individual values without passing through the intermediate values if you want. That just isn't possible with a wheel, so yay :)

So, I'd say if you are looking for a 2 octave midi controller on a budget the MiniLab is excellent value for your money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Tarik Arslan, 30.04.2020
I use the keyboard in Logic Pro x and abelton live and it perfectly fits to those.Keys have relatively feels good and have consistent velocity but I can't say the same thing for drum pads. Pads feel hard and not that easy to play.But overall a good product definitely worth it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Good product with a lot of sounds
Kitusai, 30.04.2020
The keyboard is very good but the (kind of) modwheel isn't enough precise. Otherwise great product with a lot of good sounds.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
AVOID. Lots of practical features. Build is awful, knobs and Arturia costumer support are miserable.
Gear Dabbler , 17.05.2020
I bought this after several reviewers recommended it, and more importantly, because of the endless encoders with default mapping to macros in Ableton.

These encoders turned out to be utter garbage. A slight turn to the right and the MIDI will jump dramatically to the left. To turn a macro knob in Ableton fully (1-127) you must rotate the knob over 720degrees (on fast acceleration setting). Their precision are unsellably bad. Avoid this controller like the plague if good encoders is what you seek.

The keyboard gets the job done. Cheap build, but much better to use than my laptop keyboard. Same goes for the pads.

The included software, Analog lab light, is very good. The presets in it beat every Ableton stock preset by a mile.

Worst of all has to be the extremely confusing MIDI control center and awful manual. After reading the manual I still could not set it up properly to utilize the banks. I emailed Arturia to ask what the issue was and they very rudely ignored the content of my email and sent a copy-paste guide of how to set up the controller in Ableton. This was not what my email asked.

I would not recommend this product at all. If keys and pads is all you want, I'm sure there are better cheap products. If you need knobs, these will disappoint you very much. I've read forms in which several people returned this product solely based off the poor quality of the encoders.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Fenomenal MIDI controller for the price
ossian w, 20.06.2020
Build quality isn't perfect, but for the price I'm very satisfied. Using this in my small home studio and it works great.

As said above build quality isn't the best, I'm not sure if this is only my unit but the pads barely seem to work, which kind of bums me out. I haven't heard anyone else say anything bad about the pads though, so it might be my unit.

The drivers were very easy to install, no troubles at all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great small keyboard with pads and encoders
JThomas, 28.01.2019
The main reason why I bought this controller was to have a small keyboard with endless rotary encoders. I don't like pan pots because it's hard to map them to your VSTs. So after a lot of research, I found that this Minilab was basically the only keyboard who actually had proper encoders!

I was also looking for a smaller keyboard to put on my desktop. Most keyboards with only 2 octaves tend to have a "cheap" feel, and move easily when playing on it (I'm a pianist). But here, the build is quite sturdy. You can really play on it and it won't budge. I must say some of the keys can be a bit stiff, but I feel that it gets better overtime.

The keys themselves are a decent size, and I like the fact that they're not hollow at the bottom (like most cheaper controllers). The pads are alright, but they're not as good as Maschine or Ableton Push pads because you have to press harder to trigger them correctly. But I don't really mind since I don't really use the Minilab to drum on it.

The cherry on the cake? This keyboard comes with a free full version of Arturia Lab, meaning that you get hundreds of great sounding presets from the Arturia VSTs. And it's perfectly mapped to the Minilab, so you can play and tweak the sound at the same time.

Overall a great buy. I actually bought Arturia's Keystep after that. They're a good combo.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
A good Midi Keyboard for the price
Rowen94, 16.05.2020
I use this keyboard occasionally when I have to work with Midi in my recordings. I would say that it is a good keyboard for the price. what i did not like was the touch pitch wheel, a physical wheel would have been better for me personally.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
great to start making music
Gabri88, 26.09.2019
bought it to produce electronic music, it is very well built and the keys give a natural response when pressed (quite close to a real piano). the knobs are not super smooth but they are endless encoder that makes them a very nice addition compared to similar products. You get a nice selection of presets with it, however you need to install a lot of software to use them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Really like the feel of the keys
martin no, 10.06.2020
not the smoothest setup with logic pro x
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
life changing.
CHE888, 15.07.2019
along with the analog lab.. the sound possibilities are just fascinating
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Tottaly worth!
simis, 14.05.2020
Really nice mini keyboard, the keys are easy to play, the knobs help the user handle the macros in any DAW.
The software include a large variety of sounds i use in my projects.
The pads are quite hard to hit but overall its a value for money product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Very very satisfied
usemusictofeel, 30.06.2018
This is a great piece of work, bought it for my brother, he's a rapper. Absolutely satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Easy and Useful!
WillB, 22.06.2017
All in all an excellent product whether you need a portable controller, something compact for a home studio, or if you're just getting into computer synths/keyboard controllers!

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Great for the price!
Airzone, 29.01.2019
Cool looking on the table, sturdy. Great support and feedback from the manufacturer. With product itself, comes software with good sounds. And this software made especially for this key station, so it saves a bunch of time because you don't need to bind any macros to the controller.
Knobs are working very precisely. Driver never crashes.
The only thing: velocity on the keys is not the best. Never know, how hard it needs to press to play with constant volume. But I think, it's more about size. Big sized key stations don't have this problem.
But for this price, you get even more than you expect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Best mini midid controller
Vage, 13.07.2017
I had different mini midi controllers and this one is the best! Its very flexible, each knob can be assigned as you want, all pads also can be assigned. Especially if you work with Ableton Live - this midi controller will make your life easier! And of course its very beautiful and stylish!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Really good bundle
c h a p o, 13.07.2018
Very good midi controller, analog late and ableton really favour this bundle, not only the keyboard is actually sell built but the software included is so amazing, although you can only use the presets in analob lab 3 instead of being able to control every button like in v collection
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
Very useful midi controller
ulas3242, 29.04.2018
Very useful and all in one midi controller.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Arturia MiniLab MKII

95 €
Including VAT; Excluding 20 € shipping

Delivery until approx. Mon, 17. August

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Software Instruments
Software Instruments
These days, software instruments seem to most like the natural thing to use as a sound source in a com­puter-based studio.
Online Guides
Synthesizers
Synthesizers
There are a wealth of synthesisers available today, ranging from hardware keyboards to virtual software instruments.
Online Guides
Plug-ins
Plug-ins
More people than ever are now convinced of the advantages of plug-ins. Why?
Online Guides
Sound Libraries & Sampling
Sound Libraries & Sampling
Sampling technology is no longer restricted to large studios!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(4)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO

Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO; Eurorack module; two independent analog ADSR envelope generators; for each envelope: manual trigger button, Gate input, sliders for Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release, 2 signal outputs and inverted output; analog LFO with 5 waveforms; sliders for...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 49 MK3

USB MIDI kKeyboard 49 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controls, Keys for...

Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA

Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA DMX, 60 W LED, 50 cm; decoration element for stages, clubs and events; stable metal construction; illuminated reflector with unique look; technical data: Light source: 60 Watt RGBA 4in1 LED; Control: DMX (4/6/8 channels),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 BKS

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb

Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Based on the Oceans 11 with even more reverbs and functionality; two simultaneous, independent, stereo reverb engines; 24 Presets and advanced I/O allowing for stereo in/out or mono...

Recently Viewed
Blue Spark Blackout SL

Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Polar pattern: Cardioid, Frequency response: 20 - 20000 Hz, Sensitivity: 34.9 mV / Pa at 1 kHz (1 pa = 94 dB SPL), Output impedance: 50 ohms, Max. sound pressure level: 136 dB SPL (1k...

Recently Viewed
TC-Helicon Go Twin

2-Channel audio / MIDI interface for mobile devices Integrated microphone preamplifier, Phantom power: +48 V, 2 Microphone / line / instrument inputs: combo XLR / jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, Stereo headphone output, 2...

Recently Viewed
Hohner Performer Melodica 37 Black

Hohner Performer 37 Melodica, for beginners and advanced, whether for jazz, pop, rock or reggea, the Performer 37 is the right instrument for all four styles, rich and accordion-like sound, perfect for itself and in combination with other instruments, 26...

Recently Viewed
Midas Compressor Limiter 522 V2

Midas Compressor Limiter 522; 500 Series Modular Compressor/Limiter; rotary knobs for Treshold, Ratio, Attack, Release, Gain and Dynamic Presence; HP Sidechain Filter (200 Hz); LED Meter for Gain Reduction and Output Level; Designed and engineered in the U.K.

(3)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 150 Ring Mod/Noise/S&H/LFO

Behringer 150 Ring Mod/Noise/S&H/LFO; Eurorack module; analog Ring Modulator; Noise Generator with two outputs for white noise and pink noise; Sample & Hold section with Clock Out, External Clock In and sliders for Clock Rate and Lag Time; analog LFO...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 37 MK3

USB MIDI Keyboard 37 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controllers, Keys for...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-AT 24 TBK

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.