Customer center login

Vox VT40X

143 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent
Peacefrog, 17.01.2021
Wow, what a great amp.
I was hesitant about buying a hybrid amp and wether it would be too complicated.
This amp is easy to use. The preset amps are brilliant. You can even adjust the levels in the presets with easy.
You can also use it as a traditional amp and dial in your own settings, but with the quality of the tone the preset amps produce, I hardly use it as a regular amp.
As a gutarist who has spent years trying to get a great tone out of amps, I can highly recommend this amp. The tones are great and the amp is easy to use. So much fun.

Update: after 2 months of use, I have finally started to use the Tone Room. I bought a lead from the internet for 15 Euro and it's the best 15 Euro I have spent this year.
Very easy to use. Down load the file from Vox (website) and connect your phone/computer to the amp.
The Tone Room has another 60 preset sounds, often named after the song from a famous band, so it easy to re-create the band's sound. Each preset, is editable.
There are also 21 different effect pedals which you can swop in and out, to create your own sound.
I haven't read many reviews of the Tone Room, which is a shame, as it is a great feature and very easy to use.

Update (4 months)
The more familiar I get with the amp and also the Tone room, the better the amp gets. The Tone Room is superb and easy to use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good value for the money
Loungemaster, 02.05.2018
couple of notes:
Delivery - very fast delivery and really well organized package.
Sound - plenty of good quality sounds to choose and experiment from, while creating your own presets.

Power supply - Probably the main downside of this product was power cable. The 220v european power cable was not suited for Vox amplifier power switcher adapter, so I simply wasn't able to power up the amp, since the connectors didn't match. There was another 220v power cable added with right type of connector to the switcher adapter, but since I don't live in UK, didn't have much use of it as well.

ATTENTION!
For this amp to work in EU countries you specifically need EU EUROPEAN 3 Prong 2 Pin AC cable !!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A VERY GOOD PRACTICE AMP WITH MANY POSSIBILITIES
ROB..., 21.07.2020
I got this as my first amp and I must say I am really happy with it. It si very easy to use and it also has over 30 presets wich sound just great. The amp models are very nice modeled . There are lots of options,11 amp models (20 using VOX tone room) and 12 effects( 21 using the VOX TONE ROOM). I was very pleased with the sounds, the clean and also the high gain ones. In the app there are lots of tweaking possibilities and i spent many hours creating beautiful sounds using effects wich are also great. This amp is a lot louder than i expected. This amp can easily be used for small concerts. Overall i am really happy with my Vox VT40X and i would recomennd it for anyone who is looking for a practice amp .
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
miguel_aml_25, 07.02.2021
The Vox VT40X, is very easy to use and if you use the USB with computer it's even more easy and you'll see more options to change your tone.
The only thing that I dislike in this amplifier is the fact that you don't have an output to record out.
The sound of the amp is incredbly great and you have to many tools to change your tone, to many pedals and also to many preset sounds, from Vox and from some well-known songs.
The workmanship is amazing, this is the most beautiful amp that I ever saw.
In short, this amplifier is amazing and very good to beginners and advenced guitar players. Also it's very good to play with it in a band!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The sound is out of this world !!!
Jokerim, 26.02.2021
For the price, it sounds amazing! Even beating amps double the money.
It sounds very valve like and looks decent.
I don't like the controls (feel a bit cheap) and the app is just awful...
You can get a decent tonal range with this amp, but imo, the biggest reason to buy it, is that it sounds close to a valve amp for very cheap!
For 215€ , I 100% refommend it to anyone looking for a new practice amp!
Btw, it gets very loud for 40w!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
TALK ABOUT BANG FOR A BUCK!!!
Jormsie, 01.03.2018
I bought this amp after selling my solid state line6. And the difference is huge. It sounds much more natural thanks to the 12ax7 tube in the preamp, it looks great and it has a lot of features, which I haven't even had the chance to try yet and even more in the app VOX ToneRoom. And to think that this is all for a very good price!

It is slightly noisy but it can be adjusted with the noise filter and I wish the cord wouldn't be the laptop charger kind of thingy, but these are all just little things compared to the pros.

Pros:
Lots of options
Great sound
Great effects and their options
Great looks

Cons:
Slightly noisy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent sounding combo (I recommend)
PeeduMamma, 02.09.2020
I was contemplating on whether to get this amp or the Katana - I'm really glad I decided to purchase this one. Moving from H&K TubeMeister to this.

What I really love: excellent sound capabilities (ability to get some tube tones), the interface is very simple and logical, offers a variety of famous amp presets (Vox AC30, Tweed 4x10 etc), it’s quite portable and not very heavy, good price!

Only thing I miss is the effects loop (for pedals) But since you have pedal options on the amp it’s not a huge problem.

Other than that I can't list any cons because I think that this amp is exactly what I was looking for: home practise & playing with a band. (that is why I got 40 watt one)

Thanks!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Verybgood amp
Peter Cat, 02.05.2021
nice sound with a lot of features, definitely you will found a few that will match your taste,looks great, and loudddd
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good Modelling combo for electric guitar!
Nick - name, 28.01.2021
Clear sound,loud and quiet sound, qualitative and different effects, for home and gig parties goes well!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent modelling hybrid amp
SteliosG, 07.11.2020
I got it after a lot of years off guitar playing, originally having an old Line6 Spider II 75 (2004). Sold the Spider because I got pissed by digital effects and modelling amps and i looked for a full tube or a solid without effects etc. I wanted to start playing again and I fell in-between, the hybrids. I chose this one since it's 40W:
CONS:
1) it's far more than enough for practicing and I believe you can play even in a small studio, it has a lot of power.
2) This amp is excellent with tube-like performance! It's a real VFM an d very very versatile switching between so many channels and manual vs modelling mode.
3) the 10' speaker is enough for getting nice sound, don't go to <10' even the VT.
4) The overall cabin, knobs etc are of high quality
CONS:
1) I didn't like the tight 3.5 I/O sockets, I am always afraid to put jacks in them. Same with the On/Off button, it seems that it will wear out much quickly (better if it was a generic 2-positions switch)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Compact, good sounding amp
Novice musician, 18.09.2020
Perfect for Novice players who a looking for variability in sound.
No cons so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent modelling amp
Paul L - UK, 26.10.2020
I bought this along with a PRS SE Hollowbody guitar and I am hugely impressed with the numerous modelling amps and the tones are warm and rich thanks to the vacuum tube bringing everything to life.
add the Vox ToneWorks app and the number of amp models is huge.
I only play and practice at home so havent really cranked the amp volume up but i am sure this will be very loud.
one slight issue i have noticed though is the vastly differing volume when switching between amp models regardless of where the master volume is set, the level seems to be overridden and can almost blow the speaker if you arent careful!
i have learnt to switch amp models and then turn the volume all the way down before re setting the volume to the required level before playing a note!
overall i am very pleased with this amplifier.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Sounds great
KillingSpread, 25.11.2018
This amp is excellent. I have a pedal board and I can set it perfectly to match with it. It has good effects and distortion also. It allows you to reach some dirty metal tone and also a good and clean sound. I definitely recommend this amp.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent sounding
kozi, 28.11.2020
Delivery - very fast delivery and really well organized package
to Ireland
I have a pedal board and I can set it perfectly to match with it. It has good effects and distortion also
I definitely recommend this amp
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent!!
Very good sticks!!, 16.04.2021
This amp does everything i wanted. Has amazing pre-sets and is quiet enough for home use. If you are looking for an all around amp to play with at home just buy this one. Also he looks amazing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
axewound, 25.01.2019
If you like the vix sound and want a small package then this is perfect. i use mainly for home use and am more than happy with the sounds this creates. plenty loud enough and i would imagine would just keep up with a drummer. plenty of options to make the sound you want in a nice small package
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
JoseLuisMoreiraRocha, 11.06.2019
Very easy to use. Great sound quality with lots of effects. The design is beautiful.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Vox VT40X

£188
Free shipping incl. VAT
In stock within 6-8 weeks
In stock within 6-8 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Amp Modeling
Amp Modeling
Amp modellers are guitar DSP effects units that emulate the sound of a range of amplifiers and speaker cabinets.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results: