Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner

13081 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.3 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • quality
Total
features
quality
handling
Fine for the price, not without issues.
Mofosir, 26.01.2020
Bought this mainly for home use, as I have a pedal tuner for other purposes.

Although it's very light, it does feel nice in the hand - the finish of the plastic is not glossy, rather satin like, almost rubbery, which definitely feels better than just cheapo plastic.
Operation is very straight forward - You hold the button for a second or so for it to turn on, and voila. It is chromatic, and it's both for guitar and for bass. Also, a very nice touch is the fact that there is a backlight , it's blue when You're out of tune, then the entire screen lights up green when You hit the pitch, so it's well suited for low light situations. So, thus far, all good.

The cons that I've stumbled upon are such - on guitars, that aren't exceptionally resonant, it doesn't really pick up the thinner strings all that well - it definitely works, and is usable, but it's not fast as sometimes it won't pick up the vibrations. I've tried it on strats, teles, les pauls, a couple of basses and a classical guitar, and it seems to jump around a fair bit on the strat, less so on the tele and LP, BUT seems to work outstandingly well with basses.
So, if You're buying this for home use, of maybe studio, it is fine - does it's job, sometimes hunts around. All of this is absolutely acceptable, especially considering the price point.
But if You're looking for something fast and responsive for, let's say, live situations, I'd opt for something that's faster/more accurate.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Useful and versatile
The Dragon Guitarist, 12.11.2020
Incredibly good money for value purchase.

I got this as part of the bundle of my first acoustic guitar and used it constantly ever since (> 6 months). You can use it for chords (useful when you start learning) or just tune your guitar strings. You can also tune bass, which is a nice extra (didn't use it for that, as I don't own a bass yet). The screen turns green when you hit the perfect pitch, which is a nice visual clue.

Be aware that this tuner must be clipped to the guitar in order to process sound. For an acoustic, clip it around the rosette, and for the electric, clip it to the headstock.

I know it's just common sense, but it makes so much of a difference to practice with your guitar always in tune.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner
03.10.2016
The "Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner" is one of the cheapest tuners you can buy, because of the low price you could be forgiven for thinking it's not going to much use but it's actually a pretty accurate and useful little tuner.
I usually tune with a BOSS TU-3 pedal tuner when I'm using on my pedal board but thought a little clip on tuner would be useful so that I could tune up without having to plug in and power up my pedal board for a quick practice session, the CTG-10 couldn't be handier for the job.
So far I have used it on my Fender Stratocasters, Fender Telecasters, Fender Mustang, Gibson Les Paul, Gibson SG, Gibson ES335, Epiphone Casino, Danelectro DC59 as well as my Gibson Hummingbird, Martin D28 and Art & Lutherie acoustics and the clip has accommodated all the different headstock shapes and thicknesses with ease.
The tuner is very simple and intuitive to use, a single button turns the unit on and off and the same button toggles between the three modes which are "guitar", "bass" and "chromatic".
To turn the tuner on the button needs to be held down for a couple of seconds so it won't be turned on accidentally in a gig bag or case.
The screen is easy to read and is bright enough to use in the dark but can be a little difficult to see it in daylight or under bright lights.
I have experimented using it along with my BOSS TU-3 and the results are pretty much the same.
It usually works as soon as it's clipped on and only very invasion ally do I need to reposition it to get it to work.
It's small enough that it can be left on the guitar when put away into a hard case and it's cheap enough that you can have one in every case.
All in all a very handy and capable little tuner, really very good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Beware of Expensive Imitations
Dr Bassman, 17.12.2019
*** Update: 12th Nov 2o2o ***
I stand by what I wrote in my earlier review with the exception of the final three words: End of, right?; cos it wasn't; the end of the matter, I mean. In fact, it never is when you're a contemporary musician. There is no end (other than...), just perpetual change.

Simply put, I quickly outgrew the need for a simple tuner as described below. I was now in the land of pedal boards and that means: Well, check out my review for the Boss TU-3 and you'll see what I mean... end of, right? - unlikely; very unlikely.

*** Original Review ***
A good friend of mine recently paid a small fortune for a very similar piece of kit. Don't get me wrong: It works well; it is fit for purpose; it assists with tuning a guitar; he is happy.

Now, I have seldom found myself in need of a tuner before, for one simple reason: Just like many other guitarists and bassists, I can tune a guitar or bass perfectly well by ear. I do concede that, on occasions, I would ask my keyboard player for a "middle C", just to make sure but, other than that; no, there was no justification for such an accessory; especially at the prices I was being quoted.

However, I now find myself playing bass in a band with a compliment of three relentlessly noisy guitarists. Therefore, rather than having to utter a continuous stream of expletive ridden edicts, telling them to shut up, so I can check my tuning, I decided to buy this little tuner.

And, like my friend, I am happy. Why?; because, despite costing a fraction of the price of certain expensive imitations, it also works well; it is also fit for purpose; it also assists with tuning a guitar, bass, etc., or any other of a huge range of musical instruments.

Simply put, there's no real excuse for not being able to tune your instrument, although I meet many who can't, allegedly. But, if you find yourself in circumstances similar to my own, beware of expensive imitations. It's a tuner! Pay a small ransom, should you so desire, but surely a fit for purpose, incredibly well priced option, such as the CTG-10 Clip Tuner is the best way to part with your hard earned cash. Of course, it's your call but, take my advice: if needs be, get yourself one of these little beauties. Easy to use and great value. End of, right?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Review from total beginner: Seems to do the job very well
Flourman, 03.06.2021
Just to be clear - I am a total novice and I with that device I am setting my first steps with playing electric guitar.
I ordered that tuner as part of a bundle ("Fender SQ Affinity Tele MN BB Bundle1"). As per guitar tutorials, theoretically you could live without it (and use some mobile app), however and I am very happy with it.
The device seems to do the work, as total beginner I did manage to tune the guitar. The device package contains a manual, which along with some simple youtube videos, allowed me to tune the guitar - or at least I think I did it right.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
It's good
JakaTeka, 09.12.2020
It is great, especially for the price. I have not had any experience with any of the high-end headstock tuners though.

Of course, it is not as fast as a tuner pedal, but I just always keep it on my 6 string bass, for the times I don't have my pedal with me. And yes, it tracks the low B string just fine. Although, on guitar it performs noticeably faster, but that's expected, as the lower frequencies of the bass are harder to tune anyways.

Would definitely recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Does the job
kostas_v, 25.04.2018
I was looking for a cheap tuner for my guitar, and I stumbled upon this one. I already had a tuner pedal, but I wanted one that could be more accessible. Also, I could use this one on my acoustics.

For the price, I really cannot have any complaints about this tuner. It has 3 settings, Guitar, Bass and Chromatic, so it covers pretty much all the areas I was looking for. It is quite accurate, even compared to my Korg Pitchblack pedal. The display is bright enough so you can easily see it in the dark, really helpful for live performances. I've been using it for about two years and the battery still goes strong.

Compared to previous tuners of the same price range I've used, this one, while not amazing, is probably the most responsive one. It does have some issues though, there are times where it takes a while to register a note you play, so you have to wait a bit for it to "reset". Also, while the build quality voerall is fine, it does have a cheap plastic look.

Overall, for its price, I cannot reccomend this tuner enough. I've used it for two years and it hasn't let me down yet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Good overall, Questions for its accuracy.
Michael Polimeneris, 16.05.2021
Although seems simple, I'm still trying to understand its functionality.
While it flags "accuracy"/centered and green indication on each string open, when I go the old-fashion way, i.e. having adjusted only the Mi/E and going for the rest 5 from the fret "by ear" (yes I have a good ear...) I feel that each string, especially the Si/B and the Sol/G need a click higher.
I keep anticipation for a while and maybe will revert with edit, as maybe it isn't tuner's mistake but mine, from the way I'm handling the nut lockers, with which I'm not familiar, I never had them before.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
broken
Intueri production studio, 29.06.2021
was broken when delivered. no idea if its due to transportation or manufacturing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Bon rapport qualité/prix
Quiperd, 30.06.2021
Fais le travail et facile d'utilisation
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Looks cool, but that's all
Gwohawin, 13.04.2021
I was using apps for tuning my bass and it doesn't work properly when there's external noise, so i thought this kind of a product would make my life easier, i was so wrong :/ This bad boy can't tell the difference between an e1 and an a2 with litreally no external sound(in a soundproof studio, and i was muting the other strings yes). it looks cool tho, and in this price i can't argue, but if you need a proper tuner, you should get one that you plug your guitar into.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Such a small yet useful thing
Frosttroll, 24.06.2021
It's great - it is small, lightweight and it works great and prescise enough for live gigs, practices etc.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Norris90, 22.06.2021
A little bit cheap feeling but stable tuner. Does not detect 7 or 8th string well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Not for Bass
Flynnz, 11.06.2021
Works fine on my guitar, but on bass it selects a note at random on the A string, and can't find low E at all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Kind of works
Dave_12345, 25.05.2021
Has real trouble picking up half of the strings on my guitar. I usually get frustrated and switch back to the semi-broken Snark that I was trying to replace.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Excellent tuner!
Novikov, 14.07.2021
A great tuner for this money! Greetings from Russia) Thank you Thomann for the best service!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
What can I say? Perfect for the price!
Sparky86, 22.02.2021
This lightweight little guitar tuner is just what you need to tune a guitar/bass. It is straightforward to use. No bells and whistles to confuse or distract. Just a simple budget tuner that works! And since it is so light you will forget about it clipped on your guitar/bass. No other option besides the tuning. No transposition, no fine-tuning, no concert pitch adjust. Just a straightforward tuner. Great for beginners!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Inexpensive, accurate but not sturdy
Draghiem, 09.11.2020
This little gear is very handy, works perfectly nice but it seems definitively not build as a tank.

Still, for that price, you can't get wrong
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Great little gadget
Heppy, 01.10.2020
This clip tuner was a lot smaller than I was expecting it to be and underwhelming on first impression but when you switch it on there are a number of functions built in. I used it to tune guitar. display shows note and string number and display changes to green when in tune.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Works as expected
PeaceT, 14.04.2021
Nice and cheap tool for both acoustic and electric guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
does the job
Spacelord_42, 09.04.2021
nice, for guitar and bass, changes colour when in tune. Small and handy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
A must have in any Gigbag!
Elizabeth M., 26.07.2013
Honestly, This is the most efficient and accurate tuner I have ever had. Why spend €20+ on a tuner when this piece of kit does the job just as good, if not better?
The display is easy to read and performs well under lights. The plastic shell is very durable and mine has taken lots of falls and is still working like the day I bought it.
Its looks very streamline while on the guitar and is not an eyesore like some clip on tuners. The clip is also very reliable and will not slip of your guitar. Also the battery life is amazing. I have never changes the battery in about two years of use.

I could not recommend this tuner enough. Unbelievable value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Absolutley amazing!
Jerry K, 12.04.2021
For the price, It's fu**ing worth it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Feels cheap
Anh Tu Tran, 19.03.2021
I would not recommend this Tuner for a classical guitar. It is everything but accurate. Frustrating and completely useless.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
handling
Super pratique !
vikingbis, 09.11.2019
Ce tuner fait exactement ce que j'espérais.Ce n'est sans doute pas le top du top mais c'est extremement pratique.Une fois clippé sur la tete de ma guitare, je peux l'oublier..Je l'utilise pour toutes mes guitares: classique,électrique,folk..Très léger,précis ( peut-etre pas toujours fiable mais alors ,il suffit de recommencer..) il fonctionne grace à une petite pile offerte ( appréciable !).Très bien conçu (chromatique,guitare et basse), son usage est des plus simple. Sa durée de vie ne sera peut-etre pas très longue (plastique etc.) mais, à ce prix, ça ira !Seul défaut : le placement de la pile qui ne tient pas bien..Sinon, je le conseille .
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Thomann CTG-10 Clip Tuner

£4.22
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Tuners
Tuners
Modern electronic tuners are generally accurate, reliable and fairly inexpensive.
Online Guides
Guitar Accessories
Guitar Accessories
We investigate some of the many accessories available for both guitar and bass.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
8
(8)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton SC-550 II DFB

Harley Benton SC-550 II Desert Flame Burst; deluxe series; electric guitar; mahogany body (swietenia meliaceae) (weight relief chambered); arched & flamed AAA-maple top; set mahogany neck (swietenia macrophylla king); pau ferro fingerboard; 60`s neck profile; 305mm (12,00") fingerboard radius; 1th…

5
(5)
Recently Viewed
SSL UC1

USB DAW Controller Plug-in controller with convenient mixer layout and legendary SSL workflow, 1:1 Hardware control for the included SSL plug-ins Channel Strip 2 and Bus Compressor 2, Visual feedback via LED rings on the knobs, Display for showing…

Recently Viewed
Novation Circuit Rhythm

Novation Circuit Rhythm; sampler / sequencer; 8 sample tracks with 32 step patterns each, cascadable for up to 256 steps per track; functions: slice, reverse, loop, chromatic play, probability and pattern-mutate; integrated effects such as lofi tape, shutter, reverb, delay…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Keystep 37 Black Edition

Arturia KeyStep 37 Black Edition; 37-key (slimkey) USB controller keyboard; velocity-sensitive mini-keys with aftertouch; 64-step sequencer; chord and scale functionality; arpeggiator; LED display; 4 freely assignable knobs; transport keys; touch stripes for pitch and modulation; RGB LED bar; connections: 3x…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass MN PJ PACK BK

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass MN PJ PACK Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: c; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black

Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black In-Ear headset headphone - 7 mm hight end drivers, bluetooth 5.2, up to 9 h running time, up to 27 h with charging case, SBC, AAC, aptX Codec compatible, 110 dB SPL (1 kHz /…

Recently Viewed
Pace iLok 3 USB-C

USB Copy Protection Key For software licences protected by iLok licence management, Enables serial use of the stored licences at different workstations, Depending on the size of the licences used, up to 1500 licences can be stored, Compact design…

Recently Viewed
Walimex pro Light Stand Air 355 cm

Walimex pro Light Stand Air 355 cm; light tripod; with air suspension; height continuously adjustable: 120 to 355 cm; transport length: 118 cm; Max. Load capacity: 8 kg; Weight: 2.15 kg; Stand area up to max. 135 cm; Mounting: 16…

Recently Viewed
Aodyo Anyma Phi

monophonic physical-modelling desktop synthesizer; simulates various acoustic sound sources such as resonators, organ pipes and strings; can also be used as an effects unit via audio input; 3 oscillators; effects: Resonators (filter), EQ delay, reverb chorus, phaser drive and folder;…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton SC-550 II PAF

Harley Benton SC-550 II Paradise Amber Flame; deluxe series; electric guitar; mahogany body (swietenia meliaceae) (weight relief chambered); arched & flamed AAA-maple top; set mahogany neck (swietenia macrophylla king); pau ferro fingerboard; 60`s neck profile; 305mm (12,00") fingerboard radius; 1th…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass PJ PACK 3-SB

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass PJ PACK 3-Color Sunburst; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Laurel; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG

Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG; In-Ear True Wireless headphones; true 24-bit Audio-connection; 2-way-driver design; high performance DSP; Bluetooth 5.0 with AptX Adaptive technology; adaptive, active Noise Cancelling (ANC); charge case with audio-transmission; wirelesse and USB-C charge; supports quick charge;…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.