the t.bone Ovid System CC 100

979 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.2 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
48 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Nylon string guitar and Ovid CC100
23.02.2017
I would definitely recommend it and would buy another if I lost it.

The mic sounds really great at low volumes and far better than high quality undersaddle piezos or soundboard transducers (no surprises there, even though I am talking about acoustic guitar pickups that are in their own way great and cost many tens to hundreds of pounds). The mic is just much better sound quality at low volume. This is through a blending preamp and acoustic amp. For low volume jazz gigs or rehearsals with acoustic double bass I use the mic alone as above. The sound is like the acoustic guitar which is of course what we want, only a little louder.

For slightly louder duo jazz gigs (pub with 10-20 people chatting) I blend it with a soundboard transducer using a preamp (50/50 mic to transducer). I get no feed back problems as long as I reduce the highest eq slider and don't point the mic at the speaker. The blend is far better than the sound board transducer on its own.

For louder gigs don't bother with the mic. Just use the pick-up in the guitar. I have not been able to get the volume high enough on the mic to be worth using. No matter. This is to be expected and will happen even with much more expensive mics.

The mic, thin cable and ovid guitar clip are easily robust enough if you take care of them. Don't worry about that. It has survived about 50 pub gigs with me so far with no problems.

So for the price it is a bargain, and it makes my low volume playing much more enjoyable and fun for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic Mics
Thomas E. 235, 06.09.2013
I've been amazed at the versatility of this mic. I've tried it on guitar, violin, viola, cello, accordion (right hand), concertina, hammer dulcimer, and even as drum overheads. I have seen them being used to great effect on highland pipes with Peatbog Faeries at Sidmouth Folk Festival. I believe it to be a fantastic all round mic for close micing live or in the studio. It has good rear rejection and it doesn't feed back unexpectedly.

On violins and violas, so many other pickups and mics overdo the treble response, leaving the violin sounding harsh and cheap. This one has a much warmer tone and reproduces the violin's natural sound very well if the mic is placed directly above the bridge. I have found the best location for the clip is the lower left corner of the body. The best position for guitar was also as close to the bridge as possible.

The violin clip and guitar clip are able to be attached to practically anything they will fit around and, with a good squeeze, don't fall off even when playing vigorously. The rubber holder that supports the mic means that knocks on the bodywork are not picked up directly. This makes it ideal for micing the underside of a dulcimer.

Overall, I am very pleased with these mics, to the extent that I will be purchasing a third one soon!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best price vs. quality product for violin (viola, cello, d-bass)
Luci C., 29.03.2018
These are great microphones!
We use them for acoustic philharmonic projects and folklore concerts on: violin, viola, cello and double bass.
The sound of the microphones is very good, easy to make an EQ, and some how surprisingly stable regarding the feed back in the monitors.
The clip is very easy to adjust and easy to work with. We used it a few times on festival-concerts where we had to mount /unmount the mic on about 15-20 contestants violins and we needed to do that fast. It worked fine, every time, on every instrument (in the contest we had some really small children who had some really small violins) the mic/clip never fell off the instrument.
The goose neck is great, you can place the mic exactly in the position where you want the mic to be. This is very useful especially for the double bass, because we encountered a lot of different sounding double basses, and with a little luck (if you can afford a sound check) you can find the best spot for the microphone.
We fear a little for the thin cable. They withstand about 30 concert until now. One of them had a double bass endpin on it for a few hours, but still works :)))
We recommend these microphones and we are preparing on buying some more to have a bigger set.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great sounding compact live mic
Martin John 17, 17.11.2019
This little thing is amazing, sounds great, works on most instruments and is less that a quarter of the price of it's competition.

Works well on a variety of stringed and wind instruments, sound rejection is also quite good so perfect for live situations.

Well worth it, will be buying more in the future.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
DPA for a fraction of the price
emememem, 02.01.2020
I've been using this for fiddle, playing live gigs in a folk band setting, and even some recording at home.
It was well packaged, I bought it without the hard case so it just came in a box with a foam insert. I'll probably just pop this insert into a strong lunchbox or something if i need it, the mic itself seems robust enough for what it is.

I've used DPA's before, and realistically, a DPA it is not. However, i would say it's 70/80% as good, for a tenth of the price.

Avoid buying the thomann brand plastic clip for it, it's cheap and feels brittle. instead i'd recomend buying the DPA branded clip. It's only 10E more than the thomann one and a hell of a lot more sturdy.

Overall, I'd highly recommend buying this. It's nearly as good as the DPA, much cheaper to replace if something happens, and even if you have the DPA, i wouldn't hesitate to buy this as a backup.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A piece that suits all my needs for saxophone
Archiorg, 25.03.2019
Microphone is easy to install on saxophone with a t.bone universal clip.
It is very sensitive and precise. Ideal for alto, soprano saxophone. I am always carrying it with me with it's original box on my gigs. For my needs I won't need an upgrade of the system.
Only flaw is fragility and pretty thin wire from adapter to the microphone.

Update: Now I have switched to tenor saxophone and I am experiencing a lot of noise from saxophone mechanism. As the tenor is more massive and rigid it produces more mechanism noise. Therefore I stopped using this mic as it is unbearable to listen that noise "bam, bam, bam". But, for this price it is quite good deal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
pugs, 24.08.2019
great quality from this mic
sound is so clear
i highly recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
WOW!!!!!
16.02.2017
Listen!

What's the point in buying a DPA and spend the equivalent of six month worth of mortgage instalments when you can get this!

Jokes aside, I'm a music teacher with a lot of very keen students who want to perform live gigs, and I'm always on the look for cheap, good quality products. I bought this microphone and used it on UKULELE, HARP, ACOUSTIC GUITAR, school masses and talent shows and got plenty of gain in all applications, good full bodied sounds and, for so little money, I certainly feel like recommending this product.

Excellent purchase at an excellent price. My only criticism is with the bundled guitar clip, which I found not so up to the same standard as the microphone, quite weak and not very stable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
violin
marsal262, 15.04.2018
I've tested this mic before I bought it for violinist. I was surprised how good it is. Excellent ratio of the quality and price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best for that price
Antipinoff, 03.03.2018
Good condencer microphone.

Warm sound, but on some systems too much bass. No problem with EQ.

Good with guitar, sax, string instruments.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Sound
Dr Ed, 23.02.2018
Sounds great and natural on strings. Needs phantom power, only down side, has a very thin lead which can get damaged easily if one is careless.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
not only a cheap DPA
07.02.2017
I've used them on a Steinway D, and the result was astonishing. The sound is very good and the noises of the stage don't compromises the result. I'll buy at least a dozen of them. If you have a good choice for ambient microphones, such as schoeps or neumanns, you can put these as a spot with no problems
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
Lollo68, 22.09.2016
Very good!
Sound quality is very real, light weigth.
Only the mini XLR is delicate, in my case a little movement of the cable generate some scratch into the mini connector.
Improvable.
In general, very good mic!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sound is very good
MRmackie, 14.10.2019
Sound is very good but you have to close a bit to source Gain is a bit less
Dont worry if you use with very lounds source
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good solution
Paul775, 23.04.2019
Nice quality mic for instrument miking
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good mic for doublebass
Kozmo, 06.12.2018
I use this mic for doublebass-mainly with combination with pickup but sometimes without. It sounds very good in both situations. Maybe when I play just through the mic I miss a bit of the definition of the "body"-it?s mainly about the lack of middle frequencies but it depends also on where you put the mic. Many sound guys were suprised how good does it sounds for that little money.
Comparing to DPA it seems that T-Bone capture more noise from surroundings-also depends on drummer you play with and room you play in.
But with combination with pickup it works fine!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excelent sound
31.01.2017
Excelent sound, fast delivery, high quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent
AdamT, 12.01.2018
These Mics are wonderful, I Have a Kawai RX-2 ME, I bought 2 of these microphones and they are very capable. Professional looking and Professional Sound. Excellent for travelling. For Piano I highly recommend a magnet instead of the sticky pad, the sticky pad will leave a mark on the piano, I attached small slim magnet to the sticky pad and now the mics can be repositioned as much as possible. Thanks again to Thomann for the excellent shipping and great prices.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Natural sound for flute
13.12.2016
I bought the cc100 to amplify my flute when I'm playing with my jazz band. I wanted to route it through my guitar amp so I didn't have to buy a PA system. I don't know much about microphones but I found out that to make this arrangement work I needed a mixer (something like a Behringer 502) with phantom power. So, the mic clips on to my flute, then plugs into the xlr input of the mixer. A guitar style cable then runs from the mixer to my amp input. Make sure the output level from the mixer is very low, or your amp will scream !
The sound is excellent. The flute's tone is reproduced very naturally and with the added volume and reverb from the amp it sounds great. Even the other guys in the band were impressed. The mic and cable are very light, I wasn't aware of any extra weight on the flute.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing sound
coco777, 22.10.2017
I used to put a piezo on my banjo to amplify it during gigs. This mic gives the exact sound of my banjos through the amp.
The only drawback for me is that Ovid did not have a "banjo clip", that are only available for guitars, violins, trumpets... So I had to improvise.
Very good quality for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredibly good multi-purpose microphone
Andrea (Sona service from Italy), 17.04.2018
I bought one out of curiosity, with the case containing all the clips and straps for different instruments. I've used it on ethnic percussions , classical and acoustic guitars, violin, cello and stand up bass, always with very good results. Still haven't tried it on instruments with high SPLs like drums, but for what it does and at its price this mic rivals products of much higher price (Thomann people: this doesn't mean you have to raise the price!). I only wish it had a better (less thin) cable because I'm always afraid it could break too easily if stranded or pulled improperly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A small microphone with a lot of power
27.12.2015
The t.bone Ovid System CC 100 is a low cost but effective solution for all guitar players with acoustic nylon or steel strings guitars.

I bought this microphone to mic my acoustic nylon guitar. For this price, i was expecting a regular microphone. Instead, when i plugged it to my PA, i was amazed with a huge and clear sound comming from the t.bone Ovid System CC 100.

It captures everything you play. I recommend to buy the t.bone Ovid System Guitar Clip and install it in the guitar easely. You can point it between the 13 and 15 frets to capture the best variety of sounds of the guitar and have a sweet balance between lows and highs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A versatile excellent sounding microphone!
01.07.2016
I am prefering and using this microphones in studio and live on different instruments, because they sound exceptionally good!
They do not separate as good as "the original" Danish DPA mic's, but you can buy 7-8 pieces of this mic at the same price as one DPA - so this is a bargain!
The quality of the sound on my Premier Signia drums(toms and snare), the double bass and all Acoustic guitars(nylon/western) are impressive.
My advice? Buy a handfull - you will not regret!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sounds really great!
Er's, 17.05.2018
I bought my second '-Bone Ovid mic. I was really surprised by the quality of this rather cheap microphone. I even used it in the studio.
Next will be for my acoustic guitar so I can blend the mic with the pickup. Great stuff.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great value for money - Good Sound
Vee-MRU, 08.01.2019
Really satisfied with this product, works fine, good sound and proper balance.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

the t.bone Ovid System CC 100

€48 £40.95
Including VAT; Excluding €10 shipping

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Small Diaphragm Mics
Small Diaphragm Mics
Read on and learn all you should know about small diaphragm mics
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
1:53
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
Rank #1 in Small Diaphragm Condenser Microphones
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
the box MBA120W MKII

the box MBA120W - 120W compact powered speaker with integrated MP3 and bluetooth player and UHF ( 863 - 865 MHz) wireless microphone system, 3x inputs for wired sources (microphones or instruments), line out (6,3mm Jack), integrated PSU and rechargeable...

(3)
Recently Viewed
PRS SE Custom 24 BG 35th Anniv

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Mahogany, Top: Maple with flamed maple veneer, 3-Piece neck: Maple, Fretboard: Rosewood (Dalbergia latifolia), Neck profile: Wide Thin, Old School Bird fretboard inlays, Scale: 635 mm, 24 Frets, Pickup: 2 PRS TCI "S" humbuckers,...

Recently Viewed
Mooer GE 250

Mooer GE 250 Amp modelling & Multi Effects, multi-effects pedal, 70 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series, 32 different default cabinet simulations (IRs), supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.) in 10 free user presets, 60 drum...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Fender Tone Master Deluxe Reverb

Digital Combo Amplifier For An Electric Guitar 2 Channels: Normal and Vibrato, Power: 100 W - comparable to a 22 W all-tube, Equipped with a 1 x 12" Jensen N-12K neodymium speaker, Controls for channel 1 (Normal): Volume, Treble,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Tannoy Gold 5

Active Studio Nearfield Monitor 5" Dual Concentric Coaxial System, 0.8" Titanium tweeter with Tulip WaveGuide, 200 Watt Class-AB Bi-Amp, Bass reflex system, Frequency range: 70 - 20,000 Hz, Maximum SPL: 107 dB, Front panel controls for volume and tweeter...

Recently Viewed
the box pro DSX 112

Active Full-Range Speaker High-quality wooden cabinet, 2000 W Class D power amplifier, Contents: 12" woofer and 1" compression driver (1.35" VC), Built-in DSP with 4 presets, Low Cut, Maximum SPL (sound pressure level): 128 dB, Dispersion pattern: H 90°...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Toontrack SDX Death & Darkness

Toontrack SDX Death & Darkness (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded at the Sonic Ranch in Tornillo / Texas and at the Antfarm Studio in Aarhus / Denmark by Mark Lewis and Tue...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Audeze LCD-1 Open System

Headphones Open-back design, Circumaural, Foldable, Ear-cushions made of genuine lambskin, Magnetostatic transducers, 90 mm driver, Detachable, double-sided cable (just 1.9 m), 3.5 mm Jack plug with gold-plated plug adapter to 6.35 mm, Sound pressure level: 99dB SPL / 1mW,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Joyo BSK-60

Joyo BSK-60; Acoustic Amplifier, Rechargeable Battery powered (Battery included); Channels: 2; Power: 60 Watts; equipped with: 10" Speaker/s & 3" HF Driver; Cabinet Construction: Closed; Controls: Guit. Channel: Volume, Bass, Middle, Treble, Chorus, Reverb, Delay, Anti feedback, Mic. Channel: Volume,...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TE-40 LH TBK Deluxe Series

Electric Guitar Left hand model, Body: Basswood, Top: Ash, Bolt-on neck: Maple, Fretboard: Pau Ferro, Fretboard radius: 350 mm, 22 Frets, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 43 mm, Dual action truss rod, Pickup: 2 Roswell HAF AlNiCo V humbuckers,...

Recently Viewed
Joyo JGE-01 Infinite Sustainer

Effect Device for Electric Guitar Sustainer, Creates a magnetic field that makes the strings vibrate endlessly, 2 Modes: Normal Sustain, Overdrive Sustain, Dimensions (T x H x W): 80 x 48 x 30 mm, Power supply via 9 V...

Recently Viewed
Presonus Eris HD10BT

Noise cancelling headphones Wireless via Bluetooth 5.0, Closed, Circumaural, 40 mm Driver, Frequency range: 20 - 20000 Hz, Impedance: 16 Ohm, Easy volume and track navigation control, Calling functionality with built-in microphone, Detachable cable, Battery life up to 16...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.