seventy years logo
Join Thomann's Anniversary! We award your loyalty with special offers! Get your deals

the t.bone MB85 Beta

2427 Customer ratings

4.6 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

features

sound

quality

394 Reviews

the t.bone MB85 Beta
£35
Including VAT; Excluding £10 shipping
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Delivery approx. between Friday, 19.07. and Monday, 22.07.
1
ec
Great mic for rehearsal
er colera 10.11.2022
I was looking for my first mic to put in a rehearsal room, and I was considering some of the cheapier alternative to the classic Shure sm58. After some research and comparisons with other microphone of the same price range, I'm glad I've gone for it. The building features are on spot for what you pay, while the sound is, in my opinion, far beyond. I'm really happy with it.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

A
Anonymous 30.01.2023
very sensitive microphone and hard output, good sound quality overall
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

Sb
Very good, maybe not for experts
Sorry, but why is this name already taken? 26.11.2021
It's a low budget microphone, very good for amateurs or for home recordings. Use a microphone stand when you use thiw microphone, because holding it with your hands may cause some instant low-frequency sound when you change holding it from the one hand to the other. In most cases this kind of sound is not needed. But don't forget, it's a cheap microphone, very good for its price.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

A
Beta sm58 v mb85 beta
AdamW 09.02.2014
I listened to the sound clips available for both makes of mic and thought they sounded almost identical, in reality there is more difference, but it's still a great mic, and factor in the cost it is great value for money,

I have compared the mb 85 beta with a an SM58, and an SM58 beta . in the same PA with the same near flat EQ settings, my opinion is e the MB85 beta is a louder, clearer and warmer than a standard SM58, the SM 58 beta is slightly more beefy in sound , but look at the price difference and there is no contest,l
features
quality
sound
4
0
Report

Report

rd
Value for money!
rey del espacio 17.12.2021
Needed a cheap dynamic mic for backing vocals.
This is cheap in price, but not in quality! It feels like a good built.
The range seems good enough, I will definitely use it as a second mic in some guitar recording. The hard case and the mic clamp are nice additions, but the clamp is super stiff.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

X
ADD a switch! Nice sound
Xaro5 26.02.2019
We own a wireless Shure Beta 58. We use both mics for live gigs and Karaoke. T.bone has a great sound, usually picking up EVERYTHING. It is made of metal giving a strong feeling of sturdiness and quality. The BIG MINUS is that it doesn't include a switch so you must mute it through the console and it gets annoying really quick. If it had a switch it would be the perfect choice in this range price.. Looking forward to add a switch to the next version on MB85.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

T
Almost there
ThisOneGuy 29.04.2020
Compared to it's main competitor the major difference is the noise you get from handling it. The body itself isn't as sturdy. Also has a bit more background noise, but nothing relevant, though. Apart from that, it works just as well.
features
quality
sound
1
0
Report

Report

D
T bone mb58 beta
Deano84 16.09.2020
I bought 2 of these mics for live use and they do the job well. They a bargain for the price
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

J
Quality Mic that rivals Shure SM58's!
JamieM 13.08.2015
We purchased two of these vocal mics to use for backing vocals in our band. Our bass player had bought one and after inspecting it and hearing it live and in rehearsals I was impressed. We were on a budget and I have purchased several other Thomann brand items in the past including some microphones (t.bone dc1500 drum mic set) which I have been using live for over 2 years. Needless to say they are great for the price and this mic is no different.

We compared it to the singers Shure sm58, and they both are very similar, to my ear the MB85 has a slightly cleaner sound off the bat. Then with a few tweaks both mics were nearly indistinguishable. The SM58 seemed more mid frequency prone and dull when EQ'D flat. But obviously every instrument needs a little adjustment..the room and acoustics play a role to the sound of course, and the speakers they go through. We used EV SX300'S and this mic sounded/sounds excellent through them just as good as the sm58.

Overall brilliant mic for the price and looks very professional. My only criticism is the plastic case it comes in arrived with one of the underside legs/arches broken..The mic was in perfect condition though. Also it does feel lighter and a little less robust than the sm58, however if you mind your equipment and keep it in its case when transporting it I see no reason why this would not last just as long as the SM58.

Great sound, great quality, great price.
features
quality
sound
2
1
Report

Report

s
Good for beginners
stinky3 08.08.2023
A microphone that is on the cheaper side, but does its job splendidly. The sound is good.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

the t.bone MB85 Beta