the sssnake IPP1030
£2.99
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
In stock
In stock

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
A
Incorporates a lifesaving design feature, however poor build quality lets it down.
Anonymous 15.09.2016
((EDIT): Below is my first review of this product. A day after I published the review, the cable started making hissing noises, making it practically unusable. It get's 3 stars because of the spring, which really impressed me at the time, but didn't make much difference in the end)

The single reason I was initially drawn to this cable was because of the ridiculously cheap price - I could buy 3 of these for the same price as one cable in my local music store. The Sssnake seemed to be getting fairly decent reviews and so I popped it into my basket along with my new Fender Jaguar guitar.

When my package arrived, I was eager to try my new guitar out, and so plugged it straight in with the Sssnake cable (I had broken my old one by pulling it out of the amp forcefully one too many times)

What can I say- the cable did it's job. It sounded just as good as my old fender cable, which I was very pleased about, given the cheap price. However, what really impressed me, and what urged me to write this review seeing as nobody else had written much about it - was the small spring located just above the jack cover (clearly seen in image 2 on the product page)

Before, when I was using my old cable, when I was finished playing, I would yank the the cable out forcefully, holding onto the black bit just above the jack cover. Over time, this caused the connection to come loose and break. With the Sssnake, upon trying to pull it out like before, the spring simply pulled up and sprung back, leaving me both humbled and impressed by such a simple design feature which would now save me countless cables. I proceeded to remove the cable from the amp safely by holding onto the jack cover.

If you are someone who is constantly breaking their cables by inappropriate removal from amp or guitar - this is the cable for you.

If not, hey, its only 2.50, why not give it a go.
quality
7
4
Report

Report

K
Great price, average performance
Kyuuga 25.07.2018
This cable is the very definition of "okay-ish". The price is very attractive and it's why I purchased one - wanted to see what it was all about.

It lasted me a couple of months before it died out of nowhere and the sound quality was reasonable. Really wasn't expecting much more for such a cheap cable.

If you want a quick-fix for a cable that just died or you want a spare one to bring along to your gigs in case something fails then this certainly can do the trick. However, if you're looking for a long-term, stable piece of gear then this isn't the option for you. It certainly has its place on the market though.
quality
2
0
Report

Report

JM
Not a long term solution
Jack McD 05.01.2021
I bought this to replace my cheap plastic one I was using. It was of good quality and worked fine for a while. However, the casing around the jacks often worked free and exposed the wires a lot. As such, the wires began to wear and one day just completely disconnected from the jack. I'm sure if I was a little more careful with it, it would have lasted longer, but if you plan on using this as a gigging musician, Id look else where.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

F
Good, with a lot of hum
Flapz2021 07.01.2022
For the money, this is a good cable. I like the flexibility of the wire and it does seem like it will last a while too, which is good. I have had it for 1.5 years with no issues, apart from the feedback. It comes with a very noticeable humming sound.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Anonymous 11.03.2016
A good enough cable quality wise, I ran into issues when it came to build integrity. The casing on the ends of cable came away pretty quickly, and it deteriorated expediently despite good care. Quite a pity really because it has quite a considerable length that was really useful for gigging!

The price however, makes this purchase more than worth it for the sake of home use or a few gigs, but bring a spare!
quality
1
0
Report

Report

C
Crosss 06.01.2020
It's a standard cable, nothing special to it .. except for one thing that came in my way. I have an Ibanez SR300 and it has the "thing where u put the jack" a bit inside the body, it's a cool thing, it blends in very well ... the problem is that pulling out that cable is the hardest thing ever, I can barely put my index and thumb on the part that sticks out so using strenght its impossible. Long story short, had to replace it in 3 weeks cause everytime I had to pull from the cable, ruining it.
:(
quality
0
0
Report

Report

P
Poor Soldering
Pizarro 04.04.2019
This lead was fine to begin with, but constant use caused the solder joints connecting the cable to the jack to fail. An easy fix if you have a soldering iron but something to be aware of when you buy.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

U
Problems emerged after a year of usage
Ujvi 19.10.2020
After approximately one year of usage it started to disconnect and make a crackling noise. I know it is a cheap item and I should not have high expectations but I expected it to work a little longer since I use it from time to time. Also it might be that I was unlucky and got a bad one based on the other reviews I read about this cable.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

L
Its a mono audio cable
Leonovsky 08.09.2021
Doesn't twist, the cable part is fine. The heads are strong, to a certain point, but easy to mishandle and will likely come apart after plugging in and out many many times. It's cheap and it works. Quality is serviceable, but on the will-break side of the spectrum.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
Cheap built, just for spare
BrownJenkin 26.09.2019
The cable came as part of a bundle. I decided to give it a try and it worked fine for some days, after it started to buzz and I repaced it. It can be used as an "extrema ratio" cable but surely it's not a everyday cable. Jacks appear to be fine, maybe the wiring is not that good. Anyway for 2 euros it's pretty standard.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

the sssnake IPP1030