tc electronic BH250

104 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
20 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Stop looking
Curto, 24.07.2017
What's good about this amp?
* Lightweight and small footprint - fits in the pocket in your gigbag.
* Pre or Post EQ balanced DI - choose your post/pre EQ for the FOH feed so that "your" sound is heard and adjust your volume on stage without affecting the FOH feed.
* Mute switch - great for changing instruments or tuning up or for leaving stage.
* Built in tuner - always on so you can always check to remain in tune.
* Passive/Active input switch - adjust your gain to suit your instruments.
* TonePrint - beam your favourite TonePrint. The one knob is simple and very effective! I love the combined TonePrints and Mark King's flanger. I use the TonePrints with a 3 way pedal switch by "Loopi Pedals" (which features a mute switch and 2 TonePrints switches - for the TonePrint currently stored in the amp and one for the previously stored TonePrint ... so you have access to 2 TonePrints just like the bigger BH550 and BH800)
* Mini jack input - jam along to your mp3 or drum machine.
* Headphone out - this thing sounds fantastic through headphones! Essential for practicing.
* TC's intelligent EQ (Bass: 80Hz @ Gain: -24 to 0dB; 100Hz @ Gain 0 to +15dB. Mids: 500Hz @ Gain: -24 to 0dB; 800Hz @ Gain 0 to +15dB & 0 to -12 dB. Treble:
Center Freq.: 1800Hz @ Gain: -24 to 0dB; 5000Hz @ Gain 0 to +15dB). A small tweak goes a long way in adapting your sound. It's hard to make this sound bad no matter which way your turn the knobs.
* Quiet fan - I don't even notice it's on when it's on.
* Great for practice as a headphone amp AND great for rehearsing AND great for the studio AND great for a gig (with or without a speaker cab). I'm loving this little amp!
* International voltage - play this in any country in the world.

What's not good about this amp?
* If a wanted more EQ (hi and lo mids) and a seperate gain/volume I would go the BH550 but I think the little BH250 is a winner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
what a really great little amp this is!
subdude, 24.01.2014
i have grown tired of lugging around heavy equipment and i decided to go for one of these small, lightweight new amps one sees all over the place.

i had narrowed down the list to 3 amps, after a lot of research and comparison my final choice was the TC electronic BH250.

as usual the shipping was done super quick, and i received the amp one week ago.

my first impressions were WOW, how small and light can this amp be!? after connecting my Yamaha 5 string and the Eden cab i was even more amazed.

the input gain switch is super hot when on passive, almost to the point that I prefer to use the active mode even with my passive basses.

with the EQ set to 12 and toneprint disabled i slowly opened the master volume and WOW again, this bonsai has power to spare.

then i started tweaking the EQ, remarkable response! very versatile, there is no basic sound i could not dial in to. fat, thumpy vintage sounds or slick, funky slap, anything goes.

i have yet to use the toneprint feature so i can't say much about it except that the stock effect the amp comes with is working very nicely but i am particularly interested in the compressor prints but that has to wait for now. you can hook up a foot pedal that lets you toggle between 2 effects and has a mute function but this is an additional purchase.

the tuner works well and is a nice feature, as well as the AUX input for a CD/MP3 source and a headphone output, making the amp even more desirable.

i used the DI out in both pre and post EQ and it works very well, for now i prefer the pre EQ setting on the DI.

all in all i can highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a powerful, versatile, light and small amp.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Nice amp, stupid toneprint and tuner
BasDan, 29.06.2019
The amp itself works fine, sounds good, EQ is good for bass. The Toneprint is stupid, first of all it doesn't load all available tone prints but only the ones which are BH250 compatible, but more important, the editor doesn't work with the BH250 format. So you're stuck with presets that you cannot even tweak!
For a chorus/phaser that might be acceptable, but for a dynamics plugin it is hit and miss, also because the unit doesn't have an input gain, so you have to guess where the threshold kicks in.
TC makes a great separate tuner and it is therefor a total mystery to me why the included a less than basic tuner with two leds for the tuner and 4 for the strings, resulting in 6 leds that you cannot switch off. (result, a lot of flickering lights while you are playing)
This unit was designed by the marketing department...
I decided to send it back, and go for the Trace Elliot Elf which is a basic amp, but a good one.
The extra bells and whistles of this unit could have been nice, but were implemented so poorly that I can only recommend this for the amp functions.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
BG250
27.05.2014
Great bass head I adore the sounds and portability the toneprint feature is a great plus (I only really use the spectracomp patch) only downside I found when used in conjunction with the switch 3 pedal the volume of the second patch drops considerably and I have to mess with the settings when I change patches this might me unique to mine or might be something that can be fixed with a software update but was the only problem I have otherwise a fantastic head for the price and size and would gladly recommend it as I would any TC Electronic product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Very practical head
Igharib , 19.06.2017
I bought this head go multiple purpose but mostly I really liked the simplistic design and the innovative tone knobs .
I'm not a big fan of complex amps, so the 3 knob equalizer is just perfect.
TonePrint feature is actually very for those who don't like carrying effects around and don't use them much either , very good presets to choose from.

Pros :
Lightweight
Sturdy and well built
TonePrint feature
Tuner is very good even for 5 and 6 string bass

Cons:
none

Hope that's helps !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Without the FX it is great
Denio, 03.09.2017
I have been using this little amp for about a year in our band's rehearsal room with a TC 212 cab and it really sounds good, no complaints at all. The cab has too much bass (sounds crazy I know) and I can easily dial it out, so the EQ is nice. I just wish they have added the option to change the frequency band as I am not too happy with the MID frequency settings it has but for the price I think it's fine. The build quality is superb and it looks beautiful in person too. It's small enough to just pick it up and go and the DI on the back sounds clean and transparent.

Cons:
Oooh how much I liked the idea of having an option for some TC effects built-in. It is pure garbage. Not only does half of the presets sound strange (not to mention the volume issues) but it is 1 out of 30 times when I can "beam" the preset to the amp. I will stick with my pedals and never use this feature. The cooling fan is OK but a bit loud if you are at home practicing.

All-in-all for the price this cannot be beat.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Poison hides in small bottles :)
12.03.2016
I use the bh250 with ts electronic bc210 bass cabinet. It sounds very good and is perfect for my needs - rock band + blues band, rehearsal, gigs.
I was very impressed about its capabilities such as volume, handling and the toneprint feature. I really like the fact that its small and really, really, really easy to use and get a right sound out of it.
The only thing I have to mention as a con is that I had to service it once (after about 2 year of using it). After getting repared, works as new.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
TOP AMP
BASSBLUES, 18.11.2019
GREAT AMP - PACKS A GOOD PUNCH AND VALUE FOR MONEY PRICE....
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Excelent
20.10.2014
Nothing to complain about. I never had an Amp of quality before, so it's just perfect for me. Easy to use. Nice and clean sound. The Toneprints are awesome. The tone control are way better than any other, because of that complex system. I can make a lot of sounds with it. It's light weight and small, I carry it inside my bass soft bag. And it is beautiful. I haven't had the chance to test it very much with max power because it's just too lound for what I intend that is practice at home and use it at the church (its a small church).

I recommend it and would buy it again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
TC Electronic leading into the future of bass amps!
26.05.2015
Well I am truly stoked with this product. Taking into consideration its ridiculously cheap price compared to what you get, this item is a must have or any bassist. Love the tone print idea, have been experimenting with it and everything is going just fine. Only drawback about the tone print is that the delay effects aren't always as good as you'd expect, but all the other effect (flanger, octaver, overdrive, chorus, etc) are awesome and so easy to use. I would most definitely buy also the Switch 3 effects pedal as it would facilitate changing toneprints while playing live. This thing is ridiculously protable, so small you wouldn't believe it, but the power output that comes out from it is astounding.

Well done TC Eelectronic for putting this little bad boy into the market.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Lots of volume
08.07.2014
This one sound more like my old hartke ha3500 in a head to head volume comparison - the sound of the TC is much warmer and clean than any other amp I have tried.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Nice little head
05.01.2016
The head is a very good one for its size and price. The power handling is enough for small gigs, even with the head alone. I am using it in a bi-amping setup so, it's more than enough. Driven through a 15" Ampeg cab it sounds pretty decent.
The build quality is outstanding - all the switches appear to be able withstand a fair amount of torture. The pots are not noisy and are moving smoothly.
The TonePrint feature is both a pro and a con - it is useful if you can find a useful one on the site. The bass heads are not supported by the tone print editor, so you are stuck with the stock ones. Also, I did find that some of them don't work at all. However, this is not a dealbreaker IMHO.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
A great head for such a small size
Liam Q., 01.07.2014
I recently bought this to replace my old heavy bass head. I am very impressed with this little head. Firstly I love that it is so small and light. It fits in the pocket of my gig bag. I use it with the TC Electronic BC2x10 cab and I find it has more than enough volume for any gig I play. The Toneprint feature is great. First download was the Duff McKagan chorus, and I use the Speactracomp compressor in the other. Using the optional footswitch I can turn on or off these live. The footswitch also allows me to mute the head for using the onboard tuner. The tuner is very accurate and has no problems with the low b string of my 5 string jazz. Overall this is a great head. The only down point is that the tuner doesn't support alternate tuning, otherwise it is perfect for my needs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great little head
where am I, 29.06.2018
Great sound, small and easy. Toneprint option is great to have.
I'm missing only send and return.
Power of this small thing is great, it really suprised me for 250w.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great piece of kit
Matthew V., 10.09.2014
Great little bass amp, nice and powerful and tiny, fits in a gig bag and sounds great. TonePrint seems a bit gimicky but it's handly to have a basic chorus/overdrive built into the amp.

Perfect for small gigs, quet practice with headphones and DI recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Unbeatable at this price.
Alan8690, 05.08.2015
At this price point you'll do well to find better. Using with a 2 x 10. Very punchy and lots of head room.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Best amp ever!
Olle G., 23.05.2014
I´ve played lots and lots of amps over 25 years and this actually gives me the best sound ever. With a small 12" speaker it´s portable, loud enough for the gigs I do and the sound is easily dialed. I just wished the BG250-8 had been around when I made the purchase - it would have been even lighter and more convenient!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Fantastic Little Amp
The Wrangling, 31.03.2015
Love the Portability / the Price / the Tone Print Function / The Connectivity and especially the Built-In Tuner.
Bought this for quick changeover / short Fest appearances and love everything about it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Take your favourite amp everywhere!
Rune O., 11.09.2013
I am amazed at this little amp. It is solidly built (even if the small toggle switches are a bit flimsy), it fits in a normal backpack with room to spare or even in some gig bag pockets. It can be LOUD for its size and specs, and I just love the smart EQ controls. It is almost impossible to dial in bad sound with this. You don't have FX loop on it, and I sometimes miss an input gain control rather than that active/passive switch, but those are minor points for an otherwise awesome, little amp. In band rehearsal with a drummer and two guitars, this rocks and keeps up with the drummer with ease. I use it with a stack of a 112 and a 210 cab, making it a 4 ohm load, and it has a great punch and depth with that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
bass head
Gerard K., 16.01.2015
excellent timing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

tc electronic BH250

€209 £175.99
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Bass Amps
Bass Amps
Everything could be so easy, since all you want is to amp up your bass, right? This guide will provide you with an overview of what's available in the bass amp world!
 
 
 
 
 
video
TC Electronic BH250 / BC210
3:36
TC Electronic BH250 / BC210
Rank #11 in Solid-State Bassheads
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Behringer RX1602 V2

Behringer RX1602 V2; 16-channel monitor line mixer; 16 balanced TRS connector inputs for stereo or mono use; great headroom; Monitor / FX transmitter controls per section with global master transmit control; Monitor / FX signal via headphone output; 2 x...

Recently Viewed
LAB Gruppen PDX3000

2-Channel amplifier with DSP function Power: 2x 1000W @ 2 Ohm, 2x 1500 W @ 4 Ohm, 2x 800 W @ 8 Ohm, 3000 W Peak, Class-D power amplifier, DSP configuration on front panel or via USB connection and...

Recently Viewed
the box MBA120W MKII

the box MBA120W - 120W compact powered speaker with integrated MP3 and bluetooth player and UHF ( 863 - 865 MHz) wireless microphone system, 3x inputs for wired sources (microphones or instruments), line out (6,3mm Jack), integrated PSU and rechargeable...

(4)
Recently Viewed
PRS SE Custom 24 BG 35th Anniv

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Mahogany, Top: Maple with flamed maple veneer, 3-Piece neck: Maple, Fretboard: Rosewood (Dalbergia latifolia), Neck profile: Wide Thin, Old School Bird fretboard inlays, Scale: 635 mm, 24 Frets, Pickup: 2 PRS TCI "S" humbuckers,...

Recently Viewed
Mooer GE 250

Mooer GE 250 Amp modelling & Multi Effects, multi-effects pedal, 70 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series, 32 different default cabinet simulations (IRs), supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.) in 10 free user presets, 60 drum...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TUBE15 Celestion

Tube Combo for Electric Guitar 1 Channel, Power: 15 W/1 W, switchable, Preamp tubes: 3x ECC83 / 12AX7, Power tubes: 2x EL84, Equipped with: 12" Celestion Seventy speaker, Controls: Gain, Volume, Tone, Bass, Middle, Treble, Reverb, Switches: 15 W/1...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Tannoy Gold 5

Active Studio Nearfield Monitor 5" Dual Concentric Coaxial System, 0.8" Titanium tweeter with Tulip WaveGuide, 200 Watt Class-AB Bi-Amp, Bass reflex system, Frequency range: 70 - 20,000 Hz, Maximum SPL: 107 dB, Front panel controls for volume and tweeter...

Recently Viewed
the box pro DSX 112

Active Full-Range Speaker High-quality wooden cabinet, 2000 W Class D power amplifier, Contents: 12" woofer and 1" compression driver (1.35" VC), Built-in DSP with 4 presets, Low Cut, Maximum SPL (sound pressure level): 128 dB, Dispersion pattern: H 90°...

Recently Viewed
Numark DJ2Go 2 Touch

Portable 2-Channel DJ Controller Touch-sensitive jog wheels, 2 Pitch faders, Crossfader, Audio interface, 8 Multifunctional performance pads, Headphone output: 3.5 mm stereo jack, Main Output: 3.5 mm stereo, USB port, 5 V DC via USB, Dimensions: 86 x 314...

Recently Viewed
Thomann Cover Behringer B 1200D-Pro

Protective Cover Suitable for Behringer B1200D Pro, Water-resistant heavy-duty nylon, Manufactured in Germany, Colour: Black

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton StreetBox-60

Harley Benton StreetBox-60, compact portable battery powered amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for electric guitar, acoustic guitar, ukulele, vocals and music, 60 watt RMS, 2 x 5,5" full...

Recently Viewed
Crazy Tube Circuits Killer V Pre Amp/Vibrato

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar and Bass Pre-amp / vibrato, Inspired by California amps of the 50s and 60s with real pitch-shifting vibrato circuitry, The Killer V copies the behaviour, the sound and the feel of the preamp, the...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.