Strymon Bluesky

303 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
A fantastic reverb pedal
Tom55, 29.08.2014
I had agonised for the longest time about shelling out for a Strymon. I'm not a professional musician, and playing is little more than a hobby for me. I'd only seen them on YouTube demonstrations, and so I was even more dubious about the spend having not had the opportunity to test the pedal myself.

Initially, I was buying this for the fantastic Shimmer Plate reverb. If you've not heard it, it's a fantastic swelling, room-filling organ-esque effect that melts your ears. If you have heard it, you're probably in love with it. And believe me, it sounds just as good when you manipulate it for yourself.

I was never much of a reverb user - my amp has a basic reverb built-in, and that suited what I needed. I did not have a reverb pedal and I felt that I did not need one. The lure was in the Shimmer Plate reverb. The biggest conflict I faced was: 'Can I justify spending so much on a pedal I only really want one sound from?'

Well, I did it. It had been on my mind for so many months, I had to buy it. As I've said, the Shimmer Plate sound lives up to its expectations. But now that I'd bought a reverb pedal, I decided I had to learn to implement reverb effectively to justify buying such a pedal. I can honestly say I've already learnt so much from this pedal about the different kinds of reverb. This pedal can really do it all. A brilliant selection of core settings (Normal, Modulation and Shimmer) and core variables (Plate, Room and Spring) to start you off, as well as the five adjustable knobs mean you'll be able to tinker around with different sounds and find many new ideas along the way.

I would definitely recommend keeping a pen and paper handy to make a record of all your settings, as, while this pedal does throw out so many useful sounds, you can easily forget where you found what. The pedal offers a favourite mode, meaning you can quickly save at least one sound you like and have it as a go-to. I don't know if you can favourite more than one sound, but that would be a really helpful feature to allow for quick select.

One of my favourite features of this (that is not everyone's cup of tea and thus, is not defaulted) is that by holding down the bypass switch as you supply the pedal with power and it switches to an analog bypass, meaning you reverb trails off as you disengage the effect, rather than an abrupt cut out.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Awash with Ambience
Stephen662, 23.02.2020
Bought this to pair with a Strymon El Capistan: you know the score... tape delay into gorgeous reverb for that ambient sound.

The Bluesky does not dissapoint and has lots of tones from subtle to over-the-top wettness. It has a loveley (semi-hidden, so RTFM!) tails feature, so that bypassing the pedal does not cut the effect dead, but carries on fading away, especially usefull if you have an epic long reverb running.

There are a fair number of combinations, with different types of reverberation. Modulation is nice, and can add a subtle twist to your sound. The vanilla reverbs sound crystal clear, but of course you can shape the top and bottom end to get a darker tone or ethereal high end only.Everything is just a knob twist away, so no menu diving. Easy.

Overall, there is nothing to dislike. True bypass is there if your inner tone-junkie needs it, but the analog bypass with trails is a winner. I found no issues with tone-suck.
In a lot of cases, unless you are after a specific effect, this pedal can be considered an essential, in the line, set and forget - just gives air and room to your sound; or of course you can get massive long reverb tails that you hone and save as a favourite setting, so you can punch it in when needed.

If you don't need memories and MIDI - but just want the Strymon Reverb Sound, this is brilliant. I love it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Strymon Blue sky
Daniel8470, 08.01.2014
Before I bought this pedal I Already had the Strymon El Capistan tape echo simulator which I consider to be one of the best delay pedals made. My hopes where that the Bluesky would match that quality, and it did! The sound quality of this pedal is second to none. The true stereo (Both stereo in and outs) feature is great and the favourite switch allows you to store a preset making it possible to toggle between two entirely different top class reverbs. This pedal has to optional bypass types. True bypass (no extra components in your signal i your signalpath) and a spillover bypass (leaving the rebverb-trails to die of naturally and not just cut out when the pedal is bypassed). The pedal has analog dry through meaning you keep your original signal intact and it never goes through any A/D D/A converters. The only downside is a part of the features. The so many knobs and parameters to tweak you might end up just playing with the knobs for hours and not really play any guitar. But once you're done tweaking this pedal is one of the best sounding units out there.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Lovely tone
Alan H., 18.05.2013
This is a great pedal but I found it to have somewhat limited uses in real world playing. Everything about the Bluesky is quality. Easy to use and store your favourite sound with the "favourite" switch. Endless hours can be spent creating different sounds. I had a few "I can't believe that's me!" moments!!

Great pedal, but I'm personally not finding too much use for it myself.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
TheBP, 19.10.2017
extremely happy with the Bluesky. One of the best Reverb Pedals I have used and it is really easy to use. The options are limited but you have plenty to work with and audio- and reverb quality are great
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
This product is essential for me
Floppy Clock, 05.04.2018
Fantastic algorithms and solid build design. Maybe better than the Big Sky.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Top notch Reverb
Ole O. , 15.01.2021
Klingt super, sieht schön aus.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
beautiful sounds
gbsbs, 15.11.2020
It's my buddy for 5 years now! Very very satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Beautiful reverb sounds
24.05.2014
A really great, noiseless reverb pedal whether you are recording or playing live. The controls give you a lot of options for shaping a very specific reverb tone - plate, spring, room - and within those settings, the high and low damp controls and pre-delay allow you to further colour the tone.

If you like the idea of modulated reverb, the Bluesky has two really unique settings, mod produces a chorus effect, and shimmer adds beautiful octave overtones. Unlike other modulated reverbs I've used (e.g. the Holy Grail's Flerb), you'll probably use these quite a lot, rather than be mildly repulsed by them (*cough* Flerb) and never use them again.

Like all Strymon pedals the Bluesky sounds fantastic, lush and super high quality. I also have the El Capistan, and it's more or less impossible to dial in anything bad-sounding on either, yet the interface is simple enough to find the tone you're looking for. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Lush ambience for the spirit of the New Age
Mark235, 15.05.2013
This unit is a fine addition to any pedal board.The spring reverbs are really authentic Fenderesque, room, plate and hall reverbs are gorgeous with modulation available if this floats your boat..on the face of it, seems a bit pricey compared to Boss rv5, EH holy/holier grail etc but the sonic quality of this unit by far exceeds those units and as for the price, I remember paying what felt at the time like an EU country`s fiscal deficit for a Lexicon PCM70! This unit is worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Excellent Pedal
WilliamGoodman, 23.09.2014
Easy to use, with fantastic tones to boot.

The pedal is well built with a sturdy enclosure. Wonderful and silent switches perfect for use when creating those ambient soundscapes the BlueSky lends itself to so wonderfully.

Having been a little concerned before receiving the BlueSky that it would only do ambient shimmers well I was delighted to find that the normal and mod settings are also fantastic and provide great sounds that are easy to dial in.

I am incredibly happy with my purchase, an excellent pedal built to the highest standard.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
A classic reverb
Peter C.R., 31.01.2021
A really well built pedal with outstanding reverb engines. Perfect for ambient or worship music.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Brilliant for any spacey sounds and post rock.
30.09.2016
I use the Strymon BlueSky for home use and amateur recording. I play experimental and post rock music with this particular piece of equipment. But it really is versatile and can fit many playing styles if used correctly and not over played up front, but rather shining away in the background.

The build, look, quality and manageability I give 5 stars. Absolutely flawless. As sound goes it's great for basic reverb and the shimmer option gives a lot of extra ambiance, however I find the tail of the shimmer quite cheap sounding on its own. However while playing with other instruments you wouldn't even notice.

A good idea is to turn down the high damp knob a bit and raise the low dampening to get a fuller and rounder shimmer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Best reverb!
ayao28, 28.04.2017
I play CCM-music at church, and purchased the Bluesky because the music was gravitated towards that kind of sound. The quality of the reverb is top-notch (especially the shimmer effect), and three years later it's still working perfectly fine. I prefer the spring reverb on this over the spring reverb on my Fender Deluxe Reverb amp!

The only problem I've ever had was one of the screws for the output jack likes to come off, and this has happened multiple times, where I unplug my Planet Waves patch cable and the screw + rubber O-ring is stuck to the cable. I've lost the O-ring as a result, but it's not too big of a deal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Best Reverb on sale.
29.04.2014
I'll keep this brief.

This is the ultimate stomp box reverb. Yes it is at a boutique price, but worth the piece of mind that I am 'done' wondering about potential successors. (for many a year at least ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
very nice pedal.
guitar man123, 06.01.2020
best shimmer ever. perfect for acoustic guitar in ballads
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
amazingly versative reverb pedal
17.04.2015
I bought the Strymon Bluesky after using their El Capistan delay for a year or so and being knocked out with the quality. I use it with pedal steel guitar along with the El Capistan and the results are amazing. The Bluesky is really versatile for a pedal of its size. It's also super quiet and doesn't affect the tone when dis-engaged. It's really transparent in a pedal chain. I use mainly the Plate Reverb setting but also the Shimmer for more ambient textures. The low and high damp feature I haven't really explored using yet but the results are definitely noticeable in terms of EQ'ing the reverberated signal. The Shimmer effect alone is worth the money, giving a real Daniel Lanois vibe to the effect. Beautiful and really detailed. I only use both the Blue Sky and their El Capistan delay pedal in my effects and coupled together, there is a wide range of tones I can conjure up. The real icing on the cake is the stereo in's and out's. This provides an enormously wide and rich stereo picture and really showcases the true power of this pedal.

For the price, it is very light weight and does seem a little flimsy or that it could break easily but thankfully it has been solid as a rock. Highly recommended on any pedal board! Strymon are making unbelievably good pedals.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Strymon Bluesky Review
Darren B., 23.02.2014
I bought this with the intention of using it regularly for recording in the studio and for live in a proggy guitar band. It's one of those pedals that is instantly likeable; the shimmer setting is awesome for an immediate wow factor and the more standard reverb types and effects are pretty useful. Overall I found the pedal was less practical in the studio and more often than not I found myself battling to fit anything in a mix. Live though is where the pedal excelled for me. The shimmer setting is outstanding and probably marginally better than what you get with something more pricey such as the eventide space but it is a lot less flexible. This is probably just because the pedal is soooo bright! Even with the hi end rolled off it was still ridiculously bright and in your face; not a problem live but on a recording it was a bit of a nightmare. I fell on a great deal for the eventide space and had I not gone for that I would still own the bluesky; it's really, really nice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Stunning Reverb pedal
Mickey H., 17.09.2015
Strymon make great quality pedals and the BlueSky is no exception, this is a womderous, lush reverb pedal which I use at every show. Personally I think this pedal shines when it comes to long, ambient, rich and warm reverbs, to get lost into, especially when stacked before with some delay and maybe a bit of octave up! I had one problem once with this pedal which was after a flight where my pedalboard case has been treated particularly badly... When at the gig the 2nd switch Favourite setting wasn't working at all. On opening up the pedal I found that a connector onto the circuit board had been shaken loose on the flight and this was the simple fix - once reconnected the Favourite setting worked again perfectly. Something to look out for if you do a lot of flying. The favourite switch is one of the best features of this pedal as it essentially gives you 2 presets for 1 pedal, and is really useful in a live context.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Strymon Bluesky
19.03.2015
My first Strymon pedal and something I took the plunge with. I wasn't disappointed!

I like the delay-ridden U2 sound of the The Edge's guitar, and the addition of a 'shimmer' effect was something I was looking for. I checked out various reviews of alternatives, but settled on the Blue Sky.

Needless to say, the pedal has proven a delight to use. Although it adds the shimmer effect I was hoping for (and then some!) the pedal is far more versatile than I imagined. The build and - especially - the audio quality are stunning.

Not cheap, but nevertheless highly recommended.

Great service from Thomann and I have purchased many times with absolute confidence - and I am not associated with the company in any way.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Strymon blue sky
SeanC, 20.05.2013
Best reverb pedal. Modulation and shimmer effects are stunning.
Highly recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Strymon Bluesky

£225
Free shipping and excluding VAT
In stock within 3-4 weeks
In stock within 3-4 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand

Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand, 1000 hardware series, gearless basket adjustment, double braced, stable rubber foots,

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Sonarworks SoundID Reference Headphon EDU

Sonarworks SoundID Reference for Headphones EDU (ESD); headphone calibration plugin; Educational version: requires proof of eligibility; adjusts the frequency response to get a flat and neutral sounding headphone; enables a more precise evaluation of recordings and mixes when using an…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.