Startone STR 25 Bb-Trumpet

456 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.2 /5
  • response
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Are you on a budget and want to try your hand at playing brass? Then this might be your trumpet
teaddict, 27.02.2018
It's been about two and a half years since I bought this instrument now, so I figured I should revisit my review now that I have some more experience playing trumpet in general, and this instrument in particular. To make this easy, I'll be dividing this review into two sections.

The Good:
The valves are surprisingly pleasant for the price, and are still holding up just as well now as they did when I first bought the instrument. And it has a quite pleasant tone for being so cheap. It's a very pretty trumpet too, and the lacquer has held up quite nicely.

The case is pretty decent as well, at least after I tucked the included white gloves in the channel for the lead pipe in the top. If you don't, your trumpet will wobble around a bit in the case which doesn't seem like it would be too healthy in the long run.

Third tuning slide works fantastic, slides quick and smooth with very little resistance. Compression is quite okay for being a cheap instrument, though the third slide will droop if you place your instrument bell-down on a trumpet stand.

The Bad:
The slotting and intonation is.. not great. Open C below staff is a struggle to hit accurately, as a beginner this was incredibly discouraging, but after trying out a Yamaha YT3335 at a music store I found out it wasn't me, so I just kept at it.

Though the valves were and still are quite good (Yes, really!), the valve caps were initially quite stuck. But squirting some valve oil on the threads helped a lot once I managed to remove them.

The main tuning slide can sort out some of the problem notes, but the relative intonation isn't great so you'll need a good embouchure and know your way around the first and third valve tuning slides to compensate if you are going to record or play with others.

Speaking of the first and third valve slides, there was some black gunk on them initially, which cleaned off fine after a few rounds of giving it a bath and gentle scrub-down. I mentioned before that the third slide still feels fine, but the first... doesn't. Though after giving it a bit of steel wool polishing, which I doubt does any favours for the seal, it slides a little bit more freely.

The main tuning slide was initially quite difficult to move, but some slide grease and a drop or two of oil helps. Think I ended up having to give the main slide a round of steel wool polish as well, but now it moves smoothly without excessive force being needed.

Why should you buy it?
If you need a really really cheap trumpet, it's not a bad deal for the money. You could definitely get a better instrument used for just a little bit more money, but in covid-19 times finding a trustworthy seller can be scary. If you don't mind saving for a bit longer though, I would highly recommend doing so. This instrument is not an easy trumpet to play.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Although I am not qualified to write a review...
fommof, 15.01.2019
I bought one of these long time ago, when I was thinking of start playing the trumpet.

I am not a trumpet player (my main instrument is the elec. guitar) so take this quick review with a big grain of salt.

Cosmetically the instrument was fine. In terms of playability, the valves were jamming frequently but oiling the valves every now and then is part of the fun I guess.

I never got to the point of actually playing my butt out of it because it was my very first attempt but I guess it was cheap enough to give it a go and decide that it's not for me.

To the newbies that are thinking of getting in the trumpet word, two things; Buy some oil, you are going to need it regardless thich trumpet you are going to buy; The most difficult part is the "mask" so chances are it's going to take you some time to make decent sounds, it's NOT the intruments fault or flaw.

;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
best for seeing if you like playing the trumpet or not
12.11.2020
have had this for 3 months to learn trumpet in quarantine... making slow progress but having lots of fun
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Great product
Gerardo5491, 27.11.2018
My first trumpet, a complete beginner, and Im very happy with this trumpet, For sure I will use it for learning for at least 1 year or more, the price is unbeatable! and it comes in a plastic case where you can store it and transport it safely.
Everything feels alright, sounds fine. I can not compare a lot because is my first trumpet but it is what it is and its purpose is to be affordable for beginners and students to allow you to learn and practice and for its price I think it is an excellent product.
Special thanks to the Thomann team which is always ready to answer any questions, this customer service is the main reason why I can trust Thomann and why it is always my first choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Slow valves and still no customer service.
TungaTroll, 08.05.2020
3rd valve with embarassingly slow return. Tried everything but still waiting for a response from Thomann. Highly disappointed. Hope the product return will be fast.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Great trumpet for a beginner
Some guy with a name, 03.02.2021
For a beginner horn, there are no issues. Sound production is fine and it is relatively easy to play. The quality of the metal is not great, but that is to be expected for the price. Comes with valve oil to keep the action nice and smooth. All in all, it's decent for beginners, but sound quality would likely be less than satisfactory for more advanced players
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Startone STR-25 Bb-Trumpet
Lorcan, 30.07.2013
This is a review for the Startone STR-25 Bb-Trumpet.
I purchased it as my first trumpet and I was pleasantly surprised. Since it is my first trumpet, I can't compare it to others, but it gets the job done.
Some of the slides are a bit stiff, but that can be fixed with a bit of oil.
The valves can sometimes get stuck, which is very annoying, but usually that can be fixed. Though it once was permanently stuck, so I had to return it to thomann for a repair. Luckily they fixed it free of charge, so I can continue to play my trumpet.
It comes with a nice case that is very solid. You will definitely need the case as trumpets are quite delicate.

Overall, I'll give this trumpet 4 stars out of five. If you are considering getting a trumpet for the first time I'd recommend this one. Great price.
If you have been playing trumpet for a few years, I'd recommend saving up some more money for something of better quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
poland, 02.09.2019
resonance is decent, good case.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Bought one 3 and half years ago
flaviofz, 15.05.2020
Bought it as i decided to join a local Marching band, easy instrument to learn, intonation is okay tends to become flat after F (top of the cleft) and both lower and higher notes can be hard to play for beginners, plus, they will be a bit out of tune.

Building quality is fine, i wouldn't expect anyone to own this instrument for longer than 2/3 years before progressing. 3 and half years later i will have to admit that the lacquer and pistons are in way much better condition than other instruments i bought from other brands.

Overall i'm happy to have started with this trumpet, accessible price that won't break your bank and you will be able to play traditional + marching music with no problem, concerts well not really. I'm keeping it as my field trumpet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Great Beginners Trumpet
Randaras, 01.05.2020
I haven't played trumpet for over 20 years, and felt the urge growing to start again over the past year, finally I bought this one as it is for a great price.


Everything's great, the only downsides I found are;
- The "D"Slider goes quite stiff,
- The valves sometimes come up too "slowly" , but Im'not sure if this is because of the way that I press the valves or because they're a bit wonky.

As for the sound I can definitely not produce the sounds given in the example of the site, but once again that could be because I'm very "rusty" at playing the trumpet, it is my first week of having this trumpet and I haven't played since I was 12 years old. so over 20 years ago.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Very good
sargis, 23.11.2017
Its a very good instrument for beginners
I'm pleased with this horn
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Thank you
Thomas1850, 15.09.2020
My neighbor hate me now...

Completely fulfill it's purpose !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Valves problems
Stylianos T., 09.02.2014
This trumpet seems to be good enough for a starter but the valves doesn't work normally. The valves doesn't respond very well and that infects the sound of the instrument and the way of playing. If I had another chance I wouldn't buy this trumpet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Music school
Andrew7565, 29.11.2013
I am a brass instrument repairer based in Ireland.I purchased these trumpets to go along with the trombones bought a year ago.i was impressed by the build quality and feel of them considering the price,and feel they are more than enough to last being handled by kids.I would recommend these trumpets to any beginner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Excellent value
Peter728, 28.10.2013
I've had 8 or 9 of these so far and they can't be beaten for quality given the price. They are holding up well to youth band use and the low price makes them very accessible for parents.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Very good for beginners
MOUSA , 23.11.2019
It was bought for students in our school and proved perfect for its use!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Very pleased - excellent service from Thomann
geolovesskate, 20.01.2018
This trumpet is ideal for a beginner like me. I have had it for a month and the trumpet plays very well so far. It is not a professional instrument, but it suits my need more than enough.
I am also very pleased by Thomann's service. Very good organisiation, excellent prices....5 stars overall!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Good for the price!
CeeDy6, 28.03.2017
The buttons are always jamming so you have to put oil on it more often.
Perfect for beginners!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Professional features at a give-away price!
John2146, 04.12.2013
This is a really magnificent starter trumpet. It is now three years since I bought mine and I have since upgraded to a CarolBrass horn which I love. However, I will still pick up this Startone model now and again because it just has everything that you could want in a beginner trumpet, and at such an incredibly low price.

It plays really well, sounds good, intonation is good for such a cheap horn. The only poor thing about this trumpet is the finish; I discovered that the lacquer began to wear off after only a couple of months.

But stainless steel valves? Wow! Most intermediate and professional level trumpets do not even have stainless steel valves; the valves on my Startone are still running smooth and quiet.

Really great first trumpet for anyone looking to take up the instrument.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
The good quality for a price
03.12.2016
I bought the Startone Trumpet 6 month ago, and I'm thankfull, know I bought also one for my friend.
It is not the best, but is a very good instrument for this money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Excellent starting trumpets
08.04.2016
I am a professional trumpet player and professor and I recommend these trumpets to all of my starting students. The price is amazing for such an instrument. I bought 4 of these and all were excellent with no problems and all of my students are extremely happy and satisfied!!! Highly recommended!!!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Real Trumpet
Peredouble1, 04.02.2019
This trumpet is of high quality for unbeatable price. It is still giving us great sounds.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Pretty good for a start
27.09.2016
Just bought for myself. No previous experience with brass instruments but I decided to buy it based on reviews and ofc the price. So far so good. I think it is a perfect one to start with.

P.s.: top-quality service from thomann as always. Thanks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Great quality for the price
Marko4819, 24.11.2014
I have bought this trumpet for my dad - he always wanted to play trumpet but never really had the courage to start. The price is ideal for people who'd like to try playing trumpet without breaking the bank and on top of that you get great quality instrument with really everything you need to start. The quality is great, we were surprised how well everything is made for this price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
response
sound
quality
features
Beautiful Trumpet!
26.07.2016
What a beautiful instrument! It's a pity I can't play it! I was delighted with this though. It looks fantastic, the quality seems fantastic. I'm sure it sounds great but I can't really tell when I play the scale or 'oh when the saints'. A great buy for someone who doesn't want to commit a lot of money when buying a new instrument.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Startone STR 25 Bb-Trumpet

£89
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-MBA

Warm Audio WA-MBA; professional broadcast microphone boom; easy-to-operate clamping hinges; hidden cable management system;, Connectors with 3/8" and 5/8" thread, suitable for all common microphone mounts; integrated table clamp; Colour: black; Weight: 2.5 kg

Recently Viewed
Eurolite LED Theatre COB 100 WW/CW

Eurolite LED Theater COB 100 WW / CW; 100 W COB LED with variable color temperature 2500-5700K ; Auto, Music, Master / Slave and DMX modes (2, 4, 5, or 7 DMX channels); Integrated show programs in car and music…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.