Startone Star Drum Set Standard -BK

192 Customer ratings

4.1 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

features

sound

quality

97 Reviews

Startone Star Drum Set Standard -BK
£229
Free shipping incl. VAT
In stock within 3-4 weeks
In stock within 3-4 weeks

This product is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
A
Awesome quality to the price ratio.
Akapibara 05.04.2023
I was a little bit skeptical about 300$ entire drumset , even with a throne, that would not fall apart after assembling it AND i was wrong!

Drums and hardware were really simple to assemble, manual wasn't really required. Everything is steady and solid.

-- I advise to tighten every nut and screw (factory screwed in) while assembling, because they might be loose.

Tuning of drums is really easy, and you can tune them pretty low.

KICK - sounds perfect with 58Hz batter and 49Hz Reso

FLOOR TOM - isn't really good, couldn't make it sound awesome in any tuning, but it's actually livable. Batter head sound a little bit too plastic.

-- Edit: Switching batter and resonant head worked well, now floor tom is significantly louder, and has better low tone!

RACK TOMS - 12" tom sounds really awesome in my current tuning
(104Hz Batter; 208Hz Reso) and i don't really use or need 10" tom.

SNARE - snare is nice and loud, tunes easily, and works well with low and medium tunings. High tunes lack a bit of resonance.
-- Overtones on snare are very strong so dampening is really needed!

CYMBALS - i didn't expect anything from cheap hi-hats and 15" crash/ride, and that was good decision. Crash is pretty bad, lot of overtones and very dirty sound, almost unusable as a ride, tho hi-hats are quite good, closed and slushy sound is okay but open hats aren't really good.

HARDWARE - hardware is fine, bass pedal is probably the weakest one.
-- You need to tighten spring screws very much or they're gonna loosen and fall off.
Throne is very nice for the money, hole height regulation, enough tall for mine 191cm.
Hi-hat stand feels okay, need lot of pressure to close it very tight.
Cymbal stand is also okay, could be a boom stand tho.

Other (maybe useful) info:
- it takes about 1 to 1 and a half hour to assemble and set up entire set.
- Remember to grease lugs (little bit of grease included),
- Get some dampening on snare and bass drum at least,
- Remember to tighten all screws,
- Stretch heads before tuning (after hand tightening lugs),
- Use tuning phone app like Drumtune Pro

I'll post whole review and set-up video of this set on my youtube channel soon! /Akapibara

If you want to know something more about this set, you can contact me on discord: Akapibara#7677
features
sound
quality
3
0
Report

Report

P
Value for money starter set
Pobalopalous 06.12.2018
My daughter has had the Startone Star Drum Set for a year now. She had completed a few months of drumming lessons at that stage. For a 10 year old beginner, this drum set has been the ideal starter kit. It's not too big, but it's also not a small toy either. We didn't want to spend too much just in case she decided that drumming wasn't exactly her thing. Thanks in no small part to her teacher, and this excellent drum kit, she's progressing nicely.

I've read other reviews stating that this set can take a long time to setup. It does take at least an hour to get the main parts together and then then another 30 mins of tightening & tuning. From my experience with other drum kits, that's about right when building from out of the box. Just make sure you have plenty of time and space to work in.

Once assembled you'll find that the drum kit is well built and sturdy. I was initially concerned with the durability of the plastic heads but they have survived being bashed enthusiastically on a daily basis for 1 year now. Our drum kits does get moved around a lot, which is not ideal, and we've had no major issues. Now that my daughter is progressing with her drumming grades, we're going to add to the kit a larger ride cymbal and boom stand. This startone drum set will be the foundation of her drum kit for years to come.

I do recommend this as a superb, value for money, starter kit. You would find it hard to find a similar, good quality 2nd hand one for the same price. Do consider getting ear protection for the drummer when ordering though!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Affordable full package
Anonymous 05.11.2016
I was looking for a drum kit for my 9 year old son. The junior kits were relatively small for his size, so I decided to buy a full size kit.
I believe it is one of the best affordable sets on the market. Apart from the good looks I can safely say that sounds pretty good, specially compared to other sets in a slightly higher price range.
This set is suited for begginer drummers, and it won?t harm a intermediate either.
It is perfect for learning and the playing is very satisfying.
It comes in a full package: 2 tom toms, floor tom, snare drum, bass drum, hi-hat, crash-ride, all stands, drum stool, foot pedal and even a pack of drumsticks were included. Absolutely no extras needed, just mount and play right out of the box.
The ironware is good for rehearsal and studio practise, but I would not recommended it for touring purposes where you will have to set it up time and time again.
This set is worth your time and money.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

l
OK, but snare height below knees. Thomann says: no problem!
linux4eva 03.06.2019
I started taking drum lessons I was looking for cheap and full sizes (not kids) drum set. Thinking to upgrade as soon as it would make any sense.
I decided to get a cheap acoustic kit, swap the included heads for mesh ones and get a set of quiet cymbals. I researched all the options and went with this set. I was aware that there is only one cymbal set, so I ordered two extra.

The quality is ok and you don't expect much at this price point. It would be enough to get started.

Unfortunately there is one major gripe that made me think that I made a wrong choice. If you look at the picture you may notice that the snare drum is positioned low compared to kick drum and toms.
It is only after setting up the kit I realised that the maximum snare and floor tom heights are about 20cm lower than what it should be for my height. The stool is also low, and not very stable.

My height is 186cm and my knees are reaching 64cm from the floor resting on both pedals. Both the snare and floor tom only reaching 60cm mark at the maximum height adjustment setting being below my knees and even more below my thighs.

I gave description of the problem with photos and the measurements to support and they denied the problem replying that: "the kit you have received is as it should be as well as that both the drumstool and the stand for the snare corresponds with what is standard for this kit."
Thomann showed me a finger straight away. Not even offering free shipping on ordering new snare stand.
features
sound
quality
4
3
Report

Report

ER
Great Value Drumset
Edward R. 01.06.2015
I bought this drum set as a Christmas present for my son who is 11 years old. The quality of the set is exceptional. The set up was so easy; he was playing it in no time. The shipping was free and superfast to Ireland. I normally don?t write product reviews but the experience we had with Thomann exceeded my expectations, I had no other choice but to tell others. A must buy for aspiring drummers.
features
sound
quality
5
0
Report

Report

BM
bang for your buck!!
Beni M. 04.03.2020
i bought this kit a couple of months ago, and i use this as practice kit. i'm 20 years old and i say for the money you can't go wrong with this
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

NT
Excellent Beginner drum kit
Nessa Tarpey 17.06.2022
Comes with all the things you need to get you started on drumming. Only down side is you might need to change the drum heads because well the ones i have make a lot of buzzing noise. Wish i had got a electronic drum kit instead didn’t realise how loud acoustic kits can be. But other than that great value for your money.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

J
Startone drumkit
John437 21.05.2013
Amazing value, starter drum kits usually retail for €200 - €300, this startone drum kit costs a lot less and sounds just as good. Sturdy hardware, nice snare, good sounding cymbals, recommended to all
features
sound
quality
6
0
Report

Report

WM
Wonderful!
Weepy Moyer 31.01.2022
Great tool, great price, fast shipping!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Great kit for beginners at the price!
Anonymous 24.12.2016
This is a tidy full-size kit that should suit beginners of all ages. Great sound and looks without spending too much. Ideal starter kit for older kids who want to try drumming out before committing to a big ticket kit. I got this for a 6 year old rather than buying a kids kit so it has the added benefit that I can play also!

Pros: Price, Looks, Sound
Cons: The bass drum rims are a little ill-fitting and can distort the drum heads a little if not reshapen before fitting
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

Startone Star Drum Set Standard -BK