Startone MK-300

238 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.4 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
21 written ratings
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good start
Michalthemighty, 11.05.2018
The Startone keyboard was bought as a beginner set alongside with stand and headphones.
It delivers what you need when you are starting to play on piano. Velocity sensitive keys are huge advantage, even more in this price range.
USB MIDI is good to have, however I didn't use it yet.
Pitch bend looks flimsy, however it works and gives me possibility to use it.
Piano is loud enough for exercise in the room. The quality of the speakers is not bad, but I wouldn't use them for anything else then own practice.
One of the biggest advantage is the graphical display and all the options of set up that piano gives you.

I didn't find many cons of this product, in this price point its really hard to beat it. However the construction of piano could be improved, as the material look and feels cheap. This doesn't include the keys which are fine.

If you want to start learning piano or want one just for fun, I think Startone is a good choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great keyboard for my kids
blues_brother, 17.06.2019
This keyboard was bought for my kids, who attend cello classes and needed a simple keyboard to be always at hand for solfeggio lessons (I already have a Kawai VPC-1 with perfect weighted keys for practicing piano). After several days of use I can say that this instrument perfectly does this job and even more: my boys spend a lot of time now playing with different tones and styles. Metronome, different rythm styles, 300 tones, stranspose function and many more!
Of course, it is just a peace of plastic with cheap plastis keys, but if costs less then a 100 Euro;) It sounds OK thanks to 64 voice polyphony, its not heavy so you can easily carry it from one room to another and, finally, it's fun&joy to play it.
Highly recommended! The only thing I would improve in this instrument is the number of demo songs - I gues it's not a problem to program a hundred of them instead of 8.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice for the price
Nate the Enthusiast, 11.04.2017
Overall, this is a good keyboard to start learning on. It is nice that it ships with a power supply.

The keys are responsive, the built-in functions are intuitive, and it offers a lot of flexibility without being too complicated.

I did have one issue initially; when I put batteries in it, it wouldn't power up. One of the positive battery contacts was not contacting the post of the battery. I remedied this by prying up the contacts with a small screwdriver, and it powered up no problem.

It has the two features I really wanted; velocity-sensitive keys and USB MIDI. It would be nice if it had an audio line-in, but that's a small thing.

Another nice feature is how well-designed the stereo speaker system is. If you hit a key on the left, the sound comes more from the left. The same is true for the right and center.

It is also nice that all of the voicings, styles, and such are printed in the instruction manual.

I plugged it into my computer, and it was immediately recognized in Reason, EZKeys, and EZDrummer. Good stuff.

Overall, I am very happy with this keyboard, especially for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great key-sensitive keyboard
JayH, 28.10.2017
I was looking for a key-sensitive keyboard for my son for Christmas. I was hoping to find something not too expensive, I knew I wouldn't find anything with weighted keys in my price range, so this was the next best thing. I also wanted no less than 61 keys, which it has.

It's a good keyboard, you get a lot for the money. I bought the kit, with the stand and headphones.

There are a great number of sounds, and these sound pretty good. The speakers are reasonable too, although I'd prefer to plug it into an amplifier for more bass personally, but that's probably just me.

There really isn't anything wrong with it at all. My only slight irritation, and I'm sure it is for most parents is... "The Demos"!

Demos are great in themselves, and can be slowed down, and learned. But they are irritating. I wish manufacturers would spend that money on more sounds, or something else. They are never a selling a point.

It's not a "kids" keyboard at all, but I imagine a lot of kids will get them at Christmas, the demos detract from the actual practicing the kids should be doing, i.e. playing, not using it as a duke-box!

Anyway, again, lovely for the money guys!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Feedback
Dodop, 26.01.2019
Use of the system
I use this piano to learn

Sound
The sound quality is good

Comprehensibility
At first, it's a little hard to get used to all the buttons but finally when you know how to use it it it's really a great piano for the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Anatoli C, 18.01.2019
Nice keyboard for starting level. It's my level and I cannot speak about more high level. I like this keyboard. I use this key for home music exercise.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for start
Vlaho, 30.12.2015
I acquired this keyboard as Christmas gift for my son (age 8) and it was a smash.

What attracted me at first is price vs number of functionality. For this price tag you will get quite a lot. Large number of songs, different voices and rhythm styles right of the box is a great way to understand world of keyboards. A top of that is touch sensitive 61 keys which is a surprise in this price range, as they can be found only on keyboards that are much more expensive.

Keys are full dimension, which is important if you're willing to start to learn to play piano.

Keyboard is very lightweight thanks to it's cheaper plastic, very good for carrying around, but it can be a drawback to put it on a stand.

A lot of functions, but easy to learn. Keyboard split, rec/play functions and LCD display will get you going in no time. Pitch band, MIDI connection and possibility to attach additional sustain expression pedal is nice bonus as well.

It comes with it's own power supply, but you can use batteries as well.

This box is great fun to play and great entry point if you want ti learn basic piano.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent Value
26.04.2016
I wanted something that could be a cheap MIDI and standalone keyboard for fun. And this does it very well.

Way better value, IMO, that the alternatives.

Sounds are very good compared to similar sounds in nearest competitors.

The fact that the MIDI worked straight out of the box with no issues is impressive. Even the pitch-bend wheel was identified correctly.

Velocity sensitivity hard to rate, but certainly registers a good range of values via MIDI.

And delivered with UK plug adapter, power supply and even a manual in English.

Feels robust.

Very pleased so far. Beat all my expectations.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Startone MK-300 for beginners
EugeneLugovoy, 28.10.2015
This keyboard is good enough for home use, parties and so on, but not for professional musicians. Nice sound, and features. The only one thing "made wrong" is recognition of key pressure... but this keyboard at least has a few levels of key pressure. So, I've bought it just for learning and it's good enough for such price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very good
this name is already taken. , 05.04.2018
I bought this for my nephew and I was really surprised to see such a cheap keyboard with so many features, effects and good sound. I was expecting it to sound and feel like a toy, but it is actually pretty good. Of course, the plastic it is made of is not the strongest and the keyboard is so light that it feels like it has nothing inside it. But, I highly recommend it for a student/beginner as it has a lot of features that you can only find on keyboards that cost 3x more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good value Keyboard to begin with
EagleEyeSully, 15.01.2019
Great low cost keyboard..Has everything you need to begin learning the piano. Great feedback on the keys and easy to navigate the menu for the sounds. Only thing is it doesn't sit well on the stand recommended for it (Millenium KS-1001). Tends to slip around a bit. But otherwise, a really good buy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Startone Surprise
stevemcq, 22.04.2015
Bought this as a gift and was very impressed with the quality of the sounds and general specification of the keyboard, the person I bought it for was also very impressed with the keyboard (thankfully!). Compared to a similarly priced Yamaha, this one is superior in every way. With the self accompaniment features and recording, it makes a great first keyboard. It is a little more functional in appearance that the bigger names, but behind the somewhat plain design is a really good keyboard, especially considering the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
perfect first keyboard
Les Taylor, 03.01.2018
I ordered for my son just start the music. Perfect home keyboard for a beginner, with nice and loud :) sound. My son is practicing now every day because he likes this keyboard.
Thank you Thomann again and again! :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
value for money!
Andrew5437, 15.01.2016
yet again, another great product for the money!
some great grand piano sounds, and loads of good other voices. i bought this after hearing the demos on the site, sounded very good, and it is.
keys are touch sensitive, and feel great quality.
plastic body, feels very light,was worried about sliding of the stand, but fixed the problem with some velcro strips, sorted!
again, stunning value for a very low price, this is great for home use, and recording, as you may guess, i'm very pleased.
i have a fender, a rickenbacker, 2 harley benton guitars,and have another one on order, these again, are great quality, such bargain prices, go on treat your self, there fab!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
worth the price
Mateus Silva, 18.04.2019
Everything is of great about this product, except it could have a better build. but it is still one of the best budget piano keyboards out there.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Unbeatable for the price
20.02.2016
Purchased it for my nephew who's just starting to learn music. All in all I am very satisfied with this keyboard.
PROS:
- Plenty of very decent sounding instruments
- USB MIDI connection!!! That alone is reason to get it
- Very lightweight
- A nice feature for music students is the pentagram in the screen displaying any note played in either G of F clev
- Sheet music stand included

CONS
- Chassis plastic feels cheap
- Touch response really isn't very usable - useful, I deactivated it almost immediately

The only thing that remains to be seen is durability - time will tell!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great starter piano
Brilliant babicz, 23.11.2018
Great price, and good quality. Loads of features...Step daughter loves it!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for the money.
Thitar, 10.03.2016
My 8 years old daughter wanted a piano for her birthday. And you know that kids always change their minds. So i didn't want to invest too much in a keyboard.
Still, I wanted to have full-sized and touch-sensitive keys. And honestly, for this price no one else can deliver that!
Without going into details, this keyboard has an amazing amount of features, is very usable and has a lot to offer.

My only complain would be that it looks and feels kinda cheap.

Anyway, great buy! I would always recommend it above any other keyboard at this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very nice keyboard
jimzepellin, 23.04.2017
A great keyboard for the money. Good sound for the cash too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
30.01.2017
I know very litle about keyboards but i think this keyboard is very good for the price. I bought it to learn and my main concern was the sound quality (this one has 64 voice polyphony) instead of all the bells and whistles. For the price i think it's the best you can find.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
PanRap, 26.01.2018
A very valuable beginners choice. A lot of functions to help develop playing skills and some interesting sounds. In fact some of them are a lot better from what i expected in that price range.
The speakers are not that good, but reasonable for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Startone MK-300

€111 £99.70
Including VAT; Excluding €10 shipping

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Portable Keyboards
Portable Keyboards
Portable keyboards now offer a wealth of features to suit both the first time musician and professional songwriter alike.
Online Guides
Choosing a Beginner's Instr.
Choosing a Beginner's Instr.
The first hurdle though, is to decide on which instrument to learn?
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

2-Channel USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection 24-Bit / 192 kHz, 2 Scarlett microphone preamps, Phantom power +48 V, Switchable air function, 2 Mic / instrument / line inputs: XLR / 6.3 mm jack combo balanced, 2 Line outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Antares Auto-Tune EFX+

Antares Auto-Tune EFX+ (ESD); pitch correction plugin; software for automatical or manual correction of pitch and intonation; Retune-Speed control for fine tune the desired effect from subtle natural pitch correction to the Auto-Tune Vocal Effect; humanize function reduces artefacts; Auto-EFX...

Recently Viewed
Meris Hedra Pitch-Shifter

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Pitch shifter, 3 Harmony voices / delay lines with rhythmic time offset, Tap Tempo function and synchronisation, 12 Diatonic harmonies and chromatic pitch shifting, Up to 16 presets via MIDI, 24 Bit AD /...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Hercules Stands GS-432B+ 3-Way Guitar Stand

Hercules Stands GS-432B+ 3-position guitar stand; easy height adjustment; auto grab system for a secure hold; with adapter for smaller saddle widths (28 mm); not suitable for guitars with nitro varnish! Saddle width: 40 mm - 52 mm ( 1.57"...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton GS-Travel-E LH Mahogany

Steel-String Guitar Left handed model, Design: Mini Travel Grand Symphony, Body: Selected mahogany, Arched back, Neck: NATO, Neck profile: V, Fretboard: Blackwood, Scale: 596 mm, Nut width: 43 mm, 20 Frets, Dot inlays, Black body and neck bindings, Bridge:...

Recently Viewed
Reloop Spin

Reloop Spin, Portable Turntable, Out of the Box: Comes with 7 '' Scratch Vinyl, Pre-Assembled 45mm Crossfader & Pickup System, Built-in Speaker, Bluetooth Audio Receiver, Bluetooth Audio Streaming: Wirelessly Transfer Music or Beats to Turntable, Smart USB Recording: Direct recording...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Numark Scratch

Numark Scratch, 2-channle Scratch Mixer for Serato DJ Pro with DVS-license, Serato NoiseMap-compliant with use of Control Vinyls or CDs (optional obtainable), InnoFader Scratch Crossfader with Reverse- and Slope-control, 6 effect choice switches with two Paddle-trigger and Dry-Wet FX-control, 8...

Recently Viewed
Varytec Hero Spot Wash 140 2in1 RGBW+W

Varytec Hero Spot Wash 140 2in1 RGBW+W, 2in1 LED Spot Wash Moving Head, the "MacGyver" of the Moving Lights is the universal lighting tool for all heroes, combines two devices in one housing, saves time and space in the rig,...

Recently Viewed
Marq Lighting Ray Tracer X

Marq Lighting Ray Tracer X Quad; Dual Roller Bar Chase Movinghead; Two independently tiltable LED bars with rotating base; 8 x 10 watt high power CREE cold white LEDs, individual control of all LEDs; 25 different automatic programs for exciting...

Recently Viewed
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd Gen

18-Channel USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection 24 Bit / 192 kHz, 8 Scarlett microphone preamps, Phantom power +48 V, Switchable air function, Talkback function with integrated microphone, Pad switch, 8 Mic / line inputs: XLR / 6.3 mm...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Zoom B1X Four Bass Multi Effect

Multi-Effect Pedal for Electric Bass 71 Internal effects, 9 Amp simulations, Usable up to five effects simultaneously and in any order, Looper with a length of up to 30 seconds / 64 beats in CD quality, Integrated expression pedal,...

Recently Viewed
Enki AMG-2 Guitar Double Case

Electric Guitar Case for 2 Instruments Material: Roto-Molded polyethylene, EA Foam lining inside, With rollers, Removable lid, Suitable for padlock, Dimensions: 121 x 46 x 27 cm, Weight: 10.7 kg, Colour: Black Note: Instruments not included in delivery

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.