Customer center login
Country and Language

SSL 2+

227 Customer Reviews

5 200 Customers
4 16 Customers
3 5 Customers
2 3 Customers
1 3 Customers
4.8 / 5

handling

features

sound

quality

SSL 2+
£199
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
L
Expensive but usable audio interface with good quality pre-amps
LUN4 07.04.2020
Some notes from my point of view after full-time using it for about 5-6 weeks. Other interfaces I use or have used are Roland Quad-Capture, Focusrite Scarlett, Focurite Clarett and some RME stuff.

Positive:
- Very nice sounding pre-amps with mics. Instruments also sound fine. Really nothing bad to say about the pre-amps.
- Knobs turn well, feel nice. A bit too small for my taste, since turning them only a little bit (like 0,2 mm or something) is a bit easier with bigger knobs (for me atleast). I like it that all the buttons are on the top panel and that all the cables are on the back panel. Some other interfaces have buttons on the back and I dislike that greatly.
- Two headphone mixes are a welcome addition!
- When pressing the phantom power button all inputs are briefly muted, which is a nice feature that I haven't seen before on units in this price range.

Neutral:
- Latency is comparable with a lot of other of these bus powered interfaces. Nothing to write home about, but also not bad.
- The 4K mode adds high end, boosts overall volume and seems to add a bit of additional gain. It's not bad in any way, but the same effect can be achieved with software. I like the mode for darker sounding acoustic guitars. It's more of a (marketing) gimmick though.
- Build quality-wise it's fine, but nothing special.

Negative:
- The db meter is practically useless. It ranges from -40 to 0 db in 5 steps and well... It sucks big time.
- About once every ~18 hours of using this device, audio stops and the interface need to be turned off and on again (by pulling and reinserting USB cable) in order to be able to use it again. I have not found logging data or the cause.
- It misses features that I would expect on a brand new € 300 audio interfaces. Most - if not all - price competitors offer additional features such as auto sensing, loopback, second monitor out or USB 3.0. Loopback would have been a welcome addition for example.
- Hyperlinks in the box for 'free' software were not working for days and the website didn't function correctly. Maybe they fixed it now, but since this is about my experiences with this purchage I also mention this. Also the 'free' software seemed to requires personal data and seems to require rootkits on your operating system. So this was (because of multiple reasons) a big no-no for me.

All in all a nice and usable audio interface with good quality pre-amps. You don't see small interfaces with top controls that much, so in that regard it's a nice addition. I feel the unit is overpriced/doesn't offer enough features for the amount of money paid, but it still delivers excellent sound so that compensates the high cost a bit.
quality
features
handling
sound
40
1
Report

Report

J
Almost ideal
Jgone 04.10.2021
I bought this interface, after a recommendation from my friend and testing his unit in action. After two weeks I decided to give it a shot.
I've been using it for 6 months since and it is a very solid product, but it has some flaws, which may or may not affects the overall experience - depending on the user.

1. Sound quality - preamps have very clean, pristine sound, and enough gain to drive an SM7B. They work well on line, instrumental, and mic input - DI guitar and bass sound really good.

Headphone outputs have enough power to feed both AKG K271 and Audio-Technica MX40, and they can be really loud - halfway through is more than enough for me but I have not checked them on any high-impedance headphones (AKG have 55 Ohms, AT - 35 Ohms).

The 4K buttons boost signal a few dB and add some noise - sometimes it can be used creatively (e.g. on DI bass or even microphone ) but if you want a really clean sound, they will indeed distort the signal.

Monitor outputs are loud - I have never reached past 12 o'clock during usual work and my room is about 20 square meters big.
I use Yamaha HS5 with SSL2.

2. Build quality - the knobs are really good. Especially the main monitor knob is very pleasant to touch and turn - just like in the real SSL console.

The buttons for phantom power, line, and HI-Z feel like they are of worse quality than the rest of the interface. Up until this point I have not had any problems with them but my friend told me that some of them fell off. There is space for improvement.

Overall the interface's chassis feel sturdy and solid, as well as the in/out sockets on the rear.
One last thing: it is made in China and for some of you it can be a deal-breaker, so bear that in mind. But on the other hand, what isn't built in China these days?


3. Usage experience - it is a very nice, little interface with good preamps quality and good drivers.
I work on PC, in 48KHz and 128spls and the latency in both Reaper and Ableton are around 5,1/4,5 which is very usable, at least for me.
But it would probably be nice to have a TB3 version of SSL2 because I can see no real difference between USB A and C connectors in this case.

The monitor mix knob, which is more and more common on modern interfaces is a nice feature to have while recording. MIDI I/O is also very nice to have.

The fact that all of the I/O are on the back could be problematic for some of the users. I think that having the DI-ins and headphone outs on the front panel would be useful. But it would definitely affect the neat look of the interface ;)

To sum up - I truly recommend SSL2+ for mixing in-home studio and some small recording sessions it can be an ideal piece of gear .
What I would really like to see in the future is a version with 4 preamps and an ADAT I/O as well as a Thunderbolt3 version.
Maybe someday SSL
quality
features
handling
sound
0
1
Report

Report

D
Strongly Recommend!!!
Dihydrogen_Monoxide 11.08.2021
For such an entry price for an audio interface, I would say it has done a very good job. Comparing to 2i2, which is a very popular competition, I could say both the recording quality of the preamp, and also the playback quality are better than the 2i2 which I previously own. Although I don't typically use the 4K button for a boost for texture of the sound in the recording stage, it is quite useful if you are lazy and trying to get a better sound just by pressing a button, especially for vocal in some live session.
There are a few improvements that I would like to see tho. Firstly, I am using 770pro 80Ohm headphone with my SSL 2+. I would say there are some situation that when you are turning the "monitor mix" knob to the middle to listen both your mic and the sound from PC, there is a small chance that the volume would be a little bit too soft when the incoming signal is not that strong. Also the indicator for loudness for input signal has the interval of 0, -10, -20, -30, -40, which is not very useful referencing to it because 0 to -10 is just too much of a difference.
quality
features
handling
sound
0
0
Report

Report

A
Cheap box
Asdio00 29.04.2021
I was really excited after I read reviews about this new SSL interface. All my life I was working in studios on SSL consoles and if this little unit could get me close to the sound I'm used to I would be very happy. Unfortunately, this is not even close to the real thing. This is a cheap box made in China, using the SSL mark as a promotional tool. The unit feels cheap made, the 4k button got stuck right away after I tried to use it. The sound was distorted from all outputs including headphones. Thanks to Thomann I got my money back quick.
quality
features
handling
sound
3
0
Report

Report

S
Step up compared to my Scarlett 2i2 (2nd gen.)
Saff 23.01.2021
I use the SSL2+ mainly to record voiceovers. The mic I use is the Rode Procaster.

Compared to the 2i2 there a few features that I like about the SSL2+:
- Two headphone amps: so that I and the voiceover artist can monitor simultaneously.
- The cleaner mic preamps.
- The extra gain of the mic preamps.
- That the connections are at the back of the interface: cleaner desk ;)
- The overall esthetics and layout of the device.

The only con I have right now is that is less portable that the 2i2. It's bigger and the extruding knobs seem more fragile.

Overall I think it's a great interface and in my opinions it's a step up compared to my previous Scarlett 2i2 interface.
quality
features
handling
sound
1
0
Report

Report

MN
The perfect upgrade
Mr. Nelson 13.02.2020
I purchased my first audio interface, the Yamaha AG06 five years ago. After accumulating various outboard analog equipment, and developing a deeper understanding of sound engineering, I decided to finally upgrade to a newer interface which would give me more possibilities than what I was used to.

I was about to buy the MOTU M4 because of it's amazing specs, but then the SSL 2+ was introduced. On paper - the MOTU M4 has better specs, but when considering the software that comes with the SSL 2+, I couldn't pass up on it.

I recently bought the SSL SIX and so thought that this was the logical decision to compliment it.

Having two headphone outs, two clean preamps, real analog circuit when the 4k switch is engaged, two phantom power switches, multiple outputs, zero latency monitoring and the big nob that goes to 11 makes this a nice feature packed product.

I like the design, it feels sturdy, and it comforts me to know that the analog to digital converters are of top quality.

At this price point, I do not think you can go wrong. It will be another 5 years before I get my next interface.
quality
features
handling
sound
12
0
Report

Report

H
What a nice thing, SSL?
Husam 06.07.2020
I couldn't believe it!

I left the device working for a week on macOS Mojave, without shutting it down, haven't got any issues.

Pros:
- Super clean sound, nice dynamic range.
- Very easy to deal with.
- Beautiful and sturdy design and knobs.
- Worked with macOS in seconds, no driver to install, nothing.
- Very cost effective.

Cons: ( Not actually! )
- I prefer if the headphone jacks were in front instead of the back.
- I wished if the LED mic gain meters were a bit longer.
- I miss a LED meter for the master level.
- I wished if we get a software mixer to do some useful routing.

Still, should be one of the best sound cards in the market, I used it side by side with Apollo Twin ( silver ), I loved the sound on SSL more. more defined, more dynamic ( about 10-15% better).

You won't regret buying, don't hesitate, do it.
quality
features
handling
sound
1
0
Report

Report

s
Very happy!
steadyokay 01.10.2020
Pretty good, although I must admit it will suffice, I'm looking forward to just buying something much better.
As every cheap audio interface, it has a loud noise floor static sound which I'm done with.

If you have the money, I'd suggest going for only the following brands for interfaces: Universal Audio, Apogee or RMS. Even if it's barely over $500.

Just don't bother buying cheap interfaces unless you'll be working towards any of those.
quality
features
handling
sound
1
0
Report

Report

H
Very well product!!!!!!
Hin21 22.11.2020
I use it to connect my MacBook to my microphone and also my Adam T5V monitor and it does it’s work very well! The 4K button is very very very good. It is the most advantage of this little thingy. This is also why I choose this audio interface. There is still something I don’t really like about is that the headphone jack places backwards and my headphone line needs to cross the audio interface. Also the meter is nonsense. It shows not enough information but you can still get the basic volume information on it. The connectivity is awesome though. I can get midi in and out and also rca input and output. Therefore I can connect it to my ILoud micro monitor instead. The build quality is also awesome. The texture is very good for me and it impresses me when I first get the product. The look of the audio interface is also cool. It gives me a professional impression. Also, the sound it records is pretty awesome due to its price. I can bet that this audio interface does its thing more than its price. I would recommend everyone with a limited budget to get this awesome and wonderful audio interface!
quality
features
handling
sound
1
0
Report

Report

h
this is the best
husscy 03.04.2021
there are details while you are buying an interface for example you can adjust pc sound and instrument sound it is a vital feature while you are playing with pc and also that big scroll volume button Im not using any other volume button instantly turning it
plus you will get really good Softwares especially Ableton Live is all you need to start to play I can't recomend this unit enough
quality
features
handling
sound
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
SSL 2+