Customer center login

SSL 2+

220 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Expensive but usable audio interface with good quality pre-amps
LUN4, 07.04.2020
Some notes from my point of view after full-time using it for about 5-6 weeks. Other interfaces I use or have used are Roland Quad-Capture, Focusrite Scarlett, Focurite Clarett and some RME stuff.

Positive:
- Very nice sounding pre-amps with mics. Instruments also sound fine. Really nothing bad to say about the pre-amps.
- Knobs turn well, feel nice. A bit too small for my taste, since turning them only a little bit (like 0,2 mm or something) is a bit easier with bigger knobs (for me atleast). I like it that all the buttons are on the top panel and that all the cables are on the back panel. Some other interfaces have buttons on the back and I dislike that greatly.
- Two headphone mixes are a welcome addition!
- When pressing the phantom power button all inputs are briefly muted, which is a nice feature that I haven't seen before on units in this price range.

Neutral:
- Latency is comparable with a lot of other of these bus powered interfaces. Nothing to write home about, but also not bad.
- The 4K mode adds high end, boosts overall volume and seems to add a bit of additional gain. It's not bad in any way, but the same effect can be achieved with software. I like the mode for darker sounding acoustic guitars. It's more of a (marketing) gimmick though.
- Build quality-wise it's fine, but nothing special.

Negative:
- The db meter is practically useless. It ranges from -40 to 0 db in 5 steps and well... It sucks big time.
- About once every ~18 hours of using this device, audio stops and the interface need to be turned off and on again (by pulling and reinserting USB cable) in order to be able to use it again. I have not found logging data or the cause.
- It misses features that I would expect on a brand new € 300 audio interfaces. Most - if not all - price competitors offer additional features such as auto sensing, loopback, second monitor out or USB 3.0. Loopback would have been a welcome addition for example.
- Hyperlinks in the box for 'free' software were not working for days and the website didn't function correctly. Maybe they fixed it now, but since this is about my experiences with this purchage I also mention this. Also the 'free' software seemed to requires personal data and seems to require rootkits on your operating system. So this was (because of multiple reasons) a big no-no for me.

All in all a nice and usable audio interface with good quality pre-amps. You don't see small interfaces with top controls that much, so in that regard it's a nice addition. I feel the unit is overpriced/doesn't offer enough features for the amount of money paid, but it still delivers excellent sound so that compensates the high cost a bit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Strongly Recommend!!!
Dihydrogen_Monoxide, 11.08.2021
For such an entry price for an audio interface, I would say it has done a very good job. Comparing to 2i2, which is a very popular competition, I could say both the recording quality of the preamp, and also the playback quality are better than the 2i2 which I previously own. Although I don't typically use the 4K button for a boost for texture of the sound in the recording stage, it is quite useful if you are lazy and trying to get a better sound just by pressing a button, especially for vocal in some live session.
There are a few improvements that I would like to see tho. Firstly, I am using 770pro 80Ohm headphone with my SSL 2+. I would say there are some situation that when you are turning the "monitor mix" knob to the middle to listen both your mic and the sound from PC, there is a small chance that the volume would be a little bit too soft when the incoming signal is not that strong. Also the indicator for loudness for input signal has the interval of 0, -10, -20, -30, -40, which is not very useful referencing to it because 0 to -10 is just too much of a difference.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cheap box
Asdio00, 29.04.2021
I was really excited after I read reviews about this new SSL interface. All my life I was working in studios on SSL consoles and if this little unit could get me close to the sound I'm used to I would be very happy. Unfortunately, this is not even close to the real thing. This is a cheap box made in China, using the SSL mark as a promotional tool. The unit feels cheap made, the 4k button got stuck right away after I tried to use it. The sound was distorted from all outputs including headphones. Thanks to Thomann I got my money back quick.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Step up compared to my Scarlett 2i2 (2nd gen.)
Saff, 23.01.2021
I use the SSL2+ mainly to record voiceovers. The mic I use is the Rode Procaster.

Compared to the 2i2 there a few features that I like about the SSL2+:
- Two headphone amps: so that I and the voiceover artist can monitor simultaneously.
- The cleaner mic preamps.
- The extra gain of the mic preamps.
- That the connections are at the back of the interface: cleaner desk ;)
- The overall esthetics and layout of the device.

The only con I have right now is that is less portable that the 2i2. It's bigger and the extruding knobs seem more fragile.

Overall I think it's a great interface and in my opinions it's a step up compared to my previous Scarlett 2i2 interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The perfect upgrade
Mr. Nelson, 13.02.2020
I purchased my first audio interface, the Yamaha AG06 five years ago. After accumulating various outboard analog equipment, and developing a deeper understanding of sound engineering, I decided to finally upgrade to a newer interface which would give me more possibilities than what I was used to.

I was about to buy the MOTU M4 because of it's amazing specs, but then the SSL 2+ was introduced. On paper - the MOTU M4 has better specs, but when considering the software that comes with the SSL 2+, I couldn't pass up on it.

I recently bought the SSL SIX and so thought that this was the logical decision to compliment it.

Having two headphone outs, two clean preamps, real analog circuit when the 4k switch is engaged, two phantom power switches, multiple outputs, zero latency monitoring and the big nob that goes to 11 makes this a nice feature packed product.

I like the design, it feels sturdy, and it comforts me to know that the analog to digital converters are of top quality.

At this price point, I do not think you can go wrong. It will be another 5 years before I get my next interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
What a nice thing, SSL?
Husam, 06.07.2020
I couldn't believe it!

I left the device working for a week on macOS Mojave, without shutting it down, haven't got any issues.

Pros:
- Super clean sound, nice dynamic range.
- Very easy to deal with.
- Beautiful and sturdy design and knobs.
- Worked with macOS in seconds, no driver to install, nothing.
- Very cost effective.

Cons: ( Not actually! )
- I prefer if the headphone jacks were in front instead of the back.
- I wished if the LED mic gain meters were a bit longer.
- I miss a LED meter for the master level.
- I wished if we get a software mixer to do some useful routing.

Still, should be one of the best sound cards in the market, I used it side by side with Apollo Twin ( silver ), I loved the sound on SSL more. more defined, more dynamic ( about 10-15% better).

You won't regret buying, don't hesitate, do it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very well product!!!!!!
Hin21, 22.11.2020
I use it to connect my MacBook to my microphone and also my Adam T5V monitor and it does it’s work very well! The 4K button is very very very good. It is the most advantage of this little thingy. This is also why I choose this audio interface. There is still something I don’t really like about is that the headphone jack places backwards and my headphone line needs to cross the audio interface. Also the meter is nonsense. It shows not enough information but you can still get the basic volume information on it. The connectivity is awesome though. I can get midi in and out and also rca input and output. Therefore I can connect it to my ILoud micro monitor instead. The build quality is also awesome. The texture is very good for me and it impresses me when I first get the product. The look of the audio interface is also cool. It gives me a professional impression. Also, the sound it records is pretty awesome due to its price. I can bet that this audio interface does its thing more than its price. I would recommend everyone with a limited budget to get this awesome and wonderful audio interface!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
this is the best
husscy, 03.04.2021
there are details while you are buying an interface for example you can adjust pc sound and instrument sound it is a vital feature while you are playing with pc and also that big scroll volume button Im not using any other volume button instantly turning it
plus you will get really good Softwares especially Ableton Live is all you need to start to play I can't recomend this unit enough
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Quality sound, not so great build
Vimp, 27.07.2020
Having had Apogee Duet, Apollo (Silver) and Focusrite Cards before, I can confirm that the sound quality is on par with Apogee or UAD.
The sturdiness of the build though is not that great. One of the "4k" buttons fell after clicking it 10 times max.. While the front and back plate are metal, the side is made of plastic which give it a cheap feel.
The meters are stepped way too wide.
The knobs are great though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Neat little audio interface
Valio, 18.06.2020
After about a month of use, I really struggle to point out something that I find difficult to live with, considering how much it costs for the results it gives. Having the controls on the top is more convenient for my use case, since I have instant view of the state of it at a glance, and don't have to kneel down to look at tiny screens and fiddle with menus, or try to figure what's the level on a knob with a diameter of a toothpick on the front instead of the top of the device. Which brings me to the lack of the software mixer, which may be a deal-breaker for some, but to me is a convenience since you do all the routing on the hardware itself and don't need to dial anything with mouse and keyboard on a monitor, except the buffer size on the audio driver. 2 permanent licenses for Pro-level SSL plug-ins, plus 8 others for 6 months trial is a deal on it's own, plus the rest of the software bundle that comes with registering it online.

Pros:
To me, being bus powered was my number 1 goal towards portability and my intent to use it. Preamps sound very honest, 4K button gives that hint of 'air' in the microphone, and any signal coming through it. Also having 2 separate headphone outputs is an extra that you'll appreciate greatly when you really need it. I've run 2 pairs of 250 ohm headphones simultaneously, and it is more than capable of driving them at more than adequate volume levels. 2 sets of RCA and 1/4 jacks outputs is welcomed too for flexible monitoring. Knobs feel solid, and the big one literally goes to 11, LOL.

'Cons':
It's fairly well put together in general, only maybe the 4K and +48v/line/hi-z buttons feel a bit wobbly on touch, but I've seen much much worse build devices that cost 5-6 time than this one. 10dB jump VU meters is not hugely informative for precise levelling of coarse, but I kinda see it more as a sort of a visual resemblance from other SSL products, but it's definitely a way to guide you if your input signal is clipping or coming in too quiet.

In overall, it does what it says on the tin very effortlessly and leaves you smiling, with some spared cash in your pocket. You'll be hard pushed to not like it in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Bang for buck
Radu Burcea, 15.03.2021
This SSL 2+ is by far the best beginner interface. It's incredibly easy to use, the gain control allows this interface to work magic with gain hungry mics like the SM7B. One of the things I'm most pleased by is the ability to plug in two sets of headphones so two people can track at the same time. Just a great interface overall.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Tiago Oliveira Coelho, 27.01.2021
I use this interface with a pair of Adam T5V, and it works great.
The 4K preamp sim works great with my Aston Spirit for voice and guitar alike, it also gives a little body to the guitar sound when plugging direct to use with Amp Sims.

The level monitors are useless, but i upgraded from a gen 1 Focusrite Scarlet and I'm ok with this. Also, the headphone jack in the back is very inconvenient.

All in all, a great interface for not a lot of money.
Other than that
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
SSl 2+
ceceonthetrack, 24.04.2020
It's a real good audio interface for the price you pay.
After a month I am still happy with it.
Also, the vst plugins you get with it are great.
The only downside is the one trs jack output.
Before I forget the 4K add a high-end sound to your microphone. Its sounds ok with better microphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for collaborations and hi-fi recordings in desktop format
jsabin, 28.09.2020
The value in this interface is awesome:
It hardly sounds any different than top-tier interfaces.
It provides 2 fully customizable channels and every control you'll ever need on an interface.
It has 2 very good headphone jacks. This is great for monitoring vocalists professionaly or any recording of 2 simulatenous sources without external amps.
The 4K really breathes life into some recordings, specially guitars without external amp and vocals recorded with mics like the SM7B.
The build quality and knobs feel great. Maybe the buttons not so much (small deal).
The only "downside" is that it is, in my opinion, too heavy and fragile to be really portable, it feels more like a desk device. However, it can surely be transported in its box with some caution.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
EXACTLY WHAT YOU NEED
me&more, 05.03.2021
Most musicians buy products that in there chain of equipment are overkill or not good enough. SSL+2 delivers exactly what they promise and in the right setup gives great results. Be creative!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Wonderful Tool
Amos Lee, 12.07.2020
I own several audio interfaces for my macbook, ipad and PC. The SSL 2+ is so far the best among the others.
It provides clarity of sound, wonderful preamp (with 4K), and good power for my Beyerdynamic headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Useless...
Lukasz Lunar, 08.01.2021
I had big troubles with using it... sometimes worked, sometimes not... All my software is up to date, I have fresh configuration, which works well with other DACs, bluetooth headsets etc... only SSL 2+ has issue with playing sound from browser. Not recommend. I have contacted support, they respond very fast, but can't help.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
What's not to love?
NH Review, 05.01.2021
Great interface, it looks fantastic for start, i was after a unit where all the cabling was at the back and this looks class on the desktop. It sounds great as well, much better preamps than my previous interface and higher power headphone output. then the extra software, the SSL Native plugins, amazing! I'm very happy with this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
awesome
Jay-F, 21.11.2020
I have owned original SSL G series channel outboard gear and bus compressor. Amazingly, this inexpensive piece of kit adds a taste of that magic. Cannot recommend highly enough. Being USB powered it has become the core of my portable studio when hooked up to my MacBook Pro.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
<3
Mauriks, 13.01.2021
Loving everything on this audio interface, sounding clean and crisp with my at-2035 mic <3
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very happy!
steadyokay, 01.10.2020
Pretty good, although I must admit it will suffice, I'm looking forward to just buying something much better.
As every cheap audio interface, it has a loud noise floor static sound which I'm done with.

If you have the money, I'd suggest going for only the following brands for interfaces: Universal Audio, Apogee or RMS. Even if it's barely over $500.

Just don't bother buying cheap interfaces unless you'll be working towards any of those.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
One of the Best!
Timmy_10, 15.12.2020
One of the best audio interfaces at this price range. Excellent pre-amps.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Sound
William C, 19.04.2021
I use this interface for my home setup ! Great sound, very handy is the desktop model. Very good big knob. And a double output for phones. So i can monitor with the recording. Price / quality = great !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
ontstabiele drivers (MAC)
Jules87!, 19.10.2020
I have a MacBook pro 13" 2017 model and it did work at the beginning. Now after a resart it stopped working at the second day, showing input while nothing plugged in and no output. Rebooting, replugging interface etc, nothing works and driver can't be reinstalled (plug and play for mac). Probably a manufacturing error but I am sending it back and won't order again, my faith in this interface is long gone.
My current interface DualPre is 1/3th of the price and works even better driver wise. I found new appreciating for the smooth working interface I already had. So thanks for that SSL2+.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
inocybe, 28.03.2021
I use this as an audio interface for guitar and must say it's excellent at this. The hi-Z input works great, headphone levels are more then adequate, bus-powers and class compliant make it a breeze to set up and use ( currently on an M1 Mac with Big Sur ). The additional software is a bit of a junk pile, but the 2 SSL plugins are excellent and worth more then the interface itself. Great additions to any set of plugins you already own,
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

SSL 2+

£205
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results: