Sony MDR-7506

489 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
50 written ratings
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great detailed headphones
Jay237921, 16.06.2018
I bought the Sony MDR-7506 couple of months ago from Thomann. I am using these headphones for my location recording connected to my portable mixer. and I can say so far that they sound Brilliant.
Very lightweight and comfortable on the head, if you are recording on location for long hours you don't want a heavy pair of headphones on your ears. In addition, they cover all my ear for maximum comfort. The MDR-7506 are foldable they fit very easily in any bag and it somehow helps to protect the headphones. These particular headphones have a nearly flat frequency response across the spectrum which makes it convenient to monitor your sounds with great accuracy without any coloration.

Check this review on Sound on Sound about the Sony MDR-7506: >
For me, these are perfect headphones for location recording. they are the industry standard for many years now. I do highly recommend these headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Zaphroz, 17.01.2018
I bought these to use for playing the guitar without waking the entire house, and for that purpose the work very well, although I do most of the time tend to just play completely unplugged if I don't want to did disturb anyone.

The sound of these is crisp and clear and they do deserve the label of studio monitors as the sound is indeed very flat and neutral.

They are fairly light on the head and breathe fairly well, but they're far from the most comfortable headphones I've used, but then again I'm comparing them to headphones that cost four times as much, and that's not really fair.

The only real complaint I have is the weight of the cable, because it's really quite hefty and it feels like it pulls the headphones down when you wear them, unless you have the cable resting on a table or something.

I also noticed that when I hooked them up to my headphone amp there is a very audible and rather distracting hiss, which I assume has to do with the impedance of the headphones as that's not present at any other time, and thus isn't really and issue with the headphones themselves, just something to keep in mind.

All in all though, for the price they are definitely good headphones that appear to be of good quality and they seem like they might last a long time, although they haven't been in daily use and as such I can't really comment on durability, but they don't feel flimsy at all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
The classic never fails.
DmitriB, 03.05.2019
A good sounding pair of closed-back over-ear headphones. They have a very good, deep, powerful, and punchy bass, an excellent and clear mid-range, and a better-than-average treble. However, their bass is a bit on the heavy side, but without being muddy or heavy which I actually like!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Absolutely recommended!
Paanos, 23.04.2018
No wonder Sony have been making these headphones for 30 years and still going as the (pro) world loves them so much. I think there is no better buy at this price. The sound is very detailed with fantastic clarity, enabling you to hear each element of the music positioned exactly in the space around you. The frequency response is extremely linear. Deep and accurate bass, crisp mids, realistic highs. A practical result of all the above in my personal experience is that I can be confident of my decisions on the use of various sounds, their volumes and positioning in the mix. But I also love just listening to music with them.

On top of all that, they are lightweight as they should be and the pressure they apply on the head (around the ears) is ideal, so they can be worn for hours without causing discomfort. The passive (!) sound cancelling works wonders, secluding you completely from ambient sounds and adding to the clarity of the music.

If more people got to know these headphones, a great number of other models/manufacturers might go out of business - at least as far as those people who like realistic, studio-style sound are concerned...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Sony MDR-7506 feedback
07.05.2016
They came out in a box with satin and everything really nicely put. Japanese not only respect themselves, and generally audio mastering engineers, but also other people in all 5 corners of the world.

Pros
Beautiful sound, from deep bass to high end, very crisp, and they're a joy to have (for only 95 EUR, that's amazing).

Really recommend these for proffesional audio producers, sound engineers, radio and broadcast, they're an excellent pair of headphones that really reveal what's wrong with your mix.

I might add this can be a secret weapon for mastering engineers, as they reveal efortlessly the "bad" parts of your mix, helping you choose the right tools to process your sound better.

Cons
no
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Got it for 2 years, everyday use. Does the job perfectly
Haeg, 17.01.2018
Extremely good headphones for a good noize supression and neutral sound. Got it for 2 years now. I have 2 of these, never let me down.

If you're looking for good studio headphones or field headphones (video setup, sound monitoring). This is a great product. Did not even had to fix the jack cable, it's still there after 2 years of everyday use (4 hours/day i'd say).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Number 1 for comfort
Paulcmusik, 12.10.2017
Comfortable to wear for long periods of time, I had many pairs of headphones but these one lasted me the longest, 15yrs and still like new,

Won't be disappointed, highly recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
I'm hearing sounds I couldn't hear before!!!
02.10.2014
I purchased these headphones after I heard a sound engineer recommending it in an audio course. Before these headphones I had invested only in cheap, poor quality headphones that cost around $10-50.

I thought I could hear most things with those kinds of headphones although with a weaker bass. When I put these on and I listened to some of my favorite music, I started to hear sounds I had never heard before.

I even listened to the audio course again and I could hear some hum and buzz I couldn't hear before. I hear lower frequencies easier with these headphones without too much emphasis on bass so it doesn't sound like bass speakers you put back on your car.

The comfort, luckily, is great since I have used other closed headphones where my ears start to hurt after a few minutes, an hour or so since I wear glasses(!). These are very comfortable and I can adjust the headphones easily to fit my slightly big head.

These headphones are also great for computer games where audio is extremely important. In one computer game I could suddenly hear my opponents better and I would hear echoes of my weapons that I had never heard before (not even in $50 headphones).

The 1/4" connector adapter is great if I would ever need it sometime. Right now, I am using the 1/8" standard connector. And a final thought; I love the fact that you see "R" (for right) and "L" (for left) on the headphones. It's such a simple thing but nonetheless, crucially important, particularly if you want to hear things correct (whether audio work or computer games where you need to listen).

I highly recommend these professional (and very cheap, in my opinion) headphones to anyone who either wants to be hear their opponents better in computer games, hear better when doing audio post-production or if you just want to enjoy all instruments and frequencies in every high quality song you have.

I would only mention one warning about these headphones (or any closed for that matter); if you haven't been using any closed headphones for a while, you will have to get used to hearing your own voice in a slightly lower volume.

I talk in Skype and Mumble and I tend to speak louder now because I cannot hear myself the same way I used to and some people say that I "speak louder than usual". Just a small thing to keep in mind and get used to when you get closed headphones.

So, throw away your cheap headphones and invest in these ones instead. They are DEFINITIVELY worth every single penny of the price! ^^,
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great for the Studio
Just a customer, 21.03.2018
I bought these after much reading and finding out they've become something of a standard for monitoring and indeed apparently famous producer Andrew Scheps admits to even mixing with them.

For me I wanted something a little higher quality for monitoring and rough mixes (late at night :-)). I have had several pairs of Senheiser HD201's and I love them. Such good value for money, but I thought I could get a slightly better sound. I tried various other much more expensive products and they all left me disappointed.

They come in a decent box with a service manual card that appears not to have changed since they starting making these in the early 90's. I personally find that reassuring.

Sound wise the 7506's do have more width and detail. Simply put. I feel for the price you get something good but still reasonable. The quality of the materials is all nice too.

The other thing I appreciate is the curly lead (if only it were replaceable, but no problems thus far). Working in a home studio your constantly moving around in your chair, reaching for and setting things up. Long straight leads get caught in stuff more easily, especially the wheels of my chair! This lead is really nice and compact, long when it needs to be and stay out of the way. Almost perfect.

Last postiive thing to say probably is that the isolation. which is better than my Sennheiser HD 201's, so I get less bleed from it when recording acoustic guitars etc.

My only gripe with them is that they are a bit tight on the head and ear, and so are no quite as comfortable as some other models. But it's not really bad as some I've had. If you have a habit of taking them off regularly when you're not actually monitoring, that really helps.

I would recommend these highly yo both people with studios large and small and also hi-fi enthusiasts who want a decent sounding pair of cans that won't break the bank.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
My favorite oldschool headphones!
MasterBatyr, 01.05.2019
Using those headphones for 10 years. They where graet in all!!! Before i lost them!)))
Last month ordered again this model from Thomann. Quality and sound are the same brilliant!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
TOP VALUE FOR MONEY
Tas_Stef, 22.01.2019
One of the oldest headphones of the market, and having them for about 6 months I can see why. If want soemthnig at this money rate go get the mdr7506.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very detailed sound
getepicerror, 15.04.2019
These are not "fun" headphones. They are amazing for mixing and have a detailed and flat sound. Maybe a bit on the bright side. A warning though, they will point out any weak points in both your playing and your setup.
It's nice that they fold into such a small package, but having to fold them every single time is a bit of a pain. Time to buy one of those glass heads my dad used to own in the 80's to put them on.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best Sound For Best Price
Michalten, 14.05.2017
It's The standard the classic. It's the cheapest minimum you should buy. In my opinion. Great Choice
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
5 start headphone for tracking
ChrisOz, 05.02.2019
I use these in the studio all the time. Great quality for the price and perfect for tracking
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Value for money
27.11.2015
I'm using these headphones mostly for mixing and mastering in music productions.

The bass is neutral, kind of low and it doesn't get faded by other frequencies. Mids are a bit saturated which make it annoying to listen to classical music. The highs however, are great. Clear and crispy, like it should be for monitoring. Another thing is that the soundstage isn't great, but that's not unexpected.

Listening to vocals is great and in complex tracks you can easily distinguish the highs, like hats. That's the biggest advantage over other headphones of the same budget, I suppose.

To sum up, good sound clarity overall (especially on highs), but suffers a bit on mids.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
briiliant
RenatoR, 15.05.2013
what to say .... great sound ,great ambiente isolation , confortable ,affordable . i use them only to track vocals and they are what i was looking for from a pair of headphones fro this apllication . Recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A great pair of headphones
Sssteve, 13.12.2017
I am very satisfied with these ones. I bought it for the purpose of building a home studio and starting own production, and these proven themselves as a great buy. The sound is clear and crisp, bottoms are well rounded and extra lows pack a significant punch. Maybe the overall sound can be perceived as a tad low in power and that the phones could be a bit louder, but the quality overcompensates for it. The sponge covering the speakers is very well made so I can keep them on my head for many hours without any sign of fatigue. If you're tight on budget and cannot afford some 200e+ phones, these are the ones you should go with. Also, being closed, there is almost no leakage from the speakers outside, even on blasting level.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Classic Gear for monitoring via tracking
Macbrite, 02.02.2018
Very nice hp. Comfortable seat's on head. Working over 2-3 hours can cause sweting becous fakeskin ambushers. But its anyway very good gear. Isolation good, minimal bleeding via recording.
Incredibly detailed and transparent picture. Hear all the fine nuances, transients and artifacts. Slightly sunken middle and a tangible rise in the upper part of the spectrum. Due to this and achieved this incredible amount of depth the clarity. Periodically riding my bike listening to the music, only the iPhone is unable to pump 50 ohms. I am happy )))) Must have
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Professional... Old school.
25.08.2016
For studio maybe the best product!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones
Kezia, 27.06.2017
These are a great pair of headphones which I bought for tracking, mixing and general music listening. They are very comfortable even during long sessions and sound incredible. The low end is deep but accurate and the high end reveals so much detail. When turned up loud however, the high end can become quite piercing and fatiguing so if possible, try before you buy. The top heavy frequency response may not be for everybody.

I considered the very popular Audio Technica ATH-M50's as another option but found them to be too bass heavy with added high end to compensate. Even with the Sony MDR-7506's exaggerated high end, I found them to be more accurate than the Audio Technica's. This coupled with the Sony's lower price tag make them the better choice in my opinion.

Overall, an excellent pair of headphones!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very pleased
AndyjR, 08.05.2018
Great headphones for the studio, very comfy & sit nicely over the ear for hours at a time without any probs , very clear & true sound representation .
would buy them again definitely.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
By Best Friends
Conor R., 21.03.2014
I have had two pairs of the Sony MDR-7506 Headphones and these things go every where with me. i love everything from the flat sound to its durability. they have never broke!! no matter how hard i try. the only down side of these headphones is i feel the cable is a little long for my liking but some people would see this as a very good thing. i lost one pair of the sony's about a year ago and i liked them so much i got the same pair again. iv used them for recording, DJ work, Radio Documentaries & just listening to music in my spear time and they just work well for every kind of use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones especially for the price
Sale, 09.03.2018
I'm using these headphones primarily for critical listening of music, doing monitor mixes, and some at home mixing. I hear stuff in familiar music I've never heard before it's really an honest sound.

I would only like to have a detachable cable, but it seems solid anyways, and for the price especially it's great.

People often describe them as sharp and hard to listen to. They are a bit boosted highs but they don't seem as sharp as people describe them, certainly not sharp enough to disturb me while listening to music.

Overall I'm really happy with these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good for tracking Vocals
florin!, 03.08.2017
They are very bright like my yamaha hs 5. Very ergonomic and weights almost nothing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Sony MDR-7506
Tarmo, 24.12.2014
Really satisfied with these earphones. You could start listening frequencies you wouldn't have expected to be there, specially true mids. I would say the ear-openers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Sony MDR-7506

€98 £85.86
Including VAT; Excluding €10 shipping

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Choosing a Computer
Choosing a Computer
Computers can be very complicated. We’'re here to offer some advice!
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(1)
Recently Viewed
tc electronic BAM200

Transistor Amplifier Head for Electric Bass Extremely compact and lightweight, Channels: 1, Power: 200W, Controls: Gain, Bass Middle, Treble, Master, Input (6.3 mm jack), DI out (XLR), Headphone output (6.3 mm stereo jack) with speaker simulation

(2)
Recently Viewed
Casio PX-S3000 BK Privia

Digital Piano 88 Keys with scaled hammer action keyboard (Smart Scaled Hammer Action Keyboard), 700 Sounds, 200 Rhythms, 192-Voice polyphony, Audio and MIDI Recorder, Hammer response, Damper resonance, Split and layer function, Chorus, DSP, Brilliance, Pitch bend, 60 Internal...

Recently Viewed
Dreadbox Hypnosis

Dreadbox Hypnosis; multi-effect processor; three independent effects: analog BBD chorus/flanger incl. LFO with three waveforms, digital delay with three modes and freeze function, analog spring reverb with three reverb spirals and pitch modulation; input and output levels can be adjusted...

Recently Viewed
Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black

Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black; USB Controller Keyboard; limited special edition with black enclosure and black keyboard; 25 Mini-Keys velocity sensitive; 16 rotary encoders (2 of them are clickable); 2 banks of 8 Pads velocity & pressure sensitive with RGB...

Recently Viewed
Tannoy Life Buds

Wireless in-ear headphones Bluetooth 5.0, DSP-control for precise sound reproduction, Bluetooth profile: HSP / HFP / A2DP / AVRCP, Up to 4 hours of battery life for music playback or phone calls, Up to 120 hours stand-by, Integrated microphone,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
KRK Rokit RP7 G4

Active Studio Monitor Fitting: 6.5" Glass aramid woofer and 1" glass aramid tweeter, Output: 145 Watt, Class-D amplifier, Bi-amped, Transmission range: 42 - 40000 Hz, Maximum sound pressure level: 110 dB (SPL), Integrated illuminated LC-display, 25 Visual graphic EQ...

Recently Viewed
the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX USB

the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX, 8 channel rackmixer with built-in USB audio player and multi-effects, 3 band equalization, + 48V phantom power and pan per channel, 2 aux sends (1x FX 1x Aux), main out with XLR or jack possible,...

Recently Viewed
K&M 18820 Omega Pro Black

Keyboard Table Compact tubular steel construction, Large, round parquet protectors, Snap-in clamping screws for easy height adjustment, Support arms individually adjustable, Foldable legs, Maximum load capacity: 80 kg, Load capacity optional second level: up to 25 kg, Height: 600...

Recently Viewed
Positive Grid BIAS FX 2 Standard

Guitar Effect Plugin Download Guitar Match technology simulates specific guitars so that they can be played with conventional guitars, Includes Guitar Match Essential with 2 guitars, 45 effect pedals and rack processors, and 30 amps, 60 Factory presets to...

Recently Viewed
tc electronic BC208 Bass Cab

Electric Bass Cabinet Rated power: 200 watts, Impedance: 8 ohms, Frequency response: 70-4000 Hz ± 3dB, 50-6000 Hz -10 dB, EQuipped with: 2 x 8" Turbo sound custom drivers, Cabinet construction: bass reflex, Compact and lightweight design, Stackable horizontally...

(1)
Recently Viewed
KRK Rokit RP5 G4

Active Near-Field Studio Monitor 5" Glass-aramid woofer, 1" Glass aramid tweeter, Class-D amplifier, Bi-amped, Maximum SPL: Sound pressure level: 104 dB, Frequency range: 43 - 40,000 Hz, Integrated illuminated LC-display, 25 Visual graphic EQ presets (DSP-based), KRK-App with room...

Recently Viewed
Arturia V-Collection 7

Arturia V-Collection 7 (ESD); plugin bundle; contains 24 Arturia software instruments: Analog Lab, ARP2600 V, B-3 V, Buchla Easel V, Clavinet V, CMI V, CS-80 V, CZ V, DX7 V, Farfisa V, Jupiter-8 V, Matrix-12V, Mellotron V, Mini V, Modular...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.