Customer center login

Shure SM 7 B

1252 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
An industry leader that continues to excel
Audio geek, 09.05.2021
We had a complete studio rebuild over the last lockdown Christmas (in the UK) and I specified the SM7B as a solution to our less that acoustically silent studios. We're based in a very large community centre albeit on the very end of the building but have occasional 'background' noise from within the building (dance studios) and large windows in the room with some residential traffic noise from outside. It's not as bad as it sounds but any large diaphragm condenser would be ingesting this noise like a sponge so we had to look at a practical solution. Given the SM7B is large diaphragm dynamic we benefit from all of the goodness of close proximity voice work with a workable rolloff to be able to gate the extraneous noise from being picked up. Add some compression to the captured audio and the resulting broadcast VLs are solid and perfectly audible without hearing the unwanted noise in broadcast. We can't avoid some unwanted noise behind an open link but the SnR ratio in this respect is more than acceptable. We even managed to avoid having yards of acoustic dampening and designed some very aesthetic frames with four sponge pieces to hang nearby to quash odd reflection. The SM7B solves so many issues just by taking it out of the box you can see why Bruce Swedien loved it so much.

This mic is often adopted by the 'podders mainly for its looks and they love having it pride of place which is fair but despite it needing a kick of gain one should listen very carefully to the results and spend some time tuning it to find the sweet spot for your environment. I honestly think once you've found that spot you could put any talent you can find in front of this mic and they'd sound perfect. As an experiment I've done my setting up and capped off all of the EQ and gains controls on the desk. Our diverse range of presenters in the week are known fiddlers but now they all sound superb with nothing more than a fader to open and close the channel. EQ/processing settings? Desk is an Alice Series A, 100Hz rolloff, a -2dB cut at 4kHz and about 1.5dB boost at 10kHz, flat otherwise. Compression is inserted pre-fade at 3:1 soft knee from -18dB upwards (Berry MDX4600).

Less is always more and confidence speaks volumes if you believe in what you're doing. Ears are the best measuring tool and our listeners are a discerning bunch!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow!
It’s Just Me ????, 11.08.2021
Hands down, Shure SM7B is an excellent microphone. It's capable of supporting any vocal form, from podcast and voiceover, to rapping or clean and distorted singing, this mic has been build to match everybody's needs. It may also be used to power guitar and bass amplifiers something that I'm looking forward to try.

For the money you spent, this is one of the best mics available. It is constructed like a tank and can last a lifetime if properly maintained.

Just unpacked mine (Shure SM7B) therefore this review comes after a good hour of me and my colleague (singer) playing around with it - it has essentially built-in super quality, very sturdy on the outside. Very satisfied so far with the product and the delivery. My first time buying from Thomann, I'm going to be back for more. Thank you!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti, 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on the right source
WillO, 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best all around mic for Streaming and Video
DavidJB, 26.03.2021
If you have to record in a large and mostly untreated room, this mic is exceptional at making you sound like you're in a much higher treated environment than reality.

It can take some time to dial in the mic to your voice, especially if you're new to the set-up but once you do it's rock solid and will save you hours of time with removing niggling noises and room sound from recording and thus saving you time for post processing.

I use this with a goxlr to stream and does not need a pre-amp, not even a fethead. The Goxlr is more than enough and I have to even tone down the amount of power I send to it. I use this mic to do video and voice overs with and it's a true champion of multi purpose. Like with any mic though, this does especially suffer at longer distances from the recording source.

I did see some concerns about people worrying this would introduce bass into peoples voice, it can emphasise what is there, but will actually make even the most high pitched voice calmer and smoother, including womens voice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Speechless
pavelson, 26.08.2021
This microphone is the big deal for me. I've seen using it by many artists and eventually I got one, too. Brilliant, my voice sounds so good with it, I love singing with this Shure. Before I sung with Beta 87 which is also a good one, but man, when I tried the SM 7 B, I coudn't stop. Looks fancy but the quality and the result this thing brings is outstanding. I love it and definitely recommend it. Thanks to Shure and thanks to Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure SM 7B
mo572, 13.08.2021
A brilliant microphone built like a tank long lasting and sounds excellent great at blocking out background noise or even poorly sound treating rooms. Would highly recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Needs no introduction really
Sziklafy, 06.05.2021
We all known the amazing history and quality of this mic. Even if you haven't heard of it's name,you've seen it. It's a legend no doubt. The only thing you really have to look out for is the low output that it has-which means it might need an extra mic preamp,that can boost the signal to the right levels-hopefully without noise- this depends really on which device(s) you're using it with.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
love it!
gecoo, 11.08.2021
I'm using it for live broadcasting. Very nice mic and would recommend it to anyone that is serious about recording or broadcasting anything
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Pristine recording worth every penny.
Angus M,, 25.12.2020
For anyone wishing to really up their recording quality, this microphone is fantastic. I regularly give talks/presentations, record voiceovers and use the microphone for gaming... and I am regularly asked what my audio setup is because of how great it sounds (which definitely wasn't the case before - using inbuilt headphone or clip-on/mod microphones). I pair the microphone with a GOXLR, and apply a pretty standard "California smile" EQ. Within about 30-40 minutes I had unpacked the kit, run the cables, mounted the boom arm to my desk and had it set up to easily a broadcast quality... and since then tinkering and getting to know the system better it has only improved.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
HardKoar, 24.03.2021
One of the best, if not the best microphone for harsh vocals, Rock and Metal singers in the business!

Thomann was very fast with delivery, amazing customer service as usual, I'm writing this review as I am about to buy a new keyboard from them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A season Pro
Joe Cromwell , 18.01.2021
This really is a great microphone, i use it for recording vocals, and acoustic guitar and also for podcasting.

Its a solid build, great for low background noise, needs a lot of gain though so if its to be plugged into an audio interface for the PC i would suggest a cloud lifter of some sort to enhance the gain. very happy with this product! side note, it is quite weighty, so just check you get a good quality mike boom arm so it doesn't drop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Brilliant Dynamic Mic
domnomnoml, 04.02.2019
I've been using this mic primarily to record voice-overs for home video-productions and the clarity, and quality is fantastic.

I'm looking forward to using this in amore musical context but zero complaints so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You can do everything with this great mic.
Georgy B, 28.02.2020
If you're running a small project or home studio with little acoustic treatment, you can't go wrong with this mic. I use it for podcast, as a room mic and of course for what is most known for, vocals and voice overs on Youtube. Make sure you get a good audio interface or consider adding Cloudlifter or Fethead. Team at Thomann also very helpful and had a fast delivery!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Workhorse, very versatile
TheDC, 04.08.2021
Great microphone. It handles any genre extremely well. From podcast/narration, to rap, to clean and distorted singing. It can also be used for guitar/bass amps. For a workhorse that will handle anything you throw at it, it's hard to go wrong with this one.

A small point of critique is that it is a quiet microphone. For recording, this is usually fine. However, if you want to use it for voice chat such as Discord, I'd recommend looking into a separate dB booster (I own a FEThead), which will sort this out.

Built like a tank!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best mic i have used
itsmehelleTM, 26.01.2021
its one of the best mic i have used so far and its easy to setup and if you buy a go xlr or go xlr mini you dont need a cloud lifter or fetamp for atleast streaming and talking to friends. i will recomend the microphone to people who want a clean and good sounding mic that dont pick up backround noice. i have my fan blowing air at the mic and i cant hear it in recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Built like a tank
Iamnotfamous, 29.04.2021
Just unpacked my new Shure SM7B - it is essentially built like a tank, very sturdy. I went for the bundle version, so that I will also have the Thomann FetAmp, as many reviews say this mic is very quiet.
Very satisfied so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Legendary is an understatement. This is vocal mic royalty!
jvranopa, 20.08.2021
Currently using a Scarlett 2i2 and a Klark Teknik CT1 with this mic. Works like a charm! Quality and build is definitely a big plus. Would definitely love to experiment with this further. So far, the only thing I've noticed as a caveat is the screw. It doesn't fasten as tightly as I would like, but that's a minor issue. My microphone stand probably just needs a bit of work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Just what I expected!
Leo K, 11.12.2020
Great quality and sound. Now I can record whatever I like inside my non-treated bedroom studio. The capabilities of the SM7B are well-known so I won't be getting into details. I bought mine as a bundle along with an XLR cable and the TritonAudio FetHead pre amp, however, the current bundle now consists of another pre-amp. I suggest you buy it as a bundle whatsoever, as you're gonna need the extra juice from the mic pre-amp.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
perfect choice
norbert hollo, 15.01.2018
this is the perfect choice for my voice. i bought it without testing before but much better that i thought. the mic has a little compressor effect and smoothing the spikes in the recorded sound that much more easier to set the expected volume. the original windshields a little smashes the sound but if you use a simple popfilter instead the result much better. other important thing is the volume level. you will need a lot of power for it. i have an apogee and an apollo audio interface as well and they have enough gain to record without mic preamp but most of the cheaper interfaces that use directly pick up too much noise. it's a dynamic mic with cardioid characteristic but plenty collect outer noises. not like a condenser mic but i think you will can not use on stage.

a year ago I bought an apogee element interface and realized that the uad apollo interfaces has not enough gain for it and the sound a little bit drowned because the element get me a surprisingly better results (on element able to set +75dB gain instead of the apollo's 65dB and the apogee one's 62dB) the noise completely disappeared and the sound much more opened. so my opinion is if you don't want to buy a preamp the only solution an apogee interface like duet 2 or better (didn't found any other interface that more than 65dB)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
amazing
Wultra, 13.07.2021
Such a great mic for the price. I expected it to be good but not that good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
revered throughout the ages
Lovebone, 14.07.2021
Great dynamic mic for a number of applications
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
nick808, 21.02.2021
by far the best dynamic mic for recording metal vocals!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Affordable industry standard classic studio mic.
Declan Q., 16.10.2014
This is one of the only affordable mics you can get in this price range that has been used by all the great engineers, producers and artists for decades, (and still is).
For certain singers (Michael Jackson, Anthony Kiedis, Bjork to name but a few) and producers (Rick Rubin, Quincy Jones etc) the SM7 is preferred to the most expensive condenser mics.
Its dynamic so is great for micing in non-treated rooms or when recording a vocalist that's playing acoustic at the same time because it wont pick up the room and guitar as much as a condenser would.
The SM7 is a very affordable top of the range tool to have in any studio, professional or amateur.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
one of the best known mics for a reason
em98, 07.08.2021
this is my first dynamic mic, and I've had a very good experience with it so far! It's just not as clear as my previous entry-level condenser mics, but it definitely helps balance out the sound if your voice is more on the highs and mids. There's more richness in this mic, and it really depends on the voice you'll be using it on. In my case, I think it's great! Not the most balanced, crisp-sounding mic out there, but it shines with its main strengths.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM 7 B

£315
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24