Shure SM58S

1731 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
68 written ratings
Total
features
quality
sound

Unexpected outing for an Shure SM58S

Robert8105, 15.11.2015
I've been reading about this legendry microphone for years, particularly as a mainstay of rock bands. I gave in and bought just one even though my small stable of microphones never go near rock bands although some do service in recording choirs.
Upon receipt, I examined it and tried the switch and thought that it seemed very slack however how could I justify sending it back as I had only one SM58S so no comparisons were possible. Not fazed by this possible problem, my SM58S had a somewhat unexpected first outing that is as a comperes' microphone on a Quiz Night. I was the Quizmaster and it performed faultlessly. That switch design was almost certainly meant to be slack as it switched effortlessly between on and off between questions.
Giving the microphone appropriate equalisation via the mixer it gave my voice a flattering good cadence. Not only that; when I gave our honoured guest a stint on reading the political questions selection, (she being our local MP) the SM58S gave her voice the same accurate projection as it did of mine.
Of note was that feedback was minimal or nonexistent which was surprising as the speakers were close by. Perhaps all SM58S users have known that for years.
Finally and of equal importance is to mention the shape and design. Again I had some pre-conceived idea when I first took it out of the box; too short and sloping grip not right ? How wrong could I be ! As soon as it was coupled to a XLR cable the feel of the SM58S was just right both in weight and design. Its apparent shortness (compared with some more recent designs) was just an absolute boon to an amateur quizmaster, such as myself, who has to hold a microphone for couple of hours in a crowded room where questions are read and an appropriate pause is the norm. I say, this bearing in mind that it is not appropriate at such events to stay in one place using a stand.
This microphone is one I highly recommend for all these reasons some of which were not anticipated.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

What?s not to like?! Best microphone

BarnabyR, 11.10.2017
The Shure SM58s is a near legendary bit of kit, robust, well made, excellent materials, giving a great sound quality, that is more than capable of withstanding heavy gigging. I suspect, come the nuclear apocalypse, these microphones, along with cockroaches will be the last thing operating.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Industry standard

arpikusz, 19.12.2018
There's really no point in reviewing this item. It's THE SM58. The benchmark on stage. Has it's limits but still a great mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

julia_jula, 17.12.2018
Very good equipment. Happy to use it :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

The industry standard for a good reason.

El Pipita, 15.11.2018
This mic has been the industry standard for years, so there's not much else to be said about it.

I got the added switch option for a few euros more as a personal preference, and I like have the extra option of muting the mic by hand instead of having to use the desk all the time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Legend!

Moonlet, 14.12.2018
It is a LEGEND. What else do you need to know?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Probably Best Budget Mic

sQuall, 22.02.2017
Comes in a very appealing box which contains a manual, a "SHURE" sticker and a leather (or leatherette) zip bag for the mic storage/transportation.
I genuinely like the look, the weight, and the on/off button.
I have specifically chosen a dynamic microphone as I have been intending to record various types of music on all sorts of instruments in my home studio with a very tight budget. Yet, at the very beginning was quite confident there will not be a need to change/upgrade this particular mic, as this is practically a high-end one for this type of price range.
No need to mention the legendary brand and the model itself which have definitely have aided and proven the reputation of the product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Use this all the time!

Pedal Projects, 27.03.2018
I'm a live sound engineer and I go to all kinds of places and venues where I work. This mic is my personal one and I plug it into the talkback input of the mixer so that I can talk to the stage through the monitors. If the mixer doesn't have a talkback feature, I'll just plug it into a spare input, send to monitors and use the little switch to mute and unmute my voice. It's a classic SM58 so it serves as a spare mic in emergencies. Classic mic that sounds good in all situations!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Super Mic !!!

Kay G., 30.03.2014
Actually, there is the Shure SM 58 is not much to say. But perhaps I find it still a thing . First thomann times to processing and design: Who has Shure microphones often in use , already knows since a little and know that Shure mics are extremely well made. They have a rigid metal case, also the basket is sufficiently stable - but only as long as you the mic thomann not grossly abused (ie litters through the sample room or the studio when it did not work again : D) . The supply of spare parts is really good - if so times but such a situation has occurred , there's simply a replacement basket (even though an imitation but thomann terms of quality not inferior Basket of Thon ) .

The sound is also simple Shure typical: Warm, clear, and just brilliant . In plain English: Simply a great sound ! More there to not to say. Also about the features occurs to me not so much : the switch have to stop just like it or not, I thomann find him good, he even is very easy to see who does not want , so no need to take .

Well, I also find that an original clip and an original bag is it. Who has his mic anyway in flight cases for which the bag is not so important but just when thomann you only have a few mics in use , so a feature is really good.

All in all a SUPER Mic ! !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Built like a tank

dooq, 02.11.2017
I have full confidence this mic can be hung upside down from a crane and used as a bulldozer!! Only kidding! What I'm trying to say is it's built like a tank and feels quite weighty and solid in the hand.

Good performance however, I found it to be at tad too directional for my liking (in that if you're slightly off-axis there's quite a noticeable drop in sound level). Maybe this was just the way our speakers were using the mic.

Anyway, overall a very good purchase and solid performance from a respectable brand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Virtually unbreakeable

Michael M. 6191, 29.04.2016
Been using the shure sm58 for some time now and have come to expect it to function perfectly every time... And it does. I may upgrade the microphone in the future but even if I do I would not get rid of it because although the sm58 design may have been superseded by newer models you know that it will always work when you want it to, and dependability of your gear is crucial when performing live.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Shure SM58S

06.05.2016
very good quality, and a good dynamic microphone is so good for voice as Instrument, very good for those who want to start music recordings at home and also for concerts providing a good quality and with very little noise, I recommend also using a pop filter for recording, I use a
t.bone MS 180 and have very good results in recs
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Also interesting for background singer!

Rouven III, 23.02.2014
At first I have to say, that I am not the born singer. I am guitarist and sometimes I try to sing a little bit - if you can sing it. At first I had a cheap mic, but soo realized that I am a much poorer singer if you equipment is crap. The Shure SM58S is processed in a high-qualitiy-level and reflects your voice in a natural way. For me it was a purchase for lifetime and I would buy it again and again. You can unscrew the basket really easily for changing or cleaning (e.g. if an other person has used your mic and you do not wanna have any biological backlogs). You can see this mic in use by a lot of famous singer: this must a criterion, that it is a good and trustworthy instrument! For me the ON/OFF-switch was really important, because there is sometimes feedback of your PA and so I want to control the mic direct and fast!

Big thanks to Thomann for a perfect transaction!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Classic!

28.09.2016
You know its sound. Classic!

Works great in studio too! Nothing more to say about this Shure!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

awesome

27.09.2016
the only thing is the switch, u dont know where is on and off until you plug it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Great quality for a decent price

19.01.2016
Used this mic for recording and it gives excellent results. I appreciate that it has an on/off button as well. The outside is durable, sturdy.
I especially love how it sounds in the low and middle register of the voice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Industry standard

Marko7992, 17.08.2014
Industry standard microphone. Made for instrument mic'ing BUT used for vocals and instrument mic'ing all around the world. The S-model comes with an on-off switch which is useful. Will not make any wierd sounds. The model A of dynamic michrophones - even your gramma knows this mic. Drop it - you'll propably not brake it. Use two for stereo mic'ing and you will have a nice trainig room quality recording of your stuff. Can be used for drum mic'ing and brass also. If you don't have one you should get one. I have two and will buy more. In the world of microphones this is the "just do it" one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Excellent microphone

SteveR, 23.06.2013
Not having a lot of experience with microphones beyond those included in other equipment (such as those built into handheld recording devices), I was struggling to choose a good vocal mic. Based on recommendations from a singing friend (she's a singer - she didn't sing the advice) I started looking at the Shure range, and the SM58 in particular.

I didn't want to have to worry about phantom power, so the SM58 was a good choice, being a dynamic mic, and its cardioid directional pattern means it is less sensitive to background noise and feedback. Lots of singers choose these mics so who was I to argue. There are two versions - one has a switch to disable the mic - this is the one I went for.

When it arrived, it took less than a minute to hook it up to my amp and get it working - it sounds great and I'm very pleased with the purchase. Price was good, too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

It's a 58

jmaffei, 23.07.2017
it sounds like a 58, it looks like a 58. By gum it IS a 58! Solid, reliable, great on vocals and almost anything else. If you don't have one, you need one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

All the very good reviews are true

MickD, 14.10.2015
I've used the SM58 forever and yes ... everything you have heard is true. Dependable, rugged, seems to deal with all kinds of abuse (not from me - as I look after my gear), the odd fall or being dropped on stage, but mostly it sounds good with most voices.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

The one and only...

31.03.2014
Kaum jemand hat diese Mikro noch nicht in der Hand gehabt und das hat gute Gründe. Da wäre zum einen thomann der wirklich zivile Preis, für ein Mikro, dass man dauern benutzen wird. Insbesondere im live-breich hat sich dieses Mikro wegen seiner Robustheit und seiner Rückkopplungssicherheit einen verdienten Namen gemacht. Vocalisten schätzen es wegen dem recht starken proximity effekt, was aber bei ungeübten Sängern schnell auch mal übertrieben werden thomann kann.

Aufgebaut ist dieses Mikro exakt wie das SM57, jedoch durch den Korb ergibt sich ein anderes akustisches Ergebnis. nimmt man den Korb ab, hat man zu 98% ein weiteres SM57. Gut geeignet ist das Mikro auch vor einem Gitarrenamp und an Toms. Auch Bläsern steht das Mikro gut, thomann wobei z.B. Tenorsaxofon wenn es zu nah steht sehr bassig klingen kann. Wenn man das weis kann man es aber auch toll ausnutzen.

Man glaubt kaum wie gut auch Studioaufnahmen damit klingen können. Mit einem guten preamp lassen sich z.B. geniale Rockvocals aufnehmen (s. Bono von U2!!) die zwar thomann nicht das Detail von Kondensatormikros besitzen, sich jedoch umso satter im Mix plazieren und eine Menge EQ vertragen. Ideal für dichten Sound, wo es nicht auf feinste Details ankommt.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

Top Brand

13.10.2016
I have been using SM58s for years and I would never use any other microphone for live gigs.
I bought this version with the switch to use as the microphone that goes into my loop station. It is perfect as i means that I can switch it off when I am not using it to record vocals and only the guitar and other background sounds don't get picked up and recorded into the loop as well.

The durability of these microphones is superb and the quality is top notch
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

It's a great mic as expected

Stephane4242, 21.04.2017
It's a perfect singing mic, it's a SM58 so there's no question about quality, robustness, make etc...
The catch is to turn on the switch on the side, otherwise, you are just singing for yourself.
It is a great little feature to cut some feedback in a flash sometimes, but it's important to remember the switch is off...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

10.11.2016
They are just great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound

The one and only...

Jayboy, 18.09.2015
It's the industry standard for a reason. Not because you have to have one, it's because they last forever. This SM58s with a switch will outlast any other microphone if dropped and that's what I would expect for studio use.
The '58 is really designed for live use, it has a pneumatic damper built in to reduce handling noise and the frequency roll off on the lows prevents bass heavy proximity effects. The pickup pattern reduces background noise and can help prevent feedback.
I use mine in my studio and it gets the respect it deserves from the bands. So there!
Its bundled with a mic clip and soft bag. Add a few more pounds/euros/bucks and get the lead and stand bundle, you won't be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM58S

Incl. VAT; plus €10 shipping
Free shipping over €149

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
PA
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Dynamic Microphones
Dynamic Microphones
Dynamic microphones are the basic tools of live sound and play an important role in every recording studio.
Online Guides
Recording  choirs
Recording choirs
Recording choir music is always a challenge, even though it might not seem to be at first.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Rode Rodecaster Pro

Rode Rodecaster Pro; Podcast Production Studio; designed for podcasts; 4 x XLR microphone inputs with 48V phantom power; 8 programmable sound effects pads for jingles and FX; instant mix minus for phone or app calls; 3.5mm TRRS cable, USB and...

to the product
€649
Recently Viewed
Fun Generation CL 105 A

Fun Generation CL 105 A, Personal Monitor with Bluetooth/USB player, class D, 50 W RMS, frequency response 40 - 18.000 Hz, 3-band EQ, 1x Line In (3,5 mm jack / RCA), 1x Mic In (XLR / 6,3 mm jack), net...

to the product
€76
Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Pixel Rail 40 RGB MKII

LED Pixel Effect Bar Follow-up version of the Stairville LED Pixel Rail 40 RGB with increased luminosity (not compatible with the previous model), Extremely compact design, Generates impressive effects in combination with the Pixel Rail Drive (Art.449740 , not...

to the product
€87
Recently Viewed
Stairville TourStage Tele Leg 4x 60-100cm

Tour Stage Leg Set Set consisting of four height-adjustable feet for Tour Stage platforms, Dimensions: 60 x 60 mm, Adjustable length: 60-100 cm

to the product
€92
Recently Viewed
Tech 21 Fly Rig PL 1 Paul Landers Sign

Multi-Effect for Electric Guitar Paul Lander's (Rammstein) Signature Model, 2-Channel SansAmp Fly Rig section, Active 3-band EQ in the "Fire" channel with switchable mids, Bite switch, 2-Band EQ and compressor in the "water" channel, Switchable dual mode boost, Optionally...

to the product
€399
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Bullet Tele LRL Red SPKL

Electric Guitar Body: Alder, Neck: Maple, Neck profile: C, Fretboard: Indian Laurel, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 21 Medium frets, Pickups: 2 single coils, Vintage style bridge, Colour: Red Sparkle

to the product
€174
Recently Viewed
Lanikai Kohala Soprano WN

Soprano WN Ukulele Basswood body and top, Sapele neck, 356 mm Scale length, Neck width at the nut: 34.9 mm, Walnut fretboard, 12 Frets, Hardwood bridge, Colour: Dark satin

to the product
€53
Recently Viewed
the t.bone SC 420 USB Desktop-Set

USB Studio Large Diaphragm Microphone Set With USB port for direct operation on the computer, No additional drivers necessary, Directivity: Cardioid, Frequency range: 30 - 18,000 kHz, Sensitivity: 25 mV / Pa, Maximum sound pressure: 140dB (at 1 kHz...

to the product
€67
Recently Viewed
Mackie MC-250

Studio Headphones Circumaural, 50 mm Reference-quality drivers provide high overdrive safety and accurate playback across the entire frequency spectrum, Precisely tuned housing delivers powerful bass and detailed highs, A soft padded and adjustable headband and comfortable ear cushions provide...

to the product
€98
Recently Viewed
Korg KDM-3 Dig. Metronom Limited

Korg KDM-3 Digital Metronome Limited Edition, With front panel of durable and elegant Pyinkado wood, the chic brown wood grain lends warmth to the monotonous case, 30 beats per minute to 252 beats per minute. Tempo setting option. Pendulum mode/full...

to the product
€64
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Bullet Tele LRL LPB

Electric Guitar Body: Alder, Neck: Maple, Neck profile: C, Fretboard: Indian Laurel, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 21 Medium frets, Pickups: 2 single coils, Vintage style bridge, Colour: Lake Placid Blue

to the product
€164
Recently Viewed
Mackie MC-150

Studio Headphones Circumaural, Precise 50 mm drivers deliver outstanding transparency across the entire frequency spectrum, Amplified bass reproduction accurately reproduces low and very low frequencies, so that individual bass notes or kick drums can be heard very well, A...

to the product
€77
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.

Please leave a comment. Please enter your email address.